728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Christmas Trees or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights lives up to its name. This tree has become much more popular over the last ten years. With their dark green color and shiny appearance, Grand Fir needles have a silvery underside of stomata bloom that reflects the Christmas tree lights for a beautiful effect. The needles are arranged in a lustrous array on the branches in a way that gives a very graceful appearance to the tree.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

basically no warranty

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
GE will not warranty this tree. The tree was purchased last year, and sections of lights on the tree are burnt out already. GE will not warrant the tree, saying the lights and tree are separate, and you would have to re-string the lights yourself (on a prelit tree). This is a total cop-out. You wonder how often these fail for them to stand by such a ridiculous policy such that they do not want to cover their workmanship.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

Solved the non lighting issue!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought in Dec 2010. Got two good years , but this 3rd year a strand /section of the lights went out. Grrrr!
Phoned the cust. service ; they wanted to send a strand of lights for me to put on the tree. No way I am going through that mess!
They explained it was the white bulb that has a white stripe on the bulb receptacle...it's a type of fuse. When it blows so goes the whole strand!
Got advice from a local Hardware Store clerk who knows a lot about these things.
Simply remove the bulb insert from the fuse receptacle Since none of the extra colored bulbs will fit that receptacle, you will need to straighten the two wires so you can easily remove the white glass bulb, place in a new colored glass bulb into that fuse insert, and bend the two tiny wires up as they were originally. Plug it back into the receptacle and you should have a working strand of lights!!
Simple. Now go enjoy your tree!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

waste of money

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this tree in 2010 and did the same thing to me as others have written! That the lights when out when i put it up in 2011 called on the warranty which they sent me the replacement lights but it was a pain in the butt so we just happen to have some old lights around so my husband just put them on the tree really could not tell! Well its know 2012 and know there is more lights out on the next section of the tree! Now I'm going to have to save up some money so i can buy a new one next year and will not buy one from this company again! I would buy an American product but they do not make pre-lit Christmas tree the USA!
Pros: Perfect Size
Cons: ligts went out on the secound year using the tree
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

BUYER BEWARE

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this pre-lit tree last year, it took a couple of hours shaping it the first time, a larger shipping box would have been better. This year the tree was set up in mere minutes, however a strand of lights were not working. It turns out the lights on this tree have special fuse bulbs that are non-replaceable. While there is a 3 year warranty on the lights, GE will simply send you a new strand of lights, requiring you to re-wire the tree yourself. The wiring is tightly twisted around each branch, making this re-wiring process time consuming and annoying, completely defeating the purpose of buying a pre-lit tree.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

Awful!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hmm....noticing a trend in the reviews. Bought this tree prior to last Christmas. It was perfect last year. This year three different sections of lights stopped working. I've tried everything and cannot get them to come back on. What a piece of junk.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

If you already have the tree, here's how to fix the lights

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't have this tree, I cannot recommend it. GE has built in "planned obsolescence" of the light strings by design. Within a year or two, one segment of your lights will go out. They will not replace the tree, at best you pay for the shipping of the lights (which is 3-4x what the string would cost) and you have to re-string it yourself (no small feat). That being said, I do love the look and fullness of this tree.
Here is how I fixed my lights myself: Unplug power to the lights. Note that there is one bulb (it is one of the few clear bulbs on my multicolored lights) on each strand with a white ring at the base (most lights have a solid green base, you're looking for one with a white stripe at the base). Carefully pull this white-ringed bulb out (you may have to pull just the bulb then use needle nosed pliers to yank the white base). Remove bulb from the white base and insert a new bulb (you must use the original bases, so thread replacement bulb wires through the white base and fold up wires as they were before). Re-insert into the socket and plug back in/turn on. If the lights don't come on then disconnect power, remove same bulb (keep it in it's white base) and squish the socket on the outside to move the contacts closer together, try the bulb again, it should light up now. These "safety fused lamps" have larger sockets than the rest of the strand, GE doesn't sell replacement bulbs for them so you must "squish" the socket so it makes good contact with the replacement bulb in the base.
Word of warning: GE instructions state "Do not remove the bulbs with the white ring base. These bulbs are the safety-fused lamps. Removing these bulbs will permanently damage the light string and will void the limited warranty of this product." This is a load of garbage and is the "obsolescence by design" that I was talking about. Google the terms: gatwood repairing GE lights. You'll get an even more detailed review of how to repair if my quick fix didn't work for you.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: lights are designed to fail
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Brunswick, GA

7ft 550 Pre Lit Christmas Tree

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing a new tree. I have used the same tree for the last several years, but I found this one at Home Depot and absolutely loved it. It was so easy to put up. Normally I dread the part of adding the lights, but with this pre-lit tree, no need. I am so excited I decided to buy this tree.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Northwest PA

NOT DISAPPOINTED

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tree is beautiful. I too was worried about ordering it online, but had no choice. Of course, the way it looked coming out of the box, I could not imagine how it would ever turn out nice, but it did and we love it! The "fluffing" process took a while, but from now on, it will be easier. I am SO thrilled I do not have to mess with tangled up lights. This one's a KEEPER!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Strongsville, Ohio

7 ft Christmas tree

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the new tree and the ease of which it was to assemble. It looks fantastic, just enough lights and really adds to the to the Christmas decor. I receives nothing but good compliments from all our visitors. I would highly recommend this tree not only for its beauty but also the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago

Waste of a day and have to buy a new tree

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this tree in 2010. We had trouble getting everything to light all at one time last year but figured it out eventutally. This year, my experience was identical to those of the other two most recent reviewers. The middle section of the tree would not light and we tried everything before calling the Customer Service #. Nice young man in the Philipines tried to help but bottomline, I am out of luck. Three year warranty on lights mean nothing.
Cons: lights don't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Sun Prairie, WI.

Great Tree

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very fast delivery, very easy to set up, worked perfectly, & looks GREAT.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GE PRE-LIT Christmas tree

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst Christmas tree I have ever bought. When the lights go out, you have to buy a new tree !!! GE will NOT replace the lights event though there is a 3 year warrantee. You can't go out and buy a set of lights and replace it since the number of lights required are NOT the standard number sold in stores. If you buy a standard 50 or 100 light set, you will have too few or too many lights needed for the row of branches you need to replace (plus think of the time required to take off and correctly put back on the string of lights). GE does NOT stand behind the trees they sell. DON"T BUY PRE-LIT GE CHRISTMAS TREES.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Easily Damaged, Difficult to Install, Appearance, lights go out quickly and often, no replacement lights available to buy, ge does not stand by warrantee
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

Lovely Tree

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a first time artificial Christmas tree buyer, having bowed to pressure by my kids to have a real tree every Christmas. Every year I vowed that by the next Christmas, I'd have purchased an artificial tree. I did some online research this year; for the price I was willing to pay and going by customer reviews, this tree was my second choice (my first choice was a GE Just Cut Douglas Fir, sold out). Without having seen the actual tree in a store, I ordered it online; it came promptly, and my husband had it put up in minimal time. I must say, it is lovely, has just the right amount of lights; I do not care for LED lights (too garish), and the mini-lights are bright and beautiful. I've enjoyed it very much this year, especially knowing that it is not drying out and dropping needles. There are a few gaps in branches, but they are not very noticeable with ornaments. Overall I am quite happy with this purchase; even my son is grudgingly agreeing with how pretty it is, and how life like. It is a good height for our room, is not slim but is also a nice shape for the space we have it in between 2 windows; it's not overly spread out at the bottom so as to be a nuisance knocking off ornaments every time we walk by, just a beautiful triangular tree shape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Maryland

Great value, looks "real"

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is our first artificial tree and we've been very pleasantly surprised, It was easy to assemble (much easier than we feared!) and looks as "real" as can be. Several house guests have been surprised to learn it wasn't a fresh tree. A great value for the money!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GE Christmas tree warranty

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a 7' GE Just Cut Grand Fir 550L with clear white bulbs at Home Depot on 12/2/2010. This year, all the lights on the bottom part of the upper section went out. I have since learned that there are white-ringed safety-fused bulbs for every 100 lights on the tree. These safety-fused bulbs cannot be replaced. Instead, the entire section of 100 lights must be removed and replaced by the customer! If the customer has not filed the warranty card, GE will charge the customer for the replacement lights even if the tree is still within the warranty period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED

So pretty!

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out of the box, there was one one row of lights that didn't work, but it was on the bottom, so I didn't even try to fuss with it. Otherwise, beautiful and full - had a "real" tree for 35 years and am so happy with this one!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Apex, NC, USA

Lights go out

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got two years out of this tree and now sections of them are going out in year 3. I expected it to last a little longer than 2 seasons.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Branford, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the best investment I have ever made, the quality is superb and as always, I trust the Home Depot to carryonlythebest

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The quality of this particular tree is of the finest materials. The tree looks like a real tree and I am proud to have it displayed in my home. I trust the Home Depot to carry only grade A merchandise.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful tree!!!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a beautiful tree. I did a lot of comparison shopping. I was looking for 7ft Prelit tree with colored lights. There are not that many to choose from. I also wanted a tree that looked real. This tree has some heavy duty plastic branches that look real and other branches that look like the normal artificial branches. I would of liked it if more of the branches were the plastic realistic looking ones but overall it is a beautiful tree .Easy setup! I would definetly recommend this tree!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 ft. Pre-Lit Just-Cut Grand Fir Artificial Christmas Tree with Multi-Color Lights-DISCONTINUED
from Weston Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Always had live trees

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the first year we displayed an artificial tree. Assembly was quite easy out of the box. So far no light problems other reviewers reported. The tree is quite full although it did require a significant amount of "fluffing" to get the best appearance. My husband was thrilled not to spend hours stringing the lights and I so appreciate not having to deal with falling needles, crawling under the tree to water it or the mess when it comes time to take it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>