728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws

Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws

The Milescraft Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws features a right-side-up cutting orientation that allows novices and professionals alike to save time and money by cutting the stock correctly every time. It allows you to cut the piece the way you want to see and install it on the wall, with no guesswork involved. It has a collapsed design for compact storage and includes angle finders to determine the spring angle of your moulding. An indented cutting surface allows you to create dentil-style moldings.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
Review 1 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from South Florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very happy with this jig, although it does have some limitations. Pros: I was quite happy with the way you can cut the crown using this jig - no turning the crown upside down to cut the correct angles. Cut it facing forward on the jig and just make the cut as you would see it on the wall. Just made my life a lot easier despite having worked with crown a little before. Also, this is a great jig for a 10" miter saw with a smaller table. The bottom of the jig stays flush with the table and the crown is held in place between the jig and the fence. I found this very stable and easy to work with. I also have the Kreg crown jig which is good, but that jig holds the crown about 2" above the table so the piece of crown you're cutting is "floating" above the table of the saw so the cutting angle is not always very true, particularly when working with more flexible crown material. Cons: The one thing I didn't like about this jig is the way you set the spring angle on the jig itself. It's easy to set and stays in fine, but it doesn't lock into place at the angle you choose (38, 45, 52). Therefore, every time you lift the jig off the saw it folds up so you are regularly having to reset the spring angle on the jig. That's a little annoying, but really the only drawback I encountered when using the Crown45. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no locking spring angle
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whether you know what you are doing or have no clue, this makes crown molding cuts effortless. Simply watch the DVD and you're a pro. Everyone should own one of these.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws

Milescraft Crown 45

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product allowed me to install crown molding in the double tray ceiling in our master bedroom. These were all inside cuts (16) and with the use of this product, I was able to make these cuts as you would put them up on the ceiling. It took all the prior "upside down and backward" guesswork and threw it out the window. I did not make one mistake with my cuts. As to critics, yes, you have to make sure you hold the jig down along with the crown so it doesn't slide around to make the exact cuts but PATIENCE does pay off. It was a cheap solution to a problem that faces many home re-modelers when it comes to crown molding. I would recommend it to anyone considering a crown install.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A money & time saver!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As an occasional DIY 'er I just never mastered this art. This product allowed me to cut inside and outside corners on crown molding accurately and quickly. I recommend this product without reservation. My personal experience using the standard process of cutting backward and upside down etc., etc., resulted with many, many errors, loss of material & money with loss of time as well.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with many features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
- Spring angle identifiers
- Indented cutting surfaces
- Adjustable angle settings for various spring angles
Easy to use and setup for cut. Just need to ensure solid hold to saw fence for accurate cut.
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws

Excellent assistant!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The crown moulding jig works as advertised. I was able to quickly learn the proper way to use this product by watching the included DVD. Took a few practice cuts to get the technique down, and then I was set to crown the entire house....which is now done! The only improvement I can think of is some way to lock the selected angle on the jig. Just make sure that you confirm the angle setting on the jig before each cut.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from Alabama

Could be better.

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It does work but with much difficulty holding material and jig securely. Recommend only for small job where cost of jig is major consideration.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A big time saver.

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure if this would help professionals, but it was a big help for an amateur like me. It helped me cut perfect or near perfect cuts every time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws
from Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool. Made cutting crown molding easy.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool. Easy to use and made cutting crown easy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Crown45 Crown Moulding Jig for Miter Saws

Best $30 spent.

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is absolutely the best way to install your own crown moulding. Only suggestion is using a 12 inch miter saw because it has more room on the saw deck for the jig and moulding.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.