728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit

3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit

Bosch offers a full assortment of SDS-plus bits, hammer steel points and chisels. The Bosch SDS-Plus 3/8 in. Carbide Hammer Drill Bit is a durable drilling accessory that features an optimized flute design to reduce stress and make the bit run cooler.
Overall rating:
3.471 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
Review 1 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Masonry bit....

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well now what to say.... It's a masonry drill bit. Nothing special just a drill bit. I've drilled a total of eight holes with it in 34 year old concrete using a rotor-hammer and it showed no signs of trouble. I've seen better bits and I've seen worse however for the price this is a reasonable buy for the average home owner.
If you have a job where you'll need to drill a LOT of holes you might want to step up to a little better quality drill bit. If this is to be left out in the garage and used now & then to drill a hole er two some where round the house.... This is the one to get! Not too much $$ & works well enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, it's shiny
Cons: could be a little longer but the price would go up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Mechanicsville, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

drill bit

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good quality got the job done. Was the right product for the job. Recommended by sales associate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Georgia mountains
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent drill bit

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used many concrete drill bits over the years but this is by far the best one. The Bosch bits are fast and amazing. My impact drill should last forever since the bit finishes it's job so quickly. Try one and you will see what I mean.
Pros: Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy these

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tough, effective, no problems and much faster and cleaner drilling than the cheaper stuff
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Northbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Durability

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this drill in an industrial application so it has to put up with a lot. After drilling over 40 holes over 5" deep it was still sharp and ready for more.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product wore out after one 4 inch hole

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product based on reviews online. I had to drill 4 holes 4 inches deep through standard residential foundation concrete. I drilled the first pilot hole using a 1/8 inch carbide drill bit made by Dewalt. It worked fine ( I happened to already have this bit). Then I commenced to drill using the 3/8 inch Bosch carbide tipped bit. It started quickly , but began to get dull very fast. I kept touching the bit to check for heating. This bit just dulled to soon. I will never buy Bosch drill bits again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit

Bad product

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this bit to drill some holes for installing bicycle racks into concrete. After one hole the tip on this thing completely lost its tip and was chipped on both faces.
I'll try and bring this back to home depot tomorrow, hopefully they'll take it back.
In the interim to finish the job I bought some Hilti bits, they're twice the price but they actually work.
This picture shows it after ONE 3" hole was drilled.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit

Do not buy

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this 3/8 drill bit for my hammer drill cause I had to drill 4 holes into concrete to install a mailbox I just recently also purchased. The bit was only able to drill one 2in hole into the concrete before becoming dull and useless. Don't waste your time on buying this bit. Hope this review was useful.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not work at all

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
tried drilling in concrete with a hammer drill and it just burned. ended up using an old concrete bit. this was worthless.
Cons: Not Durable, not sharp - did not cut
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 16 in. x 18 in. SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
Bought this bit to install security cameras. Bit went dull before drilling one hole in brick wall.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Boca Raton, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Employee help superb,

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 16 in. x 18 in. SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
I was not sure of the tile I wanted to use in my folks apt. But I new the colors and finish and square footage of the areas. One of the female employees that works in the tile and carpet area was fantastic with ideas and very patient with my bother and myself in picking what we finally thought would look great. That purchase was on Saturday July 12, 2014 at the Deerfield store at Hillsboro and 95. But in all honesty I have had many great people go out of there way to help me, I am a frequent shopper at your Home Depot.
Pros: Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Carbide Drill Bit......

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:1/4 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
It's a carbide drill bit. Good quality and it works just fine. It is a consumer grade meaning it's a good bit to have around the house for a little project now & then. It is not something that I would expect to use every day in a commercial application and expect to have a long life.
Yeah, it's alright and I've used it to drill about eight holes in my foundation for guards around the vents. Works just fine....... No big deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good features

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:1/4 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
Works easily - glad I bought it. Look forward to using it often as needed
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Old Saybrook, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still going strong

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:1/4 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
Nearly 100 holes in my concrete basement wall and no sign of decrease in performance. I would certainly buy it again.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performed as advertised

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:1/4 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
Quality product. Just let the hammer drill do all the work and not force it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great help

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:1/4 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
I need to remove chainlink fence posts from my front steps. The bit allowed me to make holes to move along the process of sledge hammering the posts free from the step.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. x 6 in. Carbide SDS-Plus Hammer Drill Bit
from Ridgeland, MS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good masonry bit

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:5/16 in. x 6 in. SDS-Plus Carbide Hammer Drill Bit
I'm using these to drill weep holes into the brick mortar on my home (for some reason, the contractors neglected to leave them when building the house). One bit lasted for 10 holes through the mortar (and a little bit of brick when I misjudged the spacing). Although, to be honest, I should have swapped bits after the 7th or 8th hole. Really slow going for the last few. I was using this bit with a Makita 1/2" hammer drill, which performed flawlessly, as expected.
Pros: Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.