728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Soil Tester

Electronic Soil Tester

The dual-purpose Electronic Soil Tester is designed to test soil pH balances and nutrient levels by reading the combined total of nitrogen, phosphorus and potash in the soil. This tester can be reused for convenience.
Overall rating:
1.909 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
27%of customersrecommend this product3 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
1.9 out of 5
5
(1)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Value 
1.8 out of 5
1.8 out of 5
27%of customersrecommend this product3 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Electronic Soil Tester
Review 1 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An acid or a base will give a charge, and this item shouldn't need a battery for that. That said, in college, we were taught to calibrate things with liquids, with a standardized pH. White vinegar is about a 3, ammonia from a grocery store is about a 10.
The medium, whether moist soil or a liquid, shouldn't matter a bit; if anything, the jars of vinegar and ammonia should read faster, and be more accurate!
This cheap thing stayed on 7, and bobbled back and forth between 6.5 and 8. No real difference whether I tested it in vinegar or ammonia.
Scientific verdict? Junk. Give me a no-stars option, and a no-bars choice for my review, please.
Cons: will not give an accurate reading, cheap but not worth that!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to produce accurate results

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm not sure why all the other reviewers are having trouble getting accurate readings from this device. Before testing my soil, I did some semi-scientific testing to see if the device actually works. In short, it appears to work as advertised. I immersed the rods in vinegar (a known acid), and the pH meter jumped down to 2. I then immersed the rods in soapy water (a known base), and the pH jumped to 9, wihch is the maximum alkaline value on the meter.
When I tested my soil, some areas of my yard showed as roughly neutral (~6.5-7 pH). Others showed as slightly acidic (~5 pH). I tested each hole several times, and achieved consistent results with each test. In my book, that shows that this device works.
Some of the other reviews mention the device breaking easily. What, are you jamming it into the ground with the force of a thousand earthquakes? It's made of plastic. I's obviously not industrial-grade. In fact, I'll knock off a star because it does feel a bit cheap. But what do you expect? It's a $10 product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Soil Tester
from ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure Junk

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have known something that didn't even require batteries would be junk.
I fallowed instructions to the letter and this meter, no matter the conditions, it barely moves one way or the other. I wanted to see if I was right about the product so I put it to the test. I put it in pure wet fertilizer and it barely moves off center. Put it in a lemon and it shows a ph of 6. Put it in a cup of baking soda and water and it has a ph of 7, yea right.
Don't waist your money!
Cons: highly inaccurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Soil Tester

JUNK

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The readings on this meter never moves past 7 or 6 no matter what you do. It is truly worthless, I threw it away.
Cons: worthless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Soil Tester
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Soil Tester

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product worked for me, was easy to use and very helpful in finding out what my soil needs. Not sure what happened in the other reviews. Maybe it was another persons item like in the photo from a review. It is not the same as this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Brandon, MS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for testing SOIL

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is for testing Soil. It is not for stuff like the gardenese "topsoil" nor mulch nor orange juice, it is for Dirt. "Organic matter" like wood chips and plant material interfere with the testing and may return invalid measurements.
You MUST read the directions and follow them.
Also good to note, this measures the Combined total of nitrogen, phosphorus and potash as "Fertility." If you want a detailed soil analysis of your garden soil mix - hire someone. If not, you should use the one-time soil tests with the little vials for every factor.
 
Products related to my review
Soil Test Kit
2.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+26points
35out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Tooele, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work AND falls apart--don't waste your time.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"The Soil Tester" just plain didn't work. I followed all the directions to the letter several times. The meter read 7 pH for everything except for a weak bleach solution when it went to 9 pH for a second and then dropped back to 7. I used litmus paper to verify that the unit was not functioning.
It instructs you to polish the aluminum probe with the included green cleaning pad. When I applied a little pressure the probe fell out. It's not designed to be disassembled--there are no screws on the back.
It's a piece of junk that they are betting most people won't bother to return. The $10 model is so bad in fact, that it's not even available on the Ferry-Morse website. I think they're ashamed of it.
At this time it's got one good review and one (my) bad review. Maybe you have a 50/50 chance of getting one that actually does what it says before it breaks!
Thankfully, Home Depot's return policy is great!
Cons: Not Durable, does not work as advertised.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Soil Tester
from south florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible !

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Piece of junk. I will be taking it back. To test it's responsiveness I placed the unit in a glass of vinegar, it would not read lower than 6.5
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Bernalillo, NM
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Doesn't do anything

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I meter kept reading 7 no matter where I put it, and one of the prongs kept sliding out. I'm new to gardening, but based off the other reviews I'm pretty sure this product is a dud.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Hialeah. Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waste of money

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The PH Meter reads 7 for everything. Waste of money
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Soil Tester
from Lancaster, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not work

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all the reviews for this product, but I decided to purchase it anyway. Wrong decision. I read the instructions & followed them exactly several times & in different areas, but the meter did not work. It did not move off of 7. Do not purchase. Save your $14.00 plus tax.
Pros: not any pros
Cons: does not work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.