728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer

6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer

Pennington 1 Step Complete seeding mix makes it easy to grow a beautiful, dark green, fine textured Tall Fescue lawn. Everything you need is pre-mixed in one bag - premium Smart Seed grass seed, professional-grade fertilizer, and mulch. Simply apply, water, and watch it grow. Perfect for patching or repairing problem spots in your lawn. This super-absorbent seeding mix holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients to help grass grow healthy and strong.
Overall rating:
3.533 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product18 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product18 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
Review 1 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Hutchinson, Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This grass seed really works....

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This grass seed was used to seed our entire yard.It started to show grass within 7 days. I had strangers driving down the street stop and ask what we were using as they had never seen grass come up that fast. Excellent product. However when I went to purchase more Home Depot no longer carried the large bag. I had to purchase smaller bags at a higher price.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
Cons: the price when i couldn't get the large bag.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from ST. CHARLES MO.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a good buy

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the seed went down with no problem, it took about 2 weeks for it to come up
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Kansas City, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect. It did what it was supposed to do and it did it effortlessly. We had holes in our lawn and it was a great product to fill in those holes Two months later we have a full lawn with no holes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied?

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the bag of seed to fill in some areas in the yard. We have full sun where I put the seed. I prepared the area by moistening the soil and using a hard rake to toil up the soil before putting down the seed. Watered and with no avail the seed did not grow. I followed the instructions on the bag and did not see any results. Next time I would chose Scotts and not worry about the savings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

How the incompetent gardner gets grass to grow.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Seldom does grass seed that I scatter germinate. With this "1 step complete" product I now have grass where I have had bare spots for years. I bought the product when it was on sale for about 50% off. At that price is was a bargain.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Edmond, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 step Penning grass seed

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Stir up the ground first. Better job when using the 1 step and getting better surface. Otherwise, give excellent directions and suggestions.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Blue Ridge, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was on sale. Good value.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Seed didn't all sprout but what did was quick. You MUST water every day to get the seed to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Greenville, South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grass Seed

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall the Grass is growing and it worked pretty good.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Tulsa, Ok
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Grass seed of any kind that I have ever purchased

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grass seed was really easy to plant, already had the soil pretty much ready for it. Had a Koi pond in the area that was planted but had to take it out and refill the hole so there was bare soil ready for seed.
My wife had bought some Bermuda seed and sown it but I don't think any of it ever germinated.
I bought this sowed it by hand, raked it down a little bit, started watering and about 12 days later had Fescue growing. I also planted some Giant Sunflowers in the patch just so it would have a little shade this summer because the area is in full sun from about 10am till 5 pm. The grass as you can see I the attached picture is about 6 or 7 inches tall in places and growing like crazy.
I only got enough to plant the area where the actual pond had been am letting the Bermuda fill back in the surrounding area.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Northfield, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product. Highly recommend.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a huge bare area in the backyard due to my St. Bernard and Lab playing and rolling around. I have used Scott's easy grass and that one product that was advertised on TV to grow anywhere. Neither product worked. I sitll had bare areas. I heard about Pennington one step on the radio and thought I would try it, especially since the advertisement said "get to the root of the problem". I followed the directions in sowing the seed and watered twice a day everyday. Within 10 days I had grass growing and after 2 weeks the area is completely filled in and the grass looks wonderful. I haven't had this in years. You will not be disappointed in using this product. Follow the directions and water 2 times daily.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer

Great stuff

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Disregard all of the reviews that say it didnt grow. Either they tried using it when its too hot (summer) or didnt water it as stated on the bag. Additionally apply it a bit thicker since when you water it, the mulch will mat down. More seeds in one area means denser grass when it comes up and also prevents a returning thin area if some of the seeds dont germinate.
I put this in to fix an area wrecked by gophers and within 1 week it was coming up nice and dense. It is fall time with cooler weather and have no issues. It looks great!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Maryland

Product worked as advertised. Highly Recommend!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is especially good to fix the bare area in the yard, even with the poor soil erosion. But have to follow the instruction and water daily.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Durham, NC

Don't waste your time or money

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is lots of product in the bag- just very few seeds! Even though I re-applied after a couple of weeks, hardly any grass is growing. Plus, your hands and arms end up orangey-brown. The Pennington product that I've used previously is much better.
Pros: none
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast Growing seed

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you want grass fast then this is the product to buy. After my shed was built I needed to fill in around it so decided to put some grass seed down. Threw some wheat straw over it and gave it a light sprinkle of water and that was about it. Didn't water on a regular basis just a once in a while thing and it still grew. My neighbor wanted to know what I used as he never saw grass grow that fast.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from oklahoma

will see if it grows fast and looks good. just put it out on a new lot

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
was east enough to open and spread. if it grows fast and looks good will be happy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Newnan, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great spot filler for yard !

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was able to use the small quantity bag to target spot areas within yard to help blend with existing grass for overall good look.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Apex, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product worked as advertised

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unfortunately, I didn't buy enough and then bought a similar product by Scotts. The Pennington seeds sprouted nicely and filled in quickly while the Scott's seeds barely sprouted at all. Will be buying more of the Pennington seed today.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never grew and we have had plenty of rain

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Planted right before heavy rains after fertilizing, may have been an old bag, and was DOA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer
from Candler, NC 28715, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This seed failed to grow

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I planted the seed according to manufacturer's instructions. In fact prior to planting I tilled the soil and added several cubic yards of topsoil. I water daily. Its now been 4 weeks and still no sign of new grass. I will be contacting the manufacturer and requesting a full refund.
Cons: didn't grow
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.25 lb. 1 Step Complete for Tall Fescue with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer

Very pleased

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Followed the directions (especially watering) and the grass began growing in less than two weeks. It has since filled in nicely and my bare spots are gone.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>