728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Thinner, Solvents & Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover

1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover

The Jasco 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover is an extremely strong stripper that effectively removes most coatings. It is safe to us on wood, metal concrete and masonry. The semi-paste formula is great to use on vertical surface. After your project, this stripper cleans up with water.
Overall rating:
2.889 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
Review 1 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from dallas ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

horrible

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not worth buying, all globs no way of spreading it. and no way of thinning it. don't waste your money
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from Key West, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for removing RESTORE finish

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was trying to remove my RESTORE finish from my deck. Sanding alone was too much work, I tried a number of strippers but found this one to work very well. Only had to wait about 5 minutes before scraping.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from Blairsville, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Save your money!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to remove paint from a concrete floor with very poor results. Put on heavy in four different areas and let sit from 15-25 minutes and was successful in only removing a small portion of the paint. If you have a very small job, 10 sq. ft or less this may be acceptable, anything larger in area, may take a lifetime to remove. Probably going to rent a concrete grinder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works really well!!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have 60-year-old Philippine Mahogany kitchen cabinets with original stain (dark) and varnish. Since the wood is great quality, we wanted to see if we could strip the goopy old stain and varnish (yuk!) off and re-stain 'em.
At the recommendation of the Home Depot staff member I purchased this product and let me tell you...WOW it was amazing!
Yes, the cans are hard to open as one reviewer mentioned, but not impossible. You just have to push down and turn while grabbing very firmly.
As for the other low reviews, the only reason I can think of is that people left it on for WAY too long. You can't let it dry out otherwise it won't work. One coat applied for 5-15 minutes (apply and leave it alone...don't mess with it or re-brush over it) was all I needed to strip off the sealant and most of the stain, and following the stripping procedure with a light sanding, my cabinets look incredible! I can't wait to finish them all.
This product works great on vertical surfaces, cleans up with water, and has no foul odor. I love it and will definitely use it again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, no odor
Cons: dries quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover

The best stuff on earth lol

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this paint thinner it really the best I wouldn't pick anything else and the spray can are 10x better but you can't buy 100 of them so this can is great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jasco Premium Paint Stripper

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have had good results with Jasco. I use Smart Strip (less toxic) first. We have a 100 year old house, and smart strip is good for the 15+ layers of paint over every surface, then use Jasco because it is a good finishing product. I've used it mostly on our interior doors. I let the smart strip sit for 12-24 hours, then scrape that off. Then use Jasco to get the rest (it's faster acting on the last little bit for and crevices).
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover
from Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overpromised and underdelivered!

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very slow and weak acting paint remover. Took 3/4 quart, three coats, and one hour to barely remove 2 coats of aerosol spray paint from a 18" X 36" metal panel. I long for the days of strong products that work.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover

Terrible, 3 different cans won't open.

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought THREE cans, none of them open. Took several wrenches and grip gloves to it, still won't open. I'm a grown man, not weak, this is just foolish product design. Looked online and tons of people have the same issue. Save the frustration, get something else.
Cons: Difficult to Use, non-openable
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-qt. Premium Paint and Epoxy Remover

Does not work as stated.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stripping the finish from chairs just did not work. Perhaps the claims are incorrect on the container. It does say it removes dry paint on the web. There is some inconsistency here. I will try a different brand which indicates finishes other than dry paint. I, too, long for the days when the strippers actually just let the paint or finish 'peel' off. What a pain!
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.