728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

This Cadet Single-Pole, Wall-Mount non-programmable Thermostat is designed for use with 120/208/240-volt baseboard and fan-forced heaters to control your room temperature. It offers a temperature range of 40 degrees F - 80 degrees F and is a line voltage control with a maximum load of 22 amps. An economical choice for electric resistance heating, it offers a 2-wire connection with color-coded wires to help ensure easy installation.
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
Review 1 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Arlington, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeping my room exactly at the temerature I want

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced my 30 year old thermostat with another brand only to discover the high dial reading of 75 degrees was inaccurate and would shut the heat off at 69 degrees when set to the maximum temperature.
I found the Cadet T-410A which actually cost a few dollars less. It has a maximum of 85 degrees and comfortably heats to my desired temperature of 71 or 72 degrees. This was my first (and second) attempt at replacing a thermostat and I found it was easy to install.
The "click" you hear when you turn the dial up or down to control the temperature is a little quiet but other than that, I'm perfectly happy and warm!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

seemed like a good idea at the time

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Only 2 wires to connect to the two wires in the wall coming from the furnace, but then the furnace wouldn't turn off. haven't bothered to figure out what's wrong, yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By CadetCustomer SupportJune 18, 2015By CadetCustomer SupportJune 18, 2015
This thermostat is meant for use with electric baseboard or wall heaters, if you have a furnace you're going to need a low-voltage thermostat. We'd recommend you take this back to Home Depot so they can help you find the right thermostat for your situation. Sorry for the confusion. Good luck!
Review 3 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

Serviceable, but...

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a fine unit but it does not go trim to the wall if you put it in an 'old work' box. Not noticeable for most but I'm an electrician and see this sort of thing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Heater w/ control

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It appears to work as described, however,
this is a 120 volt version and I believe the 240 volt
would be a better choice if you have the hook up.
I think the 240 volt puts out more heat than the 120 volt,
also I have not received my electric bill to determine if this
heater is efficient compared to a 240 volt version.
The installation was straight forward and not difficult
for the DYI guy or gal.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wall mounted bimetal thermostate

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to control the temperature in my dogs house. It turns on and off a 60 watt bulb within a coffee can. Works perfect. The graduated knob and bimetal assembly or on the outside. The electrical parts or behind the main composite plate. Made of all plastic so time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Hariiman, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for bedroom

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, looks great, doesn't take up too much space and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from dekalb jct ny 13630
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is being used for floor based heating, worked well and really easy to connect for my husband. I think if the thermostat is able to turn off that would help with this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By CadetCustomer SupportDecember 29, 2014By CadetCustomer SupportDecember 29, 2014
We're glad to hear that your thermostats are working well and were easy to install. For future reference, our double-pole thermostats have an off setting. Those can also be found at The Home Depot. Here is a link to the double-pole version of the thermostat you bought: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Cadet-Double-Pole-22-Amp-120-240-Volt-Wall-Mount-Mechanical-Non-programmable-Thermostat-in-White-T410B-W/202502063Cadet
Review 8 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

Calibration Accuracy??

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit to control my garage electric heater. Thermostat does function but calibration accuracy is off by 10-15 degrees from thermometers placed next to thermostat. Okay for a garage but questionable for living spaces.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By CadetCustomer SupportMarch 31, 2015By CadetCustomer SupportMarch 31, 2015
Sorry to hear that your thermostat isn't working properly. Although it isn’t common, sometimes mechanical thermostats can be inaccurate right out of the box. The thermostat being off by 10 or 15 degrees is also a symptom of having the supply wire connected to the wrong wire in the thermostat. It might be worth double-checking to make sure that isn’t what is going on. Either way, if you aren’t satisfied with your thermostat’s performance, please take it back to the store so we can work out an exchange for another unit.
Review 9 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Palermo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reasonable for the price

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Though not very expensive ,this thermostat seems to work pretty good. It was easy to install. It seems to be pretty accurate also.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fairly well, but not REAL accurate

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well controlling 2 cadet baseboard heaters, however temp reading is not real accurate, its about 5-10* off, 40 is more like 45, 70 is more like 80. Not a real big problem for the price of this thing and since I am using it in an out-building, not my house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: inaccurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Appleton,Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saving money

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Simple to wire. I had it wired in 10 minutes. Working well so far. Temperature calibration is good. Temperature range variation from set point has been plus/minus 2 degrees so far. Time will tell on longevity of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Jackson Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Choice and easy to install!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought two cadet 500 watt base board heaters they were very easy to install even when I added these thermostats to save energy and heat a bathroom and porch area. I have found them to save me electricity when heating these areas because they maintain the temp well. I would recommend them to others for similar uses and ease of installation. Thanks for saving me money! Sourpuss
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White

AMAZING

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You set it and it turns the heater on and off as promised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from skagit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

white only

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
only one color white,, blah,, cream or tan would be better
Pros: price
Cons: ugly white
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By CadetCustomer SupportDecember 12, 2014By CadetCustomer SupportDecember 12, 2014
Hi Glen,
I hope that the thermostat is working well for you. We do offer the same thermostat in almond and taupe, you can find them here: http://www.homedepot.com/s/Single-Pole%252022%2520Amp%2520120%252F240-Volt%2520Wall-Mount%2520Mechanical%2520Non-pr?NCNI-5.Cadet
Review 15 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from PA/NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product. Modern look. Replaced the heaters and thermostats in our shore house after hurricane Sandy damage. Easy to install and use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Albany, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install!

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We replaced three, 30 year old thermostats and the instructions and and design made it so easy. I would recommend these to anyone wanting to update or upgrade to a new thermostat.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Tenino, WA 98589, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, quick upgrade

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this thermostat to replace 20 year old thermostats in the house. They are very quick and easy to install and do a much better job of managing the room temperature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, simple instructions.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product to control a baseboard heater. Works as advertised and installation was straight forward. Recommend for intermediate DIY'er. Some knowledge of electrical wiring codes and basics needed, otherwise use a licensed electrician.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Single-Pole 22 Amp 120/240-Volt Wall-Mount Mechanical Non-programmable Thermostat in White
from Ca
Age Range:18 to 24

No Off position

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No option to turn it off so it will not come on no matter how cold it gets. Bad if needed to protect pipes from freezing. Good if heat not needed.
-41points
3out of 47found this review helpful.