728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

The CGH402 240 volt portable garage heater is designed with rugged, durable construction. The open airflow design reduces debris build up, and provides warmth for larger areas up to 300 square feet by circulating air throughout the room. The CGH402 is for floor or flat surface mounting, but can be mounted on wall or ceiling with proper anchoring provisions. The area must be equipped with an accessible 240 volt receptacle.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product5 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product5 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
Review 1 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Gem, ID, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is requires a lot of patience.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the mostly poor reviews of this product I was apprehensive about purchasing it, but I was desperate to heat a building with baby calves. After experiencing the poor heat being produced when the heater was first started I thought I had made a real mistake and called the Cadet company and talked to a technician. He explained that the way the heater works it may never heat a building the size of a 2 car garage with an indoor temperature in the 20s to a toasty warm temperature. Since there where no other heaters available for at least 200 miles I left the heater turned on and hoped for the best. I was surprised when 15 hours later it had heated the 25 degree building ( the size of a 3 car garage ) to a reading in the 40s and in 24 hours the reading was in the 50s. If you buy one of these you can not expect an immediate temperature increase. It takes a lot of time for it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: takes a long time to work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Nampa, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth your money. Returning today.

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in a hurry after reading a review for a Cadet "The Hot One" review. I didn't realize I bought a different hreater until I got home. Dont' mistake the two...
It feels like good quality and is easy enought to wire. I used a 2-pole 20 amp breaker and 10/2 wire. The heat output was very bad. I let it run for 30 minutes and it barely heated up. I mean my little oil filled 110v heater puts out more heat. Like the other reviewer said it blows luke warm air. I have a 24x24 shop and it was 45 degrees out today. My digital thermostat didn't change even 1 degree after 30 minutes.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

Let's hope the replacement works longer

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Worked great for about a week. Then burned up, the thermostate controls could still be heard working but the fan and the heating coils quit. I exchanged it at HD, hopefully the new one works at least thru the winter.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

not worth it

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this heater to heat up a 450 sq ft garage i had it on for 6 hours and it did not heat out side temp was 20degrees in six hours it changed to 36degrees not worth $200 plus tax will return it...
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waist of time and money

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After running on high for 2 hours, I could hold my hand on the grill. Cold air blowing past the element. A hair dryer would put out more heat.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: poor performance, over priced
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from penna
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worked out great

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I DID NOT HAVE MUCH FAITH IN THIS WHEN I FIRST GOT IT. I PLUGGED IT IN AND SET IT ON THE FLOOR IN MY 23X27 GARAGE . IT IS INSULATED IN THE CEILING AND A GOOD 16X 9 GARAGE DOOR. AFTER 2 HRS AT 38 DEGREES, I CHECKED IT AND IT WAS UP TO 55. I WAS VERY HAPPY AT THIS POINT AND RECOMMEND THIS TO ALL WHO NEED TO HEAT THIS AREA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Please dont waste $198!! Makes NO heat!!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This little "heater" is heavy and solid, seems like it would be a great little unit. But when I installed it, I didn't know weather to laugh or get angry. It puts out a small breeze of "warm" air. What it DOES do is put out a huge blast of ice cold air that bypasses around the heating element. I cannot understand why a heater this poor in performance requires 240 volts. My 1500 watt bedroom heater is better, returning it immediately.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

Terrible

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seems like it is built well and would be a really good heater. Its even 240V's! However, once I set this up in my garage I quickly realized that I wasted my money. You can rest your hand on front of the heater and it will never feel hot. The heater puts out cold air outside the element. The heater did not increase the temperature of my garage at all. I will be returning this heater ASAP!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Northern Ohio and Kansas

Good value

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this heater for my studio bedroom and for use in my workshop when needed. The heat output is more than I expected from 4,000 watts- WAY MORE. The studio is 500 sq ft and has windows around three sides with a sliding glass door. It is 3 degrees above zero right now and the room is overly warm so the thermostat needs turned down. If it ran continuously it could easily heat the room to 90 or above. Overall it functions very well, but you should know that it is louder than most people would accept for use inside a bedroom or family room.
I would buy this fan again and am hoping that the remaining units go on clearance so I can pick another one up at an even better price.
Oh yeah, it heats my two-car shop from freezing to comfortable in 30 minutes and keeps it there with no problem. It is much better than a kerosene heater.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Atlanta

Good for the Price

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this for our Athletic Club's hot yoga studio. We didn't want to have to invest a whole lot of time and money in the HVAC unit since there are only two classes per week. The room we instaleld it in is about 60' x 40' with 10' cielings. We still run the hvac unit, but this will def crank out some heat for its size. Not sure how effective it would be in a garage since we do have over head fans to help circulate the heat, and it is insulated. For the price a good deal.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from Beaverton, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Not worth your time or money

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only good feature of this heater is the design. It's lightweight and portable. Form trumps function however, because it's ability to heat is laughable. It's also quite noisy. King's KBP2406 is slightly higher in price - but not by much -and it's 3 times the heater in both performance and low noise level.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It doesn't even get warm

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fan blows fine, it just isn't warm at all. You have put your hand 2" away to tell if it's putting out any heat. Description says "good for large areas", couldn't heat a closet.
Very disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
from tulsa, ok area

doesn't work worth anything!

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
you'd think that with 4000 watts this thing would heat up SOMETHING... but think again. i am returning it and buying something else. the tall skinny heater we use for the house heats better than this at 1500 watts, that's sad.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The air from the heater is warm but not hot. Takes a very long time to make a noticeable difference in my garage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.