728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

The Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade is a multi-purpose blade that easily attaches to your lawn mower. This blade dethatches, rakes, mulches, scalps, bags and cuts your lawn with simple adjustments to the nylon lines. Hardware pack, dethatching line and blade all included.
Overall rating:
2.882 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product7 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product7 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Review 1 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
PBXE
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Works as designed

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed on my Troy-Bilt mower with no adaptors needed. I had a large area of badly matted grass, so I mowed the entire lawn very short with the regular blade, then went over it again with the power rake blade. My intention was to scrape/de-thatch to nearly bare ground so that I could re-seed, and it worked exactly as I had hoped it would, pulling up the badly thatched grass, leaving enough exposed ground for over-seeding. The only drawback was that I have to replace the nylon tines before I can do my back yard..this may not be as much of an issue if you don't go as low as I did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
RodS
from Montgomery, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't fit mower

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THis blade would not fit my 22" Toro self propelled mower. My mower will only accommodate a curved blade. Took it back for a full refund.
Cons: doesn't fit my mower
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Icarus5280
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done well.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This worked great for getting the dead thatch out of our yard in anticipation of watering restrictions. We installed it in three minutes, and away we went. We chose to set the mower on its highest setting and work our way down so as not to go to short. We wound up mowing three times to get to the desired condition we were looking for. Really impressed with how it worked but if you rush it and go to low you may tear up your grass. Just take it easy and work down from the top before the grass green up.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
AzCanuck
from PHX AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUY IT... 5 STARS; 5 STARS; 5 STARS

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would have given 6 Stars ... but you know! Used to de-thatch my lawn for the first time in 3 years. Direct bolt on for my Yard Machines Gas Mower with a 21" deck. I took some advice from previous comments and scalped my lawn before attempting to de-thatch. For my first pass I went over the yard one setting higher than the one I used to scalp with my original blade. I then dropped down and made another 3 passes. This thing pulled up thatch when I figured there was no more! The fact that it deposits the thatch in your mower bag (for ease of disposal) is enough to put up with a couple of headaches. I must say however; I couldn't find even one! Not enough praise for this product. Save time, money, and your back... BUY IT!!!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
kerndtsr
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not your daddy's dethatcher

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For 30 years I used the spring loaded type. (Two nails on a flat 16" bar). It took several passes and vibrated like crazy. It would take me half a Saturday to do the job this one did in less than an hour. I love the fact that I don't have to come back and rake up the thatch. Plus it's the same size as a regular blade so just mow your lawn like before, just have to empty the bag a few times more.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, time saver
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Jack

This product will not work on a Toro mower

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this attachment for a toro 22" recycler mower. Included in the package were 3 different size adapter washers, none of which were the right size diameter. I had to slightly drill one to be able to get the bolt over it. The blade that comes with the kit would not safely fit the blade holder for a Toro blade even though the package stated that it would work on a Toro. I wound up taking it back. A waste of about an hours time. Seemed like a good idea & if the parts had fit my mower, it may have saved me a lot of manual labor and time.
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Paul
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truely, a power rake.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, this is the best thing you could buy to turn your yard around. Right out of the box it bolted right on my lawn mower with no problems. I have a large amount of leaves that fall on my yard from a oak tree. This power rake blade did exactly what it claims to do. When I finished mowing my yard it looked like a golf course, I am so happy everytime I look at my lawn because of the great blade. You name it, it does it.....dethatches, rakes, mulches and cuts your lawn in one pass. Remember to make proper height adjustments per instructions included before trying out. Best tool I have bought in a long time.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
JasonR
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Usage on 22" Toro

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd like to echo Jack's statements about using this on a 22" Toro. I ended up using a 1/2" tap to open up the adapter. I did end up using this and had pretty good results. In retrospect though, it'd probably have been more worth my time to rent a power rake.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Dave
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, but will not fit on all mowers. The blade mounting bracket which is on the mower itself must have a flat base. Also, don't lower the mower too low. At the correct wheel height the plastic rake pieces work well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
gmoney3344
from Romulus, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not fit Craftsman mower

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was looking forward to using, but it did not come with a fitting for my newish Craftsman mower which has a star fitting even though it says it fits Craftsman. It would have fit my old mower that was 15 years old.
Cons: doesn't fit craftsman mower
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Jody

Don't waste your time or money!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blade because I liked the idea that you could bag the thatch while dethatching. Well let me just say if you like your lawn and I'm assuming you do if you want to dethatch it, then don't buy this product. You have to have your mower at the lowest setting for the twines to even reach the thatch. In doing so it scalps your lawn and it pulls up a lot of the good grass and no thatch. So much good grass came up that it was blowing the grass out the side of the mower rather than bagging it. It was absolutely horrible. My husband did one pass with it and I thought I was going to cry. It totally scalped my lawn. I had him take it off, I cleaned it and brought back to the store. The absolute worst product ever made. So again, if you take pride in your lawn, then you don't want this item. I'd give it a zero star but they don't offer it.
Cons: scalps the lawn and does not go into the bagger.
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Orlando
from Indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tool For The Price

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
June 3 - Dethatched My Lawn
Ok after doing research I was like it cannot hurt to try the device.... So on the first run I cut too low and was like naw I better stop - the thing though I made the mistake in the front yard - (LOL) then I said what the heck do the entire yard. So, I started mowing and realize it will help the grass/soil breathe better - plus I am spreading new grass seeds this afternoon to give my yard a greener look. As for purchasing this device - YES I WOULD BUY IT AGAIN......
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
kris
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just not for me

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was extremely easy to install on my Yard-Man mower, did not need to use any of the adapters as it was a perfect fit. I also cannot complain about the effectiveness of the product, it will do what it says it will do. That being said, if you haven't dethatched your yard in a while you better be prepared to scalp the yard either before, or using, this tool. Even at medium height I could not get much thatch removal, any lower and I was scalping the yard which made it look really ugly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
srkelvis
from East Amherst, Clarence, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

does not work

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hardly did anything to remove thatch from my lawn.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
alan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does not work

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
started out on high depth no thatch was removed. Lowered the wheels gradually until the grass was being cut to short and still hardly any thatch came up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
SamD
from Michigan, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the price of my lawn.

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product based on the reviews I read. I followed the directions and advice on how to use this to dethatch my lawn. Lucky for me, my wife convinced me to do a small area first before trying the whole lawn. I made 4 passes, starting with a normal mowing height and lowered it after each pass. The first two passes didn't do much but cut the grass but after the fourth pass, I had a full bag of grass. It didn't pull out as much thatch as I thought it should, but it did pull out all my green grass, leaving me with an area that looked like it was long dead with no hope for recovery. And to top it off, I still pulled out more thatch with a rake while trying to reseed the area. Don't buy this thing if you like your lawn!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
dottie

GREAT TOOL !!!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this to dethatch my zoysia lawn. works great !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.