728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

The Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade is a multi-purpose blade that easily attaches to your lawn mower. This blade dethatches, rakes, mulches, scalps, bags and cuts your lawn with simple adjustments to the nylon lines. Hardware pack, dethatching line and blade all included.
Overall rating:
3.143 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product15 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(10)
Features 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product15 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Review 1 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Works as designed

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed on my Troy-Bilt mower with no adaptors needed. I had a large area of badly matted grass, so I mowed the entire lawn very short with the regular blade, then went over it again with the power rake blade. My intention was to scrape/de-thatch to nearly bare ground so that I could re-seed, and it worked exactly as I had hoped it would, pulling up the badly thatched grass, leaving enough exposed ground for over-seeding. The only drawback was that I have to replace the nylon tines before I can do my back yard..this may not be as much of an issue if you don't go as low as I did.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from greenville, sc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as functionally designed

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When rake tines need to be replaced, the blade must be removed from the mower. Even though fittings are provided that configure to the mower, reinstalling the power rake is difficult because the fittings fall out easily. If one is bagging mulch, the mower needs to be operated at a high rate of speed or else the mulch will not go up the chute and into the catcher. Otherwise, product saved a lot of raking and bagging time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable
Cons: adaptability inserts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

exceeded my expectations!

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does an excellent job of removing thatch and scalping the lawn in preparation of planting winter grass. Used it on my husqvarna mower. I did have to remove the paint in the bolt holes to make it fit. I bought several packs of replacement line because I read a review that said they wear out quick. Never changed out the original line. Very impressed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Fairbanks AK

Follow the instructions and it works great.

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing and saw that they were mixed. I was looking for a product to rake up matted grass and dried mulch from my mulching mower. I followed the instructions for raking and it worked great without damaging the lawn. The key is starting at a high setting and lowering your mower deck in increments until you achieve the desired results. The blade cut well and the nylon rakes held up well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from PHX AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUY IT... 5 STARS; 5 STARS; 5 STARS

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would have given 6 Stars ... but you know! Used to de-thatch my lawn for the first time in 3 years. Direct bolt on for my Yard Machines Gas Mower with a 21" deck. I took some advice from previous comments and scalped my lawn before attempting to de-thatch. For my first pass I went over the yard one setting higher than the one I used to scalp with my original blade. I then dropped down and made another 3 passes. This thing pulled up thatch when I figured there was no more! The fact that it deposits the thatch in your mower bag (for ease of disposal) is enough to put up with a couple of headaches. I must say however; I couldn't find even one! Not enough praise for this product. Save time, money, and your back... BUY IT!!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Ocean, NJ 07712
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst purchase ever.

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work! Home depot should eliminate this product.
Pros: none
Cons: does not work!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

Ok

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product cuts great but the rake portion comes off too easily. Replacements are required every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Greenville, Smithfield, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great does every thing it say. it was hard to find at first went two 4 Stores
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, All In One, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not your daddy's dethatcher

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For 30 years I used the spring loaded type. (Two nails on a flat 16" bar). It took several passes and vibrated like crazy. It would take me half a Saturday to do the job this one did in less than an hour. I love the fact that I don't have to come back and rake up the thatch. Plus it's the same size as a regular blade so just mow your lawn like before, just have to empty the bag a few times more.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, time saver
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truely, a power rake.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, this is the best thing you could buy to turn your yard around. Right out of the box it bolted right on my lawn mower with no problems. I have a large amount of leaves that fall on my yard from a oak tree. This power rake blade did exactly what it claims to do. When I finished mowing my yard it looked like a golf course, I am so happy everytime I look at my lawn because of the great blade. You name it, it does it.....dethatches, rakes, mulches and cuts your lawn in one pass. Remember to make proper height adjustments per instructions included before trying out. Best tool I have bought in a long time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done well.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This worked great for getting the dead thatch out of our yard in anticipation of watering restrictions. We installed it in three minutes, and away we went. We chose to set the mower on its highest setting and work our way down so as not to go to short. We wound up mowing three times to get to the desired condition we were looking for. Really impressed with how it worked but if you rush it and go to low you may tear up your grass. Just take it easy and work down from the top before the grass green up.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

This product will not work on a Toro mower

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this attachment for a toro 22" recycler mower. Included in the package were 3 different size adapter washers, none of which were the right size diameter. I had to slightly drill one to be able to get the bolt over it. The blade that comes with the kit would not safely fit the blade holder for a Toro blade even though the package stated that it would work on a Toro. I wound up taking it back. A waste of about an hours time. Seemed like a good idea & if the parts had fit my mower, it may have saved me a lot of manual labor and time.
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Jonesboro, AR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nasty!!!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So instead of spending $100 plus on a tow behind dethatcher I bought this. Does NOT dethatch worth a dang. I started at a high setting and made 3 passes lowering it each time. To dethatch it has to be on lowest setting. Ended up scalping a part of my yard so I spent 2 months with overseeding and watering trying to get the side of my yard back! Horrible. Cuts grass good and works good to scalp a yard. Would not buy again or even take a free one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

Worked well

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Removed thatch like a champ. The holes for attaching to the lawnmower were painted over so I had to file the edges of the holes to get the bolt to fit through. Other than that everything worked as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Montgomery, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't fit mower

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THis blade would not fit my 22" Toro self propelled mower. My mower will only accommodate a curved blade. Took it back for a full refund.
Cons: doesn't fit my mower
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Usage on 22" Toro

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd like to echo Jack's statements about using this on a 22" Toro. I ended up using a 1/2" tap to open up the adapter. I did end up using this and had pretty good results. In retrospect though, it'd probably have been more worth my time to rent a power rake.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, but will not fit on all mowers. The blade mounting bracket which is on the mower itself must have a flat base. Also, don't lower the mower too low. At the correct wheel height the plastic rake pieces work well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the value.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this product is a good value and should last a couple seasons before having to replace an parts. Did has advertised and my lawn is looking better after two weeks of recovery.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: should come with additional replacements
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Ohio

Does work with Toro mower

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Contrary to all the reviews I've read both here and elsewhere, I gave this product a try with my Toro mower. It took about 15 minutes to get the blade on and away I was. Front section of my yard filled two lawn bags to the top. **Do be careful not to have deck too low, it will chew up your lawn pretty bad. Hoping this was the 1st step in making my lawn much happier....and greener. Good luck!!
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BE WARNED!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was in need of a power rake and thought this was a good idea, big mistake. This will kill your lawn. Complete garbage.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: will destroy your lawn, rips lawn up, doesn't do what is advertised, you will be sorry
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 >>