728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

The Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade is a multi-purpose blade that easily attaches to your lawn mower. This blade dethatches, rakes, mulches, scalps, bags and cuts your lawn with simple adjustments to the nylon lines. Hardware pack, dethatching line and blade all included.
Overall rating:
3.105 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product21 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(14)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product21 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Review 1 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

best spring tool

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
just use this instead of rakig the lawn and will no longer use a rake come spring to me
Best $25 i have spent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Portland, OR

Broke our 1 year old Husqavarna Lawn Mower

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this for use with our Husqavarna lawn mower which was only a year old. We were able to do about 10,000 sq ft of lawn (it did a decent job), however just before we completed our yard the lawnmower started to act up. It turns out the crankshaft bent and now the cost of repair is the same as purchasing a new lawn mower.
If you use this item, I would make sure that you do a small section of yard at a time and make sure your grass is really dry. Our grass was a bit damp and we are wondering if that might be part of the reason for our lawnmower breaking as a result of using this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good at kicking up dust

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used on a Honda HRR2168VKA--bolted right up. Not sharp enough to cut evenly, didn't pull up any thatch. It IS really good at annoying the whole neighborhood with the amount of dirt it can kick up. Not sure why it can't pick up thatch if it can reach the dirt underneath. Oh, and when I finished using it for the first time for just 30 minutes, one of the plastic tines was already worn to the base. Hopefully I can return it.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power Rake

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Other than not having trouble finding this tool. I know it as a de-thatching blade. Customer service reps had no idea what I was talking about. Once we got past that everything worked out well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good inexpensive thatching blade.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Thatched entire yard and even though I have lots of rocks in the ground the plastic was quite durable and should be adequate for one more thatching.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Aurora, co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Power rake

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The blade comes with enough adapters to make it easy to install. The replaceable rake fingers are durable lasting me a couple mowings, which was enough for the year. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from PHX AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUY IT... 5 STARS; 5 STARS; 5 STARS

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Would have given 6 Stars ... but you know! Used to de-thatch my lawn for the first time in 3 years. Direct bolt on for my Yard Machines Gas Mower with a 21" deck. I took some advice from previous comments and scalped my lawn before attempting to de-thatch. For my first pass I went over the yard one setting higher than the one I used to scalp with my original blade. I then dropped down and made another 3 passes. This thing pulled up thatch when I figured there was no more! The fact that it deposits the thatch in your mower bag (for ease of disposal) is enough to put up with a couple of headaches. I must say however; I couldn't find even one! Not enough praise for this product. Save time, money, and your back... BUY IT!!!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from sunburst, montana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Detaching alternative

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only semi gripe is installing/replacing the plastic tines.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No worries here...

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical of this product, but went ahead an paid the $30 and took it home. I am glad I did. It does a great job! Don't believe the bad reviewers of this product - it works as advertised. If it ruined your lawn, you didn't (or couldn't) read the instructions.
I wish I'd have purchased another set of blade inserts.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Mulches Well
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truely, a power rake.

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow, this is the best thing you could buy to turn your yard around. Right out of the box it bolted right on my lawn mower with no problems. I have a large amount of leaves that fall on my yard from a oak tree. This power rake blade did exactly what it claims to do. When I finished mowing my yard it looked like a golf course, I am so happy everytime I look at my lawn because of the great blade. You name it, it does it.....dethatches, rakes, mulches and cuts your lawn in one pass. Remember to make proper height adjustments per instructions included before trying out. Best tool I have bought in a long time.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Seabeck, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea, Fails to Deliver

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Home Depot web page stated that this power rake worked on Honda mowers, which I own. Well, it obviously does not work on all of them. The bolts on my Honda mower are larger in width than the slots on the power rake making it impossible for me to attach the blade to my mower. I encouraged the sales rep at the returns counter to get the web site updated, but doubt if that happened. The product looks like it would work on the correct mower. I would like to have tried it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Works as designed

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed on my Troy-Bilt mower with no adaptors needed. I had a large area of badly matted grass, so I mowed the entire lawn very short with the regular blade, then went over it again with the power rake blade. My intention was to scrape/de-thatch to nearly bare ground so that I could re-seed, and it worked exactly as I had hoped it would, pulling up the badly thatched grass, leaving enough exposed ground for over-seeding. The only drawback was that I have to replace the nylon tines before I can do my back yard..this may not be as much of an issue if you don't go as low as I did.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not your daddy's dethatcher

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For 30 years I used the spring loaded type. (Two nails on a flat 16" bar). It took several passes and vibrated like crazy. It would take me half a Saturday to do the job this one did in less than an hour. I love the fact that I don't have to come back and rake up the thatch. Plus it's the same size as a regular blade so just mow your lawn like before, just have to empty the bag a few times more.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, time saver
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade

This product will not work on a Toro mower

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this attachment for a toro 22" recycler mower. Included in the package were 3 different size adapter washers, none of which were the right size diameter. I had to slightly drill one to be able to get the bolt over it. The blade that comes with the kit would not safely fit the blade holder for a Toro blade even though the package stated that it would work on a Toro. I wound up taking it back. A waste of about an hours time. Seemed like a good idea & if the parts had fit my mower, it may have saved me a lot of manual labor and time.
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Fairbanks AK

Follow the instructions and it works great.

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing and saw that they were mixed. I was looking for a product to rake up matted grass and dried mulch from my mulching mower. I followed the instructions for raking and it worked great without damaging the lawn. The key is starting at a high setting and lowering your mower deck in increments until you achieve the desired results. The blade cut well and the nylon rakes held up well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done well.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This worked great for getting the dead thatch out of our yard in anticipation of watering restrictions. We installed it in three minutes, and away we went. We chose to set the mower on its highest setting and work our way down so as not to go to short. We wound up mowing three times to get to the desired condition we were looking for. Really impressed with how it worked but if you rush it and go to low you may tear up your grass. Just take it easy and work down from the top before the grass green up.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Sweetwater, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Will Break Your Mower

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Even though I was careful to adjust the mower high enough off the ground to avoid the blade digging in, and had it set just to dethatch, the blade stopped so hard that it broke the bolt inside the end of the crankshaft. Hopefully a machine shop will be able to extract the bolt. I'm sure this will be a burdensome repair and maybe expensive.
Cons: break your mower
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install, but will not fit on all mowers. The blade mounting bracket which is on the mower itself must have a flat base. Also, don't lower the mower too low. At the correct wheel height the plastic rake pieces work well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Usage on 22" Toro

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'd like to echo Jack's statements about using this on a 22" Toro. I ended up using a 1/2" tap to open up the adapter. I did end up using this and had pretty good results. In retrospect though, it'd probably have been more worth my time to rent a power rake.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Power Rake 6-in-1 Blade
from Greenville, Smithfield, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great does every thing it say. it was hard to find at first went two 4 Stores
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, All In One, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>