728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

The RESCUE! Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap will attract and catch all major species of yellow jackets. It uses no pesticides, offering a safe way to control pests in your backyard, on your campsite or on your farm. This trap will catch yellow jackets within a 1,000 sq. ft. area.
Overall rating:
2.727 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product5 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product5 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
Review 1 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Work, Don't Bother

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was a bit skeptical when I purchased this item, but for the price it seemed like a good deal to give it a try. I followed the instructions exactly, hung this in a tree just at the edge of my treeline about 6' off the ground, and left it for about 2 weeks while I was traveling. When I returned I was disappointed to see it had only managed to catch a few moths. Later that day I was out doing yard work trimming bushes in the woods and I trimmed right into a yellow jacket nest hidden below, at which point I got stung. The most frustrating part is I had unknowingly set the trap no more than 10' from this nest! I will not be purchasing any more of these, one test and one sting (luckily) was enough!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Brazos County, Texas

Yellowjackets die!

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After testing all traps in our 1/2 acre due to attacks, this was found to be the best ... being cheapest & most convenient were bonuses. This year, these queens are out already in Central Texas so catching these = 1000 less aggressive stingers all summer! New tip: where to hang = 1) near cedar tree, 2) water source, 3) garbage (food), 4) wood products that could be chewed into nesting materials
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

Doesn't work

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I'm extremely disappointed in this product, I've had 2 of these traps out for 2 weeks now and neither one has caught anything at all. I don't think the attractant in either one is any good based on pictures I've found online, the white powder is sitting in the bottom of the bags and didn't mix with the water. In the meantime, the yellowjacket nest that I can't access under my front stairs continues to flourish.
Cons: doesn't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Logan, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Yellow Jacket Trap

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why all the poor reviews but I use these near my beehives to reduce robbing pressure caused by pesky (and hungry) yellow jackets. If you follow the directions, fill them up with the indicated amount of water, and hang them near the problem area you should have yellow jackets galore. Now, having said that, if you have a wasp problem, this is not your solution, you'll want to invest in the WHY, or similar, traps.
Make sure you follow the directions and that you are indeed having issues with yellow jackets and not another specie. I've had no problems catching honey bees in the traps. If the trap has too much water in it, or it overflows, it won't be as effective. Try to avoid allowing a sprinkler to run on, and fill up, the trap. If you have lots of rain, you may consider replacing these more often or putting them in an area that is protected a bit from filling up with too much water.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: disposable and will need to be replaced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

love it

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two and am going back for more. have drowned hundreds in a week! Wish the color wasn't so yellow, to blend in with yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

Yellow jacket traps

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I did not yet get a chance to use one of these, from what I have seen they are successful. And I love the fact that they were relatively inexpensive.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Crescent City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Lured Ants

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Put it where yellow jackets attacked dog--nothing. Have moved it all over property where I encounter them but all I've caught were a few ants. I have used another type trap that we've had great results at another home but it caught nothing here either. Maybe they're wiser here?
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Central Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DOES NOT WORK

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in Central Pennsylvania and the yellow jackets were chasing the hummingbirds away from my 2 feeders. I placed this trap in the yard at a good distance from the feeders hoping it would steer the yellow jackets to it vs. the 2 feeders. It has been up for 3 days. Not one single yellow jacket in the trap and, in fact, I see none even flying close to the trap. They still prefer the feeders.
I gave this product one star only because I had to in order to write a review. Otherwise, I would not have given it any stars.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, this product works the best. The first day it caught 8, the 2nd day another 12. It catches at least 15-20/day. I hung it next to the nest that is behind the vinyl siding. I bought 2 more and hung them farther away and they catch about half as many. I've tried spraying in behind the siding but it doesn't do anything. So far this works the best at controlling them. I just wish it would attract the queen which would kill them off. Last year I I had wasps around my shrubs. I bought a "birdhouse" type with thick liquid and it never caught 1 wasp. I dumped soapy water on the shrubs and in 2 days they were gone.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: bag has graphics that make it hard to see inside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

attracted everything but the yellow jackets

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have aggressive yellow jackets stinging my dog so I got this trap and they fly by or around it for the last week. They are more attracted to the wood fence and lawn. I tried adding sugar water after a week but the chemical smell is still there.
Will try adding some meat and then switch to the sticky route to see if that may help my poor dog who is getting painful itchy stings that last for weeks.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Disposable Yellow Jacket Trap

I got one

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this after readin the revies. It has been up for over a week and we have ONE yellow jacket. They keep flying around it but thats it.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.