728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WHY Trap

WHY Trap

The RESCUE! WHY Trap is a reusable trap for catching wasps, hornets and yellow jackets. The included attractant will lure pests within a 1,000 sq. ft. area to the trap.
Overall rating:
2.225 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product25 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(19)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(50)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product25 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for WHY Trap
Review 1 for WHY Trap

Works as described

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Despite the mixed reviews by others here, I took the chance and bought it. It didn't catch anything the 1st 2 days, but then out of nowhere the wasps were checking in. I now call it "The Hotel California". Im sold !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WHY Trap
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Results

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First off, I read reviews for most products I purchase now a days.
I saw this trap got mixed reviews on the website.
I thought I'd still give it a try and I'm glad I did.
I am blown away by how many yellow jackets it catches.
I just cleaned it out this morning and by late afternoon there's already 40 yellow jackets inside. Once they fly in, they can't get out and once they hit the water (mixed with dish soap) they can't fly.
I can't say more for this products effectiveness. I can't imagine why anyone would give it a poor review.
Quality seems high, easy to assemble and add attractant.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WHY Trap
from Yorkville, IL

Very Effective

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yellow jackets started to swarm as I placed the trap under a tree. Within two days a quarter of the top chamber was filled. Four days, half of the top chamber filled and they're still coming! Six days is shown in the picture. We are going to place another trap in the yard since the first is working so well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WHY Trap

Terrible waste of money

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We've had it up for two weeks, and haven't caught a single wasp. I can't believe they can sell this. I even bought a refill thinking I did it wrong.results were the same.I'm so disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WHY Trap

absolutely worthless

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hung it up near a wasp nest for 2 weeks. Not one wasp in the trap!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WHY Trap
from Sunderland, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ineffective

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a whole week of hanging, on 7th day, it caught ONE whole wasp in the liquid portion of the trap!!! YAY!!! I followed all the instructions, but it doesn't attract any wasps that buzz all over the place. However, it did catch a couple of weird mosquito-like bugs. The lower section of the trap only seems to attract fungus gnats (or whatever tiny black bugs) that are too small to be caught there. On the bright side, the container is very well made, it's really beautiful, and it reflects sun with a gorgeous rainbow-colored flare. Although it's a bit pricey for aesthetic purposes. Give it a try, my wasps don't like it, yours might, who knows how picky they are in different regions. In worst case, you waste the money, like I did. Later, I'll just fill it up with water and hang it on the sun - it's pretty.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WHY Trap

Worked for me

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since day 1 it was catching wasps and didn't stip until the liquid dried up. Onto buying another and more refills.
I wish I could upload an image, too many wasps in the container to count.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WHY Trap
from Woodstock Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't do a thing for me, But the bees got a real kick out of my attempts to trap them!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this trap to deal with the abundance of paper wasps I have on my property. After several weeks of them ignoring this trap, all I can guess is the included bait isn't at all effective for paper wasps. I had initial purchased a refill with the trap so I've tried it in multiple locations now and watch the wasps floor right on by not paying any attention to the trap at all. It does catch ha number of Gnats, some tiny spiders and various flying things but not a single bee for me of any kind. Bumbles laugh, the paper wasps give it the finger hornets feel insulted. Perhaps this is useful for yellowjackets of which I have none to test with but it did trap some of my money when i purchased it. A little google sleuthing seems to indicate some bees are attracted to decaying meat and others to fermenting fruit. If I'm feeling masochistic I might try this try with some apple juice as bait and see if that makes a difference but I suspect this trap is just not effective in the south east.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, amuses the bees!
Cons: you won't have to clean a single bee out!, your wallet will feel slightly lighter!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WHY Trap

Did not work.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 2 weeks it only caught 1 wasp. Save your money.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WHY Trap

Had trap set for two weeks. Slowly but surely!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Set trap two weeks ago, about 20 feet from nearest activity. So far 7 were caught. Gonna reapply attractant. Yellowjackets are becoming more active. Let's see! I give it 3 stars! Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WHY Trap
from cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

save you money

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 weeks not a single wasp, hornet or yellow jacket were caught although I live by a lake and there are plenty of them in the area. The stingers prefer to hang around the eaves and soffits of my home rather than be attracted to this thing. Did trap a couple of moths
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WHY Trap
from Sussex County, NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless product

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second season I have used this. So far the only thing it has trapped is my money. Wasps and Yellow Jackets just buzz right by it.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WHY Trap

Terrible!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought three of them and not 1 bee or wasp in any of them! $50 down the drain! Don't waste your money on this trash!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WHY Trap
from Montgomery County Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is useless, does not trap anything it clams, wasp, yellow jackets, bees. Placed it right by the nest. Have gone back to sprays. With tax worst money I have spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WHY Trap
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Ideal for Paper Wasps in Fl

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these products to catch paper wasps in Florida and after a month I did not catch anything. I followed the directions to the letter and there were even wasp nests located close to the trap but the trap didn’t catch anything.
Cons: does not catch paper wasps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WHY Trap

Worthless for wasps!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This may work for hornets, which I don't have, but it is worthless for wasps. I bought 3 of these and hung them around my house whch has a high number of paper wasps. After one week, there has not been a single wasp caught! A complete waste of money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WHY Trap
from Silver Creek Georgia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WHY DID I BUY THIS JUNK

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rescue Reusable Trap review GOOD FOR NOTHING BUT CATCHING GNATS.
I have had it hanging in the same place for 7 days and all I have to show for it is Gnats and in 7 Days I have to buy Refills, What a waste of Money.
What a waste of Money.
I bought it because of all the Wasp and Yellow Jackets flying around my porch all the time and they are still flying around my porch, I put the product together as instructed and hung it as instructed but I have not caught on thing with a Stinger as of yet but it works great for catching GNATS.
Money Down the drain unless you want to watch GNATS go Swimming.
Use a Fly Swatter you will Kill more with that and have fun doing it and for what the price of it is you can but everyone in the house a Fly Swatter and have a Contest to see who can Kill the Most.
Pros: great for catching gnats, it is bright lime green, you can see the gnats going swimming, it is all plastic
Cons: it last only two weeks, it does not catch what they say it will, no wasp no yellow jackets no hornets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WHY Trap
from Bay area, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm so thankful for this trap

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last Summer, we had a professional come over & inspect our backyard. She said there wasn't much we could do because the nest was in a neighbor's yard, & they were just scavenging in ours. Our neighbor has a jungle- it's never even be mowed in the 23 years I've lived here. I knew they wouldn't take care of it.
Anyway, She sprayed our eaves & that was it. She said the traps "don't work". Well, she was wrong. This did a tremendous job. It caught over 30 in less than a week. We followed the instructions to a T, & put it under part of a tree they seemed to be coming from, so it was shaded. No more stings for my family or my dogs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WHY Trap
from Wilmington NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

completely useless

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wasp flew all around it and the two that got inside also got out. Waste of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WHY Trap

40 caught the first day!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was worried about the effectiveness of this product given the poor reviews but decided to try it anyway. They weren't kidding when they said the included bait was highly effective! My husband hung it in the back yard around lunchtime (though for safety reasons they recommend doing it at night when the hornets are slower), and in less than a minute there was a frenzy around the trap. The paper towel he wiped his hands on in the lower yard attracted a secondary swarm. After 8 hours in the yard, we estimate there are 40 yellow jackets in the trap! Maybe this product works better for west coast yellow jackets (we live near San Francisco)- but it really did work for us. In comparison, our home made dish soap/Mountain Dew trap caught 2 yellow jackets in 24 hours.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>