728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WHY Trap

WHY Trap

The RESCUE! WHY Trap is a reusable trap for catching wasps, hornets and yellow jackets. The included attractant will lure pests within a 1,000 sq. ft. area to the trap.
Overall rating:
2.304 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product18 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(34)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product18 of 51reviews
Customer reviews for WHY Trap
Review 1 for WHY Trap
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Results

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off, I read reviews for most products I purchase now a days.
I saw this trap got mixed reviews on the website.
I thought I'd still give it a try and I'm glad I did.
I am blown away by how many yellow jackets it catches.
I just cleaned it out this morning and by late afternoon there's already 40 yellow jackets inside. Once they fly in, they can't get out and once they hit the water (mixed with dish soap) they can't fly.
I can't say more for this products effectiveness. I can't imagine why anyone would give it a poor review.
Quality seems high, easy to assemble and add attractant.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WHY Trap
from Sunderland, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ineffective

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a whole week of hanging, on 7th day, it caught ONE whole wasp in the liquid portion of the trap!!! YAY!!! I followed all the instructions, but it doesn't attract any wasps that buzz all over the place. However, it did catch a couple of weird mosquito-like bugs. The lower section of the trap only seems to attract fungus gnats (or whatever tiny black bugs) that are too small to be caught there. On the bright side, the container is very well made, it's really beautiful, and it reflects sun with a gorgeous rainbow-colored flare. Although it's a bit pricey for aesthetic purposes. Give it a try, my wasps don't like it, yours might, who knows how picky they are in different regions. In worst case, you waste the money, like I did. Later, I'll just fill it up with water and hang it on the sun - it's pretty.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WHY Trap
from Boston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

doesnt work

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've tried this now for 2 seasons it doesn't work. I have a yellow jacket nest 10 feet away from it. The wasps also don't seem to go for it. Save your money it's junk!
Pros: you can trow it out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WHY Trap
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does Not Work So Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So after having no luck with other products as well as DIY traps I decided to purchase this trap after looking at the manufacturer's website. I bought 2 traps, followed the directions exactly as written and at almost the 2 week mark I still have no wasps in the trap despite numerous wasps flying all around our deck and property. I wrote a review on the manufacturer's website and of course they didn't publish my negative experience. This product does not work, don't waste your money. In theory it seems as if it would attract wasp but maybe our GA red wasp or either too smart or too dump to be fooled by it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WHY Trap

Yellow Jackets maybe

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This trap may work for yellow jackets. I don't have yellow jackets. I have black and yellow stripped paper wasps. The package says works for paper wasps, baloney. I put the trap up in my garden and the paper wasps just fly by, within inches. They are not attracted at all. Total waste of money.
Cons: no good for yellow&black paper wasps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WHY Trap
from Ayer, MA

Works like a charm!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second season putting this trap out. Last year it did take a week or so before we got any wasps, but it was late in the season. But it did fill up with wasps and biting flies too. We put it out again just last week and in the first day there were 6 wasps in there. It works! For those that aren't having results I have to assume that it is either not assembled correctly (did you open the top of he attractant tube?) or you just don't have it in the right place to attract them. But this product works and works fast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WHY Trap
from Winter haven florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A big joke without a laugh

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give this one star only because this is the lowest score possible. 1 star for one wasp in a yard full of them. Save your money ,buy spray or a fly swatted, it would be a thousand times more effective.
Pros: it does not stink
Cons: will not does what it is to do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WHY Trap
from Mississippi

Worthless

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this trying to combat an extreme wasp problem on my deck. Wasps fly all around it and never attempt to enter it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WHY Trap

Don't bother

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw this trap in the store and bought it prior to reading the reviews which I normally never do. Lesson learned. I have had this trap hanging for two weeks and not a single wasp caught. Nothing...I know they are here because they fly all around the trap but they could care less about going in it. Save your money and look at something else.
Cons: waste of money, doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WHY Trap
from Leavenworth, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product and it hasn't caught one wasp in the past 3 weeks. I purchased the re-fill kit and changed it out, but still no luck! Do what I did, buy the wasp spray and a sturdy flyswatter, they work 100 times better. I gave this product a 1 star only because the site won't let you give it anything less.
Pros: made in usa
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WHY Trap
from Silver Creek Georgia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WHY DID I BUY THIS JUNK

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rescue Reusable Trap review GOOD FOR NOTHING BUT CATCHING GNATS.
I have had it hanging in the same place for 7 days and all I have to show for it is Gnats and in 7 Days I have to buy Refills, What a waste of Money.
What a waste of Money.
I bought it because of all the Wasp and Yellow Jackets flying around my porch all the time and they are still flying around my porch, I put the product together as instructed and hung it as instructed but I have not caught on thing with a Stinger as of yet but it works great for catching GNATS.
Money Down the drain unless you want to watch GNATS go Swimming.
Use a Fly Swatter you will Kill more with that and have fun doing it and for what the price of it is you can but everyone in the house a Fly Swatter and have a Contest to see who can Kill the Most.
Pros: great for catching gnats, it is bright lime green, you can see the gnats going swimming, it is all plastic
Cons: it last only two weeks, it does not catch what they say it will, no wasp no yellow jackets no hornets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WHY Trap
from North Vernon, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

WHY trap

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this trap for the past 3 years and it always catches tons of wasps, hornets and yellow jackets plus other insects as well. We will keep using this trap and would recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WHY Trap
from Bay area, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm so thankful for this trap

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last Summer, we had a professional come over & inspect our backyard. She said there wasn't much we could do because the nest was in a neighbor's yard, & they were just scavenging in ours. Our neighbor has a jungle- it's never even be mowed in the 23 years I've lived here. I knew they wouldn't take care of it.
Anyway, She sprayed our eaves & that was it. She said the traps "don't work". Well, she was wrong. This did a tremendous job. It caught over 30 in less than a week. We followed the instructions to a T, & put it under part of a tree they seemed to be coming from, so it was shaded. No more stings for my family or my dogs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WHY Trap

40 caught the first day!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried about the effectiveness of this product given the poor reviews but decided to try it anyway. They weren't kidding when they said the included bait was highly effective! My husband hung it in the back yard around lunchtime (though for safety reasons they recommend doing it at night when the hornets are slower), and in less than a minute there was a frenzy around the trap. The paper towel he wiped his hands on in the lower yard attracted a secondary swarm. After 8 hours in the yard, we estimate there are 40 yellow jackets in the trap! Maybe this product works better for west coast yellow jackets (we live near San Francisco)- but it really did work for us. In comparison, our home made dish soap/Mountain Dew trap caught 2 yellow jackets in 24 hours.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WHY Trap
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great... with a trick

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trap does very little with its included bait. I noticed that whenever I drank Mountain Dew Throwback I had to shoo the hornets away. I decided to pour a can of it into the trap. It worked great. The trap is 1/4 full of carcasses. I guess any sugary soda would work fine.
The yellow jacket trap didn't do so well. Only caught 3 wasps. I don't think there were many around my house this year though.
Pros: works with different bait
Cons: yellow jacket trap not effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WHY Trap
from Oak Ridge, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Failed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two and placed in two different locations. From reading prior reviews I thought if I placed one in sun other in shade that it would help me determine where the best location would be. But it turns out that neither worked at all not even one wasp, hornet, or yellow jacket. I did notice it was great at catching knats. I would not recommend this product at all. I later returned the refills I bought also.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WHY Trap
from Richardson, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total Scam

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product isn't a Wasp Trap, its a Wallet Trap! Set it up exactly from instructions, 10 feet from our pool, which wasps like to come collecting water from. Five days later, not a wasp in the trap, and they fly past it a foot away, and totally ignore it. Designed to catch wasps? Nope. Designed to take money from your wallet (in return for nothing)? Yep!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WHY Trap
from San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Yellowjackets, YES. European paper wasps? Not at all

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I have tons of yellow jackets and European paper wasps in my yard, so I bought three of these guys and placed them right around the lawn where they gather.
Within days, the yellow jacket traps (bottom half) were filling up beautfully. It just about wiped the yellow jackets out. The European paper wasps (specifically listed on the packaging!) ignore it completely. The upper half (the wasp trap) is empty after two weeks. The wasps fly right around it, showing no interest whatsoever.
It looks like this type of wasp is very tough to trap. That's fine, but in that case, don't list it on the package as one of your target species. Stick to yellow jackets.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: completely ineffective for one advertized species
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WHY Trap
from Reno, NV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keep out of the sun

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this in the spring to help get an early start on the wasp/yellow jacket population control in my area. Seemed to work fairly well. Obviously we trapped more bugs the later in the year it got as populations increased. Hard to say if trying to trap early in the year helped decrease populations overall or not.
One thing I noticed was that 2 weeks is a little long to expect this product to last if it's in the sun. Keep it in a shaded area if possible.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WHY Trap
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does Not Work!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice looking device however I didn't catch a single wasp... I tried mounting the device in many different wasp populated areas and even located adjacent to a wasp nest with no luck at all.... had to revert to traditional Wasp Spray.... Save your money and time.
Pros: sounds like good idea
Cons: doesn't work, expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>