728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for WHY Trap

WHY Trap

The RESCUE! WHY Trap is a reusable trap for catching wasps, hornets and yellow jackets. The included attractant will lure pests within a 1,000 sq. ft. area to the trap.
Overall rating:
2.333 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product22 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(40)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product22 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for WHY Trap
Review 1 for WHY Trap
from Yorkville, IL

Very Effective

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yellow jackets started to swarm as I placed the trap under a tree. Within two days a quarter of the top chamber was filled. Four days, half of the top chamber filled and they're still coming! Six days is shown in the picture. We are going to place another trap in the yard since the first is working so well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WHY Trap
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Results

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off, I read reviews for most products I purchase now a days.
I saw this trap got mixed reviews on the website.
I thought I'd still give it a try and I'm glad I did.
I am blown away by how many yellow jackets it catches.
I just cleaned it out this morning and by late afternoon there's already 40 yellow jackets inside. Once they fly in, they can't get out and once they hit the water (mixed with dish soap) they can't fly.
I can't say more for this products effectiveness. I can't imagine why anyone would give it a poor review.
Quality seems high, easy to assemble and add attractant.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WHY Trap
from Sunderland, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ineffective

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a whole week of hanging, on 7th day, it caught ONE whole wasp in the liquid portion of the trap!!! YAY!!! I followed all the instructions, but it doesn't attract any wasps that buzz all over the place. However, it did catch a couple of weird mosquito-like bugs. The lower section of the trap only seems to attract fungus gnats (or whatever tiny black bugs) that are too small to be caught there. On the bright side, the container is very well made, it's really beautiful, and it reflects sun with a gorgeous rainbow-colored flare. Although it's a bit pricey for aesthetic purposes. Give it a try, my wasps don't like it, yours might, who knows how picky they are in different regions. In worst case, you waste the money, like I did. Later, I'll just fill it up with water and hang it on the sun - it's pretty.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WHY Trap
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took a shot

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a bit of a yellow jacket problem in my backyard. Didn't look at any reviews tried this one on a whim. Soooo happy I did it caught 8 yellow jackets in just 24 hours!! With my 2 yr old getting stung I'm very happy with this product. Get those yellow jackets out of my backyard!!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WHY Trap
from Somerset NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like a charm

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased this product last week after reading the not so good reviews and i must admit it works perfect. Bees were literally fighting to get inside the trap and once they were in there was no coming out. glad i purchased this. Now i have to empty it out because their is roughly 40 to 50 yellow jackets in their. Not sure what the customers did wrong who gave this a bad rating but i am very pleased
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WHY Trap
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely effective

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 4 days of use the trap was filled to capacity with yellow jackets. We had previously purchased a different trap made by the same company, but found that it was only effective for ground nesting yellow jackets, not the type that were nesting on our house. This gets the job done, and we'll continue to use it until our yellow jacket problem is resolved.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WHY Trap
from Silver Creek Georgia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WHY DID I BUY THIS JUNK

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rescue Reusable Trap review GOOD FOR NOTHING BUT CATCHING GNATS.
I have had it hanging in the same place for 7 days and all I have to show for it is Gnats and in 7 Days I have to buy Refills, What a waste of Money.
What a waste of Money.
I bought it because of all the Wasp and Yellow Jackets flying around my porch all the time and they are still flying around my porch, I put the product together as instructed and hung it as instructed but I have not caught on thing with a Stinger as of yet but it works great for catching GNATS.
Money Down the drain unless you want to watch GNATS go Swimming.
Use a Fly Swatter you will Kill more with that and have fun doing it and for what the price of it is you can but everyone in the house a Fly Swatter and have a Contest to see who can Kill the Most.
Pros: great for catching gnats, it is bright lime green, you can see the gnats going swimming, it is all plastic
Cons: it last only two weeks, it does not catch what they say it will, no wasp no yellow jackets no hornets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WHY Trap
from Bay area, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm so thankful for this trap

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last Summer, we had a professional come over & inspect our backyard. She said there wasn't much we could do because the nest was in a neighbor's yard, & they were just scavenging in ours. Our neighbor has a jungle- it's never even be mowed in the 23 years I've lived here. I knew they wouldn't take care of it.
Anyway, She sprayed our eaves & that was it. She said the traps "don't work". Well, she was wrong. This did a tremendous job. It caught over 30 in less than a week. We followed the instructions to a T, & put it under part of a tree they seemed to be coming from, so it was shaded. No more stings for my family or my dogs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WHY Trap
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does Not Work So Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So after having no luck with other products as well as DIY traps I decided to purchase this trap after looking at the manufacturer's website. I bought 2 traps, followed the directions exactly as written and at almost the 2 week mark I still have no wasps in the trap despite numerous wasps flying all around our deck and property. I wrote a review on the manufacturer's website and of course they didn't publish my negative experience. This product does not work, don't waste your money. In theory it seems as if it would attract wasp but maybe our GA red wasp or either too smart or too dump to be fooled by it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WHY Trap

Beware

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware this trap might kill wasps from a laughter attack
No trapping involved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WHY Trap
from Chesterfield Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

DOES NOT WORK!!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and put it 8 feet from the eave on my garage where there is a European hornet nest. After a week a caught ZERO...total wastes of time and money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WHY Trap
from San Pedo, CA

Piece of junk - do not waste your money

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this trap outside for almost a week. It has not trapped anything. Zero, nada, zilch. Yet there are still tons of paper wasps flying around. Complete waste of money! Not to mention, this thing is ugly.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WHY Trap

40 caught the first day!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried about the effectiveness of this product given the poor reviews but decided to try it anyway. They weren't kidding when they said the included bait was highly effective! My husband hung it in the back yard around lunchtime (though for safety reasons they recommend doing it at night when the hornets are slower), and in less than a minute there was a frenzy around the trap. The paper towel he wiped his hands on in the lower yard attracted a secondary swarm. After 8 hours in the yard, we estimate there are 40 yellow jackets in the trap! Maybe this product works better for west coast yellow jackets (we live near San Francisco)- but it really did work for us. In comparison, our home made dish soap/Mountain Dew trap caught 2 yellow jackets in 24 hours.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WHY Trap
from Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mega Fail

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read the reviews before I had bought this junk. There are 30-40 yellow jackets flying around this for 2 days now and not one goes in. Do they evan test their products before they put it up for sale?
Cons: worthless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WHY Trap

dont waste your money

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put this out right under a yellow jacket nest and nothing went in it and its been there 3 days.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WHY Trap

Don't bother

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw this trap in the store and bought it prior to reading the reviews which I normally never do. Lesson learned. I have had this trap hanging for two weeks and not a single wasp caught. Nothing...I know they are here because they fly all around the trap but they could care less about going in it. Save your money and look at something else.
Cons: waste of money, doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WHY Trap
from Paramus, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product doesnt work, I had it intalled in the patio for more than 2 weeks and not one insect was trapped, eventhough they were still fying around my patio. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WHY Trap
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great... with a trick

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trap does very little with its included bait. I noticed that whenever I drank Mountain Dew Throwback I had to shoo the hornets away. I decided to pour a can of it into the trap. It worked great. The trap is 1/4 full of carcasses. I guess any sugary soda would work fine.
The yellow jacket trap didn't do so well. Only caught 3 wasps. I don't think there were many around my house this year though.
Pros: works with different bait
Cons: yellow jacket trap not effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WHY Trap
from Boston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

doesnt work

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've tried this now for 2 seasons it doesn't work. I have a yellow jacket nest 10 feet away from it. The wasps also don't seem to go for it. Save your money it's junk!
Pros: you can trow it out
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WHY Trap
from Ayer, MA

Works like a charm!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second season putting this trap out. Last year it did take a week or so before we got any wasps, but it was late in the season. But it did fill up with wasps and biting flies too. We put it out again just last week and in the first day there were 6 wasps in there. It works! For those that aren't having results I have to assume that it is either not assembled correctly (did you open the top of he attractant tube?) or you just don't have it in the right place to attract them. But this product works and works fast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>