728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Whether you're tailgating, picnicking or just relaxing in the back yard, you can't beat a barbeque. Kingsford Charcoal features Sure Fire Grooves. These deep, wide and long grooves mean the briquets light easy and heat fast. As always, each briquet is made with natural ingredients and real wood, resulting in the authentic smoky flavor that Kingsford has long been known for.
Overall rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(267 reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product223 of 258reviews
Rating Breakdown 267 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(201)
4
(17)
3
(15)
2
(12)
1
(22)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product223 of 258reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Review 1 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Robare
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford is KING when it comes to charcoal!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always look for this special at Home Depot.
Anytime you can get Kingsford for less than $.50 a lb. you need to jump on it!
Kingsford burns longer and hotter than any other charcoal by far.
I bought 8 bags at this price!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, burn hotter longer and cleaner than other charco
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
patc

beats all the rest

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
kingsford is the best ,ive been using it for 40 years,all other charcoal comes in second
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Quality Charcoal at an Affordable Price

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weber charcoal is dependable and will provide you with consistent even heat. Traditional BBQ'ists will say lump charcoal is the way to go, but I found that lump is irregular with heat and will get very hot, for a short period of time and then die down. Kingsford is great for grilling or BBQ'ing. You don't get a chemical taste and it lights easily in a chimney starter.
If you are a regular griller, try stocking up around the labor day, memorial day or the 4th of July. This charcoal will come on sale for an extremely reasonable price.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
RednexToyz
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford Quality in the BBQ or Smoker

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All that you expect from Kingsford. Not a match light but they do light easily with a small amount of paper starter or fluid. Last long & provide even heat. Love the flavor it brings to cooked goods. 2 - 20# bags.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: requires lighter fluid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
PackmanJim
from Backyard

Excellent deal!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product, Awesome bundle package and price.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Jimmy

ORIGINAL CHARCOAL BRIQUETS 20 LB. (2-PACK)

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great long lasting product. I only use Kingsford when BBQing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Popeye
from Oxford, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford is the only charcoal I use

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product get hot when you want it to (that's if you know how to grill) and slow cook for the best tender ribs, I placed this order online and in about 15 minuets it was ready for pickup.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Mitch54
from Carbondale, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kingsford charcoal is great and the deal was SPECTACULAR!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Kingsford charcoal is HOT!! The fact that I was getting two 20# bags for $100 was FANTASTIC!!!. Kingsford is the best charcoal I have found in our area.
Pros: great value on a great product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Chris
from Ohio

Purists may frown upon Kingsford...

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...but it's still a great product. Home Depot's 2 pack of 20lb'ers is a steal when they're on sale for $8. I usually buy two or three 2-packs when they're on sale and stock up.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
GodBody007
from Northern, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product works&cares for good people!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quantity, quality, value! Thanks Kingsford, somebody cares about the "little"($$$) people!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Huskee
from Central MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tried them all and I come back to the Blue

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With so many brands of charcoal out there, and so many semi-pro smokers and bbqers touting one type or another. Everyone has seen Kingsford, and I at one time perhaps like may others thought Kingsford was just generic, there's better out there. Well, maybe but that largely depends on your definition of better. I'm a bbq artist, I have a competition grade smoker and have developed a few recipes and techniques. I've tried many a brand of charcoal.
I will say this much: Now all I buy is Kingsford Blue bag (original).
It is consistent, which ANY reputable smoker/bbqer will testify is the biggest factor in a good charcoal. I fill my chimney starter so far, I know exactly the heat and duration to expect. Lump charcoal does not give you that consistency. Lump might be ok to grill burgers or some steaks, but to smoke something low and slow you need consistency to maintain an even temp. There are several types or briquettes too, and I've tried many of them both from stores and fancy ones ordered online....they're too expensive for what you get, it's largely hype. (The only briqs that were just terrible were a store brand I bought once. I think they were made from compressed leaves, they stunk like a trash fire and this carried over to the food). Other briqs, while performing great, were just too expensive for what you get.
Kingsford blue bag is consistent, good flavor, and affordable- (especially when HD has the twin 20lb pack onsale for $9.99! that's an incredible steal) all of which makes me continue buying only it. and NOT match light! For what it's worth. Shop around, you may just find out the same ;).
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
dynamite
from West Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

way to go

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
home depot does it again under cut lowes by 11 cents
Pros: cheaper
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
uoducklover
from Cave Creek, AZ

Best Charcoal

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We always buy Kingsford and it works great. The 2x20 packs at Home depot usually last us a few months even though we grill several times a week. Good price too.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
johnnydaj
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Specifications

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The specifications say that lighter fluid is required. But that is not true if you use a chimney starter. Which is shown on the same page.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
chitowngriller

good value

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
what's there to say about bbq charcoal? It works. Great value though.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
VAL1
from CHICAGO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE PRICE WAS ONE I COULDN'T PASS UP I GRILL ALL YR AROUND AND KINGSFORD IS THE BEST SO YES I BROUGHT 3 DBLE PACKS 12O LBS OF CHARCOAL AND I WILL USE IT. GREAT DEAL.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
bobtheball

It's charcoal

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's charcoal. I'm not sure how to review it. Works like charcoal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Not Dishwasher Safe, Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Jacci
from Temple Hills, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an EXCELLENT buy!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot imagine passing up this deal! When I purchase our charcoal in this way, it lasts all year long. And, yes, we barbeque in the fall and winter here in Maryland.
Pros: once a year purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
8675309

Works as expected

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is charcoal and I lit it on fire. It got hot and I cooked some food with it. It was chicken.I ate 7 drumsticks and the next day had a bellyache. Do not recommend bellyache.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
annieday9909
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best briqute

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
kingsford is allways the best to use. i really liked the larger size and being a two pack! i bbq'd all summer, so this was a steal for me!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>