728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Whether you're tailgating, picnicking or just relaxing in the back yard, you can't beat a barbeque. Kingsford Charcoal features Sure Fire Grooves. These deep, wide and long grooves mean the briquets light easy and heat fast. As always, each briquet is made with natural ingredients and real wood, resulting in the authentic smoky flavor that Kingsford has long been known for.
Overall rating:
4.525 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(411 reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product362 of 400reviews
Rating Breakdown 411 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(330)
4
(27)
3
(17)
2
(14)
1
(23)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product362 of 400reviews
Customer reviews for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Review 1 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

the standard for bbq

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't buy the chemically treated match light stuff. This is the standard. Light in a chimney for best results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford is KING when it comes to charcoal!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I always look for this special at Home Depot.
Anytime you can get Kingsford for less than $.50 a lb. you need to jump on it!
Kingsford burns longer and hotter than any other charcoal by far.
I bought 8 bags at this price!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, burn hotter longer and cleaner than other charco
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Best Charcoal!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this in my Weber smoker when doing about 50 lbs of Swift pork back ribs. Throw in a few chunks of cherry wood and 8 hours later I have more friends than can be imagined!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Southwick, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal on a two pack

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cooked me up some tasty salmon, steak & apple rubbed yard bird.....suggest you do the same.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford Quality in the BBQ or Smoker

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All that you expect from Kingsford. Not a match light but they do light easily with a small amount of paper starter or fluid. Last long & provide even heat. Love the flavor it brings to cooked goods. 2 - 20# bags.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: requires lighter fluid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford Charcoal

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Kingsford makes the best charcoal I have used. It lights well and produces a lot of heat. They also burn for longer than others I have tried. The 2-pack is great and should last the summer for me,
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly, great price
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

Quality Charcoal at an Affordable Price

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weber charcoal is dependable and will provide you with consistent even heat. Traditional BBQ'ists will say lump charcoal is the way to go, but I found that lump is irregular with heat and will get very hot, for a short period of time and then die down. Kingsford is great for grilling or BBQ'ing. You don't get a chemical taste and it lights easily in a chimney starter.
If you are a regular griller, try stocking up around the labor day, memorial day or the 4th of July. This charcoal will come on sale for an extremely reasonable price.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Ohio

Purists may frown upon Kingsford...

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
...but it's still a great product. Home Depot's 2 pack of 20lb'ers is a steal when they're on sale for $8. I usually buy two or three 2-packs when they're on sale and stock up.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)

ORIGINAL CHARCOAL BRIQUETS 20 LB. (2-PACK)

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great long lasting product. I only use Kingsford when BBQing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Munster Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Deal

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent price on the best charcoal to cook on. I am set for the season!
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Cave Creek, AZ

Best Charcoal

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We always buy Kingsford and it works great. The 2x20 packs at Home depot usually last us a few months even though we grill several times a week. Good price too.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Backyard

Excellent deal!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome product, Awesome bundle package and price.
Pros: Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Northern, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product works&cares for good people!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quantity, quality, value! Thanks Kingsford, somebody cares about the "little"($$$) people!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Oxford, MS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kingsford is the only charcoal I use

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product get hot when you want it to (that's if you know how to grill) and slow cook for the best tender ribs, I placed this order online and in about 15 minuets it was ready for pickup.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Carbondale, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kingsford charcoal is great and the deal was SPECTACULAR!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Kingsford charcoal is HOT!! The fact that I was getting two 20# bags for $100 was FANTASTIC!!!. Kingsford is the best charcoal I have found in our area.
Pros: great value on a great product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from West Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

way to go

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
home depot does it again under cut lowes by 11 cents
Pros: cheaper
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from 165 topsfield rd., ipswich, ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Charcoal for the best price!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As said above - best charcoal for the best price...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Rochester,New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grooves are not an improvement?

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was a big fan of Kingsford before they added some groove theory? I used a charcoal starter and the regular Kingsford coal and the heat was incredible and last a long time. That was 2 years ago. Now I wouldn't even purchase the special 2 10lbs bag for $10 as promoted before major summer holidays. The "improvement is a major disappointment compensated for $10 for 20 bucks sale.
They don't start even in a charcoal starter as they used to
Quantity doesn't satisfy my me
And, how does grooves improve charcoal?!
If you want the high of a purchase deal then this is for you. But if your serious about BBQ I'd pass and do pass. Blah!
Pros: promotional price during summer holidays
Cons: poor quality
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Specifications

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The specifications say that lighter fluid is required. But that is not true if you use a chimney starter. Which is shown on the same page.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Original Charcoal Briquets 20 lb. (2-Pack)
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best price I have seen for this produce at this time of year ever.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can I say! It's Kingsford. I work for the International District Improvement Association in the Chinatown/International District in Seattle, WA. Every year we have a Pig Roast at the Danny Woo Garden, which is the first Community Garden (Pea Patch) or one of the first pea patches in Seattle. We a whole pig over a bbq pit and continuously turn it manually from Friday evening till late morning Saturday. I have been getting the briquettes for the past 7 years now and while checking for pricing, found this fantastic price. We use about 14 of the 20 pound 2-packs which is 560 lbs or briquettes which barley fit into my Prius. Pig Roast is this weekend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>