728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop

Door Blocker Entry Doorstop

This entry door stop is constructed from aluminum and comes finished in brass. It protects against unauthorized entry by preventing lock bumping and lock picking while in locked position. Fits any size door and has a child-safe design.
Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
Review 1 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Like it, But Could Be Better

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product was just what I expected. I did need to slightly mortise my wooden door jamb when installing the Door Blocker so that the door would close without hitting the unit.
My only complaint is that, when unlatching the device, you must grip it by the smallish TOP and BOTTOM surfaces (which are about 3 inches apart) using the tips of your thumb and forefinger, and then slide it slightly sideways.
I think it would be much easier to unlock the device if it was made with a tab on its VERTICAL face so as to provide for a more natural and easier gripping point. I plan to modify my unit so it will have this feature.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: needs a better grip for unlocking the device.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from MSP
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High quality and well made. Simple to use and install. I installed it on an exterior door with windows for added security. My 95 year old mother was able to open and close it without any problems.
This product avoids the need to chisel out the door frame to install. I would highly recommend drilling pilot holes for the screws. The original screws are not that good so for ease of installation it was worthwhile investing another $1.00 for some high quality wood screws.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Odessa, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and nice looking it made my doors safer and gave me a since of security.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop

The very best door security !

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well made, very easy to install. The door would have to be broken down before anyone could gain entry, with this device installed. I have them all of my exterior doors. After much research, I found this to be the best by a mile over everything else that is available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Paradise, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT DOORSTOP

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These doorstops are well made; a little pricy but worth the money. I installed these on all my perimeter doors and I feel they are an excellent product. My wife just loves them. I also installed one on the master bedroom door to provide a simple safe room for my wife, if I am gone. It provides her time to get her 12 ga shotgun. I have recommended this unit to all my family and friends.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Washington, New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best security purchase ever.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was extremely easy. I feel must safer having that door stopper in place. The price
was just great. very inexpensive. I recommended it to several friends.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Scranton Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door blocker entry doorstop

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value. The blocker was easy to install and secures the door better than any other type of lock I had used in the past.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Kenosha
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great porduct!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The door guardian was easy to install and works like a charm! It's easy to open and close and when it's closed, you will not get that door open unless you break the door down! Very happy with it's performance!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holds Door Closed

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The description states this holds the door open. It actually acts as a security device and keeps the door closed. I am impressed by this product and will buy one for my basement door. Maybe for all of them. There is no dollar amount for increased security. Great product;Looks strong; Will recommend to my customers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop

Screws keep breaking

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I received "The Door Guardian" door reinforcement lock (brass plated) a couple of weeks ago. At first glance it seemed like it would be a very simple task to install this product. I followed the instructions and pre-drilled the holes for the brass screws that came with the product. When I attempted to install the small screw into the oblong screw slot, the head of the screw broke off. I was able to remove the screw from the hole. I finally got one of the smaller screws in completely. Next I attempted to install the first long "security" screw. This screw broke apart and I was not able to remove it since it broke off even with the door frame. I "googled" this problem and found that many people have encountered this problem with brass screws. I am currently looking for some strong screws and will attempt the installation again. I hope this will work since this product seems like it would do the job for which it is intended.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop

great value

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
So easy to install & utilize. Very well made and extremely sturdy. Would strongly recommend as an additional lock to all your doors leading outside.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple security

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
easy to install, simple to operate. coupled with a good solid door, nobody is getting in.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Hurst, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Door Kick In/Break In Prevention Alternative

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
Item is well made and appeals to the eye. It appears that it will deter or limit success in attempts at kicking in doors. Hopefully we won't have to put it to the test. Does afford a sense of security and peace of mind in the evening. I have them installed on all exterior doors and garage inner door.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Colleyville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can Prevent toddlers from exiting home to your Pool Yard

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
This product is installed into the throat/frame of the door and when the latch is pulled across the door (& assuming it's installed at 5'-6" to the bottom of the latch--at least high enough so little ones can't reach), the device prevents the door from opening. This is especially good to prevent toddlers and others who cannot swim, from entering pool yards or even from just walking into the front yard and into traffic. It works much better than a slide lock or a chain b/c it's in the door frame and not the casing, so it more stable structurally as well. I've only found it at Home Depot and through Locksmiths
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, safety & security
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Harvest, AL.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
Very solid good quality, easy to follow instructions
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from new jersey

secured door

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
Great way to secure doors from the inside of your home with no lock or key. Ideal for bedroom doors, basement doors or house door to garage. Plus if you're renting, you can remove the long screws provided and take it with you to your next home. A simple supplement to add to your home's security arsenal. This is also great for keeping the very young, and the elderly from opening the doors from the inside. It requires finger strength and dexterity, so it's good for that purpose.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Albany, il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
This was a great product easy to install. Infact I have gone back to buy another one!
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Philadelphia PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this Lock

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
This is a great lock. It is easy to install, very secure, and relatively inexpensive.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well, easy to install, high quality

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
Check out youtube for the installation video. The instructions that came with the product isn't the best. It's also known as the door guardian. There are 2 versions of this product out there, a 4 screw installation and a 3 screw. It's easier to use a impact driver to drive in the 4 inch screws.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: instructions picture is wrong, would like a different finish option
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Blocker Entry Doorstop
from Flower Mound, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Super easy to install and super efficient

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Satin Nickel Door Blocker Entry Door Stop
We wanted our kids to be not be able to open the main door themselves. This door blocker was super easy to Install and works perfect for our use-case. Security! Love it!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>