728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lighting Controls or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

For indoor or outdoor lights, use the Westek Screw-In Light Control to automatically have lights turn on at dusk and off at dawn. This light control is ideal for recreating home occupancy and for providing convenient illumination when you return home after dark. Designed for use with incandescent bulbs only.
Overall rating:
2.105 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product6 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(12)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product6 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
Review 1 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burns out your lights

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased about 4 of them within a week my front porch lights blow out. I had to purchase some more led light bulbs for the front. The dusk to dawn screw-in light control had the bulbs flicking throughout out the whole day/week. Which in turn case the light bulbs to blow out. Do Not Buy waste of money I took them back and got my money back.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD CustomerServiceSeptember 21, 2011
Hi There,

I apologize that you had a poor experience with this product. I have reached out to the manufacturer for more information and below is their response to you:

The product used in this review (THD #805-942, Westek Model SLC4CB-4) is a basic unit which is compatible with incandescent bulbs only. It is not compatible with CFL or LED bulbs, which is why it failed.
If you want a similar product that will work with CFL and LED bulbs, use THD # 532-456 (Westek SLC5BCW-4), THD # 532-458 (Westek SLC5BCB-4) or THD #847-906 ( Westek SLC6CBC-4).”
Thank you,

John

Hope this helps.
Review 2 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

good product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does what it says...if you follow the directions. After install, waited till sundown and the lights began to flicker, I cursed the product and began packing them up to return when I (accidentaly) read the directions. I added the posts that came with the package and they have worked flawlessly ever since. Great value for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

not effective in outdoor use

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
too short, so sensor is buried too deep in the outdoor fixture so it does not get sunlight ... and therefore does not turn off during the daylight hours
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Hate it, getting ready to return it.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It supposed to make your light work from dusk til dawn and it stays on 24 hrs a day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Light controler

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doesn't work. Even direct sunlight doesn't trigger the light to turn off.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Rubbish

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have no idea what is the problem, but these items no longer go on and off. Only on. Returned another today. Don't bother with any of these. I hope to one day to change the fixture instead.
Cons: do not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Washington, DC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lousy

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a contractor and have attempted to use this product
in several locations without success.
The current one I have replaced 3 times and in each case
the light is still on during the day !!!!!
Cons: does not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Roswell, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This has all the features that are needed for a dusk to dawn light control, however

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two units that are being used on the North side of the home they work perfectly. A third unit that was installed on a shaded east side of the home stays on the better part day. I have twisted the unit so it got the best possible light but it will be on mid-day. My only option in this area apparently is a timer switch that Home Depot offers as well. All in all for the price you can't beat it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple device which does its job.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Previously had a sensor which was not functioning as it should. This unit worked as it should and the front porch light cycles with the sunrise and sunset.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Poor quality

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time and money. Poor quality at best. Purchased 3 each of this item. There's no consistency in sensors. Each one activates and/or deactivates in different sensitivity. One stays on all the time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made backwards

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works okay it takes longer to cut off then to turn on because the censor is in the back when it twist in to the light fixture. It does cut
off most days, mostly when it is sunny out. If it is cloudy or rainy out it will not cut off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
Cons: made backwards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not energy efficient.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot seem to get it so that the sensor is facing towards the direction the usually comes from, so it turns on too early.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Defiant CFL Automatic Light Control

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same problem that others experienced: light won't shut off during the day. This is the second brand of CFL automatic light control that I have purchased from Home Depot. Both were supposed to function with CFL light bulbs and operate from dusk to dawn. I had the same problem with both: light won't turn off during daylight hours. I would not recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I live this product, I never come home to a dark house. I have even bought as gifts for house warming.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, I live it. I never have to let timers again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good products

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I thought the product works very well. Bought 3 for my outside lights. No problems to report.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Fort Worth
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Its been a year and its still working well.

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this product for almost one year and its worked well for me. The only problem is that the light turns on when cloudy, it must be sunny in order to turn off on its own. I'm satisfied with the product b/c we use it regularly when we're out of town.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Wayne NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought 2 and both don't function

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these and they both remain turned on during the day.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black

Low light and burns out bulbs

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same issue as the previous review of the light bulbs flickering and then burning out, however, I did use the incandescent bulbs. Also, when I had this product screwed in, the 100 watt bulb looked more like a 60 watt bulb, in terms of brightness. When I took out the sensor, the light bulb was bright like it was supposed to be. I will be returning mine as well. Big disappointment since I am in the process of renovating my house and it is vacant at night, which is why I wanted it to be lit up at night. So, right now I just drive over twice a day to turn the lights on and off.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 150-Watt Indoor/Outdoor Dusk to Dawn Screw-In Light Control - Black
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

save your money

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product is not worth purchasing. one would let the bulb stay on 24/7. the other would either give a dim light or burn out the bulb. bad product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.