728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Perfect for pools, hot tubs, and lakes, the AcuRite Wireless Digital Pool Thermometer allows you to monitor water temperature from a digital display inside your house (up to 100 ft. away). The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays the current water temperature, high / low information and a history graph with the last 3 days of temperature recordings. Track temperature changes from 1 hour to 3 days ago. A Freeze Warning alerts you when the water temperature drops below 40 degrees. The floating outdoor sensor features water temperature information, durable weatherproof & waterproof construction, powerful wireless technology and low battery indicator light. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
2.57 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product50 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(14)
3
(7)
2
(13)
1
(61)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product50 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Review 1 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Saint Cloud, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adding my voice to the rest of the howls...

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought two now. They're junk. Neither one lasted more than a month before it started to fail.
I love the concept and the aesthetic design. The quality, however, it horrid. It's a device designed to float in a pool full of water, outdoors, in the weather and, yet, it's incapable of keeping the water out. It leaks like a sieve.
Best as I can tell, the water is penetrating around the LCD display as there is no water seal between the display and the clear window (see attached photos), but I can't confirm that. Either way, it'll work great for a few weeks, then you'll start to notice a little condensation on the LCD glass. Then it'll start to report water temperatures over 100, under 50 (in Florida in July), and stop working.
It's a shame, really. But, it's a complete and utter waste of your money unless you're handy with tools and willing to tear a unit apart to waterproof it before you put it in the pool. A horrible design job.
The unit I used for the attached photos is less than two months old, bought brand new and the local Home Depot. I think I'll see if they'll exchange it and then take that apart and waterproof it and see how that goes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice looking unit and works well until it fills with water after one week of floating in pool.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fills up with water and stops working after a week of floating in the pool. I have owned two of these. I bought the second one thinking the first might have been a lemon. Second one did the same thing. You can keep it working by taking it apart and draining the water out of it and using a blow dryer to dry it but you'll have to do it once a week. Finally took it out of the pool and am using it for an outside thermometer. The signal works great between the sender and receiver but not designed well enough to keep water out. To bad because it was nice knowing what the temperature of the pool was without going outside.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Racho cordova, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Here is a tip!!!!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok, product is working for two seasons now and working great. the tip is if you buy a bridge from acurite website you can check your pool temperature from your smart phone!!!! just get the bridge and bridge will connect to the sensor and download the my backyard app from accurate....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from usa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth It

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After waiting months for the price to drop, finally it did and I purchased one..3 months later it quit working. Contacted the company...will not replace it only refund money for the purchased price..
not sure how to fit it...I really liked it when it worked...
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, not worth it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Pool temp sensor

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great concept, however this is the second and last one I'll buy. When the batteries go dead in the pool transmitter, the case will leak when you replace the batteries rendering the unit useless in a few days. Simple solution, have the batteries solar charged. It's in the sun anyways.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Port Richey, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working good but time will tell

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
So far it is working as stated. I am a little concerned that the LCD may fade away from the Sun over time.
I am hoping it will last at least a couple of years. Time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good concept, poor reliability

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had mine for about a year and must admit that I am a bit disappointed. The unit looks good and the concept is what I was looking for but the quality is poor.
1. It does not have good range so the display inside is quite frequently wrong. The sending unit is less than 25 feet away and we still need to go check it to know what the water temp.
2. The max/min doesn't seem to work. Today it showed 87 and 114 and I know that neither was correct.
3. After about 10 months the sending unit just totally failed. I tried new batteries and still nothing. The nice people at Home Depot helped me out with a replacement even though I had no receipt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work, poor reliability
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Digital display failed

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very pleased out of the box. Unit worked well through 1st half of pool season in FL. 3 months in the digital display began to fail, but inside temp reading remained accurate. Month 4, pool unit has totally failed. Inside unit is now reading pool temp at 69 degrees...in August, in south FL...Ha! Will return to Home Depot and give it another shot, but based upon feedback I only hope to get my $29.00 worth out of the 2nd go round. Reviews are correct here...buy with caution, keep your receipt.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

fit the bill

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the only product I have found so I would be able to know the pool temp from within the house. It works great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Raleigh NC

Great idea; water leaks into sender LCD display

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this thinking it was a great idea. Unfortunately within two days there was visible moisture inside the sender's LCD display. Brought the sender inside and opened it up, putting it over an AC air vent for a day to dry it out which was successful. Put back in the pool and by the next day the LCD segments were starting to disappear. Based on previous reviews here this is a common problem. I really love the concept but the sender LCD display lacks necessary waterproofing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from treasure coast, florida
Age Range:45 to 54

junk...

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have bought 5 of these, after the 90 day home Depot return policy is up so is this unit. Can't find any good ones, like this one seemed, around....looks good but the part that goes in pool fails. We have done everything to prevent damage but nothing works, water seeps inside and/or the lcd will go bad. Acurite won't warranty units. Maybe others have luck but we have not. only 1 lasted 4 months. This and other models through ebay, amazon pretty much say the same... pool is salt water and full sun...
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, seeps water finds its way in, lcd fails
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Westmoreland, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set up transmitter and receiver and now we can see the water temperature of our in ground pool without leaving the family room. The transmitter in the pool is about 50 + feet from the receiver and the house wall does not cause any interference. Great Product
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Millville, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Anyone who goes in our pool enjoys looking at the temperature. We've even used it in the side garage in the winter to advise us when it's too cold and the soda cans will burst! Love being able to read it from the inside!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought one 2 years ago - it failed - and my work around.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 1 week. Being an engineer I figured out humidity inside the sending unit was the problem. Put sender inside a sealed Lock-n-Lock container with a packet of desiccant. Worked great for 2 years then sender failed (the spa was NOT at 158 degrees as it indicated).
Checked reviews of every other wireless spa thermometer on the market, all have the same problem. So buy the least expensive, a lock-n-lock and desiccant and figure you'll be replacing it in a couple of years.
Perhaps I'll invent my own decent model....
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pool thermometer

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is great when it works. However, the product at $29.00 only last 6 months to 1 year. If you don't have a receipt you cannot exchange or get your money back. For the price it should last longer than it does.
Pros: check temperature from inside home
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Stopped working after one month

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit stopped sending after about one month. Moisture got into it. I had tightened it very well, but the hot water must still get through. More important, the receiving unit did not indicate it had stopped receiving the signal and kept showing the last temp (100 deg.). It was only because I became suspicious because the temperature never varied by even a degree, that I checked. If the spa had turned off and frozen, I would never had known until it was too late. There was no waring of any failure.
Cons: Not Durable, failed no warning
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Antelope, ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mine failed

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I doubt they will make it right. I doubt I have the receipt after this long, but maybe I can give my age in dog years while standing on my head and they will give me a break.
If they happen to be so kind as to replace mine, I'll seal the gaskets with silicon grease, and take the circuit board out and spray it with varnish to prevent corrosion from causing "bridging".
The need a redesign by someone who deals with electronics in harsh environments.
So if you want to treat this as a consumable, then your pool temperature is costing you $ 30.00 a year. If that works for you, then fine. But it doesn't work for me.
It's a good idea ruined by poor execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Remote pool thermometer

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The device is easy to use, works well and is accurate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really nice for pool

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i really like this so far had no trouble it works great for grandbaby to temp from inside the house nice job well built
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Needs modifying to work properly.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third unit in as many years. When used as intended, these have lasted only a couple months for me. When I open them up, there is always water inside. So finally I decided to put a sealer around all the openings where the water could enter. It is a vaseline-like substance used for pool devices. I also coated the entire exterior with automobile wax. So far this method has held for two months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>