728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Perfect for pools, hot tubs, and lakes, the AcuRite Wireless Digital Pool Thermometer allows you to monitor water temperature from a digital display inside your house (up to 100 ft. away). The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays the current water temperature, high / low information and a history graph with the last 3 days of temperature recordings. Track temperature changes from 1 hour to 3 days ago. A Freeze Warning alerts you when the water temperature drops below 40 degrees. The floating outdoor sensor features water temperature information, durable weatherproof & waterproof construction, powerful wireless technology and low battery indicator light. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
2.516 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
39%of customersrecommend this product36 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(47)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
39%of customersrecommend this product36 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Review 1 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought one 2 years ago - it failed - and my work around.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 1 week. Being an engineer I figured out humidity inside the sending unit was the problem. Put sender inside a sealed Lock-n-Lock container with a packet of desiccant. Worked great for 2 years then sender failed (the spa was NOT at 158 degrees as it indicated).
Checked reviews of every other wireless spa thermometer on the market, all have the same problem. So buy the least expensive, a lock-n-lock and desiccant and figure you'll be replacing it in a couple of years.
Perhaps I'll invent my own decent model....
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good concept, poor reliability

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had mine for about a year and must admit that I am a bit disappointed. The unit looks good and the concept is what I was looking for but the quality is poor.
1. It does not have good range so the display inside is quite frequently wrong. The sending unit is less than 25 feet away and we still need to go check it to know what the water temp.
2. The max/min doesn't seem to work. Today it showed 87 and 114 and I know that neither was correct.
3. After about 10 months the sending unit just totally failed. I tried new batteries and still nothing. The nice people at Home Depot helped me out with a replacement even though I had no receipt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work, poor reliability
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an EXCELLENT Product

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased two of these. The first one worked flawlessly but was destroyed by my dog. After the first one was destroyed, I looked at the big pool supply stores for a comparable product and they didn't even carry one. Their thermometers were 'dumb' by comparison and as much as 3 times the price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, wireless remote temperature read out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two is enough!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was ecstatic with the first one of these I purchased @ HD. It worked as promised for a year or so. After several changes of batteries, it became very difficult to reassemble the floating component so as to keep a waterproof seal. Since all the transmission gear is in the floater, once that's shot the indoor gauge is useless. I finally gave up on the floater and decided it was not worth another thirty bucks to replace something for a year or so. It's really just a toy, isn't it? Several years later, I got the thirst back and bought another setup hoping that time had healed all technical issues. The new one (same price - I was AMAZED) lasted a lesser time - never needed batteries. Since I had never opened it and the floater leaked anyway, I was less than pleased. I have decided two IS enough and my addiction to them is cured . . .
Pros: fun to have
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Torrance
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked great for a short time

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through 3 now, they work great for a couple months then leak water and stop working
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Stopped working after one month

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit stopped sending after about one month. Moisture got into it. I had tightened it very well, but the hot water must still get through. More important, the receiving unit did not indicate it had stopped receiving the signal and kept showing the last temp (100 deg.). It was only because I became suspicious because the temperature never varied by even a degree, that I checked. If the spa had turned off and frozen, I would never had known until it was too late. There was no waring of any failure.
Cons: Not Durable, failed no warning
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Charleston, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works, but very slow

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good concept and it works fine so far, only used it for a week or two. My disappointment is, it takes the thermometer several minutes to adjust to a change in temperature. Most thermometers change and adjust to a new temperature in just a few seconds. Not sure what the purpose of this slow change does, as I see no benefit in this slow design. I do, however, really like the indoors option to be able to read the temperature with out going outside. I thought the price for this item was fair and you get a lot for your money.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor assembly

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First five days the unit worked well. Then the readout became blurred and appeared to have water inside. I immediately disassembled the sending unit and found it did have moisture inside. I noticed that the top 5 screws were not secure and was probably the problem. I dried the unit, resealed and reassembled it and it has been working properly for over two months. I would have returned it at first but I tossed the receipt and the original package right after i purchased it.
Cons: poor factory assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Antelope, ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mine failed

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I doubt they will make it right. I doubt I have the receipt after this long, but maybe I can give my age in dog years while standing on my head and they will give me a break.
If they happen to be so kind as to replace mine, I'll seal the gaskets with silicon grease, and take the circuit board out and spray it with varnish to prevent corrosion from causing "bridging".
The need a redesign by someone who deals with electronics in harsh environments.
So if you want to treat this as a consumable, then your pool temperature is costing you $ 30.00 a year. If that works for you, then fine. But it doesn't work for me.
It's a good idea ruined by poor execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Baytown, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just bought this and it won't synchronize

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought this today and followed the setup directions to the letter. Both devices came on but it would not synchronize. I bought fresh batteries, hoping that was the problem. Still nothing. I tried all three channels. Nothing. It does work as a pool thermometer but if it doesn't communicate with the indoor receiver, it is essentially worthless. This is going back and after all the reviews I've read, I think I will try a different brand.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Complete failure

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great looking product, great price, works great, for two weeks. Fails soon after every time. The manufacturer is in the process of making the necessary changes, DO NOT BUY.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, fails after a few weeks in water
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, mediocre implementation

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return to store shortly after purchase because the floating portion leaked and sent error signals. I got a replacement unit and it has the same problems, even after coating the gasket with vasoline. I think water may be leaking in around the top somehow. Would not recommend.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Goodyear, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Save Your Money

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased two of these units in the past four months. One lasted 2 months the other barely one month. The first one stopped transmitting. I changed batteries, checked the inside of the transmitter for water. Nothing. It just seemed to fail. I tossed it and bought another, thinking I had just gotten a lemon. The second unit failed today. Total failure. Transmitter showed HH, receiver showed 158 degrees. I know it's hot in Phoenix, but it's not that bad. I didn't bother doing anything other than taking it out of the pool. I called the company via their toll free number and was told to email them a copy of my purchase receipt and they would refund the purchase price. I'll hang onto the broken unit till I receive the refund incase they decide they want it back.
On the plus side, the unit does work well when it decides to work.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well but doesn't last that long.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had 4 of these over the years. Two of them were damaged due to water eventually leaking into the device. I've had to exchange one because it stopped working a month after purchasing the product. So it works well, but it's not as durable as it should be. I would recommend taking the floater out of the water during months that the pool is not being used. I like that it has a graph so I can see when the water warms up during the day, I also appreciate the large display.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Gold Canyon Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works perfect for me. Some reviews claim it leaks but after a month of use I checked the seal and it is dry inside.The signal strenght between the base and sensor is always high. Acurite has always been a good product and I have two outdoor temp sensors that I have used for years with no problem. I tried another remote pool temp sensor and after one day I had to return it. So far this acurite sensor has satisfied me AAA+++.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Item

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received the Acurite Wireless pool thermometer about a month ago and placed it in the pool the day I received it. It seems to work great. The reviews on other wireless pool thermometers indicated they leaked in the battery compartment so before I put this one in the pool, I checked all seems for water-tightness including the battery compartment. The body of the pool transmitter is all solid except for the "screw plug" for the battery compartment and it is protected by an "O" ring. I lubricated the ring with appropriate grease and it works great. I'm glad I purchased this pool thermometer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Just what I was looking for! Love it!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has become the hit of our camp. No more wondering how warm the water is. Everyone loves it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Tucson, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Concept is Good

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the six months to a year that this item functions, it is a handy tool. The manufacture is producing this product to make a buck. If you are o.k. with it failing in a year or less, than by all means purchase this item. I purchased two of these thermometers thinking the first fail was a fluke. The battery needed changing and I removed it from my pool, carefully dried the thermometer off and changed out the batteries paying close attention to polarity and afterwards, it was a no-go. It registered 153 degrees and stopped transmitting to the digital indicator. The only positive outcome of my dual purchase IS, the digital indicator from the first unit worked with the second unit which allowed an extra indicator such a deal. So if you continue to purchase this item you could have an indicator in every room of your house. I do NOT recommend this product until they get the transmitter upgraded. The concept is good the product is not.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, fails in an unreasonable time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from warrenton va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice large display

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and has large numeric display on both units
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worthless, don't bother

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put this unit in my hottub, and set the remote on the mantle. The remote continued to read 102, and I was happy that my hottub was safe. I went to use the hottub one night only to discover that it was about 40 degrees. The unit had filled with water and shorted out. Oddly, the remote never bothered to indicate that the sensor was offline or that the hottub might no longer be freeze safe. Great idea. Lousy product.
Cons: Leaks, remote doesn't alert to sensor failure
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>