728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Perfect for pools, hot tubs, and lakes, the AcuRite Wireless Digital Pool Thermometer allows you to monitor water temperature from a digital display inside your house (up to 100 ft. away). The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays the current water temperature, high / low information and a history graph with the last 3 days of temperature recordings. Track temperature changes from 1 hour to 3 days ago. A Freeze Warning alerts you when the water temperature drops below 40 degrees. The floating outdoor sensor features water temperature information, durable weatherproof & waterproof construction, powerful wireless technology and low battery indicator light. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
2.522 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
39%of customersrecommend this product42 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
2.5 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(55)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
39%of customersrecommend this product42 of 109reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Review 1 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from treasure coast, florida
Age Range:45 to 54

junk...

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have bought 5 of these, after the 90 day home Depot return policy is up so is this unit. Can't find any good ones, like this one seemed, around....looks good but the part that goes in pool fails. We have done everything to prevent damage but nothing works, water seeps inside and/or the lcd will go bad. Acurite won't warranty units. Maybe others have luck but we have not. only 1 lasted 4 months. This and other models through ebay, amazon pretty much say the same... pool is salt water and full sun...
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, seeps water finds its way in, lcd fails
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Racho cordova, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Here is a tip!!!!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok, product is working for two seasons now and working great. the tip is if you buy a bridge from acurite website you can check your pool temperature from your smart phone!!!! just get the bridge and bridge will connect to the sensor and download the my backyard app from accurate....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from cape coral fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

top line of float display pixels is not showing; indoor display of history is flat-lined

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The top of the numbers for the float display have disappeared. The indoor history of temps is flat-lined
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Plano, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very handy gadget!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Setup was dead simple, following the clear intelligible instruction sheet. Take care to ensure the o-ring is well seated to make the sender unit water-tight. Install batteries as directed, and toss the sender unit in the pool. Temperature gauge, the size of a large smartphone, is easy to read and use, picks up the signals well indoors over 40 feet from the pool.
I would give the package an extra star if it would repeat to a smartphone app!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Queen Cree Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If the units would keep in contact the Thermometer would be great

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Over all I like the unit but, the remote tends to loose contact with the base unit and the batteries do not last very long.
Pros: easy to read
Cons: Short Battery Life, looses contact with the remote
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good concept, poor reliability

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had mine for about a year and must admit that I am a bit disappointed. The unit looks good and the concept is what I was looking for but the quality is poor.
1. It does not have good range so the display inside is quite frequently wrong. The sending unit is less than 25 feet away and we still need to go check it to know what the water temp.
2. The max/min doesn't seem to work. Today it showed 87 and 114 and I know that neither was correct.
3. After about 10 months the sending unit just totally failed. I tried new batteries and still nothing. The nice people at Home Depot helped me out with a replacement even though I had no receipt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work, poor reliability
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks and fails. Do not buy.

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Window on floating transmitter clouded after 24 hours in the pool and quit working altogether after 48 hours. The O ring appears to be at fault even though the cover is screwed on hand tight per instructions.
I'm glad Home Depot stands behind their products and I may try a second one of these just to be fair.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: floating transmitter cannot be used in the pool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Dallas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total Junk

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about 3 weeks - then started displaying temperature readings that were 25 degrees colder than the actual water temperature. Totally worthless. Typical "made in China" stuff meant to last only until you get it home and out of the pkg -
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Daytona Beach
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced and older model that had quit transmitting
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought one 2 years ago - it failed - and my work around.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 1 week. Being an engineer I figured out humidity inside the sending unit was the problem. Put sender inside a sealed Lock-n-Lock container with a packet of desiccant. Worked great for 2 years then sender failed (the spa was NOT at 158 degrees as it indicated).
Checked reviews of every other wireless spa thermometer on the market, all have the same problem. So buy the least expensive, a lock-n-lock and desiccant and figure you'll be replacing it in a couple of years.
Perhaps I'll invent my own decent model....
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Not a good product

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for a few weeks and then it started reporting the temperature wrong. Replaced batteries and still wrong temperature. Found water got into the seal. On the second/third we added sealant but it still went out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from San Ramon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk, don't buy it

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After only six months this stopped working, displaying only "LL" on the floating unit. New batteries solved nothing. I called Acurite and they will be sending me a refund under warranty (1 year). I asked them if they have a newer model and she stated they no longer carry this type of product, go figure. Also, this is the second one purchased in one year. Stay away from it, great idea, poor quality.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Stopped working after one month

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit stopped sending after about one month. Moisture got into it. I had tightened it very well, but the hot water must still get through. More important, the receiving unit did not indicate it had stopped receiving the signal and kept showing the last temp (100 deg.). It was only because I became suspicious because the temperature never varied by even a degree, that I checked. If the spa had turned off and frozen, I would never had known until it was too late. There was no waring of any failure.
Cons: Not Durable, failed no warning
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Orange City, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Fantastic!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure what happened to our first one we got as a gift last year but didn't work this year so purchased another one. Our Son has one too and loves it. No more stooping to read little animal in the pool :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Stopped working

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't last long enough for the first battery change. Cheap price for what it is but only lasted for a couple months. I had a $100 unit before and it made it about a year. I'm guessing no one can make a reliable digtal pool thermometer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from St Augustine Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 3 years I have to replace and I'm thrilled to see the price hasn't changed. In-ground pool in Florida it's in water year round, haven't had the leaking issues others complain of and tempature recording seems to be spot on. Warnings for freezing lets me know what nights to leave the pump on in the winter time. Helpful to know when I can turn the solar heater off as we.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Antelope, ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mine failed

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I doubt they will make it right. I doubt I have the receipt after this long, but maybe I can give my age in dog years while standing on my head and they will give me a break.
If they happen to be so kind as to replace mine, I'll seal the gaskets with silicon grease, and take the circuit board out and spray it with varnish to prevent corrosion from causing "bridging".
The need a redesign by someone who deals with electronics in harsh environments.
So if you want to treat this as a consumable, then your pool temperature is costing you $ 30.00 a year. If that works for you, then fine. But it doesn't work for me.
It's a good idea ruined by poor execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Berkeley, CA

Flaky and unreliable

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
when this works, it works well. but it sometimes gets too much humidity inside (even if well-tightened) and it shorts out. unscrewing it and drying it out allows it to be reused, but I find myself having to check the tub regularly to make sure that the reading on the remote unit is accurate and not just the last reading it received before the main unit shorted out.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two is enough!

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was ecstatic with the first one of these I purchased @ HD. It worked as promised for a year or so. After several changes of batteries, it became very difficult to reassemble the floating component so as to keep a waterproof seal. Since all the transmission gear is in the floater, once that's shot the indoor gauge is useless. I finally gave up on the floater and decided it was not worth another thirty bucks to replace something for a year or so. It's really just a toy, isn't it? Several years later, I got the thirst back and bought another setup hoping that time had healed all technical issues. The new one (same price - I was AMAZED) lasted a lesser time - never needed batteries. Since I had never opened it and the floater leaked anyway, I was less than pleased. I have decided two IS enough and my addiction to them is cured . . .
Pros: fun to have
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I loved this item for the 1st 6 months...

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This could be such a cool product. I really hope the manufacture fixes the design and re-releases it. It worked great for 5 months. Then water got inside the display from what appears to be condensation. I lived with that for a while and now it is stuck in "Centigrade" and won't let me switch back for "Fahrenheit". Since it is less than 1 year the company offered me a refund which I am waiting to received.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>