728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

Perfect for pools, hot tubs, and lakes, the AcuRite Wireless Digital Pool Thermometer allows you to monitor water temperature from a digital display inside your house (up to 100 ft. away). The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays the current water temperature, high / low information and a history graph with the last 3 days of temperature recordings. Track temperature changes from 1 hour to 3 days ago. A Freeze Warning alerts you when the water temperature drops below 40 degrees. The floating outdoor sensor features water temperature information, durable weatherproof & waterproof construction, powerful wireless technology and low battery indicator light. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
2.582 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
41%of customersrecommend this product48 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(12)
1
(58)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
41%of customersrecommend this product48 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Review 1 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Racho cordova, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Here is a tip!!!!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ok, product is working for two seasons now and working great. the tip is if you buy a bridge from acurite website you can check your pool temperature from your smart phone!!!! just get the bridge and bridge will connect to the sensor and download the my backyard app from accurate....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice looking unit and works well until it fills with water after one week of floating in pool.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fills up with water and stops working after a week of floating in the pool. I have owned two of these. I bought the second one thinking the first might have been a lemon. Second one did the same thing. You can keep it working by taking it apart and draining the water out of it and using a blow dryer to dry it but you'll have to do it once a week. Finally took it out of the pool and am using it for an outside thermometer. The signal works great between the sender and receiver but not designed well enough to keep water out. To bad because it was nice knowing what the temperature of the pool was without going outside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Raleigh NC

Great idea; water leaks into sender LCD display

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this thinking it was a great idea. Unfortunately within two days there was visible moisture inside the sender's LCD display. Brought the sender inside and opened it up, putting it over an AC air vent for a day to dry it out which was successful. Put back in the pool and by the next day the LCD segments were starting to disappear. Based on previous reviews here this is a common problem. I really love the concept but the sender LCD display lacks necessary waterproofing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good concept, poor reliability

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had mine for about a year and must admit that I am a bit disappointed. The unit looks good and the concept is what I was looking for but the quality is poor.
1. It does not have good range so the display inside is quite frequently wrong. The sending unit is less than 25 feet away and we still need to go check it to know what the water temp.
2. The max/min doesn't seem to work. Today it showed 87 and 114 and I know that neither was correct.
3. After about 10 months the sending unit just totally failed. I tried new batteries and still nothing. The nice people at Home Depot helped me out with a replacement even though I had no receipt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work, poor reliability
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Westmoreland, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set up transmitter and receiver and now we can see the water temperature of our in ground pool without leaving the family room. The transmitter in the pool is about 50 + feet from the receiver and the house wall does not cause any interference. Great Product
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Millville, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Anyone who goes in our pool enjoys looking at the temperature. We've even used it in the side garage in the winter to advise us when it's too cold and the soda cans will burst! Love being able to read it from the inside!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from treasure coast, florida
Age Range:45 to 54

junk...

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have bought 5 of these, after the 90 day home Depot return policy is up so is this unit. Can't find any good ones, like this one seemed, around....looks good but the part that goes in pool fails. We have done everything to prevent damage but nothing works, water seeps inside and/or the lcd will go bad. Acurite won't warranty units. Maybe others have luck but we have not. only 1 lasted 4 months. This and other models through ebay, amazon pretty much say the same... pool is salt water and full sun...
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, seeps water finds its way in, lcd fails
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pool thermometer

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is great when it works. However, the product at $29.00 only last 6 months to 1 year. If you don't have a receipt you cannot exchange or get your money back. For the price it should last longer than it does.
Pros: check temperature from inside home
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought one 2 years ago - it failed - and my work around.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 1 week. Being an engineer I figured out humidity inside the sending unit was the problem. Put sender inside a sealed Lock-n-Lock container with a packet of desiccant. Worked great for 2 years then sender failed (the spa was NOT at 158 degrees as it indicated).
Checked reviews of every other wireless spa thermometer on the market, all have the same problem. So buy the least expensive, a lock-n-lock and desiccant and figure you'll be replacing it in a couple of years.
Perhaps I'll invent my own decent model....
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Remote pool thermometer

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The device is easy to use, works well and is accurate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really nice for pool

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i really like this so far had no trouble it works great for grandbaby to temp from inside the house nice job well built
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Needs modifying to work properly.

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third unit in as many years. When used as intended, these have lasted only a couple months for me. When I open them up, there is always water inside. So finally I decided to put a sealer around all the openings where the water could enter. It is a vaseline-like substance used for pool devices. I also coated the entire exterior with automobile wax. So far this method has held for two months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Antioch, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it, it preps you before diving in the pool.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very well constructed. I'm surprised how well for the price. My family doesn't believe the temp reading but I keep explaining that water temp feels different than that of air temp.
Pros: Stylish, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Stopped working after one month

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit stopped sending after about one month. Moisture got into it. I had tightened it very well, but the hot water must still get through. More important, the receiving unit did not indicate it had stopped receiving the signal and kept showing the last temp (100 deg.). It was only because I became suspicious because the temperature never varied by even a degree, that I checked. If the spa had turned off and frozen, I would never had known until it was too late. There was no waring of any failure.
Cons: Not Durable, failed no warning
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Antelope, ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mine failed

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I doubt they will make it right. I doubt I have the receipt after this long, but maybe I can give my age in dog years while standing on my head and they will give me a break.
If they happen to be so kind as to replace mine, I'll seal the gaskets with silicon grease, and take the circuit board out and spray it with varnish to prevent corrosion from causing "bridging".
The need a redesign by someone who deals with electronics in harsh environments.
So if you want to treat this as a consumable, then your pool temperature is costing you $ 30.00 a year. If that works for you, then fine. But it doesn't work for me.
It's a good idea ruined by poor execution.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Plano, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very handy gadget!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Setup was dead simple, following the clear intelligible instruction sheet. Take care to ensure the o-ring is well seated to make the sender unit water-tight. Install batteries as directed, and toss the sender unit in the pool. Temperature gauge, the size of a large smartphone, is easy to read and use, picks up the signals well indoors over 40 feet from the pool.
I would give the package an extra star if it would repeat to a smartphone app!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from cape coral fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

top line of float display pixels is not showing; indoor display of history is flat-lined

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The top of the numbers for the float display have disappeared. The indoor history of temps is flat-lined
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Queen Cree Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If the units would keep in contact the Thermometer would be great

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Over all I like the unit but, the remote tends to loose contact with the base unit and the batteries do not last very long.
Pros: easy to read
Cons: Short Battery Life, looses contact with the remote
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks and fails. Do not buy.

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Window on floating transmitter clouded after 24 hours in the pool and quit working altogether after 48 hours. The O ring appears to be at fault even though the cover is screwed on hand tight per instructions.
I'm glad Home Depot stands behind their products and I may try a second one of these just to be fair.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: floating transmitter cannot be used in the pool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Digital Floating Pool and Spa Thermometer
from Dallas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total Junk

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about 3 weeks - then started displaying temperature readings that were 25 degrees colder than the actual water temperature. Totally worthless. Typical "made in China" stuff meant to last only until you get it home and out of the pkg -
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>