728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Weather the day with confidence with your own accurate and up-to-date information right from your own backyard. The AcuRite Digital Rain Gauge with Self-Emptying Wireless Rain Collector features precise, reliable rainfall measurements. The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays daily rainfall and records rainfall history, including a rainfall event, 1 day or 7 days of measurements. Includes rain and flood watch alarms, alerting you when rainfall begins and when conditions are right for possible flooding. The outdoor sensor features a self-emptying mechanism and transmits rain data wirelessly. Includes a clock and calendar. Display stands upright for tabletop use or is wall-mountable. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
3.355 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product18 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product18 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Review 1 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
pooreboy
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

improved design

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
owned a previous model. new design keeps insects and moisture out of electronics and battery compartment. product comes with simple calibration procedure.both of my units were accurate right out of box! both units seem to stay locked in on transmissions between base unit and collector
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Jackhammer
from Lake Placid, FL 33852, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Fantastic Product :)

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for $20 it is worth far more! I mounted it on the peak of my roof at the end of our house, there are no obstructions there. This is accurate to .01 of an inch. Incredible!!!!!
I have already absolutely recommended this product to who ever would listen.
Buy you won't regret.
Pros: Stylish, Durable, Strong, Great Quality, no cleaning involved
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
FlowerwoodDachshunds
from Ocala, Fla
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rain Gauge Does not Work

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My manual rain gauge showed .9" rain today but my new raingauge from Home Depot did not show anything. I re-set it to no avail. Very disappointed!
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
mack
from Royse City, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and the price is right

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had one for three years and has not failed and replaced the batteries only once. I purchased this one as a gift for a friend who always calls me after a rain to see how much it did rain. Now, he has not excuse in not knowing.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
BarBQLuvR
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Third Time and a Change of Batteries was a Charm

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have another Acurite product which works well, so when our previous wireless rain gauge gave out, we decided to try the Acurite rain gauge. After purchasing the unit, we tried everything that we could think of to get the unit to work. No luck. I then called Acurite support; I would rate it as outstanding. The agent was patient and suggested what we might also try to get the unit to work. No luck. I called back; the agent said that perhaps the unit was defective and sent out another one. No luck. I called again. The agent said that she would test another unit before sending it out. We had no luck with that one either and we were about to give up. I tried one more thing. We had been using Duracell Coppertop batteries in both units. I replaced the batteries in the sending unit with Energizer lithium batteries. Viola! It worked. I have no idea why. The Duracell batteries were new and tested at 1.5 volts. The units are very well designed, have many useful features, and are easy to use. I noticed that the reviews of this rain gauge are bimodal. The user either loves it or doesn't get it to work. Because of Acurite's superior customer service, I would encourage users who do not have success at first to try, try again. I would also encourage Acurite to investigate why the units are so sensitive to the batteries used.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, well-designed
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Texas1
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works and fun too!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Like it! Because of trees, we had to place it on the other side of a detached garage. We didn't think it would work that far away with the signal having to travel through garage. But it does! Fun to watch!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Bigredtuna
from West Chester PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is pretty basic, and it's all I wanted. Easy to set up. Works perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
WXWunder

Good value, works well, great range, manual could be better...

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this unit and initially I had problems with getting the bucket to talk to the display unit. The sequence of battery installment matters !!!! The manual doesn't say this, but you need to install the batteries on the display unit first and then install the batteries on the bucket for the two to sync up. If you replace the batteries on the bucket you need to go through the same start-up sequence again. Aside from that device communicated perfectly from the far reaches of the house through several walls to the opposite corner of the property, I had to stick the bucket in the neighbors yard to finally see one less bar on the signal strength display. The device updates once per minute and so changes in signal are not immediately visible on the display.
The accuracy of the device is what can be expected from a small tipping bucket setup. The out of the box reading for an 8oz calibration drip over 15 minutes resulted in a reading of 1.35 " as opposed to 1.68" as the manual states. After turning the set screws the repeatability was pretty good with a 3-5 count variance per try. However when increasing the drip to 8oz in about 5 minutes the device was reading about 20% lower than expected. Of course that would be a rainfall of about 20" per hour. You might have more pressing matters if that happened than the accuracy of your rain gauge.
It's too bad that the manual is mum about the start-up procedure and I'm sure that many folks ran afoul of this. Other than that it's a good unit for the price and size. batteries are easy to replace, range is excellent and accuracy / repeatability is surprisingly good.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
NorcalSkier
from Northern, CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, setup and read

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Follow the directions on power up, easy to set up and start using. Make sure your site is level or nearly level for the gauge. Monitor is ~80' away with strong signal, History feature allows tracking during extended absence. Two months and working as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
HawaiiBIPS
from Pāhoa, HI 96778, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Dependable if you

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these at my Home Depot in Hilo, Hawaii (the rainiest city in the U.S.) and it has worked flawlessly for 4-1/2 years. Sometimes we had 6" of rain in a day, but it never had a problem unless I ignored the warning and let the batteries run out. My manual DID have details about which order to put the batteries in the two units, as well as a time limit of getting the second unit powered with batteries. This is crucial to getting the units to talk to each other.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Looks High End, accurate when calibrated, stores 7 days of daily rain info
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
2662
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent and convenient Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of your products, I also use them as gifts when I go to England where I was born. They need and like the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
DisappointedWeatherFan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

AcuRite Products: A Waste of Time & Money

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this AcuRite wireless rain gauge and the base and sensor units would not "talk" with one another. I had purchased this model after previously purchasing a different AcuRite model from Wal Mart. That product was also returned - this time because the device would not register any rainfall. After checking AcuRite's web site I found pages of similar complaints for their products. DO NOT waste your time or money! I wish Home Depot would start selling LaCrosse Technology products in their stores. I had one of their wireless rain gauges that worked flawlessly for over 5 years.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
shadowless

Doesn't communicate with itself

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Tried several times to get it to work and it never would connect. Did Everything according to the instructions.
Returned for a refund- Not worth the hassle trying to work something out with manufacturer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Willy
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is too soon to say with any certainty but it seems to be well designed.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A little problem with wireless connectivity.
Called cust service and a quick adjustment fixed it!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Dwight
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great value for price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would rate this product a 10. The product has great value and is very accurate. I wold recommend this product to anyone that is interested in following rain amounts.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
stugots
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Digital read-outs work but rain gauge/ water sensor did not. It was brand new!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product did not work when received. I requested they send a new one but have not received yet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
everydayguy
from Los Angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never worked! Never will!

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased Acurite digital rain gauge on sale. Display didn't work when opened. Acurite would not honor warranty, so into the trash it went.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
bobsie
from North Carolina
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Better than advertised

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our new rain guage is just perfect and so easy to read.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Dee53
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Could not get product to work

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Could not get project to work even after calling customer support. Need to return it.
Cons: would not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.75 in. H Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Aaron
from Industry, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Wireless does not work.

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought and returned two of these. On both of them the wireless did not work. I tried different batteries, all of the three channels, and waiting for the rain collector to communicate with rain gauge. I will not get a third one of these.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>