728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Weather the day with confidence with your own accurate and up-to-date information right from your own backyard. The AcuRite Digital Rain Gauge with Self-Emptying Wireless Rain Collector features precise, reliable rainfall measurements. The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays daily rainfall and records rainfall history, including a rainfall event, 1 day or 7 days of measurements. Includes rain and flood watch alarms, alerting you when rainfall begins and when conditions are right for possible flooding. The outdoor sensor features a self-emptying mechanism and transmits rain data wirelessly. Includes a clock and calendar. Display stands upright for tabletop use or is wall-mountable. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
4.029 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product53 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product53 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Review 1 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from El Dorado Hills, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with my purchase.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up and has worked flawlessly for a couple of weeks. I built a stand for it and attached to the railing on my deck. It is approximately 60 feet from the receiver in my office and it has full power indication for the signal. I actually purchased another one as a Xmas present for my daughter-in-law.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Lake Placid, FL 33852, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Fantastic Product :)

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product for $20 it is worth far more! I mounted it on the peak of my roof at the end of our house, there are no obstructions there. This is accurate to .01 of an inch. Incredible!!!!!
I have already absolutely recommended this product to who ever would listen.
Buy you won't regret.
Pros: Stylish, Durable, Strong, Great Quality, no cleaning involved
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS VERY WELL, BUT❗️

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit works very well. If you have the Acurite Internet Bridge, you can see rainfall amount in real time on your smartphone or iPad via the Acurite app. I am able to compare the accuracy of this unit with another rain gauge I own and they read exactly the same!
Now for the not so good news. The outdoor sending unit EATS BATTERIES ALIVE and I'm using Duracell QUANTUM which is supposed to be the longest lasting (and most expensive) battery available.
You will get a low battery alarm in two months or less‼️
So to sum it up, a great rain gauge with internet connectivity that loves to eat batteries :(
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: eats batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Land O Lakes
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After installing and seeing it work, I must say I truly like not having to reset the daily rain amount. It resets every day's total.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Wichita, Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Collector unit sits approximately 50 feet from brick veneer house. The receiver sits in the breakfast room, so the signal has to travel an additional 30 feet through two interior walls as well. The receiver is showing full signal strength!!
I was also worried that I would have to adjust the screws in the collector. We have two other rain gauges and those and the digital rain gauge all match perfectly. Very happy with purchase. My only concern is how long the unit will last. I hope I'm not back on here in 3 months writing a negative review.....
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

It actually works!

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Trying to answer a customer's question about this product requires me to write another review???
Product works very well through 3 walls with two sets of cabinets on two of the walls. Collector sits approximately 80 feet from receiver and shows 100% signal strength. Alarms can be enabled/disabled. Very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Irving, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive hi-tech

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really a clever design. So far it seems to work great. I didn't bother to check the calibration, but good to know that this Is possible. Selecting an open array that is protected and level was not easy. but being self emptying is a great feature of this design.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome rain gauge

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product that delivers accurate readings at a very reasonable price.
Simple to install and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good value. Perfect for the home user

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The display is easy to set and easy to use. Maintenance for cleaning the outside unit and replacing batteries is not difficult.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Mentor, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

In Love

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never thought I would be in love with a rain gauge, but I am with this one. I was able to screw it into my deck rail and it stays straight and doesn't fill with bugs and gunk like the one's that stick into the ground do. It is very accurate and empties itself. Plus it remembers by the day of the event, so if I forget to read it, I can go back and check. Very happy I bought this and would recommend it. I don't know how long the batteries last and will probably cover it and take the batteries out for the winter though.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Cave Creek, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy. Don't forget batteries.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I knew it would need 5 AA batts. but forgot to order them, so keep that in mind, not a negative to this purchase, just a reminder.
The rest of this happy rating is to tell anyone with a need to track a 1 DAY rainfall on some other 24 hr. period rather than the 12:01 AM to 12 PM DAY by the standard gauge's setup it can be done.
My need for example: Arizona RainLoggers reporting to AZ State Univ. have their 1 DAY 7:01 AM YESTERDAY to 7:00 AM TODAY. I don't need the real time displayed on the receiving display, so could trick the setup to think 12:01 AM is YESTERDAY'S date with a setup TIME equal to YOUR REAL TIME ( say 11:00 AM for example) minus the 7 hrs so the TIME you set is 4 AM with YESTERDAY’S date.
Pros: Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Long IslandNY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wireless Rain Gauge

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The display has many modes to display rainfall. Easy to read. Wireless communication with rain sensor makes installation easy.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product, great value!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this rain gauge for my workplace as we are required to measure rainfall as part of our storm water pollution prevention plan. The combination of the device's ability to record rainfall daily and retain that information for a period of time was critical as was the ability to monitor the information somewhat remotely. The range of the device is good. For what it does and what we needed, I could not find a better value. Even though I have had to replace it due to the monitor breaking (fell on the floor and cracked), the gauge itself has worked well with the only maintenance required being to change the batteries once every 6 months, even with high rainfall averages that are seen in our part of the country.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: only wish it could store more than 7 days
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great rain guage

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a sprinkler system and this electronic gauge is wonderful. I need a minium of 1 inch of water a week on my lawn. This instrument gives me rainfall down to the .01. It's very simple to look up your rainfall for the last week. It has a history function. You Must follow directions when installing the batteries in the outside an inside units. You must install the batteries in the outside unit first because that is the transmitter. Then do the inside unit because that is the reciever. This instrument even emptys itself. This thing is better than sliced bread..
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Digital Rain Gauge

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I couldn't calibrate this unit so I had to call Accu Rite's tech support and discovered that there was an error in the manual's calibration procedure. The calibration procedure tells you to dump 8 oz. of water into the collection unit and turn the calibration screws until you get a reading of 2.2".
Actually the number should read 1.68".
After I used the correct calibration number, it has worked just fine. The manual is available online.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from ACS AS
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS GREAT

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IT GOT HERE QUICKLY AND WORKS VERY WELL.. I AM PLEASED.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Olathe, Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good but not great

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have two of these and enjoy knowing how much rain we actually receive versus the weather station miles away. It does measure a little less than actual, but good enough for my needs. My only complaint is the plastic tabs that hold the collector to the base break off after years in the sun.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Garner, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great rain gauge!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Rain gauge is nice because it can be adjusted for a more accurate reading.
Pros: Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

improved design

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
owned a previous model. new design keeps insects and moisture out of electronics and battery compartment. product comes with simple calibration procedure.both of my units were accurate right out of box! both units seem to stay locked in on transmissions between base unit and collector
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Houston

Works well

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had previously purchased a remote rainfall sensor. When connected, it worked well. But connecting the unit to the base unit was problematical. It was difficult to connect, had limited range and would lose connection easily.
I saw this one on the Home Depot site and it was rated highly and reasonably priced. It works as good as the ratings stated. I have had this gage working for two weeks and went through several storms, one which dumped over 6" of rain in a 4 hour period. Other showers have come through. I have a manual gage close by and compared the results. It appears this unit needs calibration (reads about 10% low) and there is a procedure for that but I have not done it.
I like the historical feature capability and the ease of use. I highly recommend the unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, easy to connect to base unit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>