728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Weather the day with confidence with your own accurate and up-to-date information right from your own backyard. The AcuRite Digital Rain Gauge with Self-Emptying Wireless Rain Collector features precise, reliable rainfall measurements. The bold, easy to read LCD screen displays daily rainfall and records rainfall history, including a rainfall event, 1 day or 7 days of measurements. Includes rain and flood watch alarms, alerting you when rainfall begins and when conditions are right for possible flooding. The outdoor sensor features a self-emptying mechanism and transmits rain data wirelessly. Includes a clock and calendar. Display stands upright for tabletop use or is wall-mountable. One-year limited warranty. It's more than accurate, it's AcuRite.
Overall rating:
3.804 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product35 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product35 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Review 1 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from El Dorado Hills, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with my purchase.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and has worked flawlessly for a couple of weeks. I built a stand for it and attached to the railing on my deck. It is approximately 60 feet from the receiver in my office and it has full power indication for the signal. I actually purchased another one as a Xmas present for my daughter-in-law.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Lake Placid, FL 33852, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Fantastic Product :)

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for $20 it is worth far more! I mounted it on the peak of my roof at the end of our house, there are no obstructions there. This is accurate to .01 of an inch. Incredible!!!!!
I have already absolutely recommended this product to who ever would listen.
Buy you won't regret.
Pros: Stylish, Durable, Strong, Great Quality, no cleaning involved
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Houston

Works well

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had previously purchased a remote rainfall sensor. When connected, it worked well. But connecting the unit to the base unit was problematical. It was difficult to connect, had limited range and would lose connection easily.
I saw this one on the Home Depot site and it was rated highly and reasonably priced. It works as good as the ratings stated. I have had this gage working for two weeks and went through several storms, one which dumped over 6" of rain in a 4 hour period. Other showers have come through. I have a manual gage close by and compared the results. It appears this unit needs calibration (reads about 10% low) and there is a procedure for that but I have not done it.
I like the historical feature capability and the ease of use. I highly recommend the unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, easy to connect to base unit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Romulus, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice unit

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to set up. Works well. Price was right. Just a great experiance over all.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Garner, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great rain gauge!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rain gauge is nice because it can be adjusted for a more accurate reading.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great rain guage

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a sprinkler system and this electronic gauge is wonderful. I need a minium of 1 inch of water a week on my lawn. This instrument gives me rainfall down to the .01. It's very simple to look up your rainfall for the last week. It has a history function. You Must follow directions when installing the batteries in the outside an inside units. You must install the batteries in the outside unit first because that is the transmitter. Then do the inside unit because that is the reciever. This instrument even emptys itself. This thing is better than sliced bread..
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from matthews, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Digital Rain Gauge with wireless self-emptying rain collector

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't have to go outside anymore to empty or read how much rain we got. It's a good product and the price was very reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the closest available to all I wanted, especially for the price. Excellent value. Big plus is the ability to calibrate it, increasing my confidence in its accuracy. I haven't had Tucson enough rain yet to compare it to a manual gauge. Seems quite reliable so far. I may get a second one to take on vacation trips.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, excellent value, can be calibrated
Cons: nothing yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

improved design

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
owned a previous model. new design keeps insects and moisture out of electronics and battery compartment. product comes with simple calibration procedure.both of my units were accurate right out of box! both units seem to stay locked in on transmissions between base unit and collector
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Keystone Heights, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to setup, convenient display, great deal!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second purchase, the first one lasted about a year in direct sunlight and then the plastic push latch assembly broke off. I had no issue purchasing this product again, it is a very good value for the price. I love the automatic, daily, reset and the large read-out display. It has customization settings for alerts. I recommend this as a great value in electronic rain gauge.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from James Island, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a good price.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A wireless rain gauge is something you never think about until you get one. Then you wonder how you ever got along without it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy Rain Guage

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rain guage is very accurate and easy to set up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector

Lasted a month

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this rain gauge, set it up and seemed to work well. Then about a month or so later the outside unit quit. Changed batteries and still nothing!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good instrument for a carefull individual

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is good but needs careful (real rain) calibration for its specific installation. The quick method suggested by the instructions was inadequate. We haven't had sufficient rain yet to complete the calibration but we are within 10%.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: problems with calibration
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

works great

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rain gauge was easy to set up and use. It is quite versatile and lets you do a lot of different things
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Mesquite, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An accurate rain gauge finally!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rain gauge was easy to to assemble and install. Finally got a little rain to measure yesterday, hopefully more in the next few days. Since the store did not have the product in stock, I ordered it online to be picked up at the store. It was very convenient and I did not have to pay for shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Poolesville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good deal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The rain gauge was easy to prepare and so far works well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from 24592
Age Range:65 or over

Easy to assemble and accurate in it's measurements

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice outside unit that was easy to mount and the monitor display indoors is great.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Burnsville, N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being gardeners it is important to know how much rain you received during the night. This takes the guess work out of it. The auto empting feature is wonderful. In the past I've ruined a lot of gauges by having them freeze in the winter. No more worrying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Rain Gauge with Wireless Self-Emptying Rain Collector
from Pāhoa, HI 96778, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Dependable if you

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these at my Home Depot in Hilo, Hawaii (the rainiest city in the U.S.) and it has worked flawlessly for 4-1/2 years. Sometimes we had 6" of rain in a day, but it never had a problem unless I ignored the warning and let the batteries run out. My manual DID have details about which order to put the batteries in the two units, as well as a time limit of getting the second unit powered with batteries. This is crucial to getting the units to talk to each other.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Looks High End, accurate when calibrated, stores 7 days of daily rain info
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>