728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Weather Stripping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

The Thermwell Products Co., Inc. Frost King Window Insulation Kit includes 9-pre-cut sheets to make it easy to insulate 9 standard windows. The 62 in. L x 42 in. W sheets help stop cold drafts and limit heat loss.
Overall rating:
3.407 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product35 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product35 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
Review 1 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Valhalla NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best way to easly steal windows for winter!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great!! I use it for many different applications. For those using this for windows I would recommend using 2 rows of the double sided tape to help prevent the plastic layer from peeling off. This insulation kit helps me save hundreds every year and is pretty durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the 9 pack a few weeks ago and covered 3 large windows in my house. Alot of the reviews complain about the tape. I can only speak for my experience - my windows have wooden frames and the tape had no problem adhering. It took me about 1 window to get the hang of working with the tape. I waited to write my review to see if I would experience "the tape doesnt last and the plastic falls down". No such problem. I will definitely buy this product next season as well. On windy days (like today), you can hear the plastic crinkle slightly as the wind blows against the window. Its amazing how much my windows were letting in. I was hoping to see a reduction in humidity, but it doesnt appear that this product helped with my high humidity conditions. Nevertheless, no complaints here.
Pros: Sturdy
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Atlanta Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be Great if it was as described on their label

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this for the Polar Vortex which swept the East Coast. Unfortunately when I tried to put it on the window. Only ONE out of the 9 shrink films were truly 62 inches long!!! Eight of them were 58 to 59 inches in length. Making them 2 to 4" to short for my windows. Now, I am stuck with ONLY ONE window covered and the other windows undone.
They advertise on the box that these are, (42" Wide 62" Long, 9 Sheets) They scammed 18 to 20" of shrink film only to lose me as a customer.
Last night, Our weather was Snow and -6 Below Zero, with windchill around 30-35 Below Zero! It is a shame that an American Company would step to third world integrity.
Pros: made in usa
Cons: not as described
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine for me

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For me the product did not come with visual instructions but for the most part I got the drift. I did have to cut down some of the strips so I can get a complete seal around my windows. once the strips were laid down pulled up the clips and simply layed the wrap in the crack. It does not have to be super tight .... thats when the hair dryer comes in and you set it to high and run it along the plastic, you will see it get tighter and your down. I have picture so you can see.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product if installed right

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is much better than the Duck brand. I watched the instructional video online and it taught me well. It was easy to apply to all my windows. I had the plastic on my windows within 3 minutes. It is very simple and can be done with just one person. I had no problems with the tape and plastic sheet. I did mess up with some windows but it was easy to fix. By the time I was done it does not even look like there is a window insulation on it.
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was a little skeptical initially because of the price. Worked out very nice.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from New Albany, IN

Overall, a decent product

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product sealed my drafty, junky vinyl windows. The main problem is the tape is absolutely one of the worst construction products that I have ever used. The only thing it consistently sticks to is your fingers. It is nearly impossible to separate the tape from the backing without using a knife ar scissor edge.
Once installed, I was able to feel an immediate difference in the comfort of each room I used it in. I would recommend installing this BEFORE cold weather arrives. I had to heat the window jambs with the hairdryer just to get the tape to stick. Also, you only have one shot with the tape, so I would buy a spare roll just in case. You can always return it.
I truely hope that someone from HD reads this and addresses it with the Mfg.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

Cheap, thin product

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy. Look for the 3M brand. It's so much better. I bought this because it was the only brand Home Depot stocked. Not at all comparable to the 3M product I used last year. It was thicker and crystal clear. You could hardly tell it was on the window. This you notice. The only positive thing I can say about it is it's better than nothing.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

epic fail

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i am going to go ahead a rate this product as a total failure. the plastic shrink wrap film is fine. however, the alleged double-sided tape is worse than useless. i followed the directions to the letter and cleaned and dried the surfaces before applying. the tape sticks great...to itself and to your skin. it didn't stick to window frames, wood, plastic (other than itself) or metal. i finally got it up and a week later it had all fallen down. i used the remainder of the tape to put it back up. a week later it fell down again. on some of my windows i used a different brand and it is still up two months later. when i ran out of the competing brand i ended up using clear packaging tape to fix the Frost King mess. I had read similar reviews on other sites and thought it couldn't be THAT bad. Do yourself a favor and either by a different brand (ANY other brand) or make plans to keep putting it back up every couple weeks. would i recommend this product to ANYONE? not just no, but HECK NO.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

falling off the windows

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
spent 3 hours installing over all my windows , next morning most of them had fallen from the tape. the tape stuck to the windows, but the film isnt sticking to the tape. worthless. never had this problem with the 3M window kits.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Shelby Township, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install, does a great job

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy for my nephew to install, and it seems to be working just great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

Product meets my expectations

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product does what it is designed to do. Also easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

Yes it works, just take your time installing

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To explain the "it didn't stick comments" you must clean and DRY the area. Since you have a hair dryer to shrink the plastic, use it to also warm and dry where your applying the double stick tape. ANY moisture on the surface will make it not stick. The warming will make it stick even better, just take your time and apply it correctly.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this site and was about to just buy the 3M product on Amazon, but I have a lot of windows and would have had to spent 3X so I figured I would give this a shot and they worked great. I cleaned the areas the tape would be placed and waited until it dried before applying. The instructions clearly state that this product will not work on certain materials. I followed the instructions to the T for applying the film. I made sure the tape stuck to the film by rubbing my palm over it to create some heat since it was a cold night. I'm not sure how this product rates in clarity compared to 3M but I had curtains so that wasn't a concern. Wrinkling wasn't a big issue for me either. The film smoothed out under the hairdryer except in areas where I did not apply it straight so there was extra material. I also used this to cover my AC (with some duct tape). I woke up this morning noticing it was definitely warmer.Overall, I am very happy with this product and would use again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lacking

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only time this kit worked effectively was during warm days. It seems that the adhesiveness of the tape is almost completely useless if exposed to cold during installation. It will also come off when it's any sort of windy too. Unfortunately where I live, cold and wind are always around.
Overall the quality of the film is decent but the tape is lacking. They could also do with a technique manual as well. They don't have instructions on the box to pull the film tight when applying over the tape nor the best way to apply the tape, they just expect you to find out. On that note, this can add hours onto instillation time, which mean it won't be worth it for anyone but people who regularly use this stuff each year..
Pros: Durable
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

great for the price

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the tape it comes with is poor so i used scotch packing tape and that has gripped to the window casing much better. the plastic once streched is "brittle" so take care, it will rip rather easly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Frost King is one of the worst products out there. The double sided tape does not stick well. Immediately after finishing, the plastic pulled off the tape. I would not recommend this product at all. 3M makes a much better product.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Drexel Hill, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a very good product

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product for use in my new apartment. A few of the windows are the originals from 1924 and were leaking in a lot of cold air. I took the advice of another reviewer and wiped the area down with alcohol to remove any dirt/cleaning product residue. This worked like a charm. The tape adhered immediately to the wood. The application of this product was very easy. I am not a "handy" type and I had no difficulties. I could tell immediately that the cold air was not leaking in like before.l I highly recommend this product. I did not use a blow dryer to form the plastic to the windows because I don't care about that aspect. It looks fine without that step in my opinion. The plastic is completely clear and does not block the light or alter the view.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)
from Boulder, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Garbage!

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up the large window kit, followed the directions to the T. Tape failed after a day or so on each of my 3 attempts. Cleaned the surface prior to application, so dirt not a factor. Just seems like a weak product. Used the Duct brand afterwards with much better luck.
Save your money and go with a better brand.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9-Pack)

WILL save you money!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied these to 6 of my 70-year-old single-pane windows and saved $80 in one month on my electric bill.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>