728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Weather Stripping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

The Thermwell Products Co., Inc. Frost King Window Insulation Kit includes 9-pre-cut sheets to make it easy to insulate 9 standard windows. The 62 in. L x 42 in. W sheets help stop cold drafts and limit heat loss.
Overall rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product41 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product41 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
Review 1 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Does Work, take your time installing it!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a 95 year old home in Wichita Kansas. The weather here is bi-polar at times. I read the reviews on here before I purchased this kit. I learned that the best way to make sure the tape adheres to the frame is to obviously clean the frame beforehand, but also to use a blow dryer to heat the tape up as you're applying the tape....it'll adhere better to the surface.I also overlapped the corners and rubbed the tape with a dry cloth while blowdrying it to the surface....it really Does help! It took me nearly 30 minutes per window, it was definitely worth it! We noticed that our living room stays warmer for longer periods and that the Furnace doesn't kick on nearly as much.If you do this right, it'll last. The temps in the house overall stay warmer for longer. We've also sealed the windows in our bedroom and noticed a HUGE difference! Definitely a good buy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from Groton CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, has removal issues

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to insulate 10 old windows (with weights) with drafty triple track storm windows. Once you get the hang of it, they go on easily and are completely invisible. They really cut drafts. I used a painters heat gun to shrink the plastic, a hair dryer didn't work.
At end of season, the double stick tape pulled off some paint on the sills and trim and left some adhesive residue. Frost King says to remove the residue with a hair dryer and rubbing alcohol. This was ineffective. I used some Fineline 919 Wax and Grease Remover and it took the glue off like magic. This solvent is a prep and cleaner for auto refinishing so it should be available at better autoparts stores.
Pros: Easy to Install, nearly invisible, very effective
Cons: adhesive hard to remove
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from greater Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed with product

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is certainly not my first time using this product. I have used for several years and starting last year the quality of the tape has completely gone down hill. I make sure all surfaces are clean of any dirt, and dust, and dry. After a few days and or even a week or two later the tape fails. This is the second year in ago this has happened. I would not recommend on any level. I would suggest searching for other brands because I am headed off to get the other brand now. I have used the other product however I could not find it this past fall. Just found out who has it, and where I can buy it. Sad to say when I asked a associate in the store about the problems, they just looked at me and didn't say a word. A true sign it wasn't the first comment about failure of the product. I wish Home Depot would do some leg work and consider other options.
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

needs prepwork

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most installs, preparation of the window surface is everything. The 2 sided tape provided came off the roll sticky side out, not something to cry about and it may have been intentional. It is very sticky. Especially when you let it stick to itself. Just save the time and throw that strip away, its useless. Clean the surface as well as you can, then let dry. This tape needs a few minutes to stick, the warmer the better. After applying the plastic, hit the edges first with the hair dryer, then work to the center parts of the window. The difference was amazing. Corner bedroom no longer cold! This months' heat bill should reflect that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from Valhalla NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best way to easly steal windows for winter!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great!! I use it for many different applications. For those using this for windows I would recommend using 2 rows of the double sided tape to help prevent the plastic layer from peeling off. This insulation kit helps me save hundreds every year and is pretty durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

Very sad and very disappointed

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my house if was very happy about it when I found it. But as soon as I put it on very sad and disappointed. I spend a very good amount of time installing this on my windows. It looked good but by the time I was done with all my window it started falling off. Not on one window but on all of them. It didn't even last a day and not to mention I even used the Frost King clear tape as well as back up. I wish I could get my money back:-( if I could not give it star I would but it won't let me do that so 1 star it is.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the 9 pack a few weeks ago and covered 3 large windows in my house. Alot of the reviews complain about the tape. I can only speak for my experience - my windows have wooden frames and the tape had no problem adhering. It took me about 1 window to get the hang of working with the tape. I waited to write my review to see if I would experience "the tape doesnt last and the plastic falls down". No such problem. I will definitely buy this product next season as well. On windy days (like today), you can hear the plastic crinkle slightly as the wind blows against the window. Its amazing how much my windows were letting in. I was hoping to see a reduction in humidity, but it doesnt appear that this product helped with my high humidity conditions. Nevertheless, no complaints here.
Pros: Sturdy
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

window insulation kit

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product in the past and was happy to find it available now. It definitely cuts down on heating costs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Good for saving energy

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good for saving energy, Easy to install and if glue is not working use cello tape and fix it...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

Not the best tape/length is a little short

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The double sided tape is pretty weak. It sticks to the plastic fine but I had some trouble getting it on the trim around my windows.
The cut didn't leave much room for error for the length of the window. Plenty extra for the width, which I didn't need. I was able to make it work, it would just be nice to have an inch or so extra to work with for the length.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine for me

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For me the product did not come with visual instructions but for the most part I got the drift. I did have to cut down some of the strips so I can get a complete seal around my windows. once the strips were laid down pulled up the clips and simply layed the wrap in the crack. It does not have to be super tight .... thats when the hair dryer comes in and you set it to high and run it along the plastic, you will see it get tighter and your down. I have picture so you can see.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from New Albany, IN

Overall, a decent product

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product sealed my drafty, junky vinyl windows. The main problem is the tape is absolutely one of the worst construction products that I have ever used. The only thing it consistently sticks to is your fingers. It is nearly impossible to separate the tape from the backing without using a knife ar scissor edge.
Once installed, I was able to feel an immediate difference in the comfort of each room I used it in. I would recommend installing this BEFORE cold weather arrives. I had to heat the window jambs with the hairdryer just to get the tape to stick. Also, you only have one shot with the tape, so I would buy a spare roll just in case. You can always return it.
I truely hope that someone from HD reads this and addresses it with the Mfg.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

Cheap, thin product

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy. Look for the 3M brand. It's so much better. I bought this because it was the only brand Home Depot stocked. Not at all comparable to the 3M product I used last year. It was thicker and crystal clear. You could hardly tell it was on the window. This you notice. The only positive thing I can say about it is it's better than nothing.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

review

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product to cover my Windows during the cold weather months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from Atlanta Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be Great if it was as described on their label

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this for the Polar Vortex which swept the East Coast. Unfortunately when I tried to put it on the window. Only ONE out of the 9 shrink films were truly 62 inches long!!! Eight of them were 58 to 59 inches in length. Making them 2 to 4" to short for my windows. Now, I am stuck with ONLY ONE window covered and the other windows undone.
They advertise on the box that these are, (42" Wide 62" Long, 9 Sheets) They scammed 18 to 20" of shrink film only to lose me as a customer.
Last night, Our weather was Snow and -6 Below Zero, with windchill around 30-35 Below Zero! It is a shame that an American Company would step to third world integrity.
Pros: made in usa
Cons: not as described
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product if installed right

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is much better than the Duck brand. I watched the instructional video online and it taught me well. It was easy to apply to all my windows. I had the plastic on my windows within 3 minutes. It is very simple and can be done with just one person. I had no problems with the tape and plastic sheet. I did mess up with some windows but it was easy to fix. By the time I was done it does not even look like there is a window insulation on it.
Pros: Easy to Install
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

epic fail

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i am going to go ahead a rate this product as a total failure. the plastic shrink wrap film is fine. however, the alleged double-sided tape is worse than useless. i followed the directions to the letter and cleaned and dried the surfaces before applying. the tape sticks great...to itself and to your skin. it didn't stick to window frames, wood, plastic (other than itself) or metal. i finally got it up and a week later it had all fallen down. i used the remainder of the tape to put it back up. a week later it fell down again. on some of my windows i used a different brand and it is still up two months later. when i ran out of the competing brand i ended up using clear packaging tape to fix the Frost King mess. I had read similar reviews on other sites and thought it couldn't be THAT bad. Do yourself a favor and either by a different brand (ANY other brand) or make plans to keep putting it back up every couple weeks. would i recommend this product to ANYONE? not just no, but HECK NO.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

falling off the windows

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
spent 3 hours installing over all my windows , next morning most of them had fallen from the tape. the tape stuck to the windows, but the film isnt sticking to the tape. worthless. never had this problem with the 3M window kits.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)

Yes it works, just take your time installing

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To explain the "it didn't stick comments" you must clean and DRY the area. Since you have a hair dryer to shrink the plastic, use it to also warm and dry where your applying the double stick tape. ANY moisture on the surface will make it not stick. The warming will make it stick even better, just take your time and apply it correctly.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (9 per Pack)
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this site and was about to just buy the 3M product on Amazon, but I have a lot of windows and would have had to spent 3X so I figured I would give this a shot and they worked great. I cleaned the areas the tape would be placed and waited until it dried before applying. The instructions clearly state that this product will not work on certain materials. I followed the instructions to the T for applying the film. I made sure the tape stuck to the film by rubbing my palm over it to create some heat since it was a cold night. I'm not sure how this product rates in clarity compared to 3M but I had curtains so that wasn't a concern. Wrinkling wasn't a big issue for me either. The film smoothed out under the hairdryer except in areas where I did not apply it straight so there was extra material. I also used this to cover my AC (with some duct tape). I woke up this morning noticing it was definitely warmer.Overall, I am very happy with this product and would use again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>