728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smokers & Fryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker

Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker

This 20 in. Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Offset Smoker is constructed of heavy-duty steel for durability and includes a smoking chamber and a stainless-steel front shelf to offer a total of 1,045 sq. in. of cooking space. It offers multiple convenience features, including a temperature gauge for even cooking, a removable ash drawer for easy cleanup and a firebox door with easy access. A bottom metal shelf offers even more space, and the cool-touch handles help keep you safe.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product24 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product24 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Review 1 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
MCGrunt
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Great Step Up in Smoking

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this as a step up in my Smoking adventures from a smaller Box Brinkmann Smoker. This is a very good Smoker, very easy to assemble however it is very heavy so you may want to enlist the help of a friend. Temperature control is a little tricky with the wide opening between the fire box and smoke barrel and takes practice to maintain a 250-300 target (an adjustable plate between the two can be custom made to help.) It looks great in my back yard and the whole neighborhood stops by when I have it fired up drooling for a bite and loving the smell of the Hickory, Apple, and Mesquite woods burning. If you are ready for the next level in Smoking this is the Smoker to have, Oklahoma Joe makes a very good product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
SmokeyTone
from Medford, Ma

Best Smoker I've Ever Owned

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm from the East Cost and needed a more reliable smokers. I almost bought it earlier in the summer and cancel my order ($550.0). Finally I decided to buy it after reading about the features and positive reviews it has. I paid $479 and it was already put together (Big plus especially how heavy it is). Compared to other smokers, this is well worth the money!!!
I agree with the other person who reviewed this smoker
Pros:
- Heavy (320 lbs)
- Huge firebox allowing for more wood\charcoal (Longer Smoking process)
- Great air control between dampers and smoke stack
- Over 1,000 square inches of grilling space
- Ceramic grates making cleaning and separating food easier
- Included Warming plate, Stainless Steel Front Shelf, Handle stay cool
- Removable Ash Drawer for those long smokes
- Heavy construction, out door Temp/Humidity will not affected it much as for my older cheaper thinner construction smoker
Cons:
- Better seals at certain points but for $479 is to be expected with iron very slightly warping at certain temps allowing smoke out and air in. But this is very minor
- I should of bought this earlier in the summer when I had a chance too
-Wheels should be a little bit more secure than a clip.
Overall... I brought in some ribs to work and they are the best to date I bought in... I am so happy I didn't spend the $1000.00 for another smoker that I was looking at.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Cutlassman71
from Wentzville, MO

I've had this for 2 years...

PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I happened to see that this is now offered at Home Depot. I was on a search for this very smoker 2 years ago. Depot didn't sell it, although i did give them all of the info, so maybe that's why the sell it now?? So I rented a truck for the weekend and did an 800 mile round trip to the nearest store that sold it. It was cheaper back then ($349 on sale) but it did not have the ash drawer underneath. Same smoker. This is a fabulous smoker. The most I have had to do to it i s catch rust. when surface rust appears, i take a wire brush, clean it off and coat it in more vegetable oil. This happens on the firebox 4-5 times a year. Otherwise, no trouble. I have had about 60 lbs on meat in it at one time, (2 full pork shoulders, a brisket, 2 racks of ribs and a turkey). Yes it was packed but it fit. I would suggest googling this by its name, the Oklahoma Joe Smoker. You will find a few places that offer custom covers and some accessories for inside like a diffuser to utilize the full cooking surface. The heat will stay constant once you learn the stack and the firebox damper. Due to the inevitable air gaps I can maintain 220 all night tossing a log in every 2-3 hours and keep the damper open a sliver and the the stack open about 1/8 to 1/4. You will make some AMAZING food with this smoker. Truly a great buy for the money. Good luck!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Anonymous
from San Jose, CA

Best smoker ever!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BOUGHT 2. HOME DEPOT ON LINE SAID PRICE WAS $879.00, PAID $500.00.UNIT IS WELL WORTH THE PRICE AT $879.00. AT $500.00 ITS A STEAL!! HEAVY DUTY. WHILE DOING THE 1ST BURN FIRE DEPT WAS CALLED DUE TO SMOKE. THIS UINT SMOKES! ONLY ONE PROBLEM, IF YOU BUY ONE MAKE SURE YOU OPEN BOX AT STORE. IF NOT YOU WILL END UP GETTING A LOT OF CARDBOARD AND PALLET TO TOSS.
FIRE BOX IS EASY TO USE AND CLEAN.
FIRE BOX COMES ATTACHED TO SMOKER.
TAKES 2 TO PUT TOGETHER. HEAVY UNIT!!!!
EASY TO MAINTAIN HEAT USING STACK COVER.
NO COVER COMES WITH UNIT. HAVING HARD TIME FINDING ONE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
SmokinSailer
from Folsom, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lots of room from indirect to direct, easy access doors, easy to load food and fuel.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a little older version of Oklahoma Joe's that was recieved as a gift and older than the current one but basically the same that I have had for nine years. This is a very long service time with heavy use due to heavy construction of the chambers. I have smoked as many as three turkeys at one time or combinations of lamb, ribs and prime rib that come out wonderfully. You can use the distance from the fire chamber to adjust for different cooking tempretures. I have also smoked a great amount of salmon, pork shoulder and pork butt as well as increadable amounts of chicken. I have had no finer results than with this smoker. It has great access for food and fuel and you can fire to varying tempretures. Great for both direct grilling and smoking in this unit.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, easy access to food and fuel
Cons: Difficult to Clean, replacement parts
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Spiffy

Good value.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good design. But to make it a great smoker, it needs mods. Be prepared to add a gasket to help seal. The air flow vents on the fire box is just plain poor workmanship. Gaping spaces there. I may just take it out and re-weld all together. This is a great price, but you will need to work with it to make it great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
lpal

Best smoker

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my fiance as a Christmas gift. He absolutely loves it. Even though it's winter time, he is out smoking all kinds of food. He is planning his weekends around what to make on his smoker. The food he makes tastes incredible. I admit, for me it's tremendous.... I don't have to cook! He brags about his Oklahoma Joe and his friends and our neighbors have smoker/grill envy. This is a great item. We highly recommend it for those who appreciate grilling the old fashioned way.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
NTTexas
from Waynesboro, Va

Best Charcoal\Wood Smoker and Grill at Home Depot

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm from Texas and very picky when it comes to smokers. I have been eye balling this in the local Home Depot and doing my homework for over a month. Finally for my 30th birthday I decided to buy it. It said $880 online but was $499 in the store. Well worth the money!
Pros:
- Heavy (320 lbs)
- Huge firebox allowing for direct heat grilling or for tons of wood\charcoal
- Great air control between dampers and smoke stack
- Over 1,000 square inches of grilling space
- Ceramic grates making cleaning and separating food easier.
Cons:
- Heavy! (320 lbs)
- Could have better seals at certain points for $500 but to be expected with iron very slightly warping at certain temps allowing smoke out and air in. But this is very minor
- Back of Ashtray at bottom of firebox is about a 1/4 inch gap allowing air in. (I'm picky on air control)
This is easily the best smoker\grill I have owned!
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
plefe
from New Mexico
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I would rate this product at Very Good

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Oklahoma Joe is the quentassential upscale backyard smoker. Aside from minor inherit engineering issues, the Oklahoma Joe smoker functions almost flawlessly. The steel grates clean easily if that's your thing, and the break-in seasoning is a snap. I used my smoker the day I brought it home. Very good value for the person who is moving up into a Novice smoking capabilities.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
ROBERTSEG
from Dallas, TX.

Awesome Smoker

PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a VERY Solid Smoker. I would buy two - one for use and the other for when the first wore out...
Every piece of this smoker is solid. Nothing cheap about this at all.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
GrillmasterDave
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Smoker I've seen!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely well built with lots of cooking area. Very heavy...at around 300 lbs, you'll need some help from a buddy maneuvering this around during assembly. Lots of cooking area and very durable steel. Plan for lots of years with this smoker / grill...I was tired of buying a new propane grill every 4 years because of the burners & burner supports rusting out...this grill looks to stand the test of time. Can't beat the flavor of charcoal & wood!!!! I absolutely love it so far!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Bryan
from San Martin, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

solid lifetime bbq and smoker

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this smoker its walls are made of thick steel and its very sturdy but not too heavy to push around. Makes great tri-tip and ribs and you can still use it as a grill too. Very large cooking area and easily cooks for 20-30 folks at a time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
steve

smoker

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A little pricey lowes has it $100 less other than that it is a great smoker
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Raymo
from Long Barn, CA 95335, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too many airgaps

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Love the look, but it's hard to keep the temps down when you have air seeping in from every crack between the moving parts of the charcoal box.. the vent has gaping holes and doesnt fully close off either.. the only way to cook 260 deg is to put your coals on the left side of the charcoal box.. and not too many.. requires stoking every few hours.. The rest of the smoker is great and easy to operate
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
jrrr
from Minneapolis, MN

20 in. Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Offset Smoker

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
awesome smoker! Well worth the money.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
disilvej

not the quality expected.

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have seen some really great OK Joe's smokers, and I thought this was one of those, but the metal on this was thin, and it was not really any better than the char-broil equipment you see around everywhere.
Home depot was very nice about both the order, and the return, so at least the experience was positive.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
10chuck
from Thrall, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is made of quality materials

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
like the material used. good use better thermometer and
extra shelve add bottom of barrel. comes with 2 and does not go all across barrel. good xeveral times and did great job
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
Bobby
from Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT BUY

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better than i expected. Looked around a long time for something like this.Everybody wanted twice what i paid and this fits perfectly in my backyard and easy to move around. For a backyard smoker i would highly recommend this one. Heavy steel. All the options you need to smoke anything!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
tj1962
from Oakley, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love that it is thick metal

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it has welded on nuts that you tighten down set screw down through, well they strip out leaving legs the smoke stack loose. i have to drill holes all the way through in order to put rods with carter pins to keep everything to gether. if you dont mind doing a little more to get it right then its a good grill
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oklahoma Joe Offset Smoker
rmmmmmmm
from Catonsville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent smoker / grill, retains heat and saves wood.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have done beef spare ribs and a very large brisket.
Heat retention let me keep an eye on food instead of having to continuously stoke the fire. Using Mesquite infused briquettes and split oak logs. We're up for a Thanksgiving smoked turkey.
Can get Texas BBQ in Maryland now.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>