728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Popcorn & Entertaining Electrics or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Featuring a blue plastic bucket, the Nostalgia Electrics 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker provides a homemade ice cream experience with modern convenience. Simply fill this product's bucket with ice, place the canister filled with ingredients in the center of the bucket and let the electric motor do the churning for you.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
Review 1 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Garland TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Ice Cream

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The freezer was easy to use, worked very well and produced great homemade ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Clean, Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Ice Cream For All Of Us Kids!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Nostalgia Electric 4-quart Ice Cream Maker is a
wonderful device for making a full gallon of home-made
ice cream. Although I bought it to give as a gift, I opted
to get another item and keep this one for my wife and me.
Ice cream again in an 'empty nest' is a treat. To tell you
the truth, it is hard to define why we stopped making
home-made vanilla, chocolate, and my personal fave,
butter pecan.
Considering the reasonable cost, and the sturdy construction of Nostalgia Electrics 4-quart Ice Cream Maker, even old folks like us can be kids again...
Pros: Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, easy to operate
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

very good product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product for price, easy to assebly and easy to use, made good cream and short amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Connecticut

Ice Cream Maker

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have already used this 3 times and have been very happy with the results. For the money, this is a good value. We wanted a smaller one that was easy to transport and this one is perfect. Would recommend!
It shipped in less than a week which was great!
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not far removed from the ice cream maker I grew up with. Works well. Its Easier to clean plastic vs. the old wooden bucket. That said, I wish it were easier to add ingredients at the end of the process. I do recommend this product for what it is. It's a reliable ice cream maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Reliable
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For Us

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been shopping for an ice cream maker for the year and was thrilled to see this at such a great price! For our family of 8, we seem to go through a lot of ice cream and we're trying to eat a LOT healthier so to be able to make our own frozen yogurts and sorbets and ice creams, it allows us to cut back on the sugar a little more and put in more of the stuff we love! Our only suggestion is to NOT store the ice cream in the metal canister, as we found the ice cream takes on a different flavor as the days go on. After making your ice cream, store it in a different type of container in the freezer for future consumption!
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Convenient
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love this product!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've used this twice and are very happy with it! Recipes are included and the ice cream is terrific! Highly Recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Modern, Durable, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Great gife idea

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this ice cream maker for my mother in law. She is a BIG into ice cream so i figured it would be a nice gift. she loves it!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Fun family memeiors

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Iworked great on forgot to pre freeze the ingdrents but made great milk shakes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Makes great ice cream

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This ice cream maker makes great ice cream, finishes fast and is easy to clean up. It's not terribly noisy, I make it on the kitchen counter. I made a custard based ice cream and it was creamy and smooth, no large ice crystals. Good value.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Alva, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far so good!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very basic design, made first batch of ice cream and came out perfect. 1 recipe creates about a gallon of ice cream, so you may want to cut recipe in half since you cant make it all at once. Looking forward to future batches. As long as motor holds up, this should last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Durable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Ice Cream freezer

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and powerful enough to freeze good. Wide at the top makes it easy to add ice.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Morrisville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted to try to make my own ice cream and found a product that safely, easily and tastfully lets me do that. No high quality but I got what I paid for. Ice cream was great and trying more soon!
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Easy to Clean, Fast / Speed, Convenient
Cons: Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has good features.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ice cream machine did what most any other ice cream machine would do. Doesn't freeze the ice cream any faster than any other machine,
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just like the good old days

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have gone off of sugar and no longer eat store bought ice cream because of the (anti freeze in it)
Got this -- have used it twice so far -- it actually makes it up very quickly
Both times have just made vanilla and then made a homemade chocolate gnash to put over the top
YUM!!!! Just like grandma's!!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

more trouble than anything

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to make ice cream with my kids and thought it would be fun. however, it was a lot more trouble than it was worth to make ice cream. you have to buy a costco sized bag of salt to make this thing work and putting all of the ice into the bucket clogs it up and it doesn't want to spin and we had manually push it along to make it work. in the end, it worked and we made ice cream, but it was a lot of work.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Noisy, Difficult to Use, Complicated, Maintenance
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from York, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was a gift. Was told it was a nice size, worked well and was not too loud.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to use and works well. Easy to clean.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, simple, does the job quickly-no problems.
I would recommend it to anyone. The price was better than other sites. I was very pleased and will enjoy it for years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Fast / Speed, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Kernersville, NC

Great product

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have made two freezers of ice cream so far and it took about 45 minutes to one hour. Great product. Love it.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Easy to Use

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've never had an ice cream maker before, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but this seemed to work pretty slick. I bought a second one as a wedding gift for my sister and we both used them. The large canister worked nicely, and the ice cream and frozen yogurt made turned out well. Can't speak to the recipes included in the instruction booklet, but we didn't have issues with recipes not included. It was a nice buy, and now we know exactly what is going into our frozen treat(s).
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>