728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Popcorn & Entertaining Electrics or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Featuring a blue plastic bucket, the Nostalgia Electrics 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker provides a homemade ice cream experience with modern convenience. Simply fill this product's bucket with ice, place the canister filled with ingredients in the center of the bucket and let the electric motor do the churning for you.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product41 of 43reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
Review 1 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Summerfield, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, great price and the quality is good. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Convenient
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Know how to use it !!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recently got into ice cream making and wanted not too expensive ice cream machine. And I got it for $20 from Home Depot. My first attempt was disaster. Reasons I found : canister was should in freezer for atleast 8 hrs. You need rock salt I used the one for snow melting. ice cream mix should be cold , I kept it for atleast a day in refrigerator. Voila my second attempt was super success !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Good

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good product , not super heavy duty but it is ok and works properly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

great service

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordering online with home depot was easy. They sent me an email when i arrived and the pick up at the store was easy. Also the product i bought was $19 less than Walmart.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Ice Cream For All Of Us Kids!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Nostalgia Electric 4-quart Ice Cream Maker is a
wonderful device for making a full gallon of home-made
ice cream. Although I bought it to give as a gift, I opted
to get another item and keep this one for my wife and me.
Ice cream again in an 'empty nest' is a treat. To tell you
the truth, it is hard to define why we stopped making
home-made vanilla, chocolate, and my personal fave,
butter pecan.
Considering the reasonable cost, and the sturdy construction of Nostalgia Electrics 4-quart Ice Cream Maker, even old folks like us can be kids again...
Pros: Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, easy to operate
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from st louis, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good ice cream

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Once we learned how to use it we made some good ice cream. works great.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Convenient
Cons: none
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Connecticut

Ice Cream Maker

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have already used this 3 times and have been very happy with the results. For the money, this is a good value. We wanted a smaller one that was easy to transport and this one is perfect. Would recommend!
It shipped in less than a week which was great!
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

very good product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great product for price, easy to assebly and easy to use, made good cream and short amount of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Garland TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Ice Cream

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The freezer was easy to use, worked very well and produced great homemade ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Clean, Convenient
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect For Us

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been shopping for an ice cream maker for the year and was thrilled to see this at such a great price! For our family of 8, we seem to go through a lot of ice cream and we're trying to eat a LOT healthier so to be able to make our own frozen yogurts and sorbets and ice creams, it allows us to cut back on the sugar a little more and put in more of the stuff we love! Our only suggestion is to NOT store the ice cream in the metal canister, as we found the ice cream takes on a different flavor as the days go on. After making your ice cream, store it in a different type of container in the freezer for future consumption!
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, Convenient
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not far removed from the ice cream maker I grew up with. Works well. Its Easier to clean plastic vs. the old wooden bucket. That said, I wish it were easier to add ingredients at the end of the process. I do recommend this product for what it is. It's a reliable ice cream maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Reliable
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

4Qt icecream maker

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love homemade icecream! It works well and makes the best icecream!
Pros: Performs Well, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Makes great ice cream

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ice cream maker makes great ice cream, finishes fast and is easy to clean up. It's not terribly noisy, I make it on the kitchen counter. I made a custard based ice cream and it was creamy and smooth, no large ice crystals. Good value.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Great gife idea

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this ice cream maker for my mother in law. She is a BIG into ice cream so i figured it would be a nice gift. she loves it!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Alva, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far so good!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very basic design, made first batch of ice cream and came out perfect. 1 recipe creates about a gallon of ice cream, so you may want to cut recipe in half since you cant make it all at once. Looking forward to future batches. As long as motor holds up, this should last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Durable, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Easy to Use

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've never had an ice cream maker before, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but this seemed to work pretty slick. I bought a second one as a wedding gift for my sister and we both used them. The large canister worked nicely, and the ice cream and frozen yogurt made turned out well. Can't speak to the recipes included in the instruction booklet, but we didn't have issues with recipes not included. It was a nice buy, and now we know exactly what is going into our frozen treat(s).
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker

Fun family memeiors

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Iworked great on forgot to pre freeze the ingdrents but made great milk shakes
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just like the good old days

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have gone off of sugar and no longer eat store bought ice cream because of the (anti freeze in it)
Got this -- have used it twice so far -- it actually makes it up very quickly
Both times have just made vanilla and then made a homemade chocolate gnash to put over the top
YUM!!!! Just like grandma's!!
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love this product!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've used this twice and are very happy with it! Recipes are included and the ice cream is terrific! Highly Recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Looks Great, Modern, Durable, Great Value, Fast / Speed, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 qt. Ice Cream Maker
from Kernersville, NC

Great product

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have made two freezers of ice cream so far and it took about 45 minutes to one hour. Great product. Love it.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>