728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

The HydroRight Dual-Flush Converter turns standard toilets into dual flush fixtures with a split handle actuator designed to help reduce water usage. The quick-flush setting uses significantly lower water volume for liquids and paper, while the full-flush setting uses the normal amount of water for solids.
Overall rating:
3.709 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product88 of 128reviews
Rating Breakdown 134 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(27)
3
(9)
2
(16)
1
(20)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product88 of 128reviews
Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Review 1 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Bill
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed easily, no issues

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took 20 minutes to install and adjust water level with easy slide controls. Didn't use any tools. Dual flush button gives a contemporary look. Should have done this sooner.
Things to know: 1. We have a float ball with rod (that controls the automatic water shut-off) that was not in the way of the new mechanism - luckily we didn't need to replace it. HydroRight does have a kit for replacing this with the vertical float auto water shut-off. 2. If you have and old water supply/shut-off valve, as an option you might consider turning off the house water supply vs. the risk of creating a leaky valve by turning it off and on again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
bblhed
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, why did they change it?

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the push button versions of these flush valves in my vacation home and I love them, they always work, and they are really easy to install, understand and use.
These valves come with flush handles that are far less than intuitive. If I do this again I will either order the push button version or I will use a conventional flush valve.
Yes these were easy to install, but I only had to install it once, me and my family use these every day and while we are used to them now we all agree that the push button versions are far easier to understand and use.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not intuitive to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
ADiddy

Easy to install / Saves water

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I'm really happy with this product. I converted all 3 of our toilets to this system in a short period of time. A few things to note:
-Get the kind with the lever, not the button. (People complain about the button)
-You will likely need to adjust the single flush positioner (blue thing in the middle) all the way down for the half flush to work right.
-If single flush still doesn't work, your starting water level is too low and you need to raise it up to just below to the top of the overflow tube.
No leaks, seems to flush stronger than my old flapper style setup did. Make sure you use the rubber ring to help hold this thing in place. If you don't, I can see how it could easily move and start leaking.
From reading the reviews, I get the impression that people just didn't install it right which is probably their fault. The instructions weren't amazing but they were adequate.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Russ
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with some caveats

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in order to convert my toilet to a dual-flush system. It is definitely easy to install, just like the box says. I highly recommend watching the install videos available on the HD website as well as youtube BEFORE installation, it helps. My system contained the level rather than the button feature. NOTE - some toilets because of the way they are made result in the lever connector inside the tank sticking up too tall, and the tank lid may hit the push-button causing the connection to not work. Only way I could get around this is to prop the tank lid inside ridge on top of the tank front edge (rather than beside it) too keep the tank lid from contacting the switch. Not noticeable unless you look hard, and it still works OK.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't always fit tank
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
cpsmc

Great product!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works as it is supposed to. It is easy to adjust and it takes about 10 minutes to install and set up.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Kaicanoe
from Kailua, Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over

Ghost flushing

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had 2 units for several years now and my 1st one would do ghost flushing as the flapper was leaking. I bought a new unit to solve the problem. Wish I could have just bought the flapper part, which is easy to change. In fact, removing the old unit & installing the new unit was a snap. I just was upset about their ad on the box saying they get rid of ghost flushing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
kjss
from chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The old style button (270 not 271 like this) is tough to push tough on my fingers. This is much easier. Only problem was I screwed the button too tight and broke one side of the ears on the screw trying to get it off. But my fault not anyone else's.
I finally figured it how. Full flush splits the handle apart. And half flush you push down the upper part with one dot. Or hold down the hold handle together so it does not split. Then it half flushes. The good thing is you only need to press it for half a second unlike the old way which sometimes was more than a second or sometimes not at all if hit the wrong way. I mean the 270 model old one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Wilson79
from Surprise, AZ

Nice eco prodcut

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like some of these reviews say, this item DOES NOT fit all toilets as it says on the box. Make sure your toilet meets the following requirements and you will be fine:
1) Newer style fill valve (not the old ball system where there is a ball floating on the water in your tank). If you do need a newer style fill valve, we suggest the HydroClean Toilet Fill Valve, Model 660. You must have a round overflow tube.
2) The overflow tube must have a minimum height of 6” from base to top.
3) Your flush valve opening must be 2 – 2 ½”. If you have a 3” flush valve opening, this product will not work with your current system.
4) You must have a 10” clearance in your tank from bottom to top.
I have a newer toilet so I didn’t need to replace the fill valve but did with the HydroClean 660. Take your time following the steps to set this product up and you will have no issues as others have stated. I set it to flush .5 gallons for liquid waste and 1.6 gallons for solids.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Charlie173
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy as it states on the box

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick simple instructions anyone can do it also provides pics for those of us who don't need to read the whole thing
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
cazam

Good product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i like the product. you can choose how much you want to flush.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
TexasDIY
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Works as Described

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was a snap! Did need tools to remove the old supply line, no tools were required for the actual installation. Was concerned about the low volume for the single flush, then read the instructions and found that both flushes were adjustable. Now it works great! Uses less water yet has a stronger flush then the old flush system.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Ahabface
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, takes a bit to calibrate.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Why not install this in all your toilets? It takes a few minutes to install and calibrate, then NO MORE FLAPPER. Yay.
Plenty of how-to videos can be found about this brand. Just search.
Reliable so far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Orionth51
from Austin Texas

Well made product but performance is hindered by conventional toilet's flush capacity.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dual flush systems have been in use in Germany and Austria (perhaps other countries as well) for a long time and it is an essential element in water conservation.
However, with traditional American made toilets, the tank's discharge opening is too small to release enough water to consistently do a reduced volume flush.
Regardless of how low one sets the corresponding float, the water volume inside the bowl is not sufficient to do a quick flush if the water level in the bowl is below a critical watermark.
What this means if the following:
1. In order to save water, the quick flush releases a maximum of only about half the tank into the bowl. For this to work consistently, enough water needs to be already in the bowl so that the additional water coming from the tank will allow the flush to happen. If there is not enough water in the bowl, the water from the tank just raises the water level in the bowl, so to flush completely, the button has to be pulsed for a second time, or held.
2. The amount of water released into the bowl is dependent on the time it takes to fill the tank. A partially emptied tank will take less time to fill and, therefore, the bowl will not be sufficiently filled to allow for another quick flush. This is not adjustable, at least, not on this model.
New water conserving toilets have a discharge hole from the tank TWICE the size of conventional toilets, and the force of that greater discharge rate of water allows for an effective flush regardless of the bowl's water level. That is why this retrofit is only partially successful.
Still, it is better to be able to do a quick flush every other time than always emptying a 3.5 gallon tank regardless of the need.
The device is fairly well designed and made but the problem lies in the inherent limitation of conventional toilets. No easy way around that...
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Carp
from Lawrenceville GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Carp

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this flush system in my 1.6 gallon toilet for 8 years with no problems. This in my master bathroom toilet that gets the most use. It has been a great money and water saver. I don't know why anyone wouldn't have it in their home. So cheap and effective, you are just flushing money down the drain without one.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, long lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Steven

Does its job for 10 months, then starts to cause leakage

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The premise is good. "You will save thousands of gallons a year with this product." That's why my mom bought it. Everyone wants to save money/water these days. But I'd rather have my toilet flush right than have this product installed and save water. I really would. You get no problems the first 10 months or so then you start seeing issues.
Yes, you eliminate the flapper and chain, but you're replacing them with plastic parts. It did not give me the impression of build quality. The instructions were written rather poorly, and I had a hard time installing it. The rubber ring is critical. It took me forever to get it in the right place. I am the kind of person that has the 'set it and forget it' mindset. After installation, the thing worked fine like it was supposed to. But now after about 10 months, I suppose there's wear and tear, or SOMETHING that's causing water to leak through the bowl. Huh?! The toilet is leaking intermittently. You get this hissing noise every half hour or so and it scares the tar out of you because you think it's a ghost or something. Huh? This product was supposed to solve problems, not create them. My original chain and flapper worked fine for 8 YEARS and there was never ANY leakage. Now there is? What?! We have three toilets in the house and thank God my mom bought only one of these things. Now the noise of the toilet refilling is driving us nuts every half hour! We've taken the lid off the tank to peer inside and everything seems great, but if you stare at the water line hard enough you notice it start to recede...it's a very slow recession, but it's there. I look in the toilet bowl to confirm and yep, I see faint movement of water flowing into the bowl. We've tried to tighten it but the darn thing won't seal fully. I've turned it this way and that way, and still water is leaking into the bowl. I feel stupid now because when installing this thing, I thought it was state of the art, and threw away my chain and flapper. Now I can't switch back to my original parts. This thing is so stupid. I wish I never used it. STAY AWAY!
Pros: does the intended function
Cons: Leaks, it's not as easy as they say to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
hltljohn

Not for Seniors or Children

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unit I received had a push button instead of a handle. It is very hard to push the button. Children or Seniors would not be able to flush this toilet with this button.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hard to press button
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Hops

It leaks!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although this product is a clever idea and was fairly easy to install, the problem is that the blue dome gasket just does not create a tight seal against the flush valve seat. This allows water to leak out of the toilet tank into the toilet bowl.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
YouPoolGuy43
from Southwest arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple to install

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Conserving water, easy install, works everytime. Instructions were inside box, but the pictures worked as well.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Mick
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a very good product.

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is very easy to install no tools needed, well you will need a tool to remove the old flush handle. The only problem I had was the new flush handle stuck up higher than normal and I cant put the tank lid on without knocking the inside part of the flush handle off. I have an older one that has a push button and it fits just fine I'm not sure why they changed it. Other than that I am very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: flush handel is to big the part that goes inside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
watersaver
from Waterford Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install - great savings

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great savings potential with this product very easy to install
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>