728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

The HydroRight Dual-Flush Converter turns standard toilets into dual flush fixtures with a split handle actuator designed to help reduce water usage. The quick-flush setting uses significantly lower water volume for liquids and paper, while the full-flush setting uses the normal amount of water for solids.
Overall rating:
3.695 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product99 of 145reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(30)
3
(10)
2
(17)
1
(24)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product99 of 145reviews
Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Review 1 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed easily, no issues

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took 20 minutes to install and adjust water level with easy slide controls. Didn't use any tools. Dual flush button gives a contemporary look. Should have done this sooner.
Things to know: 1. We have a float ball with rod (that controls the automatic water shut-off) that was not in the way of the new mechanism - luckily we didn't need to replace it. HydroRight does have a kit for replacing this with the vertical float auto water shut-off. 2. If you have and old water supply/shut-off valve, as an option you might consider turning off the house water supply vs. the risk of creating a leaky valve by turning it off and on again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea, poor function

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THis product seemed like a good idea when I saw it on the shelf at Home Depot. Seemed like a chance to save some water/money. Installation was not too difficult but definitely harder than the standard flapper type set-up. The system worked as expected for about the first 2 months than we noticed the toilet running from time to time, which became more frequent (obvious there was a leak). I attempted to re-seat the blue seal SEVERAL times as described in the troubleshooting section of the install instructions. Each "re-seat" lasted less than 12hours. So instead of saving water with this system, it used gallons more! I finally replaced the piece of junk with the simple and effective flapper set-up. Now that I look at reviews online....this seems to be a common issue with the product.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Surprise, AZ

Nice eco prodcut

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like some of these reviews say, this item DOES NOT fit all toilets as it says on the box. Make sure your toilet meets the following requirements and you will be fine:
1) Newer style fill valve (not the old ball system where there is a ball floating on the water in your tank). If you do need a newer style fill valve, we suggest the HydroClean Toilet Fill Valve, Model 660. You must have a round overflow tube.
2) The overflow tube must have a minimum height of 6” from base to top.
3) Your flush valve opening must be 2 – 2 ½”. If you have a 3” flush valve opening, this product will not work with your current system.
4) You must have a 10” clearance in your tank from bottom to top.
I have a newer toilet so I didn’t need to replace the fill valve but did with the HydroClean 660. Take your time following the steps to set this product up and you will have no issues as others have stated. I set it to flush .5 gallons for liquid waste and 1.6 gallons for solids.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Easy to install / Saves water

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I'm really happy with this product. I converted all 3 of our toilets to this system in a short period of time. A few things to note:
-Get the kind with the lever, not the button. (People complain about the button)
-You will likely need to adjust the single flush positioner (blue thing in the middle) all the way down for the half flush to work right.
-If single flush still doesn't work, your starting water level is too low and you need to raise it up to just below to the top of the overflow tube.
No leaks, seems to flush stronger than my old flapper style setup did. Make sure you use the rubber ring to help hold this thing in place. If you don't, I can see how it could easily move and start leaking.
From reading the reviews, I get the impression that people just didn't install it right which is probably their fault. The instructions weren't amazing but they were adequate.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing Overall

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has been a very disappointing product. I originally bought one when needing to replace the flapper on one of my toilets. Install was simple, and the product has lived up to expectations. The problem came later...
When a 2nd toilet's fill tube was leaking, I again purchased this product to upgrade it similar to my earlier upgrade. It simply never worked. I was completely unable to get the unit to seat properly to prevent a slow and steady leading from the tank into the bowl. And this steady leak resulted in the toilet refilling the tank every couple of hours -- so much for saving water.
While working on this 2nd toilet I actually bought a 3rd one for, yet another bathroom toilet -- same problem. The unti continually leaks resulting in the tank refilling every few hours.
I ultimately bought a standard repair kits (flapper) and replaced both units -- now all toilets are working correctly again.
Overall, if the unit worked correctly, it might be worth it. But based on the higher price, and overall aggrevation of having to futz with it constantly (and ultimately failing to get it to stop leaking), it's just not worth it. Save your time and money and buy a different product.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Fairfield, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water saver?

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Push button difficult to use with fingernails of any length. It leaked bye the base seal.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Austin Texas

Well made product but performance is hindered by conventional toilet's flush capacity.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dual flush systems have been in use in Germany and Austria (perhaps other countries as well) for a long time and it is an essential element in water conservation.
However, with traditional American made toilets, the tank's discharge opening is too small to release enough water to consistently do a reduced volume flush.
Regardless of how low one sets the corresponding float, the water volume inside the bowl is not sufficient to do a quick flush if the water level in the bowl is below a critical watermark.
What this means if the following:
1. In order to save water, the quick flush releases a maximum of only about half the tank into the bowl. For this to work consistently, enough water needs to be already in the bowl so that the additional water coming from the tank will allow the flush to happen. If there is not enough water in the bowl, the water from the tank just raises the water level in the bowl, so to flush completely, the button has to be pulsed for a second time, or held.
2. The amount of water released into the bowl is dependent on the time it takes to fill the tank. A partially emptied tank will take less time to fill and, therefore, the bowl will not be sufficiently filled to allow for another quick flush. This is not adjustable, at least, not on this model.
New water conserving toilets have a discharge hole from the tank TWICE the size of conventional toilets, and the force of that greater discharge rate of water allows for an effective flush regardless of the bowl's water level. That is why this retrofit is only partially successful.
Still, it is better to be able to do a quick flush every other time than always emptying a 3.5 gallon tank regardless of the need.
The device is fairly well designed and made but the problem lies in the inherent limitation of conventional toilets. No easy way around that...
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Push Button Flush Converter

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. Strong and complete flushes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Worth the money

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am already seeing a savings in mY water bill. They are somewhat tricky to install if you have a normal ball type float valve but overall easy to install and even easier to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Works as Described

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was a snap! Did need tools to remove the old supply line, no tools were required for the actual installation. Was concerned about the low volume for the single flush, then read the instructions and found that both flushes were adjustable. Now it works great! Uses less water yet has a stronger flush then the old flush system.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Money saver

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing simple to install and works great every home should have one! Mine has two!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Dual flush

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this item. Yes would recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with some caveats

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in order to convert my toilet to a dual-flush system. It is definitely easy to install, just like the box says. I highly recommend watching the install videos available on the HD website as well as youtube BEFORE installation, it helps. My system contained the level rather than the button feature. NOTE - some toilets because of the way they are made result in the lever connector inside the tank sticking up too tall, and the tank lid may hit the push-button causing the connection to not work. Only way I could get around this is to prop the tank lid inside ridge on top of the tank front edge (rather than beside it) too keep the tank lid from contacting the switch. Not noticeable unless you look hard, and it still works OK.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't always fit tank
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Kailua, Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over

Ghost flushing

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had 2 units for several years now and my 1st one would do ghost flushing as the flapper was leaking. I bought a new unit to solve the problem. Wish I could have just bought the flapper part, which is easy to change. In fact, removing the old unit & installing the new unit was a snap. I just was upset about their ad on the box saying they get rid of ghost flushing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Everett, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product - minor issues

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is a very good product (our second one). It is easy to install, although the claim of "no tools" is a tiny bit misleading: 1. you need a plumbers plier to remove the old standpipe mechanism and 2. you need a small pair of pliers to tighten them cable tie (and a pair of scissors to clip it after). We too have found the push button too difficult for many to use easily and I have just requested the part from the manufacturer. (no, home depot does not carry repair / replacement parts for this line).
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More jingling the handle

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to install without any tools. It took all of 15 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The old style button (270 not 271 like this) is tough to push tough on my fingers. This is much easier. Only problem was I screwed the button too tight and broke one side of the ears on the screw trying to get it off. But my fault not anyone else's.
I finally figured it how. Full flush splits the handle apart. And half flush you push down the upper part with one dot. Or hold down the hold handle together so it does not split. Then it half flushes. The good thing is you only need to press it for half a second unlike the old way which sometimes was more than a second or sometimes not at all if hit the wrong way. I mean the 270 model old one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Connecticut

HydroRight Dual-Flush really upgrades old toilets

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a pink toilet, circa 1964 that was a beast with the way it wasted water, so I figured for $25.00 the Hydroright flushing system is a great upgrade to an old problem. As it turns out, it really is an inexpensive upgrade, that made my old toilet better than some newer toilets, because now it has new technology. I love this dual flush feature, that took me under ten minutes to install! I can see how this system can really save water, which save money and more importantly, the Earth and it's resources. This is an easy solution for anyone who doesn't want to change their toilet, but wants to jump on the going "green" train!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from DC area

Easy to install, but doesn't really do it.

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perhaps others have gotten this to work well, but our toilet constantly gets clogged. I find one has to hold the flush button down for a long time. I've played with the water levels quite a bit, and can't get it to work well for us. I have two other (manufactured to be) dual flush toilets and will buy another rather than wrestle with this retrofit any longer.
Cons: ineffective flush
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Saver

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a handy man, I have installed several of these types of water saver in other people toilets. We run an inhome daycare and watching the kids dribble in the toilet and then pull a full flush I wondered if the water saver would work and the kids could learn how to use the flush. It was easy to install in the toilet. Always remember to turn off the water first. (Lesson Learned). It was so easy to install as I have had practice, but even the first time for a novice will be a breeze. Follow the instructions on how to set it up correctly, only 2 adjustments so you cant really screw it up. The kids pull down on the middle of the flush handle so they quickly grasped how to flush for # 1 and # 2. Saving tons of water now, so I bought a second one.
Love them because they have already paid for them selves. Great investment.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Easy to Use, saves water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>