728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

The HydroRight Dual-Flush Converter turns standard toilets into dual flush fixtures with a split handle actuator designed to help reduce water usage. The quick-flush setting uses significantly lower water volume for liquids and paper, while the full-flush setting uses the normal amount of water for solids.
Overall rating:
3.707 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product97 of 141reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(29)
3
(9)
2
(17)
1
(23)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product97 of 141reviews
Customer reviews for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
Review 1 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed easily, no issues

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took 20 minutes to install and adjust water level with easy slide controls. Didn't use any tools. Dual flush button gives a contemporary look. Should have done this sooner.
Things to know: 1. We have a float ball with rod (that controls the automatic water shut-off) that was not in the way of the new mechanism - luckily we didn't need to replace it. HydroRight does have a kit for replacing this with the vertical float auto water shut-off. 2. If you have and old water supply/shut-off valve, as an option you might consider turning off the house water supply vs. the risk of creating a leaky valve by turning it off and on again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea, poor function

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THis product seemed like a good idea when I saw it on the shelf at Home Depot. Seemed like a chance to save some water/money. Installation was not too difficult but definitely harder than the standard flapper type set-up. The system worked as expected for about the first 2 months than we noticed the toilet running from time to time, which became more frequent (obvious there was a leak). I attempted to re-seat the blue seal SEVERAL times as described in the troubleshooting section of the install instructions. Each "re-seat" lasted less than 12hours. So instead of saving water with this system, it used gallons more! I finally replaced the piece of junk with the simple and effective flapper set-up. Now that I look at reviews online....this seems to be a common issue with the product.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Dual flush

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this item. Yes would recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Surprise, AZ

Nice eco prodcut

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like some of these reviews say, this item DOES NOT fit all toilets as it says on the box. Make sure your toilet meets the following requirements and you will be fine:
1) Newer style fill valve (not the old ball system where there is a ball floating on the water in your tank). If you do need a newer style fill valve, we suggest the HydroClean Toilet Fill Valve, Model 660. You must have a round overflow tube.
2) The overflow tube must have a minimum height of 6” from base to top.
3) Your flush valve opening must be 2 – 2 ½”. If you have a 3” flush valve opening, this product will not work with your current system.
4) You must have a 10” clearance in your tank from bottom to top.
I have a newer toilet so I didn’t need to replace the fill valve but did with the HydroClean 660. Take your time following the steps to set this product up and you will have no issues as others have stated. I set it to flush .5 gallons for liquid waste and 1.6 gallons for solids.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No More jingling the handle

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to install without any tools. It took all of 15 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Money saver

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is amazing simple to install and works great every home should have one! Mine has two!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Easy to install / Saves water

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I'm really happy with this product. I converted all 3 of our toilets to this system in a short period of time. A few things to note:
-Get the kind with the lever, not the button. (People complain about the button)
-You will likely need to adjust the single flush positioner (blue thing in the middle) all the way down for the half flush to work right.
-If single flush still doesn't work, your starting water level is too low and you need to raise it up to just below to the top of the overflow tube.
No leaks, seems to flush stronger than my old flapper style setup did. Make sure you use the rubber ring to help hold this thing in place. If you don't, I can see how it could easily move and start leaking.
From reading the reviews, I get the impression that people just didn't install it right which is probably their fault. The instructions weren't amazing but they were adequate.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from DC area

Easy to install, but doesn't really do it.

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Perhaps others have gotten this to work well, but our toilet constantly gets clogged. I find one has to hold the flush button down for a long time. I've played with the water levels quite a bit, and can't get it to work well for us. I have two other (manufactured to be) dual flush toilets and will buy another rather than wrestle with this retrofit any longer.
Cons: ineffective flush
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Saver

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a handy man, I have installed several of these types of water saver in other people toilets. We run an inhome daycare and watching the kids dribble in the toilet and then pull a full flush I wondered if the water saver would work and the kids could learn how to use the flush. It was easy to install in the toilet. Always remember to turn off the water first. (Lesson Learned). It was so easy to install as I have had practice, but even the first time for a novice will be a breeze. Follow the instructions on how to set it up correctly, only 2 adjustments so you cant really screw it up. The kids pull down on the middle of the flush handle so they quickly grasped how to flush for # 1 and # 2. Saving tons of water now, so I bought a second one.
Love them because they have already paid for them selves. Great investment.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Easy to Use, saves water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Austin Texas

Well made product but performance is hindered by conventional toilet's flush capacity.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dual flush systems have been in use in Germany and Austria (perhaps other countries as well) for a long time and it is an essential element in water conservation.
However, with traditional American made toilets, the tank's discharge opening is too small to release enough water to consistently do a reduced volume flush.
Regardless of how low one sets the corresponding float, the water volume inside the bowl is not sufficient to do a quick flush if the water level in the bowl is below a critical watermark.
What this means if the following:
1. In order to save water, the quick flush releases a maximum of only about half the tank into the bowl. For this to work consistently, enough water needs to be already in the bowl so that the additional water coming from the tank will allow the flush to happen. If there is not enough water in the bowl, the water from the tank just raises the water level in the bowl, so to flush completely, the button has to be pulsed for a second time, or held.
2. The amount of water released into the bowl is dependent on the time it takes to fill the tank. A partially emptied tank will take less time to fill and, therefore, the bowl will not be sufficiently filled to allow for another quick flush. This is not adjustable, at least, not on this model.
New water conserving toilets have a discharge hole from the tank TWICE the size of conventional toilets, and the force of that greater discharge rate of water allows for an effective flush regardless of the bowl's water level. That is why this retrofit is only partially successful.
Still, it is better to be able to do a quick flush every other time than always emptying a 3.5 gallon tank regardless of the need.
The device is fairly well designed and made but the problem lies in the inherent limitation of conventional toilets. No easy way around that...
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Kailua, Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over

Ghost flushing

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had 2 units for several years now and my 1st one would do ghost flushing as the flapper was leaking. I bought a new unit to solve the problem. Wish I could have just bought the flapper part, which is easy to change. In fact, removing the old unit & installing the new unit was a snap. I just was upset about their ad on the box saying they get rid of ghost flushing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation, Works as Described

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation was a snap! Did need tools to remove the old supply line, no tools were required for the actual installation. Was concerned about the low volume for the single flush, then read the instructions and found that both flushes were adjustable. Now it works great! Uses less water yet has a stronger flush then the old flush system.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Tulsa, ok
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK JUNK JUNK

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not sure about you, but I want to see reviews of purchases a little older then a week or two. We'll here one is. This thing is the BIGGEST piece of JUNK, I have ever purchased for a toilet. I have lived in a home for 10 years and never replaced the toilet valve, this is less then a year old and it came out today. Back to old reliable, fluid master.....
Pros: Easy to Install, easy to uninstall when it breaks
Cons: difficult to flush, broke in less ten a year
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product...

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The old style button (270 not 271 like this) is tough to push tough on my fingers. This is much easier. Only problem was I screwed the button too tight and broke one side of the ears on the screw trying to get it off. But my fault not anyone else's.
I finally figured it how. Full flush splits the handle apart. And half flush you push down the upper part with one dot. Or hold down the hold handle together so it does not split. Then it half flushes. The good thing is you only need to press it for half a second unlike the old way which sometimes was more than a second or sometimes not at all if hit the wrong way. I mean the 270 model old one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Juneau, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement plus water savings

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does the job. Fairly easy to install. Plastic housing seems thin, so the quality is less than I would like, but decent for the value.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product with some caveats

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in order to convert my toilet to a dual-flush system. It is definitely easy to install, just like the box says. I highly recommend watching the install videos available on the HD website as well as youtube BEFORE installation, it helps. My system contained the level rather than the button feature. NOTE - some toilets because of the way they are made result in the lever connector inside the tank sticking up too tall, and the tank lid may hit the push-button causing the connection to not work. Only way I could get around this is to prop the tank lid inside ridge on top of the tank front edge (rather than beside it) too keep the tank lid from contacting the switch. Not noticeable unless you look hard, and it still works OK.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't always fit tank
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, why did they change it?

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the push button versions of these flush valves in my vacation home and I love them, they always work, and they are really easy to install, understand and use.
These valves come with flush handles that are far less than intuitive. If I do this again I will either order the push button version or I will use a conventional flush valve.
Yes these were easy to install, but I only had to install it once, me and my family use these every day and while we are used to them now we all agree that the push button versions are far easier to understand and use.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not intuitive to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product overall

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a little difficult for me to get it adjusted to work properly but installation was pretty straight forward.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: instructions weren't very clear on adjusting it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter
from Everett, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product - minor issues

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is a very good product (our second one). It is easy to install, although the claim of "no tools" is a tiny bit misleading: 1. you need a plumbers plier to remove the old standpipe mechanism and 2. you need a small pair of pliers to tighten them cable tie (and a pair of scissors to clip it after). We too have found the push button too difficult for many to use easily and I have just requested the part from the manufacturer. (no, home depot does not carry repair / replacement parts for this line).
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HydroRight Dual Flush Converter

Does its job for 10 months, then starts to cause leakage

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The premise is good. "You will save thousands of gallons a year with this product." That's why my mom bought it. Everyone wants to save money/water these days. But I'd rather have my toilet flush right than have this product installed and save water. I really would. You get no problems the first 10 months or so then you start seeing issues.
Yes, you eliminate the flapper and chain, but you're replacing them with plastic parts. It did not give me the impression of build quality. The instructions were written rather poorly, and I had a hard time installing it. The rubber ring is critical. It took me forever to get it in the right place. I am the kind of person that has the 'set it and forget it' mindset. After installation, the thing worked fine like it was supposed to. But now after about 10 months, I suppose there's wear and tear, or SOMETHING that's causing water to leak through the bowl. Huh?! The toilet is leaking intermittently. You get this hissing noise every half hour or so and it scares the tar out of you because you think it's a ghost or something. Huh? This product was supposed to solve problems, not create them. My original chain and flapper worked fine for 8 YEARS and there was never ANY leakage. Now there is? What?! We have three toilets in the house and thank God my mom bought only one of these things. Now the noise of the toilet refilling is driving us nuts every half hour! We've taken the lid off the tank to peer inside and everything seems great, but if you stare at the water line hard enough you notice it start to recede...it's a very slow recession, but it's there. I look in the toilet bowl to confirm and yep, I see faint movement of water flowing into the bowl. We've tried to tighten it but the darn thing won't seal fully. I've turned it this way and that way, and still water is leaking into the bowl. I feel stupid now because when installing this thing, I thought it was state of the art, and threw away my chain and flapper. Now I can't switch back to my original parts. This thing is so stupid. I wish I never used it. STAY AWAY!
Pros: does the intended function
Cons: Leaks, it's not as easy as they say to install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>