728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

The HeatStream 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Heater offers easy operation with variable heat controls and automatic shut-off for safety. This convenient heater features continuous electronic ignition for fast start up and can be used to keep areas up to 1,500 sq. ft. warm. This powerful heater runs up to 11 hours on full 20 lbs. propane tank.
Overall rating:
3.586 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product20 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product20 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
Review 1 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

Works great...when it works!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have no problems with the heat this product produces. It's certainly easy enough to set up. It generates a lot of heat. I use it on it's lowest setting to heat a 1000 SF shop, and it gets toasty warm fairly quickly with the outside temp being in the 30's.
That being said, it won't stay lit after releasing the control knob. Even by following the instructions to the "T", (turn on fan, press knob in for 5 seconds, turn to "Ignite" and hold in for 30 seconds, then release). I've held it in for 2-3 minutes with no luck. The only way to keep it lit is by wrapping a bungee cord around the base, and over the knob to hold it in. Apparently others have had this same problem with this same heater. It's not worth my time and money to return it for a better brand.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Durable, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

Good Heater after making it work

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had the same issue as a lot of people where the unit would not stay lit after igniting it. After taking the unit apart to test all the connections with a multimeter (under the hood this thing is build pretty well) Turns out the problem that I had was the same issue someone else put in their review here that the spark gap is way out of alignment and distance. Reading in the manual the spark gap is 4mm, mine was bent much further than this. After pushing the tip of the ignitor closer to the thermocouple the thing works like a champ. Hope this helps anyone else who has issues with this. No need to rip it apart like I did to test everything, just reach down the tube and bend the tip of the spark ignitor closer to the thermocouple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Fayetteville, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Heater

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent heater, especially for the price. I can heat a 1200 sq ft area in a matter of minutes and keep it toasty warm for hours. Fast and easy set up. First time I turned it on it took about 20 seconds of holding down the ignition button, but then it fired up and stayed lit. I have used this heater for about 18 months (10 tanks of propane) and every time I start it up I only have to hold the ignition button in for about 12 seconds and it stays lit until I shut it down, which sometimes is several hours. It is noisy, but that was to be expected with this type of heater. Fumes are minimal and have yet to set off my CO detector. This heater has worked perfectly and I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great price

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my heater & wanted to use it that night.
Have used the same type of heater in the past and had no
problems. This thing would not lite to save my life, I tried everything including following the instructions to a " T" and to no avail. Good thing it wasn't a life or death situation. I don't think you should have to spend more time
trying to lite the heater than it would take to do your project !!!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: wont' start
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

won't stay lit

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new unit. Ignites but will not stay lit after releasing button. I have kept it lit by holding button down for five full minutes. When I release it it goes out. We live at low elevation...full propane bottle...outside temp is 50. I'm a former heating repairman of ten years and suspect the ign. control module. These types of heaters are noisy. I think I would opt for the piezo ignition next time but not sure if those come with the variable output heaters. operators manual needs updated, The lighting instructions on the unit are a micro size font.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

Good heat. Tough to light.

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm in Colorado too.
I do like how well this heater heats the air, once you finally get it lit.
The instructions say to keep the knob pressed for 30 seconds, possibly for multiple attempts. It regularly takes me five full minutes of pressing and holding to get this thing lit.
Why does it have to be so difficult? (I'm guessing it has something to do with safety/liability/lawsuit-avoidance).
I don't think it's an altitude problem.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Noisy, far too difficult to get lit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product for the price

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and operate. Produces more than sufficient heat for a 2 car garage. I have had no problems with this heater and had it running for over 4 hours. Located in CT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Bailey, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Garage Heater

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think previous reviewer had a bad regulator or something. I too am in Colorado @ 9300 ft. elevation and this heater is perfect for my 25 x 30 ft. detached garage. Had it running yesterday while it was just 7 degrees outside and this heater brought the garage up to 50 degrees within an hour. I did install a CO detector in the garage and keep a window cracked as per instructions just in case.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little heater

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to buy this one because my other one was stolen, good for me because this one is better. My last one was full boar heat and this one is adjustable "Nice". Works awesomely in my garage for those cold winter projects. Not much more to say other than "Thank You Thief" hehehe.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

It's a HEATER

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heats my 2 car garage. LIGHTS every time. NO problem. Temp is below freezing. Heater left out in garage 24/7. Construction not heavy duty, but Okay. Would recommend to others and would buy again. It's the first heater of this type that I've owned, so I have nothing to compare it to. Used it for 1 week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Works as advertised!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very dependable. Starts and operates exactly as advertised. Even works properly when it is below zero.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Mississippi
Gender:Female

Love it

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works better than expected would definitely recommend well worth the money
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, heats fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Show Low, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value and works perfectly.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After purchasing this heater I read thru the reviews (backwards, I know) and became scared by all the problems people seemed to have with this heater staying lit. But if I had read them first I wouldn't have ordered it and would have missed out on a great value.
I have a 2 car garage and this heater works great to take the chill off and make it comfortable to work out there (recently in the teens). I had absolutely no problem with it lighting or staying lit. Sure it's a little loud, but all of these types of heaters are and it should be expected, besides, it's my garage where I'm working not the library.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, high value
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

WONT STAY LIT HALF THE TIME

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
IF ANYBODY KNOWS HOW TO CONTACT THE MANFACTURER LET ME KNOW. I WOULD LIKE TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE IGNITER SWITCH. WHEN EVER I SEARCH HEAT STREAM HEATERS IT ONLY PULLS UP WHERE I CAN BUY THEM, NOT THE MANFACTURERS WEBSITE
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

WON'T STAY ON- AVOID THIS PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
like all the others I have the same problem, heater will not stay on no matter how long you hold in the knob, when you let it go heater turns off, taking mine back for a refund and buying a Mr. Heater Big Buddy.
Cons: doesn't work properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Salina, UT 84654, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"Might look like a small heater, but heats our garage just great!"

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I opened up the box and saw it was smaller than i thought, I was a little worried if it would heat our garage. Well after Christmas we tried it out and it has lots of heat forced out. It heated our garage in no time. Our buddy has the big heater that he paid $500 for, and all I can say is i'm very thankful we didn't spend the extra money. This heater is perfect and amazes me how great it works :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

Maybe needs better QC

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like some other users I also couldn't get it to stay running, even after holding the knob in for several minutes. After reading the user's manual troubleshooting guide, which didn't really address the problem, I followed the instructions to check for dirt or other obstructions. What I found was the electrode was misaligned. I easily bent it back and, viola, it works. I'm only giving it a average rating as I didn't get to try it out since it wouldn't run initially and I wanted to get my project done before dark. I, too, wish it had an off/on switch for the fan but understand it is designed that way for safety and liability reasons.
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: should have been better tested at the factory .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works Fine in Colorado...

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The previous reviewer did not read the instructions. They clearly say, that the dial must be depressed for up to 30 seconds for the device to stay on.
I have no problems with mine here in Denver!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater
from Howell
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Loud!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater may heat your garage but don't plan on trying to talk to anyone with it on. It is beyond loud!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60,000 BTU Forced-Air Propane Portable Heater

over all good product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It shipped on time and works great. also the price was great too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>