728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

The WARMWAVE 1500-Watt Ceramic Heater features variable heat settings and an adjustable thermostat to provide and maintain your desired temperature in spaces measuring up to 150 sq. ft. The compact design and black case coordinate with different room and decor styles, and the 2 control knobs are easy to use.
Overall rating:
4.123 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product129 of 157reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(94)
4
(36)
3
(11)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product129 of 157reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

design flaw

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a decent little heater, but it has a serious design flaw. If you read the 1-star reviews you'll see people complaining that their heater stopped working and wouldn't start back up. This happened to us with 2 of these heaters.
There is an electronic component in the heater called a thermal cutoff. It's designed to cut power when the temperature reaches unsafe levels. However this one seems to be set too low and it fails PERMANENTLY!
This means that if the heater gets too hot for any reason at any time, it is dead unless you are skilled enough to disassemble it, buy a new thermal cutoff, and crimp it on. It's located under a section of white sleeving on one side of the heating element.
I recommend the manufacturer use a resettable thermal fuse instead and redesign the heater so it cannot overheat in normal operation.
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for a small room

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We placed it in a small room we use for crafts. It keeps the room warm, and stops on its own once it reaches the desired temperature. We had to place a wall thermostat though, because it doesn't have one built-in. Overall it has been working perfectly for what we intended it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, it is quiet
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Good value

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Supplemental heat for a small bathroom. Perfect for the intended use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Bonney Lake, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice little heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice little space heater. Bought for office use, warms up my desk area easily on low. Have only had for a few weeks, so I cannot comment on long term use. Unit is very small, perfect for office use. Auto shut off when tilted or knocked over a great feature. So far, a good heater for a fair price.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from North of Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Workhorse in My Greenhouse

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put this is a FlowerHouse 4x4 pop-up greenhouse (purchased from Home Depot - see my review). Set at about half power, it was able to maintain temps in the mid 60s during an ice storm with temps in the teens at night and in the 20s during the day (temps inside in the upper 70s when the sun came out). I was and am impressed.
There are two controls - one for fan speed (2 speeds) and one for temp. The temp isn't numerical, just low to high. I had to fiddle with it a bit over the winter for temperature adjustments but I enjoy that kind of thing so it was no problem. I doubt that would be an issue indoors.
The heater was on, day and night, from the end of December through the middle of April (although it didn't run once daytime temps were in the 70s and 80s). Never a problem. The fan was a little louder by the time I took the greenhouse down in mid-April but it was still working fine.
I plan to pick up another one of these heaters to have on hand, just in case the current one dies next winter. Even if it does I've gotten way, way more than my money's worth out of it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, kept 4x4 greenhouse toasty warm
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is light, compact, easy to use, and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very adequate for my needs!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This personal heater emmits a lot of heat and quickly heats up my room then I can lower the temperature to maintain a level of comfort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Minera Bluff, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Heater for a Small Space

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This heater was purchased for use in a bathroom and it works quite well. The price was right. Please note that we returned our first one because there was a strange rattle in the unit when we unboxed it. However, when we returned it to the store, we found that all of the units in all of the boxes rattled the same way. We have no idea why. Nonetheless, the heater works very well in a small space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

2 Years on the job, still going strong!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Over two years old and still works like a charm. My desk at work is next to a large window - so it get's cold. I use this unit under my desk. It can really crank some heat.
ONE DRAWBACK - This unit should have a tip-over safety switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from commerce city co
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best purchase ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
heater small perfect for office space not noisy not dangerous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice little heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I work in an office that is extremely cold and purchased this to go under my desk. It has really made a difference. For the amount I paid for it it really is a nice little heater. I ordered this online from the HD website and was very impressed with the service. Within minutes I received a confirmation that the product was available at the location I selected and that I could pick it up that afternoon. Will definately use the online service again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's small, personal use only

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for a small heater at a low cost, and it meets those attributes.
It is difficult to move once you have turned it on, the handle area is difficult to grip, but overall, the heater is adequate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: difficult to grip and move
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good little heater

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little heater is a great room heater. I have a huge window in my office at work so it gets pretty cool. My office it probably 18 x 12 and this heater keeps it nice and toasty. I've never had to use it on the high setting nor have I ever the setting to max. Very well worth the price. It's also lightweight, built in handle and has a long cord.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good basic heater

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed this to keep my hot tub components warm while waiting for parts. Worked well for that. Now using it as space heater in home. Works great. Has tip-over safety shut-off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Minnesota

Love My Space Heater

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only had this space heater a few weeks, but it works fantastically so far! Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Pearl, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does it's job as well as those priced a LOT more!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used in a small bedroom that needed a bit more heat for a whelping/puppy box area. 1500 watts of heat is pretty much 1500 watts of heat and ceramic is thought to be safer and more efficient than a ribbon resistance type....so why spend a hundred bucks or more for a heater with the same output. This one has done what it promised, and the thermostat is fairly (+-3 degrees) accurate. Measured with a high/low thermometer over 3 weeks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Brighton, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CERAMIC PORTABLE HEATER

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I DIDN'T BUY THE LEAST EXPENSIVE OR THE MOST EXPENSIVE CERAMIC HEATER AVAILABLE. THIS ONE IS JUST PERFECT FOR OUR NEEDS.
https://secure2.homedepot.com/catalog/productImages/145/70/70649fd6-79d6-4cf0-a93b-a0a46a193f1b_145.jpg
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Small but powerful

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't be fooled by the size of this heater. It really do warm up the room. Nice and cozy. We have 4 in my household. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from ALLENTOWN, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FAST HEATING

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
EXCELLENT LITTLE HEATER USED IN A SMALL WORKSHOP AS PRIMARY HEAT IN PA ..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it! Perfect for in my office on cold mornings!

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had a lot of heaters but none of them produced such instant heat! I would buy this heater again for sure!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>