728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

The Warmwave 1500-Watt Ceramic Heater features variable heat settings and an adjustable thermostat to provide and maintain your desired temperature in spaces measuring up to 150 Sq. ft. The compact design and black case coordinate with different room and decor styles, and the 2 control knobs are easy to use.
Overall rating:
4.181 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product143 of 171reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(106)
4
(38)
3
(11)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product143 of 171reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

design flaw

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a decent little heater, but it has a serious design flaw. If you read the 1-star reviews you'll see people complaining that their heater stopped working and wouldn't start back up. This happened to us with 2 of these heaters.
There is an electronic component in the heater called a thermal cutoff. It's designed to cut power when the temperature reaches unsafe levels. However this one seems to be set too low and it fails PERMANENTLY!
This means that if the heater gets too hot for any reason at any time, it is dead unless you are skilled enough to disassemble it, buy a new thermal cutoff, and crimp it on. It's located under a section of white sleeving on one side of the heating element.
I recommend the manufacturer use a resettable thermal fuse instead and redesign the heater so it cannot overheat in normal operation.
Cons: Not Durable
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for a small room

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We placed it in a small room we use for crafts. It keeps the room warm, and stops on its own once it reaches the desired temperature. We had to place a wall thermostat though, because it doesn't have one built-in. Overall it has been working perfectly for what we intended it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, it is quiet
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is light, compact, easy to use, and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Bonney Lake, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice little heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice little space heater. Bought for office use, warms up my desk area easily on low. Have only had for a few weeks, so I cannot comment on long term use. Unit is very small, perfect for office use. Auto shut off when tilted or knocked over a great feature. So far, a good heater for a fair price.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from North of Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Workhorse in My Greenhouse

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put this is a FlowerHouse 4x4 pop-up greenhouse (purchased from Home Depot - see my review). Set at about half power, it was able to maintain temps in the mid 60s during an ice storm with temps in the teens at night and in the 20s during the day (temps inside in the upper 70s when the sun came out). I was and am impressed.
There are two controls - one for fan speed (2 speeds) and one for temp. The temp isn't numerical, just low to high. I had to fiddle with it a bit over the winter for temperature adjustments but I enjoy that kind of thing so it was no problem. I doubt that would be an issue indoors.
The heater was on, day and night, from the end of December through the middle of April (although it didn't run once daytime temps were in the 70s and 80s). Never a problem. The fan was a little louder by the time I took the greenhouse down in mid-April but it was still working fine.
I plan to pick up another one of these heaters to have on hand, just in case the current one dies next winter. Even if it does I've gotten way, way more than my money's worth out of it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, kept 4x4 greenhouse toasty warm
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

great value

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed this heater for the purpose of heating up my cubicle at work as the cold weather is rolling in. It is well worth the very affordable price tag. Heats up according to its setting and is very quiet, the same exact noise level as a computer when you turn it on.
This does the same work as heaters twice its size. I HIGHLY reccommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very adequate for my needs!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This personal heater emmits a lot of heat and quickly heats up my room then I can lower the temperature to maintain a level of comfort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Good value

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Supplemental heat for a small bathroom. Perfect for the intended use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

awesome heater

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little heater keeps our garage warm all day and night!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Harrisburg, PA, USA

Wonderful value

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this small heater in the hopes that it would chase away some of the chill in my unheated bedroom during cold winter months. It exceeded my expextations. It made my not so small room warm and cozy very quickly. Worked better than alot of large, more expensive space heaters I have owned.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Nashville TN
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice little portable heater

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice little portable heater with nice output of warm air.I use it near my computer desk this heater works very well ,blows out warm air very well. It starts out loud but the sound reduces within few minutes. I only wish they would of included a tip over switch too.Overall very pleased with this product .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no tip over switch
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Minera Bluff, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Heater for a Small Space

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This heater was purchased for use in a bathroom and it works quite well. The price was right. Please note that we returned our first one because there was a strange rattle in the unit when we unboxed it. However, when we returned it to the store, we found that all of the units in all of the boxes rattled the same way. We have no idea why. Nonetheless, the heater works very well in a small space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

As good they come for the money

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I kinda like this small, portable, ceramic heater. One unique feature (not mentioned in the specs) is that these units have a double back plate (where the fan pulls the air in) one of which is removable. Between the two back plates you can install an additional screen (not included) to help keep out dust and dirt that would normally build up on the fan and clog the heating element.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

2 Years on the job, still going strong!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Over two years old and still works like a charm. My desk at work is next to a large window - so it get's cold. I use this unit under my desk. It can really crank some heat.
ONE DRAWBACK - This unit should have a tip-over safety switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Broke after only a few months of use

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product stopped working entirely after only a couple months of use. Unit was not clogged and stopped all of a sudden one day. Red light turned off and no matter what I tried it would not turn on again. It has an overheating sensor, so it didn't overheat and voltage was appropriate for the space I used it for. I wouldn't buy this unless you just want a temporary heater.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Atlanta, GA

Warm and Toasty

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item for my workspace. I was a little reluctant because of the price. I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Instead of wrapping up in blankets or borrowing someone else's heater I finally have comfort of my very own. I've already recommeded it to fellow co-workers!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Fleming Island, FL 32003, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little heater

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works well and priced right.
Great overall value.
Heats a lot of space for such a small heater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from commerce city co
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best purchase ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
heater small perfect for office space not noisy not dangerous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Temecula, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is performing as billed. A very good small heater. I have a large office with a high ceiling, but this little unit works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from St. Louis, Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This little heater is great!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater really heats up a small room to where you have to turn it down to get comfortable after having it on Max for a little bit of time. I swore I would never buy any other ceramic heater than the Warmwave ceramic heater but this one has proved me wrong. It's just as good!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>