728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

The WARMWAVE 1500-Watt Ceramic Heater features variable heat settings and an adjustable thermostat to provide and maintain your desired temperature in spaces measuring up to 150 sq. ft. The compact design and black case coordinate with different room and decor styles, and the 2 control knobs are easy to use.
Overall rating:
4.086 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product118 of 145reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(87)
4
(31)
3
(11)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product118 of 145reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

design flaw

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a decent little heater, but it has a serious design flaw. If you read the 1-star reviews you'll see people complaining that their heater stopped working and wouldn't start back up. This happened to us with 2 of these heaters.
There is an electronic component in the heater called a thermal cutoff. It's designed to cut power when the temperature reaches unsafe levels. However this one seems to be set too low and it fails PERMANENTLY!
This means that if the heater gets too hot for any reason at any time, it is dead unless you are skilled enough to disassemble it, buy a new thermal cutoff, and crimp it on. It's located under a section of white sleeving on one side of the heating element.
I recommend the manufacturer use a resettable thermal fuse instead and redesign the heater so it cannot overheat in normal operation.
Cons: Not Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for a small room

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We placed it in a small room we use for crafts. It keeps the room warm, and stops on its own once it reaches the desired temperature. We had to place a wall thermostat though, because it doesn't have one built-in. Overall it has been working perfectly for what we intended it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, it is quiet
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from North of Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Workhorse in My Greenhouse

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this is a FlowerHouse 4x4 pop-up greenhouse (purchased from Home Depot - see my review). Set at about half power, it was able to maintain temps in the mid 60s during an ice storm with temps in the teens at night and in the 20s during the day (temps inside in the upper 70s when the sun came out). I was and am impressed.
There are two controls - one for fan speed (2 speeds) and one for temp. The temp isn't numerical, just low to high. I had to fiddle with it a bit over the winter for temperature adjustments but I enjoy that kind of thing so it was no problem. I doubt that would be an issue indoors.
The heater was on, day and night, from the end of December through the middle of April (although it didn't run once daytime temps were in the 70s and 80s). Never a problem. The fan was a little louder by the time I took the greenhouse down in mid-April but it was still working fine.
I plan to pick up another one of these heaters to have on hand, just in case the current one dies next winter. Even if it does I've gotten way, way more than my money's worth out of it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, kept 4x4 greenhouse toasty warm
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Bonney Lake, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice little heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice little space heater. Bought for office use, warms up my desk area easily on low. Have only had for a few weeks, so I cannot comment on long term use. Unit is very small, perfect for office use. Auto shut off when tilted or knocked over a great feature. So far, a good heater for a fair price.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater is light, compact, easy to use, and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Problematic

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With the heater placed in the middle of a bare floor: it cycles on and off when at set temperature. Yep, it is supposed to cycle, but this one is on one or two seconds, off for three seconds, then back on.
Heaters with controls above the element are simply a bad design.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

2 Years on the job, still going strong!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over two years old and still works like a charm. My desk at work is next to a large window - so it get's cold. I use this unit under my desk. It can really crank some heat.
ONE DRAWBACK - This unit should have a tip-over safety switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Minera Bluff, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Heater for a Small Space

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This heater was purchased for use in a bathroom and it works quite well. The price was right. Please note that we returned our first one because there was a strange rattle in the unit when we unboxed it. However, when we returned it to the store, we found that all of the units in all of the boxes rattled the same way. We have no idea why. Nonetheless, the heater works very well in a small space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Deltona, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lots of heat from a small heater.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet, small and lots of heat. I use it for my home office in the mornings.
Pros: High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, inexpensive heater

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this in my infant daughter's room to keep it a little warmer, and it works flawlessly. I like the safety features of the unit, it shuts off when you barely turn it over when it is operating. Automatic thermostat has kept the room nice and warm on cold nights. Seems to be efficient in terms of energy use, as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from St Louis Park, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little heater

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great for my office cubical. It heats up quickly, adjusts easily, has a shut-off feature if tipped over (and it does work) and also has a fan for use in the summer. I would definitely recommend this product for anyone that wants ot make a smaller area warm and cozy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Evansville, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SMART PURCHASE

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these units and have been thrilled with their performance. They are quiet and efficient. They maintain a comfortable temperature level without any fuss. I am very happy with them and look forward to continuing to use them!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Denver. CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing heats

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is heating our entire first floor, about 800 sg ft while the furnace is broken.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from commerce city co
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best purchase ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
heater small perfect for office space not noisy not dangerous.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Love, Love, Love This Heater

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've bought a lot of different heaters in my lifetime and I tell you this is by far the best heater ever. It warms the run real fast. I've even used this for my baby chicks when they first hatch. I'm able to control the heat and speed. Highly recommend this product. You won't be disappointed. My first one still works great behaving it now for a few years. Buying one for my mom. :))
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than other low-priced models

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tiny unit when the first cold wave hit Texas this year. I was looking for a larger metal-case model, same price, also from Home Depot, but kept losing the inventory after online purchase due to general store madness. I finally got the one I wanted but am taking it back because this little plastic model works better, runs more efficiently (see details) and doesn't seem to have a downside.
This unit, which doesn't carry a brand name on the box or look exactly like the one shown on this page, is truly small. Roughly the size of a six-pack lying on end. The fan is not noisy but certainly can be heard across the room. That's where I have mine, at desk-height across a fair-sized rec room converted to an office/bedroom. I like that the unit only comes on and runs for a while, rather then cycling on and off repeatedly like the metal box. It runs for a long time when the temps first drop then as needed. To me, this is efficient. And it keeps the room nice and toasty at a medium setting. I have the rest of a large home fairly chilly and use this to warm this room, with the door open to the house.
So my advice is - try this one first. It's cheap as sin and works like a champ. Heck, if it break after a couple of years, I only hope I can get another one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: all plastic and seems too small
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Oakland, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater for a small room

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good heater for a small room. I use it in my bathroom and it heats it up quickly. It has a temperature control that lets you set a particular comfort level, and keeps it there. It is very safe, as any movement will shut off the heater until it stabilizes. For the price it is perfect for my needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves its purpose - Good price!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to warm a small guest bedroom but the fan is too noisy for it to run all night so returned it. It did heat well and would be perfectly fine if sleeping weren't involved:)
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Lenexa, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

small room heater

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nice small heater but it doesn't project heat like other small heaters I have used in my home. Value priced but disappointing. using 1500 watts for minimal impact on basement room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, safe
Cons: underperforms
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Chester, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable heater to save on my propane gas heating which was super expensive last winter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>