728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

The WARMWAVE 1500-Watt Ceramic Heater features variable heat settings and an adjustable thermostat to provide and maintain your desired temperature in spaces measuring up to 150 sq. ft. The compact design and black case coordinate with different room and decor styles, and the 2 control knobs are easy to use.
Overall rating:
4.042 / 5
4
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product111 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(80)
4
(30)
3
(11)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product111 of 138reviews
Customer reviews for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

design flaw

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a decent little heater, but it has a serious design flaw. If you read the 1-star reviews you'll see people complaining that their heater stopped working and wouldn't start back up. This happened to us with 2 of these heaters.
There is an electronic component in the heater called a thermal cutoff. It's designed to cut power when the temperature reaches unsafe levels. However this one seems to be set too low and it fails PERMANENTLY!
This means that if the heater gets too hot for any reason at any time, it is dead unless you are skilled enough to disassemble it, buy a new thermal cutoff, and crimp it on. It's located under a section of white sleeving on one side of the heating element.
I recommend the manufacturer use a resettable thermal fuse instead and redesign the heater so it cannot overheat in normal operation.
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for a small room

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We placed it in a small room we use for crafts. It keeps the room warm, and stops on its own once it reaches the desired temperature. We had to place a wall thermostat though, because it doesn't have one built-in. Overall it has been working perfectly for what we intended it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, it is quiet
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from North of Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Workhorse in My Greenhouse

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this is a FlowerHouse 4x4 pop-up greenhouse (purchased from Home Depot - see my review). Set at about half power, it was able to maintain temps in the mid 60s during an ice storm with temps in the teens at night and in the 20s during the day (temps inside in the upper 70s when the sun came out). I was and am impressed.
There are two controls - one for fan speed (2 speeds) and one for temp. The temp isn't numerical, just low to high. I had to fiddle with it a bit over the winter for temperature adjustments but I enjoy that kind of thing so it was no problem. I doubt that would be an issue indoors.
The heater was on, day and night, from the end of December through the middle of April (although it didn't run once daytime temps were in the 70s and 80s). Never a problem. The fan was a little louder by the time I took the greenhouse down in mid-April but it was still working fine.
I plan to pick up another one of these heaters to have on hand, just in case the current one dies next winter. Even if it does I've gotten way, way more than my money's worth out of it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, kept 4x4 greenhouse toasty warm
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Bonney Lake, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice little heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice little space heater. Bought for office use, warms up my desk area easily on low. Have only had for a few weeks, so I cannot comment on long term use. Unit is very small, perfect for office use. Auto shut off when tilted or knocked over a great feature. So far, a good heater for a fair price.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater is light, compact, easy to use, and safe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Love, Love, Love This Heater

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've bought a lot of different heaters in my lifetime and I tell you this is by far the best heater ever. It warms the run real fast. I've even used this for my baby chicks when they first hatch. I'm able to control the heat and speed. Highly recommend this product. You won't be disappointed. My first one still works great behaving it now for a few years. Buying one for my mom. :))
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than other low-priced models

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tiny unit when the first cold wave hit Texas this year. I was looking for a larger metal-case model, same price, also from Home Depot, but kept losing the inventory after online purchase due to general store madness. I finally got the one I wanted but am taking it back because this little plastic model works better, runs more efficiently (see details) and doesn't seem to have a downside.
This unit, which doesn't carry a brand name on the box or look exactly like the one shown on this page, is truly small. Roughly the size of a six-pack lying on end. The fan is not noisy but certainly can be heard across the room. That's where I have mine, at desk-height across a fair-sized rec room converted to an office/bedroom. I like that the unit only comes on and runs for a while, rather then cycling on and off repeatedly like the metal box. It runs for a long time when the temps first drop then as needed. To me, this is efficient. And it keeps the room nice and toasty at a medium setting. I have the rest of a large home fairly chilly and use this to warm this room, with the door open to the house.
So my advice is - try this one first. It's cheap as sin and works like a champ. Heck, if it break after a couple of years, I only hope I can get another one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: all plastic and seems too small
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Oakland, Ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heater for a small room

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good heater for a small room. I use it in my bathroom and it heats it up quickly. It has a temperature control that lets you set a particular comfort level, and keeps it there. It is very safe, as any movement will shut off the heater until it stabilizes. For the price it is perfect for my needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Ashburn, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves its purpose - Good price!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to warm a small guest bedroom but the fan is too noisy for it to run all night so returned it. It did heat well and would be perfectly fine if sleeping weren't involved:)
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Lenexa, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

small room heater

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nice small heater but it doesn't project heat like other small heaters I have used in my home. Value priced but disappointing. using 1500 watts for minimal impact on basement room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, safe
Cons: underperforms
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Chester, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable heater to save on my propane gas heating which was super expensive last winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from BAY VILLAGE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sufficient

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We only used the heaters once. But with that use we were pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Great gift

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We gave this heater as a gift and it was very appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater

Warms up my bedroom like a charm in zero to 10 seconds

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product and well worth the value. Nit warms up a medium size bedroom in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Problematic

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With the heater placed in the middle of a bare floor: it cycles on and off when at set temperature. Yep, it is supposed to cycle, but this one is on one or two seconds, off for three seconds, then back on.
Heaters with controls above the element are simply a bad design.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Heat . . . Maybe Too Much????

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this to heat a very small office before the heat was turned on for the season. I couldn't believe how quickly it heated the area. The output on this small heater is fantastic!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, fantastic heat output
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from vermiliion ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wonderful heat in a small package

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this heater for our 30' motorhome as a backup. Worked great when the weather went down in the low 40's.
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Nashville TN
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice little portable heater

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice little portable heater with nice output of warm air.I use it near my computer desk this heater works very well ,blows out warm air very well. It starts out loud but the sound reduces within few minutes. I only wish they would of included a tip over switch too.Overall very pleased with this product .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no tip over switch
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

great value

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed this heater for the purpose of heating up my cubicle at work as the cold weather is rolling in. It is well worth the very affordable price tag. Heats up according to its setting and is very quiet, the same exact noise level as a computer when you turn it on.
This does the same work as heaters twice its size. I HIGHLY reccommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1500-Watt Ceramic Electric Portable Heater
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Broke after only a few months of use

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product stopped working entirely after only a couple months of use. Unit was not clogged and stopped all of a sudden one day. Red light turned off and no matter what I tried it would not turn on again. It has an overheating sensor, so it didn't overheat and voltage was appropriate for the space I used it for. I wouldn't buy this unless you just want a temporary heater.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>