728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

The SharkBite 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool can help you crimp 2 sizes with 1 tool. This tool is ideal for use with PEX tubing and copper crimp rings (tubing and rings not included).
Overall rating:
4.773 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
Review 1 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, once calibrated

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First few crimps didn't fit in the Go gauge so I checked the instructions. It said it was factory calibrated, but it was wrong. I measured the distance between the handle marks and it was only 8". I had to search for an Allen wrench small enough, but once I found one (not included for some reason, I was able to make the adjustment to 8.5". All crimps for the entire day 3/4" and 1/2" were spot on afterwards. In some positions it is tough to get the leverage to get the crimp, but that's just how it goes no matter what tool you have.
Just be sure to check the calibration before you start just so you don't waste time later.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: no adjustment tool included
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality Tool

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to do a few plumbing jobs around my house with PEX pipe. After doing lots of research, I found that it would be cheaper for me buying my own PEX tools and fittings and doing it myself versus hiring a plumber to do the job. This tool pays for itself quickly. It is made very well. It works on multiple size crimp rings and has plenty of torque to make sure the fitting is secure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

Good value

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I checked around for this type of tool from other manufacturers and discovered this one was the least expensive by a significant margin. It's wonderful because it comes with a half inch and three-quarter inch crimp. I highly recommend this tool. the only difficulty I ran into was installing crimp fittings in tight spaces, but that is not the tools fault. Just make sure you plan ahead when installing crimp fittings in tight spaces. another pleasant surprise with this tool is that it comes with the nogo/go checking tool
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seven stars for value.

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this tool for a couple of years with a variety of brands of tubing, fixtures and bands, without any problems (except when I didn't crimp with one fluid motion or accidentally had a bad angle). As a homeowner, this covers the only two sizes of pipe in my house. The complaint about not fitting into small places is true, but you will quickly learn to build subassemblies and then install them with crimps in open places like the basement. When all else fails, a $5-7 Sharkbite fitting will save the day. I'm sure that isn't cost effective for a plumber, but for a homeowner saving the cost of hiring a plumber - they are pretty affordable. I read reviews of other products that have inserts for different sizes, but 1) the reviews for ease of use were bad and 2) I only need the two sizes on this tool. Plus you can't beat the bang for your buck with this simple tool. I actually have more plumbing in my house than I would have otherwise, because it's so fast and easy to do. My wife asked if I could put a hose bib out back and instead of hemming and hawing about another item on my honey do list, I made it a honey did list item in about 15 minutes. And I didn't need a torch, which is fortunate, because I made a connection within inches of my gas supply.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, affordable tool, marital bliss
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from No. VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for PEX plumbing

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This would be a 5 star product if it didn't need so much muscle to make the crimp.
I did a major plumbing project with this crimper and every crimp was perfect. It did need more strength than I expected but the outcome was great. The other drawback to this tool is that it is a little difficult to maneuver in small (tight) spaces.
Even with these minor issues I would buy it again if I was starting over. The alternative using the Stainless Steel clamping crimps is very costly for materials and personally the seal does not look to be as positive as using the crimp ring.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1 Tool - 2 Most Common Sizes

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently plumbed house with borrowed multi-head tool made by Z***. Got real tired of changing heads, but the tool worked fine. I just wanted to own my own tool just to have on hand in case of emergency or expansion of the system, so I bough this. Did some crimps with this. It actually crimps much better than the higher priced Z***. They seem to be more true and conform to the pipe better than Z***. Price is the best I have found.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Jeffersonville, Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy these $57 crimpers, not the $59 ones...read the rest of this review.

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The orange-handle $57 crimpers are for the stainless steel crimps and are "SharkBite Model # 23081". The other crimpers of the same type and design are "Apollo Model # 69PTKG1096" The orange-handle $59 crimpers are for the copper crimp rings only and are "SharkBite Model # 23251. In tight spaces, these orange-handle $57 SharkBite Model # 23081 crimpers work great. There were a few times I could only use one hand. I had to get the crimp started with one of the handles against a floor joist. Once it closed down a little, I could finish the crimp with one hand. I couldn't imagine doing all that with the larger crimpers. The release lever was broken off of the crimpers, but I didn't need it after all.
You need a back-up plan, and the pocket crimper also sold in the Pex area of the store works great. You have to use vise-grips to make the crimps with the pocket crimper. It's only good for a few crimps as far as 'hand comfort' though, otherwise your better off going with the the yellow-handle $59 crimpers if you have many crimps to do. The copper crimps work better if you want to slide the un-slitted insulation over joined sections of pex line. But as far as redoing joints, I think the stainless steel crimps work best. They're easy to remove with cutters. Not sure how to remove the copper crimps. I used the blue-handled Channellock brand. After removing the SS crimp ring, slit the pex line long-ways with a razor knife/box cutter just over the fitting and make sure you slice "away" from your body. Otherwise it's still impossible to remove the fitting from the Pex even with the crimp ring removed. I had no leaks out of the stainless steel or copper crimps.
The HDX tube cutters worked fine with no problems. They didn't work too well on old brittle cpvc. I replumbed most of my house and it was my first Pex job ever. Saved a huge amount of time over sweating copper. Make sure you pick up a few Sharkbite compression fittings as an additional back-up plan for tight spaces.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: broken release lever but didn't need it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Scappoose, OR 97056, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

had doubts, glad I went for it

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Re-plumbed mobile home with Shark Bite PEX for my first project with this tool. No problems. Like the stuff now. Tool is easy to use, with some planning. By the way I'm 70 and mainly a deck builder/remodeler.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from lOUISBURG , kANSAS

Best of both worlds

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
3/4 and 1/2 should take care of most houses, This crimp tool allowed me to crimp up inside the joists, without much of a problem , seem to be very well made my only complaint is that i don't see a stamp of where its made ? like America
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must buy for anyone installing PEX

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best tool for the job. You can buy the cheaper clam shell style but you WILL regret that decision.
This tool is easy to use. It does require some strength to use (but they all do). It gives good consistent seals. It is definitely worth the money. Don't forget to buy the ring removal tool (you will need it).
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, adjustable
Cons: require strength to use
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good tool

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to re-plumb a house from copper over to pex. I needed both 3/4 and 1/2 capability and this tool did it all. I used Shark Bite slip on fittings where it was too tight for the tool to work, or pre-assembled sections to avoid those situations. Did the whole job in 2 days with no runs, no drips, no errors.
This is the right tool for the job, five stars for sure.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

very good

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was larger than I imagined purchasing it online but it really has to be to provide the crimping power it delivers. I had no experience using PEX and I made probably about 20-30 crimp connections with this tool. I used it on both 3/4 and 1/2 inch pex which is all I have in my house. It required a little bit of force and every crimp came out perfectly, I used the go/ no go gauge to check the first 5 or so and quickly disregarded it as every connection was good and I have no leaks at all. The pre-calibrated feature is definitely nice, you can make a crimp in under 30 seconds and be on the next task. I imagine this tool would be good for everything but tight places where hopefully you can assemble your pex first.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

good quality product

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good quality and dependable! Available at store for immediate pick up.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool- easy to use

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works very well-tough in tight places. excellent service and very quick at the store
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: tough in tight places
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great tool, wish I would have had it years ago!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great. A , multi functional tool that all professionals and handymen should have!
Pros: Reliable, great tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from ann arbor michiggan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great buy all the way

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works like a charm. tight seal. Bought it after my plumber keep blowing off appointment to run waterline to a new bath in the basement. HD rep told me to get this and it was a great buy. I have never ran plumbing, no leaks, the go no/go tool was great for me to check.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool

very pleased with the product

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it works well for the installation that was being done at a fraction of the cost of other pex crimpers
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from British Columbia, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great features

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Happy with the crimper. multi use sizes. seems strong.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Pex Crimping Tool

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with overall quality and value. Perfect for 1/2" crimps however due to size one must be more careful with 3/4" crimps which require more effort. In hard to crimp locations you need to plan ahead as the crimper must be at a right angle. I need to replace a marginal crimp so I will be shortly reviewing the crimp ring remover tool....
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. and 3/4 in. Dual PEX Crimp Tool
from New Hyde Park, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as intended

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this tool in a kitchen/bath renovation and as a DIYer I had no problems with it. It does need to be worked in but that will happen the more it gets used.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>