728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. Strap Wrench

8 in. Strap Wrench

The 8 in. Strap Wrench is a great addition to your toolbox. It has a durable rubber strap that is great for various jobs. The Husky 8 in. Strap Wrench is lifetime warranty. Please see back of packaging for details.
Overall rating:
2.053 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product5 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.1 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product5 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. Strap Wrench
Review 1 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got the job done easily

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to take off a shift ball on a Shelby which is red locktite in place. I tried other ratchet type straps and they slipped. This thing grabbed it and spun it right off and it took some serious force to break it loose. Not sure why the other reviews are so negative plus its a lifetime tool so how can you go wrong!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Plenty strong

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to remove retaining ring on tj wrangler fuel pump. Handle and rubber strap perfect size and plenty strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Couldn't even get it to hold on.

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I tried to use it to loosen a bath spout it would not even grip the spout. All it did was slide around. I will be taking this back to home depot tomorrow and never laying eyes on it again.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Buy another brand

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took me longer to open the tool than it lasted..I spent a minute getting it ready, and tried to connect 2 pieces of dry fitted sink drain pipe..The sink is copper, under mounted in granite so I didn't want to over tighten or scratch anything..I figured the rubber strap would work fine..I put a little more pressure on it than hand tight and snap...The strap tore where it is fastened to the handle..I couldn't believe it and just laughed..It is actually going back today..
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Inexpensive as in cheap

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would work for low force jobs, but my strap tore 3 inches down when I put some muscle to it and I'm no Arnold.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good concept. Weak materials.

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Money wasted. The rubber strap broke way to easily on the first job.
I was trying to removed a retention ring on a shower cartridge. I had just started applying torque when the rubber strap broke. This was the first time I tried to use this tool.
If these tools can't take much torque, I don't know what kind of use they would be.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Piece of garbage.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Strap broke on the first use. I barely even put any force into it. Complete waste of time and money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Junk

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Husky should be ashamed for putting this junk on the market!! I had the same results as previously stated- total failure.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Not well made

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to loosen a sink faucet where the neck of the spout meets the faucet body. I thought that this was "reinforced" but don't try to use it on something that is tough to get off. This wrench broke through where it's attached to the handle. Not well made at all. This makes 2 out of 3 Husky products I have bought that I have found to be poorly constructed. Hate to say this but I never had any issues with Kobalt tools like I have with Husky.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Wimpy tool

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product broke on me after using it just 3 or 4 times on 3" irrigation pipe. The rubber tore at the round part where it's connected to the metal. Sure, I put forth effort tightening the pipe, who wouldn't. Don't waste your money unless you only need it once.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

junk junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
junk junk!!!!!!!!!!! this dang tool broke in the first 2 seconds of starting to use it. Dont waist your time or money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do it yourself GM

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought it for my kitchen faucet also, because I have a jar opener something like this. I did not get a chance to break it because it wouldn't stay on. Not user friendly, didn't know how to rap it to lock in place. "Guaranteed forever", I guarantee this tool will be going back to the store!!
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Barely ok for very light use

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This worked the first couple of times I needed it for my irrigation project. When I needed it to loosen something that was tight, the strap broke. HD took it back and gave me a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Good value but not the highest quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As others have found out, this isn't the most solidly constructed strap wrench in the world. It's made out of plastic, which really should have been your first clue.
However, for loosening ABS connections, oil filters, and the like, this is a great tool at a killer price. For really tough jobs, you need a metal strap wrench, but be prepared to pay at least twice as much.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

Very light duty

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It broke at the strap attachment point on it's first job. This tool is not suitable for anything heavier than thin walled PVC, like under sink drain pipes.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wrench also broke on first use. Don't waste you money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. Strap Wrench

High quality rubber grip material, low price, gets the job done, no complaints, works as well as higher priced items. I would recommend it.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High quality rubber grip material, low price, gets the job done, no complaints, works as well as higher priced items. I would recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
from Raleigh,NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT TOOL!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great for removing the outer valve stem cap on a Delta shower fixture that a pro Raleigh,NC plumber said he could not remove with his tools with out damaging the fixture finish. Thank You Home Depot for the Husky 8" strap wrench. Also, I hear that this tool works great for connecting/disconnecting waste water hoses for RV waste water systems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. Strap Wrench
from Leesburg, Va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money-

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had it less than a year-kept in tool box in garage-no outdoors exposure and the rubber strap is broken and strap is unusable.
You get better quality from Harbor Freight and that ain't saying much.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.