728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Intercom Systems with Video or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

The IQ America Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System puts effortless audio/video monitoring of your home or business entry at your fingertips. Wireless installation means it can be installed in less than 30 minutes. Kit includes a wireless doorbell/camera with a satin nickel finish that mounts near the front door and a portable color LCD receiver unit with charging cradle. When a visitor signals their arrival by pressing the remote station's doorbell push button, a color video appears on the master station interior LCD monitor along with a doorbell ring. A two-way conversation can be intitated by the internal LCD monitor if desired. The LCD monitor stores images of visitors so you'll know who visited even when you are away. The doorbell camera unit can be used without batteries by connecting it directly to an existing 16Volt wired doorbell supply or 16-Volt external power pack (not supplied). The Live Browsing function allows you to monitor the view from the doorbell camera on the LCD display at anytime when the doorbell camera unit is powered by a 16-Volt wired doorbell supply or 16Volt external power pack.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product30 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product30 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
Review 1 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built unit

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old 1980s intercom at the front door. I think the schematic provided in the installation manual is incorrect for a "typical" doorbell, but it didn't apply to me anyway. I had to find a place on the intercom command center with 12-16 DC volts. Once I did that I simply ran the voltage out to the front intercom wires. In the photo you can see I simply bolted the mounting plate onto the old intercom unit at the front door. The device has only been in place a week but it appears to function well in daylight and darkness. My door faces north so I'm interested to see how it handles the heat here in Texas and the (rare) cold blowing sleet. Overall I'm quite pleased as I have a large home and this unit transmits well into the backyard and garage. The remote visual unit only appears to hold a charge for about 24 hours so I have to keep it in the charging cradle during the day so I can have it with me in the evening. I may replace the battery pack and see if it's possible to extend the standby time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Short Battery Life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just an expensive doorbell

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It seems to be a well made product but its functionality is seriously flawed. It worked fine if the receiver was immediately inside the door where the outside unit was mounted. Once you started moving away from that immediate vicinity the reception dropped dramatically. I'm talking a few feet here, maybe 20 - 30 at the most. First to go was the audio, then the video a few feet further. Also if you have a steel door, forget trying to mount it on the door because it will not work at all.
That being said I do have wireless components (modem, security cameras) in the area I placed the door unit. These restrictions, if that's what caused my issues, should have been noted in the specs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: does not work 15 feet from tranmitter
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 27, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG with your review and below is their response.

"The Wireless Video Door Intercom should not be dropping reception with 20-30 feet. According to the Instruction Manual Operation Guidelines, the effective communication range is 100m (328ft) in free air space (line of sight). This range will be significantly reduced by the number and thickness of walls through which the signal is required to pass - please keep to a minimum wherever possible. The following can also affect successful operation of the system:
• Metal doors and shutters.
• Walls with aluminum foil insulation.
• Concrete or galvanized metal walls.

The Instruction Manual Operation Guidelines also states to avoid using the Indoor Portable LCD Unit in the following areas:
• Within 3m (9.8ft) of a television, microwave oven, personal computer, wireless LAN equipment, wireless audio/visual equipment - the radio frequency waves emitted by these devices can affect operation.
• In direct sunlight.
• Where extreme fluctuations in temperature can occur - if moving the unit from a warm to cold environment, or vice versa, please allow 30 minutes."
Review 3 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Easton, Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Kathy

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had this product for 2 years now and had some issues in the beginning on date and time but never any issues with picture or it not working. It works for our needs but if you go further down into the building due to our block walls it does not work very far. As with many units!! It serves the purpose of seeing who is at the door through the camera. We love the product but do wish to find something that might go a little further in distance or through walls. Maybe they can come out with an extension product that can further it from one point to another like we do with internet???? Or maybe that is out there and I just don't know it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Great Idea and did work for awhile, Approx 18 Months

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed the unit about 18-20 months ago. It was easy to set up and worked well for a period of time. The receiver still works to talk to the outdoor unit, however, the picture on the receiver is all green and you can not see who is at the door. I have cleaned everything with no luck. Another down side is you have to carry the receiver around the house with you to hear the door ringer. It would be good if you could purchase a second receiver on the same frequency. I can not find any information or trouble shooting to fix the problem and as a result I am searching for another brand to replace the IQ product.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Compact, Motion-Activated, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: unreliable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

Great Customer Service

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My prior review stated that the receiver screen turned green and no image appeared. The review also said that customer service was not available. First off, for those who have experienced the same condition I offer the following:
Remove and reinstall the battery in the receiver.
Reset to connect with outdoor unit.
After I performed the above the receiver is operating normal. A few days after my last posting I received an E-Mail from the manufacturer offering to replace my receiver, no questions asked. I found this to be amazing in support of the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation, great customer service
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice unit, but poor quality control.

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This video door monitor has all the features missing in other similar products. The only problem was, I had to return the unit 2 times: In the first unit the time stamp wouldn't set, with the second, there was a short in the camera, which fried 2 transformers before I figured out what was causing it.
The third exchange was the charm. Hooked everything up again per the instructions, activated it, and it worked perfectly. Great picture, even in darkness, easy to use the controls and most of all, the receiver set is portable, just like your TV remote control. Receives from anywhere in the house, and in the back yard.
The instructions are very well written, likely by a technical writer with native fluency in English. Manual is well laid out and illustrated.
Great value. Time to step up the quality control. Nevertheless, recommend.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with this product

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is just what we were looking for. Installation was quick and easy. We installed it directly to the old door bell wiring and it works perfectly. The picture is clear and the audio perfect. The only problem we had was the direct sunlight does make the photo a little harder to see but not that much. I love that it stores photos even when you are not home to answer the door you have a photo of who was there while you were away.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from COLUMBUS OH

IQ America Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product reasonably easy to install. Operates on either 6 alkaline batteries or can be connected to low voltage doorbell connection. Doorbell connection may be more difficult for home handyman, depending on ease of routing wire to location for mounting exterior unit. Unit may consume battery power quicker and make direct connection to doorbell more practical. Unit has nice appearance and works as advertised. Need to pay attention to focusing external camera to cover where user is standing. Also be aware of shielding from direct sunlight as it will affect picture quality.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little added security

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little product. Easy to install. Monitor fits in shirt pocket. Nice to know who's at the door without opening it. Intercom works wonderfully. You get 2 snap shots when button pressed plus you can take your own extras. Can press "Browse" button and see whats going on in front of house without door bell being rung.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

Not for Outdoors?

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was great for 3 months...just in time for the warrenty to be up. Does not work at all. I tried to contact the company but there is no way to contact them - poor/lack of customer service. I wanted to just replace the outdoor part of the unit but I guess I will be trashing the whole thing. I do not recommend...too much money wasted on this product.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceAugust 14, 2013
Hi Sara,

I apologize for your experience with the product. I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this and below is their response to you.

Without knowing how your Video Door Monitor with Intercom System was installed, we are unable to advise what steps should be taken to resolve the problem you have experienced. Only one Camera Door Unit and one LCD Monitor can be paired together. The system will not operate with multiple LCD Monitors on one Door Unit Camera or multiple Door Unit Cameras on one LCD Monitor. When powering the camera door unit to an existing 16 volt wired doorbell supply, the batteries should be removed from the camera. The video monitor with intercom system replaces the existing doorbell system.

The indoor portable LCD display unit needs to be charged for approximately 6-8 hours before first use. When the LCD display unit is fully charged, the charge should last for 3-5 days without operation and for approximately 2+ hours if in continuous audio/video operation.

If you have any other questions or would like to discuss your installation application, please call our customer service department listed in the instruction manual. Thank you.

Hope this helps.
Review 11 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Canton, MI.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IQAmerica video door monitor

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This product is great for handicapped or elderly. Installation was easy. Easy to work. Sound and picture is clear. I highly recommend this product to replace traditional door bell. Do not get the camera wet it will malfunction.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: cannot get wet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit in principle and nicely made but problems with pairing the units

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generally pleased with unit UNTIL my neighbor installed a similar unit. Now, when his doorbell is pressed, it rings on my system!! Tech Support was helpful and suggested we both re-paired our units (stating this could never happen!) but despite multiple attempts my indoor unit still rings when the other door unit is pressed.
So as it is, I can't recommend it and will have to replace it as it is highly irritating!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
Cons: unable to pair correctly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from St Louis, MO

I recently had his door monitor installed and it is absolutely WONDERFUL.

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a two story house and this door monitor lets me see who is at my downstairs door without having to actually go downstairs. This is a great step saver and it even offers a browsing function for just checking your front door. My sons and daughters also think it is a wonderful item so much so that one of my daughters immediately ordered herself one. I would also suggest you plug the base to the remote control in a surge protector to prevent malfunctions to your remote in the event of a power surge.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost what I expected

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works fine but you must press the button on the outdoor unit after a power interruption before the browse function works. In my case I had to mount the unit so high that you can't reach the button without a ladder.
But works good otherwise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

I like it so far

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Everything worked initially except for the audio. Noticed that the LCD had the word "Demo" on it and called customer service. Problem was solved within less than 10 minutes. It would be nice if the camera lens was able to rotate a little more L/R and up/down in case the unit needs to be orientated at a less than ideal angle. Night picture is still in color with existing street lighting.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Prior, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Investment, Peace of Mind

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this system for my aging mother who lives on the second floor of a townhouse. Due to the number of stairs to and from the door, it allows her to see who is there & to talk with them. Installation done by my husband was not a problem. Camera view is good day and night, vision clear for several feet beyond her garage. Shipping was fast and box undamaged. We are both (mom and I) happy with this purchase.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

CANNOT INSTALL TO REPLACE DOORBELL

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THERE SHOULD BE MINIMUM HIEGHT REQUIREMENTS LISTED. YOU CANNOT MOUNT THE CAMERA AT DOORBELL HIEGHT AND SEE WHO'S STANDING AT YOUR DOOR. EVEN AT A HIEGHT THAT YOU COULD SEE SOMEONE WITH A FLAT MOUNTING THE 15 DEG. ANGLE IS NOT ENOUGH TO SEE SOMEONE. VERY MISLEADING.
Pros: Well Made
Cons: not functional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 4, 2013
Hi Jewiv,

I apologize that you had a poor experience with this product. I have reached out to the manufacturer for more information and below is their response to you:

I apologize that you had a poor experience with this product. I have reached out to the manufacturer for more information and below is their response to you:

The Camera Door Unit can be mounted in a variety of locations. You can adjust the camera lens angle using the angle adjustment lever. Page 11 of the instruction manual gives details on how to adjust the camera views upwards, right and up and right. When using the existing doorbell wires for the camera unit – the camera unit becomes your door chime. If you need additional assistance, please call our customer service department listed in the instruction manual. Thank you.
Review 18 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A defective product

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The camera and monitor were excellent in concept. But, to use the Browse feature one needed to connect to a 16 volt transformer. In doing so I burned out 3 (repeat 3) transformers. I was forced to conclude that this feature was defective and I returned the entire product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System

Works exactly as it should. Truly wireless.

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying a so-called wireless intercom product which turned out to require a wired electrical connection, we went to the IQ America product. Rarely have we seen a product that works so well and installs so easily. The really beautiful part is the truly portable receiver. It gets great reception throughout the office, through walls, through everything.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Color Video Door Monitor with Intercom System
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only three weeks and shot

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First this fried two transistors. now the handheld won't charge.
Cons: Burns Out, Short Battery Life, no charge
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSMay 7, 2013
bkur,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"Without knowing how your Video Door Monitor with Intercom System was installed, we are unable to advise what steps should be taken to resolve the problem you have experienced. Only one Camera Door Unit and one LCD Monitor can be paired together. The system will not operate with multiple LCD Monitors on one Door Unit Camera or multiple Door Unit Cameras on one LCD Monitor. When powering the camera door unit to an existing 16 volt wired doorbell supply, the batteries should be removed from the camera. The video monitor with intercom system replaces the existing doorbell system.

The indoor portable LCD display unit needs to be charged for approximately 6-8 hours before first use. When the LCD display unit is fully charged, the charge should last for 3-5 days without operation and for approximately 2+ hours if in continuous audio/video operation.

If you have any other questions or would like to discuss your installation application, please call our customer service department listed in the instruction manual. Thank you."
1 2 3 >>