728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Bells or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

For large homes or the hearing impaired, consider the IQ America Wireless Battery-Operated Door Chime Extender and Plug-In Door Chime Kit. Place the extender on your existing chime to relay the signal to the handy plug-in unit wherever it is hard to hear the original.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
Review 1 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Old sound

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works extremely well and I have no issue with the price however, this is in a retail establishment and we need a chime, not a "ding - dong" doorbell, which is what this is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: sound
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Waxahachie, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent! Just what I needed to hear the doorbell

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We could not hear the front door bell in the family room (converted garage) on the other side of the house. I mounted this just about the doorbell in the front entryway (you can barely see it). At first I plugged a chime into a outlet in the family room but it was a little too far from the other device to work efficiently. I moved it to another plug a little closer and it worked wonderfully. My house is 1900 sqft plus the converted garage to give you an idea of how well it works.
Note: Occasionally my dogs will bark and set off the doorbell extender. It is a small price to pay to hear the doorbell in the family room. :-)
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product & Easy To Use!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recommend this to everyone who wishes they had installed more than one doorbell chime in their home. It is great for places in your home where you can't hear the doorbell, or for outside in back of your home. There is no wiring just follow instructions and plug in. We use for when we are in back of our home. Just plug it in while outside and bring it back inside when done.
My only complaint is this is not sold in all Home Depot Stores. I had bought my first one at the Gig Harbor, WA store, but the store in Oklahoma didn't carry it. Had to buy it online. I know lots of people who wish they had installed an outdoor chime and know they would buy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

Picks picks up vibrations

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have installed other extenders for my parents that they rely on. Those have been wired into the main bell box. This one relies on vibrations. Unfortunately our bell is mounted directly over the much used door into our garage. With this unit every time someone goes into the garage, the bell sounds. I have adjusted the sensitivity as low as it will go and I still have the problem. I also tried placing the unit in close proximity with the sensitivity turned to max. It no longer rings with the door closing but it doesn't ring when the bell is rung either. This seems like a decent product, but not a good fix for my situation. I will be returning it and searching for a model similar to others I have worked it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: vibrations
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install and works wonderfully.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This doorbell extender was easy to install and works do well. Exactly what I needed for a very good price. The
Package came promptly and in good condition.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Parker CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it works, it works fine. But I have a basement office, where my extender is located. On three occasions in eight months I missed important package deliveries because the extender did not chime. The whole reason I got the extender was so I would not miss package deliveries. Upon discovery of a missed delivery I would have to reset the extender by unplugging it and replugging it in.
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 19, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer

We reached out to the MFG with your review and below is their response.

"Unplugging and plugging in the chime unit is not a reset. To reset chime programming: while the unit is plugged into an electrical outlet, press and hold button A and B at the same time, hold the buttons down till you hear the chime sound then release the buttons and it should play all the chimes available indicating that the previous programs have been erased then press the pushbutton on the extender and the plug-in will respond with a chime. This indicates that the chime extender had been programmed to the Plug-in Chime.
Please contact our customer service department listed in the instruction manual, so we may help resolve the difficulties you are experiencing."
Review 7 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

Tougher set-up than expected; works just fine

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a bit tougher to set up than I expected (had to find the sensitivity level to pick up my house's doorbell), but it's work just fine ever since.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Burlington Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This works better than hearing aids!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This doorbell extender allows us to hear the doorbell loudly in any room of our one story house, it took less than5 minutes to get it working. We are very happy with it.
Pros: Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Works Great

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a finished basement that is very well insulated. As such, I cannot hear the doorbell in my downstairs office. I have missed a lot of package deliveries during the day, and it was a frustrating problem to have no idea when/if someone is at the front door.
This little device seems to be working great. It was easy to install. I did get a defective unit the first time I ordered one. So, I had to return and order it again (the stores don't sell this product -- online only). The stores do, however, take returns which is very nice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Minster

Great alert product

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these to add to one that is motion activated. My father in law lives alone and does not hear well so added motion one to entry door and these I just plugged in one upstairs and in basement and they respond to the motion one so I did not need to install the extra sensors. So now he has an alert chime on each floor and they have volume controls which is great. Took only 15 minutes to install all three. Recommended as nice way to alert you when someone comes to door or enters house.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, tricky installation

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The remote chime works well. Installation was tricky, since it required several adjustments of the volume control. That's not a reason to avoid buying it, especially since there are few, if any, others on the market. I would recommend having someone else with you when you install it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this out by the poo and in garage. Great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Temecula, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the extender so I can hear my gate chime for deliveries. It was very simple to install, only about 4 steps. It works very well, I can now hear the gate chime all over the house. Good value for the price.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

well worth it

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works excellant. Now we can hear the front door bell in the back patio
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from Centerville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for our needs

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love sitting on the back porch but could never hear the doorbell. It was so easy to install. We just sat the remote extender on top of our current door bell, adjusted the sound, plugged in the receiver on the back porch, and it works like magic.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Door chime extender

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
never have to guess if someone is at your door. peaceful & joyous sounds.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

Good product

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took about 10 minutes to set up and find the sensitivity level to pick up my house's doorbell. But, once I got that, it's worked just fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

This product is not good.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this product according to the instructions and it did not work and will be returning it to Home Depot.
Cons: did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSMarch 26, 2013
Cracky,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"IQ America would like to be able to provide assistance but we are unsure of what exactly isn’t working in your application.

IQ America’s Chime Extender is designed to be installed on the top of your existing doorbell. The chime extender has a sensitivity knob that can be adjusted to increase or decrease the sensitivity. The chime extender also has an LED that lights when the chime extender picks up the doorbell ring and sends a wireless signal to your wireless plug-in chime. If the LED lights but the plug-in chime does not sound, try moving the plug-in chime closer to the chime extender.

Please call our customer service phone number provided in the product instruction manual so we can resolve the problem you are experiencing."
Review 19 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit

doesn't work

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The extender would never chime upon an actual doorbell ring. It would only chime to loud voices such as my baby crying.
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CSFebruary 25, 2013
c5008,

We reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"IQ America’s Chime Extender is designed to be installed on top of the existing door chime. In your review it appears that the microphone sensitivity knob needs to be decreased. To decrease the sensitivity, simply turn the adjustment knob counter-clockwise while observing the red LED. The LED will light when the chime extender is picking up the chime rings. If the LED lights but the Plug-in Chime does not sound try moving the Plug-in Chime closer to the Chime Extender. If you need additional assistance, please call our customer service department listed in the instruction manual. Thank you."
Review 20 for Wireless Plug-In Remote Door Chime Extender Kit
from NJ

Good choice.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There was a set up problem due to sender not picking up the hallway chime sound to send the signal to the receiver to activate. Changed the hall chime to a bell ringer type and the louder sound was picked up by the sender and the remote chime worked as described. Satified with the final result.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.