728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower

36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower

This heavy duty BRUSH BEAST brush mower powered by a Subaru EH65V 22 HP (653 cc) engine transforms tall grasses and thickets into a 4 in. finish cut appearance in a single pass. Dual breakaway blades act like battering axes to cut up to 4 in. dia. x 20 ft.
Overall rating:
3.618 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product21 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product21 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
Review 1 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower

It is a powerful, well constructed "beast", but has a few to many flaws

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered one of these after borrowing a friends DR brush mower. This machine is a whole different class! It is a BEAST. It will cut down anything it encounters. It is literally a 36 inch "bushog" that you walk behind. It is made just like a tractor bushog, and functions similarly. However, it has a few issues. It's seems very well built, but it extremely heavy (it weighs almost 700 lbs!). It is too heavy to "manhandle" and remove from being stuck on/in something. Frequently, in fairly soft soil, the tires would "dig in" if it encountered enough resistance, or irregular surfaces. It was VERY hard to extricate from these kind of situations because it is so HEAVY. The other problem mentioned by others is that the tire drive belts would slip. On mine, the left drive belt would slip if the tire was under a heavy load. The right tire drive belt never slipped. I tried following the instructions from the manual to adjust this, but my efforts didn't fix the problem. The manual is VERY brief in it's description of these kinds of things. So I called the company. I was put to voice mail, and left a message describing my problem and asking if someone would give me a call to walk me through adjusting the left tire drive belt. No one ever called. If I could have adjusted this, it would have helped alot. But it still is prone to "digging in" with the tires on uneven ground, etc. The other issue I had was the blade drive belt "jumped off" within the first two hours of use.
If it were used on relatively smooth ground, and you are more technically capable than I am, you might could make this work extremely well. It is extremely sturdy and powerful. The engine is smooth, the delivery process is great, but the negatives were just a little too much for me, and I returned it. I really wish they'd change the drive wheels from belt driven to hydraulic, and it probably needs a little larger tire to help prevent the digging in. If these changes were made, it'd likely be the perfect brush mower.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Mulches Well
Cons: Too Heavy, gets stuck easily
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but needs a couple design tweaks

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this machine to clear paths on overgrown, neglected land. Chose this unit for its power and 36" cutting width. Most of my observations will echo and reinforce those of some previous reviewers. Here are my main points.
1. After removal from the shipping pallet, it was ready to add fuel and start up - no assembly or adjustment was required.
2. Some owners have complained about this machine throwing and/or eating belts. In my 20 hours of hard use so far, it has thrown the belt to the cutter only once. I do take care when engaging and disengaging the cutter rotor to do this gradually with the throttle backed off a bit.
3. The machine handles brush impressively, but cutting through very thick grass requires slowing down to a crawl to keep the engine from laboring or stalling.
4. My main complaint is the same as that of many other reviewers, that is that the machine is much too easily brought to a halt by either a slight dip in the ground or by soft soil. I agree with many users that the wheels need to be of larger diameter to prevent its bogging down so readily. When any kind of resistance is encountered (e.g., ant hill, vines, extra thick growth), the wheels are too quick to dig themselves into a rut. This limitation of the propulsion system dimishes the usefulness of the machine in clearing irregular surfaces and vegetation growing on soft earth.
5. The hydro steering system works well, but the controls are not ergonomic. The strain on the hands begins to wear after an hour or two of use.
Even with these criticisms, I am satisfied with the machine overall so far. It just seems that a little more engineering could make it much better.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: bogs down too easily, poorly written manual
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Clayton, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

RE: Response to "Not Usable" - Adjustment Suggestion

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Manufacturer's Response to "Anonymous" in below review.
The concern you raised was that the brush mower does not have enough traction due to a slipping input belt.
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience a slipping belt has caused you.
If a belt is slipping, please consult the owners manual to tighten the drive system input belt. If you are not sure how, please call the 1-800 number on the product and ask for assistance. The hydro drive system input belt should not slip and when properly adjusted, has plenty of torque to drive this mower. A minor belt adjustment should resolve your performance problem.
If the problem persists, a belt replacement is suggested. If the mower is new, the belt replacement will be covered under warranty. Please call the customer service department and they can provide you with assistance.
I hope this resolves your concern and after making this adjustment, the mower meets or exceeds your performance expectations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Waverly, GA 31565, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product, hard to get used to steering.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product. Turn down engine speed no problem with belt. Once you get the hang of the steering ease of use goes up, will get stuck so a come along comes in handy. I have cut down very large brush if it will climb up the tree/bush it will cut it down. I had to make slight adjustment to the hydro-steer. Wish I had two of them. Oh and I wish it cut the stumps down a little lower.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Rural KY

This Machine IS a Real Beast!

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a machine to clear about 7 years of heavy brush growth from nearly 4 acres consisting mainly of thorny blackberries and vines including honeysuckles. Also mixed in were a large number of small saplings. The field was overgrown to the point you could not walk through it and with vines at 5' - 6' tall, you couldn't really drive a tractor hauling a bush hog. Terrain ranged from fairly level to inclines steep enough that they are difficult to climb on foot.
I had looked at several competing brands, but none had the combination of cutting width and horsepower of the 36BB for the price point. Even the lower powered name brand competitor was more expensive.
Upon delivery (truck with liftgate) and adding a few gallons of gas, the machine started easily. I first tested it in a 3/4 acre field of basically tall grasses and small trees. An hour later, the field was nearly cleared. The hydrostatic drive takes some getting used to and maneuvering this machine will give you a workout, but the results are worth the effort.
Then I tackled the bigger fields and found the same decent results. If it can get over the brush, it cuts it to nearly nothing the way a mulching mower would. The biggest problem I had was keeping the cut vines that had fallen crosswise from blocking forward movement. If I could avoid that, progress was swift. I was surprised at how easily it would climb the hills even while cutting moderate brush.
The biggest problem I had was using reverse. This machine does not back up well if you're on any kind of incline. That may be just an adjustment in the drive system though. Another problem was that I pulled one of the tires partially off the rim. At nearly 500 lbs, I needed a floor jack to remove the wheel and repair the tire. This would probably be better off with some sort of filled or solid tire.
Fuel pressure built up in the tank while inside a shed during a hot summer to the point that it dislodged the outlet at the bottom of the tank which was just a plastic 1/4 barbed fitting. I replaced that with a brass fitting and nut and drilled a small vent hole in the gas cap and have had no further problems.
A word of caution - this is basically a self propelled bush hog and can be dangerous if used carelessly. Make sure no one is in front of the machine while in use due to ejected debris.
This Beast handled the task quite well and now I will probably only have to cut these fields once or twice a year to keep them under control.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from L'Anse, MI 49946, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is commercial rated equipment. It is heavy, and you should watch that you do not over exert yourself during operation.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After arrival, I unwrapped the machine, checked the owner manual for startup procedures and safety of operation. I fueled the machine. It started right away; I backed it off the shipping pallet and put it to work.
This machine is all that the specifications and advertising claims promote. It cuts saplings with ease, like a normal lawn mower cuts grass. The operator must learn to control the machine with properly adjusted controls. Use the machine's controls for maneuvering and cutting. I like this machine very much. It is a good "Beast" for sure.
I am going to try a pair of tire chains on the wheels to see if that might assist traction under less than ideal surface conditions.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from rural Mississippi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An Aptly Named Machine

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine as my DR Field & Brush mower spends too much time in the shop. I use it to cut overgrown areas on my farm that I can't get into with my tractor, areas that have 1-to-3 year old stands of youpon, wax myrtle and other assorted brush and trees. First off, this machine is powerful - unless you really NEED something of this power go with a lighter mower. The steering is problematic unless you've driven a traced machine that relies on relative wheel speed to steer until you get used to it. It will get you into situations you'll have the dickens of a time getting out of, especially on softish and/or uneven ground. As the speed's controlled by the amount of pressure you put on the levers controlled, in forward motion, by your thumbs you can expect some surprises when when you hit a bump until you're used to the system. The tires are more turf than Ag style and will dig the machine into soft or loamy dirt in a heartbeat. As it weighs some 600 pounds don't expect to lift it out by yourself - be prepared to do some pulling with your ATV or tractor. The special tool needed to disengage the transmissions is located under the rear of the machine, heck of a place to store a tool you need to disengage the tranny so you can pull a dug-in machine out. I relocated mine to the handle and will relocate to deck. As forward and reverse speeds are basically controlled by your fingers as you hold on to the handle bar AND depress the operator presence levers - I recommend gloves as you'll have blisters on your hands after a short time mowing. Best gloves I've found are the bulk thin cotton ones with the red/orange rubber palms at Home Depot - cheap, effective and you retain a lot of 'feel' you'd lose with thicker gloves. I'm also looking at having some lifting tabs welded onto the deck and main body when the warranty runs out so that I can vertically remove it with my tractor when it digs in. The deck is about ten times thicker than my DR and by using the wheels in opposition it will turn on its own 'axle'. It's longer than my DR but turns far better.
It has replaced my DR in all but light mowing or mowing in areas where I don't want to accidentally get dragged over the edge of a riverbank. I wouldn't trade the Beast for six other mowers, next to my big tractors and Brush Hog it's the best mower I have BUT if your mowing doesn't require a BEAST (and it is one) stick with something less Beast-ish; however, if you need a machine that will mow through areas that stop my Honda Rancher ATV dead in its tracks, get the Beast.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower

Seems like a great value; time will tell...

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared price & spec's versus competitors, this was the best value "on paper." Ordering and shipping went very smoothly. Obviously a Chinese import but quality seems fine. The thing really is a monster- worked great for 6h then a belt broke. GXI was reasonable about sending replacements. I agree with other comments I read about not-great traction, but am still very satisfied with its capability. There's no provision to change the hydro fluid, so I wonder how long those X-missions will last. But as they say: "so far, so good."
Pros: Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: drive train not well protected
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Cantonment, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for heavily overgrown lots

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are clearing a couple of acres with the mower that is heavily overgrown with thickets and small saplings. The mower takes a little getting use to (very heavy) and you have to learn how to move it threw the underbrush and heavy thickets. It has bogged down a couple of times in heavier composted areas and I feel bigger tires with more grip could be an improvement. We've only had two issues with the unit, one being a pin set came out so we replaced it with a better built pin and one of the bolts to the control handle vibrated loose so we replace it with a better bolt and nut. I have had no other issues with the mower. It is a great product.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from east texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best unit i have used yet, but still not perfect

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This thing really does well for 90 % of what i need, which is mowing high grass and weeds on 7 acres of woods and brush. the hydrostatic transmission is awesome in the dense brush and trees as there is no stopping to shift in and out of different gears, particularly reverse. just a toggle of the hand control. However, the hand controls do get very tiring on the thumb and wrist, and after a full day of running the unit your hands will know they had a long day. But i have to say, it does most of what was expected. I have used three other brands (borrowed or as rentals) and none were as good as this unit on any aspect of the duty.
One big drawback is the tires don't have much traction. Lots of power, and if you can get something into the blade it will cut it (stumps, water lines, fencing, etc). But the tires lack the traction to push over anything much bigger than an inch diameter. Also, if the tires start to spin for any reason, be prepared to back up and start over. once they break traction, that line of cut is over. also gets stuck on wet ground, and if it is boggy, you better be a big fella if you dont have a chain and come-a-long handy.
When you get the unit, buy extra belts before you even take it out to use it. order kevlar belts from a reputable dealer, they are 1/3 the price of the belts from the manufacturer and out last them by a couple 100 percent. Also, decrease the engine speed before disengaging the belt. otherwise, it will likely slip off. if it does come off, and it will, it is relatively easy to slip it back on if you have on gloves and a long sleeve shirt. it is definitely hot around the engine pully.
also, get an extra fuel pump if you are mowing in heavy brush. the pump is exposed to backlash from the brush, and i have broken one already. it is $30 from any lawnmower shop, pretty common item. the unit will run without a pump but it does seem to lose a little power.
Make sure you take the time to optimize your transmissions and get them as balanced as possible. mine were off badly from the factory, almost to the point i sent it back. but it gives directions in the manual on the balance. it is worth the effort. when this unit is set up correctly, it is a pleasure to operate. Kinda pricy, but so far it is worth it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from MN

This product is an animal

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Biggest problem. Keeps throwing the belt. Finally figured out if I slow the throttle down to idle before disengaging the blade the belt stays on... but threw it evertime it was disengaged before that. Pretty tough machine but not meant for rough terrain, which is where my brush is. Tires are undersized thus gets stuck and reguires some real elbow grease to free it up. Cuts through anything once it is on track...
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Sharps Chapel, TN

needs some improvement

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought mower to clear brush areas that the rotary cutter could not get to.
Pros: Strong engine, If material to be cut enters the mower deck area it does a great job. No bogging down. Dual hydrostatic drives allow maneuvering without alot of muscle power although this is still a big heavy machine. Fairly quiet.
Cons: Needs bigger tires. Traction is suboptimal when trying to mow over densely packed brush. Mower belt will not stay on pulley despite replacing belt and retaining clip. Hard to replace in the field as access to pulley is below muffler which stays hot and drive pulley is below motor which is nearly closed in by support structures.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from New york
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NO GOOD

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit in April of 2011 Used the product for less then 1 hour the belt fell off 3 times. Looked at what could be the problem and found the drive pulleys out of alignment by at least 2 inches. Called company spoke with several different people from salesman to engineers and got a story that this was normal and that the belt retainers needed to be adjusted. I Adjusted the retainers and put the belt back on started the unit and it again threw the belt this time tearing the drive belt off and destroying it. Called company again explained that the pulleys should not be off center they told me this time that it was designed that way to except other attachments. I had to deliver the unit to the repair center to be repaired, load it on a trailer drive 18 miles and unload it. The repair center told me they could not believe the unit was designed that way and that they thought it would never work properly. After about 100 telephone calls and six months of trying to get it fixed I finally told them to take it back and that I did not want a machine designed so poorly they had the nerve to tell me to go and pick it up from there service center and pack it up to return it. I said I don't think so. This product is a piece of junk that if you ever are able to use it for any period of time will at the least eat up belts like there candy. Also the wheels and tires are way to small for the weight of this machine. The short amount of time I used it it got stuck in wet ground twice. Nice idea, engineering stinks, customer service is horrible, STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNIT OR YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!! Did not use the machine for seven months and still have not gotten all my money back.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Hot Springs Village, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Poor product

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
returned to Home Depot (Thank-You Home Depot!) after 11.0 hours of run time. The *only* good thing about this mower is that it can really destroy a small tree. The problem is that you don't get much chance to actually *use* the mower. The belt came off almost every time the blade was disengaged, and you have to risk serious burn from the exhaust to try to put the belt back on. The mower was constantly getting stuck due to the rigid design, heavy weight, and the lack of traction control. The forward/reverse controls became a problem after only a few hours of use. No clearance. Bad customer support. Bad manual.
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Hudson, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

when it works it is fine but belts only last a couple of hours

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
belts wear out every couple of hours. Manufacturer does not stand behind the product and we have used it only 40hrs and have gone through about 20 belts....ridiculous
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Tennessee

Prroduct is a great idea that is poorly executed

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used the mower for 2 hours and the mower deck drive belt has come off 5 times. The last time, the belt retainers on both tension pulleys bent. I have talked to GXI customer service and they don't have a solution. I have talked to Home Depot customer service and they gave me 90 days to return the product. So when the weather warms up, I'll be taking it back to Home Depot.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Not Durable, can't use 20 minutes without belt coming off
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Winston, GA 30187, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will do the job!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this brush mower to mow brush, briars, and small saplings on my lake dam which is too steep for my tractor/bushhog, and way too large for any hand work. It did a great job going through everything...i had let this area get overgrown with brush/small trees before cutting. As long as this mower can get on top of pretty much anything, it will cut it. It never choked down or stalled. The only suggestions I have to make it better are larger rear tires for the rutted areas, and maybe some type of heavy duty swivel wheels on the front. This would help the maneuverability greatly in the more extreme terrains. It will give you a work-out in tough terrain, but it will get the job done. Now that i have cut this dam for the first time, it will be much easier to maintain. It starts easy, and will move on flat ground faster than you will want to walk.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
from Georgia

Brush Beast

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Brush Beast mower late last year and, with over 60 hours on the time meter now, am thoroughly satisfied with the machine's performance. The Beast cuts through briars and brambles quite nicely, and takes out most of the back, leg, and arm work required when clearing significantly overgrown areas. The 22-hp engine has never bogged down, and the heavy blades cut through sapplings with ease. Traction does suffer a bit when bumping up against tall brush in sandy soil, which sometimes necessitates slight changes in the direction of approach, but I've never gotten the machine into a position from which it couldn't pull itself out.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower

Terrible

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst if not one of the worst purchases I have ever made. I'm stuck with a "boat anchor."
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, poor balance, won't navigate uneven ground
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. 22 HP Subaru Commercial Duty Dual-Hydro Walk-Behind Brush Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Belt Beast

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It should be called belt beast it loves to eat it's belts, And the thing is made in China the motor is a great part of this mower but that's it, To me this is junk!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Too Heavy, manual does not help you replace the belts, manual is as bad as the mower, why can china sell junk like this and get by with
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>