728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Tool Sets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

42-Piece Household Tool Kit

The Workforce 42-Piece Household Tool Kit comes in a convenient carrying case for easy storage. This tool set is an ideal accessory for jobs around the home or office. The set includes a tape measure, scissors, hammer, utility knife, fastener pack, and screwdriver with 20 bits, precision screwdriver set, bit extender, slip-joint pliers and a hex key set.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product14 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product14 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
Review 1 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Augusta GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really hard to get into - handy when you do

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once opened it's a functional kit of basic tools- worth the price. Packaging is A little too secure: hard, sharp plastic clam shell then 8 tiny little screws- which is why you needed the tool kit to start with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great HomeOwner/Dorm tool kit

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy these in bulk to give away to new homeowners. They are cheep, but if all you want is a hammer to hang up a picture, or a cheap screwdriver to tighten a knob, they work...
They are not Stanley...but a homeowner move in toolkit or a dorm tool kit, it works just fine
Pros: Light Weight, inexpensive, good assortment
Cons: Not Durable, homeowner grade, need tools to open tool packaging
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Cumberland , Rhode Island
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best for small family

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really its a nice product which is affordable. This is very cheap when compared to other product. It has all equipment which will be covered for small family or apartment uses.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Money well spent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It contained the basics needed in one purchase for apartment living
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Washington DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great graduation gift

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 15 of these tool kits for graduation gifts, and I couldn't be happier. The tools are sturdy, plenty of them, and they store neatly in a rugged carrying case. What a great item for students heading to college dorm rooms!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great deal.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great household basic tool kit. Super to have handy for any minor repairs. Great to send to college with your kid or in their car or truck. Good gift idea.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
needed a small tool kit for my apartment and didn't want to spend a lot, this does all I need and didn't break the bank.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

Great Basic Kit

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this kit as I was moving into my first apartment by myself. It has been a great buy, especially for the price. I have had no issues performing basic tasks with the tools provided.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Better to pay more for the tools you need than settle for a bunch you don't

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the most difficult packaging I have ever opened. You actually need a phillips head screwdriver to unpack it because they screwed plastic into the casing.
All of the tools are squished too tightly in the case making it very difficult to remove any tool. I need two hands and a good grip to be able to lift out the tape measure, and I need to squish my finger under the tip of the screwdriver while trying to pry the handle to remove it from the case. Once you get the screw driver removed, you can use it to help pry the other pieces from the case. It's like they used a case that was meant for other tools, but hammered these ones in.I had to file down the edge of the bit holder to even fit it back into the case after I removed it. I can't stress enough how terrible this case is.
The tools themselves are okay. The box cutter is really bad quality and the scissors are cheap, but the rest of the stuff is okay. Low-end, but passable. The tape measure has 1/32 gradations for 6", the hammer is solid albeit a bit small, and the needlenose pliers is about as good as any other pair I've held.
If you want a bunch of cheap loose tools it's not a bad grab-bag, but the case is a piece of junk. I'd recommend buying the tools you need instead of this hodgepodge of build quality.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to remove the tools, cheap build quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything Convenient

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the features of this product, especially the convenience of having everything I need in one convenient place in their own secure compartment. Each piece fit in my hand perfectly, not oversized or hard to manipulate. I would definitely recommend this product to any aspiring females who love to tackle jobs herself.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

42 piece home tool set

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool set feature most all minor tools you need in your home and they work great for minor repairs. The shipment was done in the time allowable to get your item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Graduation Gift

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this 20+ years ago for my high school graduation and still use it today. I have given this as a gift for graduates and have had many positive comments, i.e. in the dorm room, in apartment, handy to keep under the kitchen sink.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: wish it came in pink
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Perfect, Handy Little Tool Kit

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little kit to keep on a different level of your home than where you keep most of your tools. Reasonably priced. I keep this upstairs in my bedroom. That way when I need a hammer, screwdriver, etc., it is handy. No more running up and down the stairs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from West coast of Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought it for my wife to use in the house because it has most everything needed for small projects in the house.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Included in the box is a small hammer, a pair of scissors, a 10ft tape, a cutter, a pair of pliers and a screw driver with multiple screw bits.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, yet has everything when you need it.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of these, one for each regular activity I do. Its convenient and always seems to be needed. Just the thing for little fixes as they arise.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Good product, great price.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Handy toolkit, compact, good quality and excellent price.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: closure was defective on 1 toolkit out of 13 bough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Western NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not very well made, but a good deal overall.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mainly bought this because I work as a retail merchandiser and have to set up/take down displays and open lots of boxes. Sadly the box cutter is made of cheap plastic with a really thin blade, and after using it once, it fell apart. The other tools in the kit are a little more sturdy, but definitely not high quality. You get what you pay for is still a very true adage.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Tuckerton, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product for my girlfriend

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great buy for a lady friend of mine who just bought her own home...Buying it online was fast and easy and picking it up in the store was equally as easy. I will do it again!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.