728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Tool Sets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

42-Piece Household Tool Kit

The Workforce 42-Piece Household Tool Kit comes in a convenient carrying case for easy storage. This tool set is an ideal accessory for jobs around the home or office. The set includes a tape measure, scissors, hammer, utility knife, fastener pack, and screwdriver with 20 bits, precision screwdriver set, bit extender, slip-joint pliers and a hex key set.
Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
Review 1 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Central Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Gift for Dorms, Apts, Condos or New Home Owners

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use these as a Gift for new Homeowners. No they are not great, but if your regular tools are in a box somewhere and all you want to do is hang a picture, tighten a knob, or replace a fixture, they work just fine.
Also great for a "Going away to school" dorm, apartment, or condo tool kit.
I buy them by the case to give away...
Saying they aren't durable as a con wouldn't be fair, these aren't meant to be pro-tools...they are a gift set to get you through moving till you find (buy) some real tools if you need them.
Pros: great gift, perfect for apt & droms, good assortment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Odem Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool Kit

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter for her apartment she just moved into and was very pleased with the quality of the tools especially for the price. Excellent for single women who do not have a garage full of tools. It will take care of the small repairs around the house plus when you have to put something together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

stocking stuffer

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
one of the best gifts for the college student, as it states don't call you can do it
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no instruction required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from bflo n.y.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worth the money, great tool kit for my daughter

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
tool kit had what was needed, very affordable,starter set
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Bristol, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great price, horrible packaging.

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Packaging is horrible. Items have plastic handles and such, but it s a great deal for $5 and good for small projects around the house!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Great price bad packaging

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
hard to open box- great tools but hard to take out tools each time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Belleville, WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for $5

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Beware, the packaging was meant for super Ninjas...pain to get open. The sets will be fine for the Scouts who'll be using them. Right price at 50% off :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from fort lauderdale
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and handy for minor houshold repairs

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent for minor household repairs and handy to have available. I keep in the office
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought several of these. Very good deal. Everybody loves them.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great HomeOwner/Dorm tool kit

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy these in bulk to give away to new homeowners. They are cheep, but if all you want is a hammer to hang up a picture, or a cheap screwdriver to tighten a knob, they work...
They are not Stanley...but a homeowner move in toolkit or a dorm tool kit, it works just fine
Pros: Light Weight, inexpensive, good assortment
Cons: Not Durable, homeowner grade, need tools to open tool packaging
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great purchase!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a few of these to give away as gifts for my clients, who were first time home buyers. Excellent value and quality. Very impressed. I'll be buying more.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

super deal

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I strongly recommend this. For this price...it's a steal !
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a small tool kit for an apartment and this kit is perfect and a super price.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Handy

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has the basics for general home use. I've used it numerous times and the tools are sturdy. It is better than what I expected for the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Augusta GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really hard to get into - handy when you do

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once opened it's a functional kit of basic tools- worth the price. Packaging is A little too secure: hard, sharp plastic clam shell then 8 tiny little screws- which is why you needed the tool kit to start with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Cumberland , Rhode Island
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best for small family

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really its a nice product which is affordable. This is very cheap when compared to other product. It has all equipment which will be covered for small family or apartment uses.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Money well spent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It contained the basics needed in one purchase for apartment living
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit
from Washington DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great graduation gift

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 15 of these tool kits for graduation gifts, and I couldn't be happier. The tools are sturdy, plenty of them, and they store neatly in a rugged carrying case. What a great item for students heading to college dorm rooms!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Better to pay more for the tools you need than settle for a bunch you don't

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the most difficult packaging I have ever opened. You actually need a phillips head screwdriver to unpack it because they screwed plastic into the casing.
All of the tools are squished too tightly in the case making it very difficult to remove any tool. I need two hands and a good grip to be able to lift out the tape measure, and I need to squish my finger under the tip of the screwdriver while trying to pry the handle to remove it from the case. Once you get the screw driver removed, you can use it to help pry the other pieces from the case. It's like they used a case that was meant for other tools, but hammered these ones in.I had to file down the edge of the bit holder to even fit it back into the case after I removed it. I can't stress enough how terrible this case is.
The tools themselves are okay. The box cutter is really bad quality and the scissors are cheap, but the rest of the stuff is okay. Low-end, but passable. The tape measure has 1/32 gradations for 6", the hammer is solid albeit a bit small, and the needlenose pliers is about as good as any other pair I've held.
If you want a bunch of cheap loose tools it's not a bad grab-bag, but the case is a piece of junk. I'd recommend buying the tools you need instead of this hodgepodge of build quality.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to remove the tools, cheap build quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42-Piece Household Tool Kit

Perfect, Handy Little Tool Kit

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little kit to keep on a different level of your home than where you keep most of your tools. Reasonably priced. I keep this upstairs in my bedroom. That way when I need a hammer, screwdriver, etc., it is handy. No more running up and down the stairs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>