728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Tool Sets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)

Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)

The Workforce 42-Piece Household Tool Kit comes in a convenient carrying case for easy storage. This tool set is an ideal accessory for jobs around the home or office. The set includes a tape measure, scissors, hammer, utility knife, fastener pack, and screwdriver with 20 bits, precision screwdriver set, bit extender, slip-joint pliers and a hex key set.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Review 1 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Ibbob
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great HomeOwner/Dorm tool kit

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I buy these in bulk to give away to new homeowners. They are cheep, but if all you want is a hammer to hang up a picture, or a cheap screwdriver to tighten a knob, they work...
They are not Stanley...but a homeowner move in toolkit or a dorm tool kit, it works just fine
Pros: Light Weight, inexpensive, good assortment
Cons: Not Durable, homeowner grade, need tools to open tool packaging
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Sista
from Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything Convenient

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the features of this product, especially the convenience of having everything I need in one convenient place in their own secure compartment. Each piece fit in my hand perfectly, not oversized or hard to manipulate. I would definitely recommend this product to any aspiring females who love to tackle jobs herself.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Leon
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

42 piece home tool set

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool set feature most all minor tools you need in your home and they work great for minor repairs. The shipment was done in the time allowable to get your item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Ron1
from West coast of Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought it for my wife to use in the house because it has most everything needed for small projects in the house.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Included in the box is a small hammer, a pair of scissors, a 10ft tape, a cutter, a pair of pliers and a screw driver with multiple screw bits.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
RRH6
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, yet has everything when you need it.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of these, one for each regular activity I do. Its convenient and always seems to be needed. Just the thing for little fixes as they arise.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Gavin

Better to pay more for the tools you need than settle for a bunch you don't

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the most difficult packaging I have ever opened. You actually need a phillips head screwdriver to unpack it because they screwed plastic into the casing.
All of the tools are squished too tightly in the case making it very difficult to remove any tool. I need two hands and a good grip to be able to lift out the tape measure, and I need to squish my finger under the tip of the screwdriver while trying to pry the handle to remove it from the case. Once you get the screw driver removed, you can use it to help pry the other pieces from the case. It's like they used a case that was meant for other tools, but hammered these ones in.I had to file down the edge of the bit holder to even fit it back into the case after I removed it. I can't stress enough how terrible this case is.
The tools themselves are okay. The box cutter is really bad quality and the scissors are cheap, but the rest of the stuff is okay. Low-end, but passable. The tape measure has 1/32 gradations for 6", the hammer is solid albeit a bit small, and the needlenose pliers is about as good as any other pair I've held.
If you want a bunch of cheap loose tools it's not a bad grab-bag, but the case is a piece of junk. I'd recommend buying the tools you need instead of this hodgepodge of build quality.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to remove the tools, cheap build quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
snowangel

Perfect, Handy Little Tool Kit

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little kit to keep on a different level of your home than where you keep most of your tools. Reasonably priced. I keep this upstairs in my bedroom. That way when I need a hammer, screwdriver, etc., it is handy. No more running up and down the stairs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Sedalia1

Good product, great price.

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Handy toolkit, compact, good quality and excellent price.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: closure was defective on 1 toolkit out of 13 bough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
ourhennhouse
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Graduation Gift

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this 20+ years ago for my high school graduation and still use it today. I have given this as a gift for graduates and have had many positive comments, i.e. in the dorm room, in apartment, handy to keep under the kitchen sink.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: wish it came in pink
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
jtchristian
from Western NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not very well made, but a good deal overall.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I mainly bought this because I work as a retail merchandiser and have to set up/take down displays and open lots of boxes. Sadly the box cutter is made of cheap plastic with a really thin blade, and after using it once, it fell apart. The other tools in the kit are a little more sturdy, but definitely not high quality. You get what you pay for is still a very true adage.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Household Tool Kit (42-Piece)
Eileen
from Tuckerton, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product for my girlfriend

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great buy for a lady friend of mine who just bought her own home...Buying it online was fast and easy and picking it up in the store was equally as easy. I will do it again!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.