728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

This Ecosmart 14 oz. Ready-to-use organic ant and roach killer is a plant-based insecticide that is safe to use around your children and pets. Use this non-toxic spray bug killer indoors to exterminate ants and roaches fast. Rid your home of nuisance and disease-carrying pests with this eco-friendly insecticide.
Overall rating:
3.267 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
Review 1 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from Mission Viejo, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe & Effective

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used EcoSmart Ant & Roach Spray for about 4 years. I've tried all the other natural stuff like vinegar, Windex, etc. I won't use a truly toxic product in the house around my dogs. The spray works right away, and has a wonderful, fresh-mint smell. I've had friends ask, "Wow, what smells so good?" If they made an an freshener, it would be the best available.
The residual effect of EcoSmart is not as persistent as the sprays with the *Poison* warnings. For the reviewer who said the can would not empty completely, you must read the directions. This product is a mixture of mint & canola oil. It has to be shaken VERY vigorously to combine the ingredients &, ensure that it is effectively dispensed. Love, love, love it.
Pros: fragrant, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

Kills spiders & crickets + keeps them out!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because of the strong Wintergreen Smell I use disposable gloves when spraying. It kills spiders and crickets very well. I sprayed a barrier across the outside of my entryways (doors). If the Wintergreen smell comes inside I simply use Lemon Pledge on the inside door saddles. I hear the crickets in the distance now and the spiders have set up webs further away from our doors as well. I treat it like poison but I am grateful it is actually petsafe and kidsafe. I will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kills ants, doesn't hurt pets

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product kills ants (thankfully, I do not have roaches, so I can't say how effective it is on them). I am thankful to have a pet-safe product that will deal with the ants that just won't leave my house alone, no matter how clean I keep things.
The smell is strong, and if you hate the scent of wintergreen, you may want to avoid this product. I don't mind the scent. I much prefer it to having ants crawling all over my kitchen.
No, it doesn't work forever. You have to spray again, possibly as soon as a day later. I don't consider that a problem.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from Washington, DC

AMAZING!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the only product that has ever rid my house of ants. I tried the traps & other sprays and the ants kept coming. This product works and it is pet safe. It has a great wintergreen smell and after spraying the area ants come in from (my dog's doggie door area), the ants stay away for 3-4 weeks. Then I just re-treat. It is truly an amazing product!!! Please, please never discontinue this product! It's hard enough to find it and I just can't bear another summer without it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

This is good stuff!

PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have VERY persistent ants, and roaches that pretty much hang out in the sliding glass door track waiting to come in for crumbs under our table each summer--GROSS! This summer, I was determined not to put up with it anymore. But I have 3 small children and will not use chemical sprays. I have been using this spray to cut off the entry point where ants come in; they have found new entry points that I blocked off the same way...each time I have used this product, the ants never came back from the same entry point, and now they are gone. I sprayed pretty heavily along the sliding door track, and now I just do not find bugs in our house like before! No more roaches hanging out. Just re-spray as needed. Use it wisely, though. I learned the first time I sprayed it all over the floor, leaving a strong wintergreen smell and an oily residue! (Clean up with dish-soapy water.) Nothing wrong with a little wintergreen smell, but it can be overpowering. The key is using it ONLY on the point of entry--not everywhere, not along the whole trail of ants inside the house (use a milder product like windex or Ortho Elementals soybean-oil-based home insect killer, or just a piece of packaging tape to pick up the trail of ants inside once the entry point is blocked off). Also, wipe up excess product when used indoors, just like the instructions say. I plan to treat the entire outdoor perimeter of our house as well. I am so grateful to have found this product. Our home is not gross anymore :)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from Silverdale, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT ANT and BUG KILLER!!

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am SO tired of toxic chemicals, so this was a breath of fresh air in more ways than one. A. It killed the bugs that were coming in with one application, and kept them away, they never returned (this was over 2 years ago), and this was a foreclosure with a major ant infestation. B. I would MUCH rather smell spearmint and cinnamon (we love both), and admire the fact this company figured out a way to use a NATURAL, NON-TOXIC way to rid your home of bugs. It's a shame that some people don't recognize a good thing when they see it (I'm guessing the 1 star reviews are written by those under 35 with beyond unrealistic expectations). I run a high end vacation rental, and run into this mind set periodically.
Pros: Great Quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

worked pretty well, if you don't mind the smell...

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This spray did the job. Not immediately, but after a couple days the ants were all gone. It has an intense wintergreen smell, but that's better than harmful chemicals!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from new jersey

Excellent product

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the product a week ago for the first time. it works really well. I will buy it again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

NEVER WILL USE AGAIN!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have tried this product only because it said it was pet friendly. Kills ants, however they are back the very next day, if not later on the same day, and the smell is HORRID! I wouldnt want my pets even breathing it in... I have had company come over and say it smells like Bengay or toilet bowl cleaner in our home. Its so strong i would rather have the ants...I dont ever plan on using this product again.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from red oak
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GReat product..

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works really well.. going try their other products...
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from Yucca Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The spray does not work after one of two applications

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product should be removed from the shelves. The spray mechanism fails after one, or if your lucky, two sprays. I bought five cans, and all but two were completely useless, and not a single can aerosolized more than a third of the contents. It is not that good anyway, but I need a product such as this for thesafety of my pets. Unfortunately I did not keep my receipt and I do not use my Home Depot credit card because of the manner in which the provider calculates interest. I urge customers not to buy this product.
Cons: spray does not work.
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

This product is a joke

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The odor is very unpleasant, it din't do anything to roaches, it will kill ants but they would come back the very next day. only reason why I purchased this product was the fact that is pet friendly and I was going to use it inside the house. Overall this product didn't do anything for me, I don't recommend it to anyone.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from somewhere

Eco Smart ant and bug spray

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. While it may kill the bugs and it may be good for the environment. This stuff literally stinks. My house has now smelled like spearmint and cinnamon for the past three days and is not showing any signs of letting up. We only used it in the pantry to get rid of a few ants and it stunk up the entire house. Tried scrubbing it away. Tried to use Febreeze, baking soda, candles and the windows open. Nothing cuts down on this stuff smell. Do not use this stuff unless its in a detached part of the house or you really care about the environment that bad to have your house smell like a stick of winter fresh gum.
-11points
2out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
from TENNESSEE

SMELLS

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
USED THIS PRODUCT THE OTHER DAY, IN ONE LITTLE AREA, SMELLED THE WHOLE HOUSE PLUS THE GARAGE UP, THIS IS NOT WORTH 2 CENTS, TOOK IT BACK, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE, DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer

STINKS, STANK, STUNK ! !

PostedApril 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY THIS STUFF. i will keep the ants rather than put up with the urinal cake smell of this stuff
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.