728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

EcoSmart 24 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Garden Insect Killer exterminates and repels garden insects and mites. The non-toxic formula is safe to use around children and pets and it is safe to spray on the same day you harvest from your garden. This organic, eco-friendly insecticide kills exposed eggs, larvae and adult insects on contact.
Overall rating:
3.306 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product32 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product32 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Review 1 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plant killer

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My perennial hibiscus was in need of a sawfly pesticide. This product wilted and killed my plant just hours after application. This was also used on 3 year old pansies that have survived two harsh winters and two very hot summers! But this spray killed everything. I am trying to contact the product today to see if there is any way I can salvage my plants. They were beautiful before this spray was used and wilted and dead now. Very angry. If I can suggest anything... maybe try this product on just ONE LEAF before drenching the entire plant. I myself did not apply this product to my plants... and maybe if I had I would have done the same... but please use a "test" spot before using it on all of your plants. So much for organic...
Cons: kills your plants, does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Denver, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Disappointment

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to kill those annoying flea beetles on my tomato plants. I have used it maybe ten times, and it hasn't had any effect on the flea beetles and they continue to eat holes in the leaves. At least it didn't harm the plants.
Pros: pleasant scent, organic
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Birmingham Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very decent, non-toxic, pet and pregnant wife friendly and even good smelling product!!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is nice to have an environmentally friendly product that actually also does the job.
We had bugs eating the hibiscus and this worked pretty well. I tried it on infected tomatoes and morning glories too and it worked but as it warns in the instructions, I would be careful doing this when it's going to be blistering hot with the sun beating down like in Birmingham Alabama - the leaves started drying and wilting where I "overtreated" .
Our dog, the pregnant wife and everyone is happy to have this product!
As you can see by the pictures the morning glories and vegetables, all treated with this - are doing great!
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Killed my plants too!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others mentioned this wiped out my garden too, within 24 hours the zucchini was dead and the peppers and tomato leaves all have brown spots. Sooo disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Central FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be re-labeled as a herbacide

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied to vegetable garden plants per label directions on a cool spring evening. Woke up the next morning to the okra and peppers completely wiped out. Artichoke seriously damaged, kale, collards and broccoli burned in a spray pattern where applied. The spray caused far more damage to the plants than the insects I was attempting to control. I'm going to use the rest of the bottle on the dollar-weed in the yard, maybe it will be as effective as a weed killer.
Don't make the same mistake I did. TEST on a small area first.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Gender:Female

Product Useful but Insecticidal Soap Better

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
For those complaining about it killng their flowers and plants, please be advised that the product specifically states not to spray on tender flowers and new growing plants. It is because they are not well-established enough to handle a foreign material, especially on new buds/leaves. Even spraying in the evening to avoid sunburning will not protect new growth from being harmed. This product helps kill a small variety of insects, but does not protect against everything. You would be better off obtaining an organic insecticidal soap that specifies what insects it protects against.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from North Little Rock, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Only thing I can see that "EcoSmart garden insect killer" is killing is my plants

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed my cucumbers,tomatoes, squash,peas and pepper plants. I followed directions- shook well- cool overcast day- temps below 85 all day…………. immediately following my plants began to wither. The slight damage due to insects (a few nibbled leaves) has quickly become minor compared to the damage this spray has caused. I'm hoping to save my plants at this point it is not looking good. I hope Home Depot reads their customer reviews and removes this product from their shelves!
Cons: kills vegatation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Madison, WI

It really works!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Though I was skeptical, I bought a bottle of this to combat aphids on an indoor Hibiscus plant. I have a toddler and a dog, so I had to use something that was kid and pet safe. I sprayed the plant thoroughly, and to my surprise, 24 hours later there were no more aphids! I kept checking back for several days just to be sure, but it's been several months and I have yet to see another one anywhere on the plant. Then, I decided to try it on our Japanese beetle infestation this summer. A quick shot seems to disable them pretty quickly, and they fall to the ground and die shortly thereafter. I also sprayed my cherry trees and raspberry bushes, and for a day or two it also seems to repel bugs, at least until the rain washed it off. Has a somewhat strong, yet pleasant, odor stemming from the peppermint oil. I would highly recommend this to anyone with kids and/or pets- it really worked!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Glenside, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great spray for my chili peppers!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical after reading some of the negative reviews, especially with the comments about burning the leaves etc on plants. However, I followed the directions carefully, and sprayed the leaves at night time, well after sunset. When I awoke in the morning, I found a plant full of dead aphids or mites. After the next rain, the plants were all clean and bug-free. I only had to spray one time, and it has been two months of bug-free produce!
This is highly recommended, is easy to use, cheap, and best of all - made from natural botanical oils.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Astoria, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Kills everything and is safe

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not a big believer in organic pest control...they never seem to work. However I have a dog and didn't want to risk spraying my house plants with something that would harm him.
I had a bad spider mite infestation on my succulent garden. One squirt of this stuff and they were dead and gone, and never came back.
I had a super sized bottle of this stuff now and found I had an ant trail from my garden right to my kitchen window. I have avoided spraying Ortho and the like because of my dog, so thought I'd try this spray. I thoroughly sprayed the window and the trail outdoors. I haven't had an ant in the house for a year...it killed the ants and their trail. I've never had a synthetic chemical killer do this, especially after it rained.
I highly recommend this product. It's not synthetic or harmful to the environment, yet very effective. I wish all the products I used could make that claim.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Good non-toxic formula, but you've got to stay on it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product did a good job at controlling pests in my garden while not threatening us with any chemicals that we would then be bringing into our home. I did notice, however, that quite a lot of the product was necessary to control the pest population in our backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as advertised and spray bottle works fine and does not clog.
Pros: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The product itself is effective, but it was frustrating to have it delivered with a stream rather than a fine spray. A spray option would make it easier to cover the leaves. As it was, the product was dripping and going places it shouldn't.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: difficult to apply. bottle would not spray.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killed worms on my Tomatoes

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I think it slowed down / killed the small worms that were eating my fall tomatoes. So I'm hoping for a good harvest soon.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

It's safe to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works sufficiently, but not as good or as fast as the dangerous posions. So you have to give up the fast killing power of other chemicals, for it's safeness around pets and chrildren.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Tomato plants went from healthy to death's door

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed my established (4-5 foot tall) tomato plants last night after sundown in hopes of getting rid of whatever is eating my tomatoes. My plants were lush and happy. Today, I went outside and half the leaves are brown, there are huge brown spots on the stems, and I was freaking out that it might be late blight. But after plenty of research, it seems to be this spray. I will never use it again and I can only hope that my precious tomatoes will bounce back. Don't buy this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

no help

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
lost my whole crop. didn't help at all.it really stinks. it's a waste of money. is that enough text?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

not good for Tomatoes

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Does good at controlling the bugs but will kill tomatoes. Also turned the leaves brown on my lime leaf plant.
Pros: natural, pleasent scent
Cons: kills some vegtables.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims to do, but limited in effectiveness

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's great that this product is eco-friendly, organic, and non-toxic, but unfortunately it's use is limited by the weather. You don't want to spray this on when it's hot because it could cause scorching on the leaves. And, you don't want to spray this when it's likely to rain in the next few hours, because it'll wash off (a very light rain might actually help, but anything prolonged will wash it off).
That being said, my plants definitely perked up when the irritating pests were killed or deterred by the spray.
Pros: kills and deters bugs
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

great stuff

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product is excellent.in a matter of days it got rid of all the aphids that were taking over my green peppers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>