728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

EcoSmart 24 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Garden Insect Killer exterminates and repels garden insects and mites. The non-toxic formula is safe to use around children and pets and it is safe to spray on the same day you harvest from your garden. This organic, eco-friendly insecticide kills exposed eggs, larvae and adult insects on contact.
Overall rating:
3.378 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product26 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product26 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Review 1 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from North Little Rock, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Only thing I can see that "EcoSmart garden insect killer" is killing is my plants

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed my cucumbers,tomatoes, squash,peas and pepper plants. I followed directions- shook well- cool overcast day- temps below 85 all day…………. immediately following my plants began to wither. The slight damage due to insects (a few nibbled leaves) has quickly become minor compared to the damage this spray has caused. I'm hoping to save my plants at this point it is not looking good. I hope Home Depot reads their customer reviews and removes this product from their shelves!
Cons: kills vegatation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Central FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be re-labeled as a herbacide

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied to vegetable garden plants per label directions on a cool spring evening. Woke up the next morning to the okra and peppers completely wiped out. Artichoke seriously damaged, kale, collards and broccoli burned in a spray pattern where applied. The spray caused far more damage to the plants than the insects I was attempting to control. I'm going to use the rest of the bottle on the dollar-weed in the yard, maybe it will be as effective as a weed killer.
Don't make the same mistake I did. TEST on a small area first.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from minneapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very strong smell of anise

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
be careful where you spray this.. has a very strong smell not very pleasant but it seems to work well on the smaller bugs (afids/nats) did not work on ant - any type
Pros: Easy to Clean, natural
Cons: need to keep reapplying after the rain strong sm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Stanton, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ineffective product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The back label on this insecticide states that whiteflies can be killed and repelled with this spray. As I was spraying my hanging fushia, the whiteflies merely lifted up and settled down on the plant again. This spray is completely useless!
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

DO NOT USE

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff killed everything I spayed. All the leaves of my cabbage, broccoli and Brussels sprouts look like they have been burned. I am hugely disappointed and hoping for a recovery, but who knows. I wanted to go organic, but thanks to this stuff I am going back to Ortho products.
Cons: kills your garden
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great non-toxic solution to may of my veg garden's pests.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on my organic garden. Works most of the time. Some pests you have to get them early or forget about it.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT, GREAT Product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really works, and the smell is not bad at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Age Range:25 to 34

Awesome garden tool

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that this product is safe to use on veggies. No need to cover skin when applying. Works great to keep pests off all garden veggies- broccoli, peppers, tomatoes, brussellsprouts, corn, cucumbers, sunflowers, etc. Also, a very pleasant scent from the oils.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Good non-toxic formula, but you've got to stay on it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product did a good job at controlling pests in my garden while not threatening us with any chemicals that we would then be bringing into our home. I did notice, however, that quite a lot of the product was necessary to control the pest population in our backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product itself is effective, but it was frustrating to have it delivered with a stream rather than a fine spray. A spray option would make it easier to cover the leaves. As it was, the product was dripping and going places it shouldn't.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: difficult to apply. bottle would not spray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Taylors, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Friendly to Environment

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this insect killer very near a large Lake and I like the fact that it is safe to use in this type application from an environmental point of view.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Killed ants not my dog.

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product did the job of killing ants without harming my dog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The verdict is still out on this.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Well, I planted some zennias and the leaves are all eaten away. Waiting see if this product will really work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This organic product is an excellent chioce

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am no longer afraid to spray this insect spray inside my home, plants, or dogs. Yes, inside my home no issues with biting fleas, mites, or bed bugs. My plants are able to grow without leafs being eating, insect or flies laying eggs. And last but not least, yes good fly, mosquito, and flea repellent for my dogs. (spray on back bone and brush coat). No flies, or mosquitos swarming around or landing on them [even while they eat] All natural ingredients.
Pros: Multi Use
Cons: label states "garden" insect killer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Bueno, Not Good!!!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff killed my veggie plants and it's to late to re-plant. Guess we will try again next year. Lesson learned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised and spray bottle works fine and does not clog.
Pros: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Doesn't work on aphids

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this extremely liberally on an aphind infested Soledago. The nest day I couldn't see that it had any effect at all. A follow up spray with a solution of Meyer's dish soap and water killed about 90% in 24hrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Won't buy this again!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used product exactly as directed and wiped out EVERYTHING.....pests were gone but so are the plants. Now we 've got to start alllllll over!!!! VERY DISSATISFIED!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Gender:Female

Product Useful but Insecticidal Soap Better

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For those complaining about it killng their flowers and plants, please be advised that the product specifically states not to spray on tender flowers and new growing plants. It is because they are not well-established enough to handle a foreign material, especially on new buds/leaves. Even spraying in the evening to avoid sunburning will not protect new growth from being harmed. This product helps kill a small variety of insects, but does not protect against everything. You would be better off obtaining an organic insecticidal soap that specifies what insects it protects against.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Madison, WI

It really works!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though I was skeptical, I bought a bottle of this to combat aphids on an indoor Hibiscus plant. I have a toddler and a dog, so I had to use something that was kid and pet safe. I sprayed the plant thoroughly, and to my surprise, 24 hours later there were no more aphids! I kept checking back for several days just to be sure, but it's been several months and I have yet to see another one anywhere on the plant. Then, I decided to try it on our Japanese beetle infestation this summer. A quick shot seems to disable them pretty quickly, and they fall to the ground and die shortly thereafter. I also sprayed my cherry trees and raspberry bushes, and for a day or two it also seems to repel bugs, at least until the rain washed it off. Has a somewhat strong, yet pleasant, odor stemming from the peppermint oil. I would highly recommend this to anyone with kids and/or pets- it really worked!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>