728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

EcoSmart 24 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Garden Insect Killer exterminates and repels garden insects and mites. The non-toxic formula is safe to use around children and pets and it is safe to spray on the same day you harvest from your garden. This organic, eco-friendly insecticide kills exposed eggs, larvae and adult insects on contact.
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Review 1 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Angus
from Central FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be re-labeled as a herbacide

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied to vegetable garden plants per label directions on a cool spring evening. Woke up the next morning to the okra and peppers completely wiped out. Artichoke seriously damaged, kale, collards and broccoli burned in a spray pattern where applied. The spray caused far more damage to the plants than the insects I was attempting to control. I'm going to use the rest of the bottle on the dollar-weed in the yard, maybe it will be as effective as a weed killer.
Don't make the same mistake I did. TEST on a small area first.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
trd2d

Good non-toxic formula, but you've got to stay on it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product did a good job at controlling pests in my garden while not threatening us with any chemicals that we would then be bringing into our home. I did notice, however, that quite a lot of the product was necessary to control the pest population in our backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
daver
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised and spray bottle works fine and does not clog.
Pros: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Jess
Gender:Female

Product Useful but Insecticidal Soap Better

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For those complaining about it killng their flowers and plants, please be advised that the product specifically states not to spray on tender flowers and new growing plants. It is because they are not well-established enough to handle a foreign material, especially on new buds/leaves. Even spraying in the evening to avoid sunburning will not protect new growth from being harmed. This product helps kill a small variety of insects, but does not protect against everything. You would be better off obtaining an organic insecticidal soap that specifies what insects it protects against.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
OldHomeOwner
from Tacoma, WA, USA

Piece of mind

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't like to use poisons around the house as I have pets. I have lots of indoor plants, that I found aphids on. I sprayed the plants as directed and the product took effect and worked as described. I also sprayed it around the perimeter of the house about three months ago now, and so far no bugs! I would say the only con is that EcoSmart does have a strong but natural scent; took about a day for it to subside.
Pros: safe and effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
MadTownMama
from Madison, WI

It really works!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though I was skeptical, I bought a bottle of this to combat aphids on an indoor Hibiscus plant. I have a toddler and a dog, so I had to use something that was kid and pet safe. I sprayed the plant thoroughly, and to my surprise, 24 hours later there were no more aphids! I kept checking back for several days just to be sure, but it's been several months and I have yet to see another one anywhere on the plant. Then, I decided to try it on our Japanese beetle infestation this summer. A quick shot seems to disable them pretty quickly, and they fall to the ground and die shortly thereafter. I also sprayed my cherry trees and raspberry bushes, and for a day or two it also seems to repel bugs, at least until the rain washed it off. Has a somewhat strong, yet pleasant, odor stemming from the peppermint oil. I would highly recommend this to anyone with kids and/or pets- it really worked!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
AstoriaGardener
from Astoria, Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Kills everything and is safe

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a big believer in organic pest control...they never seem to work. However I have a dog and didn't want to risk spraying my house plants with something that would harm him.
I had a bad spider mite infestation on my succulent garden. One squirt of this stuff and they were dead and gone, and never came back.
I had a super sized bottle of this stuff now and found I had an ant trail from my garden right to my kitchen window. I have avoided spraying Ortho and the like because of my dog, so thought I'd try this spray. I thoroughly sprayed the window and the trail outdoors. I haven't had an ant in the house for a year...it killed the ants and their trail. I've never had a synthetic chemical killer do this, especially after it rained.
I highly recommend this product. It's not synthetic or harmful to the environment, yet very effective. I wish all the products I used could make that claim.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Chris
from Fort Lauderdale
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it on my key lime and herb garden works great keeping away the bugs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Tomatoe
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killed worms on my Tomatoes

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think it slowed down / killed the small worms that were eating my fall tomatoes. So I'm hoping for a good harvest soon.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Chicagocondo

Purchased this to control water bugs

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have 2 problems in the back yard right now. Water bugs and carpenter bee's. Two days ago I sprayed the area with the water bugs, and haven't seen them since.
Last night I used it on my fence in hopes it would repel those pesky carpenter bee's. I have been watching the yard and the fence [trust me those suckers are so big you cannot miss them] and I haven't seen them back. I don't know if it's the smell or what, but I've had luck so far.
Pros: Multi Use, it almost smells like peppermint
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
APorter
from Plano, TX, USA

Killed the bugs and my Roses

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this product as directed, after sunset (circa 8:45pm CST). Went out into the Garden the next morning to water and found all of my roses had turned brown and yellow overnight. One $6.00 bottle of this product took out $120.00 worth of Knockout rose bushes. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!
Cons: kills roses
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
maggie
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

It's safe to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works sufficiently, but not as good or as fast as the dangerous posions. So you have to give up the fast killing power of other chemicals, for it's safeness around pets and chrildren.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
bsm1300
from Kendall Park, South Brunswick Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

effective and easy to use

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most reasonable product that is on the market today. I have been using it for several years.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Andy
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it claims to do, but limited in effectiveness

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's great that this product is eco-friendly, organic, and non-toxic, but unfortunately it's use is limited by the weather. You don't want to spray this on when it's hot because it could cause scorching on the leaves. And, you don't want to spray this when it's likely to rain in the next few hours, because it'll wash off (a very light rain might actually help, but anything prolonged will wash it off).
That being said, my plants definitely perked up when the irritating pests were killed or deterred by the spray.
Pros: kills and deters bugs
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Gman

Worked okay - but not against all insects

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Kept most harmful insects off plants but no effect against moth caterpillars. Had better results with Insecticidal soap spray. Both products are organic.
Pros: Multi Use, good for organic gardens
Cons: not 100% effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
mike
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kills um DEAD

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good stuff Kills um Deader than a doornail the bugs don't have a chance with this product
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
JavaJen
from Atlanta
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works and smells nice, too

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spray killed the bugs that were on my indoor house plant. The spray had a very pleasant and organic smell. I was expecting the typical chemical smell but was pleasantly surprised.
I recommend this spray and will try more products from this line.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Phil
from Alameda
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this to kills the aphids on my tomatoes. It worked. It killed them and killed the plants! Avoid this "eco" stuff.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
KamK
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best toaster ever

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The slanted top of the toaster and the lift function are outstanding.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
kauaipaddler

I like that it is non-toxic for use on vegetable plants.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Seems to work as advertised. Time will tell if this is worth what I paid.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>