728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

EcoSmart 24 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Garden Insect Killer exterminates and repels garden insects and mites. The non-toxic formula is safe to use around children and pets and it is safe to spray on the same day you harvest from your garden. This organic, eco-friendly insecticide kills exposed eggs, larvae and adult insects on contact.
Overall rating:
3.457 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product32 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product32 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Review 1 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Birmingham Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very decent, non-toxic, pet and pregnant wife friendly and even good smelling product!!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is nice to have an environmentally friendly product that actually also does the job.
We had bugs eating the hibiscus and this worked pretty well. I tried it on infected tomatoes and morning glories too and it worked but as it warns in the instructions, I would be careful doing this when it's going to be blistering hot with the sun beating down like in Birmingham Alabama - the leaves started drying and wilting where I "overtreated" .
Our dog, the pregnant wife and everyone is happy to have this product!
As you can see by the pictures the morning glories and vegetables, all treated with this - are doing great!
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Glenside, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great spray for my chili peppers!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical after reading some of the negative reviews, especially with the comments about burning the leaves etc on plants. However, I followed the directions carefully, and sprayed the leaves at night time, well after sunset. When I awoke in the morning, I found a plant full of dead aphids or mites. After the next rain, the plants were all clean and bug-free. I only had to spray one time, and it has been two months of bug-free produce!
This is highly recommended, is easy to use, cheap, and best of all - made from natural botanical oils.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from North Little Rock, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Only thing I can see that "EcoSmart garden insect killer" is killing is my plants

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed my cucumbers,tomatoes, squash,peas and pepper plants. I followed directions- shook well- cool overcast day- temps below 85 all day…………. immediately following my plants began to wither. The slight damage due to insects (a few nibbled leaves) has quickly become minor compared to the damage this spray has caused. I'm hoping to save my plants at this point it is not looking good. I hope Home Depot reads their customer reviews and removes this product from their shelves!
Cons: kills vegatation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Central FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be re-labeled as a herbacide

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied to vegetable garden plants per label directions on a cool spring evening. Woke up the next morning to the okra and peppers completely wiped out. Artichoke seriously damaged, kale, collards and broccoli burned in a spray pattern where applied. The spray caused far more damage to the plants than the insects I was attempting to control. I'm going to use the rest of the bottle on the dollar-weed in the yard, maybe it will be as effective as a weed killer.
Don't make the same mistake I did. TEST on a small area first.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

no help

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
lost my whole crop. didn't help at all.it really stinks. it's a waste of money. is that enough text?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

not good for Tomatoes

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Does good at controlling the bugs but will kill tomatoes. Also turned the leaves brown on my lime leaf plant.
Pros: natural, pleasent scent
Cons: kills some vegtables.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Tomato plants went from healthy to death's door

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed my established (4-5 foot tall) tomato plants last night after sundown in hopes of getting rid of whatever is eating my tomatoes. My plants were lush and happy. Today, I went outside and half the leaves are brown, there are huge brown spots on the stems, and I was freaking out that it might be late blight. But after plenty of research, it seems to be this spray. I will never use it again and I can only hope that my precious tomatoes will bounce back. Don't buy this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

great stuff

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is excellent.in a matter of days it got rid of all the aphids that were taking over my green peppers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from philadelphia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great natural pest control

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to get rid of the caterpillar infestation...just had to use the spray 2x a day for 2 days..
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

Good non-toxic formula, but you've got to stay on it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product did a good job at controlling pests in my garden while not threatening us with any chemicals that we would then be bringing into our home. I did notice, however, that quite a lot of the product was necessary to control the pest population in our backyard.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like that you can use it on your garden immediately if you see insects.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Great Falls, MT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works as advertised

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our lawn service recommended this product for spider mites on our shrubs. It was easy to use, worked as described and doesn't have to be reapplied every few days. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Gender:Female

Product Useful but Insecticidal Soap Better

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For those complaining about it killng their flowers and plants, please be advised that the product specifically states not to spray on tender flowers and new growing plants. It is because they are not well-established enough to handle a foreign material, especially on new buds/leaves. Even spraying in the evening to avoid sunburning will not protect new growth from being harmed. This product helps kill a small variety of insects, but does not protect against everything. You would be better off obtaining an organic insecticidal soap that specifies what insects it protects against.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from minneapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very strong smell of anise

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
be careful where you spray this.. has a very strong smell not very pleasant but it seems to work well on the smaller bugs (afids/nats) did not work on ant - any type
Pros: Easy to Clean, natural
Cons: need to keep reapplying after the rain strong sm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Stanton, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ineffective product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The back label on this insecticide states that whiteflies can be killed and repelled with this spray. As I was spraying my hanging fushia, the whiteflies merely lifted up and settled down on the plant again. This spray is completely useless!
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer

DO NOT USE

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff killed everything I spayed. All the leaves of my cabbage, broccoli and Brussels sprouts look like they have been burned. I am hugely disappointed and hoping for a recovery, but who knows. I wanted to go organic, but thanks to this stuff I am going back to Ortho products.
Cons: kills your garden
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great non-toxic solution to may of my veg garden's pests.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this on my organic garden. Works most of the time. Some pests you have to get them early or forget about it.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT, GREAT Product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really works, and the smell is not bad at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
Age Range:25 to 34

Awesome garden tool

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that this product is safe to use on veggies. No need to cover skin when applying. Works great to keep pests off all garden veggies- broccoli, peppers, tomatoes, brussellsprouts, corn, cucumbers, sunflowers, etc. Also, a very pleasant scent from the oils.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 oz. Garden Insect Killer
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised and spray bottle works fine and does not clog.
Pros: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>