728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product51 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product51 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Tetonia Idaho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Strong and Durable!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are renovating an old 1920's farm house in Teton Valley Idaho. We have brutal long and cold winters. We are sticking to a tight budget and we needed to dry in the house for winter. The roof needed new sheeting and the budget did not allow for the actual roofing before winter. After reading reviews I chose to go with the Grace Tri-flex. Grace said that the product could be left exposed for up to six months. We installed the Tri-flex last October and just installed the Metal roof in June. It never leaked or tore even with our high winds and blizzards. Snow would never build up on the roof it would always slide right off.
I would not recommend going as long as we did with it exposed as the plastic cap nails begin to get brittle in the sun. Don't try to go cheap and use staples, Tri-flex will shrink in the sun and pull out staples.
It worked so well on the roof that I also used some of the left over Tri-flex to cover the gables where the siding was gone.
Great product. Buy it!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight, durable, easy to install.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recievecd this shortly after ordering , but was delayed in installing. It is easy to store until needed. I was able to install by myself on 2 smaller roofs. I have yet to install on the main house, but the pitch of that roof will require assitance. It has been durable and did not require any adjustments thru a couple of rains after installation. I have used this on a previous site that withstood 80mph gusts back in the late spring. It is marked on the face for easy placement of fasteners.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight and easy to use. Super strong material. Left out in weather not a drop of water came through. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Excellent underlayment. Much better than felt. Easier for DIY, too.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If we ever re-roof again, we would definitely use this underlayment. Worth the extra few $ over using felt. Much easier to work with, more reliable when it rains & so much more durable. Love it! Also made a much smoother base for shingles.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Northern California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is well worth the money! I built a 36' L x 12' D covered porch and used this stuff to cover it so I could take my time in ordering the metal roofing and roof it myself. This stuff stood up to a few major thunderstorms like the roof had an actual roof on it, no leaks! It also made walking on the roof seem like you couldn't fall off due to the "grip" type surface. Will buy again and again for future builds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Port Orchard WA

Great product!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It went on as advertised. Easiest roof underlayment I have ever used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Schleswig, Ia.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Tri -flex Underlayment

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with. Nice stuff, would use it again and again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasts in sun until you roof

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Won't be roof immediately and research says product will withstand sun for quite a while
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats the tar out of tar paper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this while looking at roofing supplies online. I've used other Grace products in the past and like their quality. I'm replacing my roof and I wanted to be able to put down underlayment that would hold up to the elements for a month or two before I started laying down shingles. I've got to replace a lot of the sheathing on the roof deck before the rental on my dumpster runs out so the actual shingle installation will have to wait until I've finished the deck repairs. Tar paper will rip right off the roof in a stiff wind so when I saw this stuff I figured it was worth a shot based on other customer feedback. So far I have not been disappointed. It does require the use of button cap nails which takes longer to install, but I'm not complaining. My old roof was slicker than snot from all of the granules coming loose off the old shingles. Once I stripped off the old shingles and tar paper and used my leaf blower to clear off the debris I was able to install the Tri-Flex with no problem. I like that it's in 4-ft wide rolls vs. 3-ft so it does help offset the install time since you need fewer rows. Once nailed down, it provides a good gripping surface to walk on. It's got a tacky feel for a secure grip. I couldn't sit on my bare roof in my jeans without sliding or firmly planting a foot on the roof deck. With the Tri-Flex I have no problem sitting, standing, or walking without the need for special roofing footwear.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Buys time when roofing yourself

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this simply to buy time re-roofing a rather large house project myself. Normal felt underlayment would tear off and degrade in the weather quickly (if left exposed), but with this, I was able to roof my house over a few months’ time - in fact it took 8 months without any worries. Yes a bit more expensive, but considering doing the job yourself ,it’s worth the extra price for this reason. Used plastic cap roofing nails (about 1-1/4” diameter) to keep it down.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Silver Point, TN 38582, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wouldn't use anything else.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very strong underlayment. I have used synthetic underlayment for the past 5 years and would not use anything else. It cost almost the same as felt paper and is many, many times stronger and tear proof. It will hold up for several months without deteriorating when the roofing hasn't yet been installed. Impervious to high winds when installed properly. Most roofs can be covered with only 2 or 3 rolls. Only con to be aware of. It will shrink in the hot sun. Which means when laid in a valley, it will pull tight and bridge the valley. This is because you do not normally fasten it down in the center of the valley. On the other hand, it will tighten and remove any wrinkles it has on the rest of the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Grand Junction, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

say good by to 30lb felt

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you've ever used 30lb felt on a roof only to have it buckle, rip, or blow away you will love this product. Used under a metal roof it helps to ensure a water tight roof. Neat stuff.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

The Reviews are Correct!!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Would never use Tar Paper again. Easy to use, cut, carry and install. One tremendous advantage is that you can "push" it into areas with a putty knife, etc... if you need to tie it into existing shingles, etc..without risk of cutting or damaging it. It is that strong and durable. In my area, it is priced at $95 a roll, then my credit card gives another 10% back. In the end, it is the same price of 5 rolls of tar paper, which is what one roll of this stuff yields. What a great product. You will not be disappointed. Finally, the mfg mentions that it can stay exposed for up to six months to the elements. This is great if you are doing your own shingling. This product allows you to work at your own pace over a period of time, while still providing watertight protection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great roof underlay product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this product and have bought it again because I liked it so much. The price is just slightly more than the normal underlay, but well worth it and better. The product is plastic and will not get soggy like typical underlay. It is lighter and more flexible. In the middle of roofing, the rain came and it held its ground of which the other older stuff would have needed a complete removal. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Reading,pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best,best purchase ever!!!!!!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easier to use than felt, is 50 times better much lighter ,when nailed as per manufacturers specs ,it lays flat, any small bulges disappear when sun heats it, it survived the harsh winter, spring rains, high winds excess of 70 mph and NO, Yes NO leaks anywhere. I wish it was carried in the store. Felt should be scraped, I will only use tri plex from now on
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lightweight and when it came to laying this product it was so easy. It also held up to about 3 days of thunderstorms and 30mph+ winds. definitely worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Dalton, Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grace Tri flex is the best product on the market. I've used other brand of synthetic underlayment because the supply houses dropped this brand in my area from their product line, why ?? cost is
about the same as the inferior product. I suppose large supply housers cram what every line their stocking at the time on small building supply stores, and even the big box stores ?? This stuff is almost impossible to tear, or rip other brand tear and rip fairly easy, not this brand. Don't just take my word for it do your own research go to their web sites read about the products offered and compare this brand is for metal roofs some of the other brands don't stand behind their product for rips and tears or cuts under metal roofs. I'm a DIY person worked for contractors most are rush in and out move on to next job, not all but most ! if you use a quality product you can do that. No I don't work or have ties with this company just the fan of quality products.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Omaha NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff much better than felt paper

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Triflex is easy to install and stands up to the weather. The only negative characteristic I have found out by using it. If part of the sheeting is NOT tack down it will shrink about 5%. When tacked down in the sun heat any wrinkles will soon disappear (which is nice) if the job left open to the weather a week.
My problem actually is with another product I used to tack the Triflex down the round plastic cap roofing nail made by “Grip Rite” The plastic part broken down and flaked away leaving just small nail head (they must of used biodegradable plastic in manufacturing) I guess the lesion here to get it cover when conveniently possible. I will say the Triflex does by you open time to get the job done but I have push it to its limits of more than 6 months open to the weather.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight, shrink fit tightens any wrinkles
Cons: it will shrink about 5%.in the sun heat, a cat pooped on my roof and i had to hose it down
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Southern California, San Gabriel Valley Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product poor availability

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Products is great and a great value but hard to get of in a pinch. Not available locally at any home depot within 50 miles of my home in southern California. Shipping is days away even with express payment. Recommend the product but make sure you order enough for your project or you will have to take a minimum 3 day break, possibly a week before getting additional supplies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: unavailable at local home depot stores
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Centralia, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nailing

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product because all the good reviews. I installed it over my plywood roof deck. Very nice and strong material. It has been up there for a week now without the final roof. I had some rain and the roof leaked in about 5 areas(800sqft). It was not the product that failed, it was the installation procedures(followed the Grace's instructions). The water gets under the plastic roof nails and leaks at the plywood joints. I will never use plastic roof nails again. I would think the staples work better because the hole size. I know there is no roof over it but if a person did have a leak on the final roof and used nails with plastic caps it will leak. That is not doing it's job. So hopefully Grace takes out using plastic cap nails in the instruction guide. I am just going to rip the plastic off the nails and apply the self adhering membrane. I want my roof deck lasting as long as my metal roof and plastic cap nails prevents me from doing this. Wish I would of used staples because this stuff is not cheap to be replacing.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>