728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product41 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product41 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
jdolittle72
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight, durable, easy to install.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recievecd this shortly after ordering , but was delayed in installing. It is easy to store until needed. I was able to install by myself on 2 smaller roofs. I have yet to install on the main house, but the pitch of that roof will require assitance. It has been durable and did not require any adjustments thru a couple of rains after installation. I have used this on a previous site that withstood 80mph gusts back in the late spring. It is marked on the face for easy placement of fasteners.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
BGJG

Excellent underlayment. Much better than felt. Easier for DIY, too.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If we ever re-roof again, we would definitely use this underlayment. Worth the extra few $ over using felt. Much easier to work with, more reliable when it rains & so much more durable. Love it! Also made a much smoother base for shingles.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Richard
from Northern California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is well worth the money! I built a 36' L x 12' D covered porch and used this stuff to cover it so I could take my time in ordering the metal roofing and roof it myself. This stuff stood up to a few major thunderstorms like the roof had an actual roof on it, no leaks! It also made walking on the roof seem like you couldn't fall off due to the "grip" type surface. Will buy again and again for future builds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Shard29
from Silver Point, TN 38582, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wouldn't use anything else.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very strong underlayment. I have used synthetic underlayment for the past 5 years and would not use anything else. It cost almost the same as felt paper and is many, many times stronger and tear proof. It will hold up for several months without deteriorating when the roofing hasn't yet been installed. Impervious to high winds when installed properly. Most roofs can be covered with only 2 or 3 rolls. Only con to be aware of. It will shrink in the hot sun. Which means when laid in a valley, it will pull tight and bridge the valley. This is because you do not normally fasten it down in the center of the valley. On the other hand, it will tighten and remove any wrinkles it has on the rest of the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
dthom
from Centralia, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nailing

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product because all the good reviews. I installed it over my plywood roof deck. Very nice and strong material. It has been up there for a week now without the final roof. I had some rain and the roof leaked in about 5 areas(800sqft). It was not the product that failed, it was the installation procedures(followed the Grace's instructions). The water gets under the plastic roof nails and leaks at the plywood joints. I will never use plastic roof nails again. I would think the staples work better because the hole size. I know there is no roof over it but if a person did have a leak on the final roof and used nails with plastic caps it will leak. That is not doing it's job. So hopefully Grace takes out using plastic cap nails in the instruction guide. I am just going to rip the plastic off the nails and apply the self adhering membrane. I want my roof deck lasting as long as my metal roof and plastic cap nails prevents me from doing this. Wish I would of used staples because this stuff is not cheap to be replacing.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Dave
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats the tar out of tar paper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this while looking at roofing supplies online. I've used other Grace products in the past and like their quality. I'm replacing my roof and I wanted to be able to put down underlayment that would hold up to the elements for a month or two before I started laying down shingles. I've got to replace a lot of the sheathing on the roof deck before the rental on my dumpster runs out so the actual shingle installation will have to wait until I've finished the deck repairs. Tar paper will rip right off the roof in a stiff wind so when I saw this stuff I figured it was worth a shot based on other customer feedback. So far I have not been disappointed. It does require the use of button cap nails which takes longer to install, but I'm not complaining. My old roof was slicker than snot from all of the granules coming loose off the old shingles. Once I stripped off the old shingles and tar paper and used my leaf blower to clear off the debris I was able to install the Tri-Flex with no problem. I like that it's in 4-ft wide rolls vs. 3-ft so it does help offset the install time since you need fewer rows. Once nailed down, it provides a good gripping surface to walk on. It's got a tacky feel for a secure grip. I couldn't sit on my bare roof in my jeans without sliding or firmly planting a foot on the roof deck. With the Tri-Flex I have no problem sitting, standing, or walking without the need for special roofing footwear.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Lakodaplace
from Owingsville, KY 40360, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is excellent, I would recommend to everyone.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to use, very good product for the price, the best underlayment I have ever used. Would recommend to anyone building a new roof or replacing an old roof.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Lots of Features, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Ray1

Buys time when roofing yourself

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this simply to buy time re-roofing a rather large house project myself. Normal felt underlayment would tear off and degrade in the weather quickly (if left exposed), but with this, I was able to roof my house over a few months’ time - in fact it took 8 months without any worries. Yes a bit more expensive, but considering doing the job yourself ,it’s worth the extra price for this reason. Used plastic cap roofing nails (about 1-1/4” diameter) to keep it down.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Tskap

The Reviews are Correct!!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Would never use Tar Paper again. Easy to use, cut, carry and install. One tremendous advantage is that you can "push" it into areas with a putty knife, etc... if you need to tie it into existing shingles, etc..without risk of cutting or damaging it. It is that strong and durable. In my area, it is priced at $95 a roll, then my credit card gives another 10% back. In the end, it is the same price of 5 rolls of tar paper, which is what one roll of this stuff yields. What a great product. You will not be disappointed. Finally, the mfg mentions that it can stay exposed for up to six months to the elements. This is great if you are doing your own shingling. This product allows you to work at your own pace over a period of time, while still providing watertight protection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Woody
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is a better alternative to felt underlayment. More expensive and well worth it.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like the 4' x 250' roll for the job I'm doing. My coverage area is 17'x76' with a single gable ridge. Two rolls was sufficient enough with plenty leftover for future small projects. It could have been a little thicker material though. It's very comparable to tyvek. All in all it's a very robust water barrier. I Definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: No Instructions, black color
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
oleJoe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well beyond my expectations. Just wish it was a stock item.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Roofers that were to put a metal roof on one wing of my old barn were skeptical at first but were amazed at how light but strong it was compared to their regular underlayment. And the length of one roll easily did the 800 sq ft with a lot left over. Was left uncovered for over a week in the rain and not a drop in my shop.
Pros: Easy to Install, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
SmartToolLover
from Omaha NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff much better than felt paper

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Triflex is easy to install and stands up to the weather. The only negative characteristic I have found out by using it. If part of the sheeting is NOT tack down it will shrink about 5%. When tacked down in the sun heat any wrinkles will soon disappear (which is nice) if the job left open to the weather a week.
My problem actually is with another product I used to tack the Triflex down the round plastic cap roofing nail made by “Grip Rite” The plastic part broken down and flaked away leaving just small nail head (they must of used biodegradable plastic in manufacturing) I guess the lesion here to get it cover when conveniently possible. I will say the Triflex does by you open time to get the job done but I have push it to its limits of more than 6 months open to the weather.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight, shrink fit tightens any wrinkles
Cons: it will shrink about 5%.in the sun heat, a cat pooped on my roof and i had to hose it down
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
AM68
from Southern California, San Gabriel Valley Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product poor availability

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Products is great and a great value but hard to get of in a pinch. Not available locally at any home depot within 50 miles of my home in southern California. Shipping is days away even with express payment. Recommend the product but make sure you order enough for your project or you will have to take a minimum 3 day break, possibly a week before getting additional supplies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: unavailable at local home depot stores
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
SASHA
from READING,PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

best roofing underlayment I heve ever used

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It may be pricey but well worth the purchase,,easy to apply and nail with roofing nail gun,.lays flat,,did not leak. SUPER POOR AVAILABILITY
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
hugotjmx

better than the average material

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I learned about this new product and how it surpasses the warranty vs comparable products, the technology is advanced at a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Barry
from Coastal Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for a Do It Yourselfer

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Strong, light weight, over lap and nailing pattern marked clearly on the product. It heat shrinks to get rid of folds which helps it shed water but will pull staples and reduce overlap if not nailed down properly and quickly (same day). A great product for the Do It Yourselfer who takes their time doing the project.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Light Weight
Cons: timing of nailing is important because it heat shr
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
topazzzer
from San Diego, CA, USA

Good product

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best product to use for underlayment below shingles (except Ice & Water Shield). Much less expensive and easier to install than Ice & Water Shield. One person can easily roll out and tack down this product even in breezy conditions. The 4' width means less courses needed to install.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Denali86
from Columbus, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product But Could Be better

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used Rex Synthetic and Triflex 30, both are good products. I like Rex because it is a lighter color and does not get hot in the sun like the black Triflex. I installed Triflex in the heat of the day and found that it had shrink the next day when it was cool in the morning and was pulling on the staples. It seemed that thew Triflex had a tendency to curl up on the edges when I was installing it and made it difficult to line up the edge of one piece on the line of the one below it for some reason. Triflex is easier to purchase than Rex in my area so that's why I used it. I also wish that they made these product with lines on them like felt paper has, it makes it easier to line up the shingles as you run them.
People say that the cost is not that much more than felt paper. By my calculations with 15# felt @ $17 /roll (432 sq ft) and Triflex @ $112 (1000 sq ft), felt is 3.9 cents / sq ft and Triflex is 12.2 cents / sq ft. Triflex is 3 times more expensive than felt. For a 10 sq roof it will cost you $112 for Triflex and felt will cost $39. For a $70 difference I might see this as an area to shave costs, but its advantages over felt paper make me think again, especially if rain is in the forecast and I can't get it shingled in time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: gets real hot in the sun
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Rafe
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value and quality

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, installs faster and easier than felt. I will never buy roofing felt again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Terry
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

FASTER AND EASIER

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tri-Flex is by far the best roofing underlayment I have ever used!
It lays flat and will not wrinkle or buckle in wet or dry conditions. It is a lot safer to walk on and won't tear from fasteners.
Paying a little extra for Tri-flex is worth it because it gives me the peace of mind knowing that I have secondary protection to help prevent leaks if water penetrates my primary roof covering.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>