728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product63 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(53)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product63 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Tetonia Idaho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Strong and Durable!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are renovating an old 1920's farm house in Teton Valley Idaho. We have brutal long and cold winters. We are sticking to a tight budget and we needed to dry in the house for winter. The roof needed new sheeting and the budget did not allow for the actual roofing before winter. After reading reviews I chose to go with the Grace Tri-flex. Grace said that the product could be left exposed for up to six months. We installed the Tri-flex last October and just installed the Metal roof in June. It never leaked or tore even with our high winds and blizzards. Snow would never build up on the roof it would always slide right off.
I would not recommend going as long as we did with it exposed as the plastic cap nails begin to get brittle in the sun. Don't try to go cheap and use staples, Tri-flex will shrink in the sun and pull out staples.
It worked so well on the roof that I also used some of the left over Tri-flex to cover the gables where the siding was gone.
Great product. Buy it!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight and easy to use. Super strong material. Left out in weather not a drop of water came through. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight, durable, easy to install.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recievecd this shortly after ordering , but was delayed in installing. It is easy to store until needed. I was able to install by myself on 2 smaller roofs. I have yet to install on the main house, but the pitch of that roof will require assitance. It has been durable and did not require any adjustments thru a couple of rains after installation. I have used this on a previous site that withstood 80mph gusts back in the late spring. It is marked on the face for easy placement of fasteners.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gret product

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything is tested to extreme temperatures and wind in Phoenix and this underlayment has passed. 20 times stronger than the cheap paper they normally use in house construction here. Was very easy to apply and the cost was very reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Excellent underlayment. Much better than felt. Easier for DIY, too.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If we ever re-roof again, we would definitely use this underlayment. Worth the extra few $ over using felt. Much easier to work with, more reliable when it rains & so much more durable. Love it! Also made a much smoother base for shingles.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Granite Falls, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product for Washington winter

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This roofing product will be a big boost for the upcoming winter here in western Washington.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Bay Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great stuff.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to roll out and fasten. Tough and gives great traction (after fastening) yet easy to cut and trim with a scissors. 100% waterproof. Super light weight. I assume it lasts a long time under shingles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Missouri
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Roofing underlayment

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this under metal roofing. Roofing felt is not good under metal. I really liked the slip resistant surface.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Upstate, South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Strong, lightweight, water proof, will not rip and easy to apply. I'll never use felt again.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Northern California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is well worth the money! I built a 36' L x 12' D covered porch and used this stuff to cover it so I could take my time in ordering the metal roofing and roof it myself. This stuff stood up to a few major thunderstorms like the roof had an actual roof on it, no leaks! It also made walking on the roof seem like you couldn't fall off due to the "grip" type surface. Will buy again and again for future builds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from North Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surpassed all expectations!

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed Grace Tri-Flex last fall expecting to finish re-roofing in the spring. It not only survived over a year, but endured through North Idaho snow, wind and rain! It didn't leak, rip or blow off! I had to order this product as few have even heard of it (even roofers) and non stocked it! Home Depot took the time to locate a source and ordered it for me. Thanks Home Depot and Grace! Both winners :)
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats the tar out of tar paper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this while looking at roofing supplies online. I've used other Grace products in the past and like their quality. I'm replacing my roof and I wanted to be able to put down underlayment that would hold up to the elements for a month or two before I started laying down shingles. I've got to replace a lot of the sheathing on the roof deck before the rental on my dumpster runs out so the actual shingle installation will have to wait until I've finished the deck repairs. Tar paper will rip right off the roof in a stiff wind so when I saw this stuff I figured it was worth a shot based on other customer feedback. So far I have not been disappointed. It does require the use of button cap nails which takes longer to install, but I'm not complaining. My old roof was slicker than snot from all of the granules coming loose off the old shingles. Once I stripped off the old shingles and tar paper and used my leaf blower to clear off the debris I was able to install the Tri-Flex with no problem. I like that it's in 4-ft wide rolls vs. 3-ft so it does help offset the install time since you need fewer rows. Once nailed down, it provides a good gripping surface to walk on. It's got a tacky feel for a secure grip. I couldn't sit on my bare roof in my jeans without sliding or firmly planting a foot on the roof deck. With the Tri-Flex I have no problem sitting, standing, or walking without the need for special roofing footwear.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Buys time when roofing yourself

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this simply to buy time re-roofing a rather large house project myself. Normal felt underlayment would tear off and degrade in the weather quickly (if left exposed), but with this, I was able to roof my house over a few months’ time - in fact it took 8 months without any worries. Yes a bit more expensive, but considering doing the job yourself ,it’s worth the extra price for this reason. Used plastic cap roofing nails (about 1-1/4” diameter) to keep it down.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

The Reviews are Correct!!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product! Would never use Tar Paper again. Easy to use, cut, carry and install. One tremendous advantage is that you can "push" it into areas with a putty knife, etc... if you need to tie it into existing shingles, etc..without risk of cutting or damaging it. It is that strong and durable. In my area, it is priced at $95 a roll, then my credit card gives another 10% back. In the end, it is the same price of 5 rolls of tar paper, which is what one roll of this stuff yields. What a great product. You will not be disappointed. Finally, the mfg mentions that it can stay exposed for up to six months to the elements. This is great if you are doing your own shingling. This product allows you to work at your own pace over a period of time, while still providing watertight protection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Kansas

Amazing

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using this, I will never use asphalt felt again. I had a wind storm in the middle of my roofing project. All of the felt blew off and this stayed in place.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from TRACY CITY, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TRI-FLEX TO ANYONE. VERY EASY TO USE, VERY STRONG, GREAT TRACTION, LIGHT WEIGHT, COVERS 1000SQFT., CHECK IT OUT ON YOUTUBE.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from upstate NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

worked great , would definitly use it again

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
would use again on next job. laid down nice and flat. nail guides make it fast!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Omaha NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff much better than felt paper

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Triflex is easy to install and stands up to the weather. The only negative characteristic I have found out by using it. If part of the sheeting is NOT tack down it will shrink about 5%. When tacked down in the sun heat any wrinkles will soon disappear (which is nice) if the job left open to the weather a week.
My problem actually is with another product I used to tack the Triflex down the round plastic cap roofing nail made by “Grip Rite” The plastic part broken down and flaked away leaving just small nail head (they must of used biodegradable plastic in manufacturing) I guess the lesion here to get it cover when conveniently possible. I will say the Triflex does by you open time to get the job done but I have push it to its limits of more than 6 months open to the weather.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight, shrink fit tightens any wrinkles
Cons: it will shrink about 5%.in the sun heat, a cat pooped on my roof and i had to hose it down
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Denver
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Underlayment for Roofing and Siding

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This roll of roofing underlayment is a good deal for the price compared to regular 30# felt, if you have a need for this much. It is much more wind resistant and easier to staple in place.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Centralia, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nailing

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this product because all the good reviews. I installed it over my plywood roof deck. Very nice and strong material. It has been up there for a week now without the final roof. I had some rain and the roof leaked in about 5 areas(800sqft). It was not the product that failed, it was the installation procedures(followed the Grace's instructions). The water gets under the plastic roof nails and leaks at the plywood joints. I will never use plastic roof nails again. I would think the staples work better because the hole size. I know there is no roof over it but if a person did have a leak on the final roof and used nails with plastic caps it will leak. That is not doing it's job. So hopefully Grace takes out using plastic cap nails in the instruction guide. I am just going to rip the plastic off the nails and apply the self adhering membrane. I want my roof deck lasting as long as my metal roof and plastic cap nails prevents me from doing this. Wish I would of used staples because this stuff is not cheap to be replacing.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>