728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product41 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product41 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Review 21 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Andy
from South Central PA

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good stuff. It's been on my roof for two weeks now unprotected by shingles and has shown no signs of leakage or tearing. If this was roof felt, half of it would have blown off by now. This allowed me the time to get a roofer to quote doing the shingles and trim while protecting my new frame structure from the weather. I was delighted by the amount of traction you get on this material, even when it is wet.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
sidcowznofski
from berkeley, ca

pretty much as advertised, a higher-quality, higher-cost alternative to roofing felt

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
tear-resistant, abrasion-resistant, cuts easily with scissors or utility knife, comes pre-printed with sidelap spacing guidelines and nail-spacing marks. also much lighter per area of coverage than conventional 30# felt, relatively easy to haul a 28# roll covering 10 squares, up a one-story ladder. costs a lot more than 30# felt, but worth it in my opinion.
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
JustGeorge

Grace Triflex

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight but strong. Good coverage but it can be difficult to cut (need a very sharp razor knife).
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
oldtimer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not For Flat

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebuttal to "NAILS" review. Unless he used improper terminology he installed on a flat "roof deck". If so, I'm surprised it didn't leak more. Of course the plastic cap nails will leak if there's not enough slope to direct water away.
This stuff is amazing if installed correctly- as evidenced by the other reviews. It is, btw, not intended to be permanently exposed to the elements- but allows a long time to get the final roofing on.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
jhaze
from merrillville,in

This product is awsome!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this on the web site and thought I would give it a try.I was very impressed when I opened and examined the material.It's like a waterproof house wrap with a rubbery texter,and very lite.I have had a lot of problems with moisture in the past,but with this in place of felt paper,I know there won't been any further moisture problems.I recommend it to all my friends.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
audi

easy to install good tough product

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product on a cabin i am building .easy to put down ,very good griping surface to walk on on steep roof pitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
MSC56
from Beaver County 15003
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very nice to work with.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Takes a bit more time to install than tar paper, due to its light weight and the plastic capped nails that the manufacturer wants used. Looks great ,holds up well ( I waited several weeks for metal roof delivery after installing this product). A couple other nice features are the light weight and you don't get tar all over you. Good value when you consider there is 250Ft on a 4Ft wide roll.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: nails take longer to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
brooks

light weight and easy to install

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was very easy to install and appears to be completely water proof.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
oldguy
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only product to use

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Oklahoma and am reroofing my garage by myself. There is no way 1 person could put 30# felt on by themself in this wind, with TriFlex It was no problem. If you figure the price for 30# and compare it to TriFlex it is not that much difference. I will recommend this product every chance I get
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Mars

great barrier instead of felt

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
exposure rated, tear resistant and worth the small extra price per square
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Kambuilder1
from United States

The best for roofing!!!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't think I will ever use black paper again. Grace Triflex is light, strong, and easy to install. Best underlayment I have ever used.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
JOSEPH
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

thin,stroung,requires special fastners

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
MATERIAL IS VERY STRONG AND THIN,IT GIVES NO CUSHION FOR SHINGALS,NOTHING WAS SAID IN DISCRIPTION ABOUT NEEDING SPECIAL FASTNERS
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, special fastners
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Cherfron8
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a leaky roof on my house before the hurricanes of 2012 hit. I didn't have the time or money to do a new shingle job so I decided to give this product a try. Even though I had to put the last of it on in high winds it was still manageable and never tore once. If I had tried that with tar paper it would have been in shreds.
I would recommend the metal caped nails though. The one's with the plastic washers start out well but the sun will ruin them long before the Grace reaches it's maximum exposure time. I also recommend that when you think you have bought enough nails to buy two more boxes. I finished my roof with exactly one nail left.
Now if someone would invent a light weight replacement for 90lb rolled roofing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
consumer
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is easy to work with

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Material is strong, light and easy to cut, a real time saver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
BenF
from Durango, CO

Beats roofing paper hands-down!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great! Won't rip or tear, and you can't cut it with a utility knife. But it zip-cuts like butter with scissors. It is really tough - I installed it during high winds, and was able to keep it under control without damage. I stapled the edges and they held under the high wind. Good traction on sloped surfaces. And it is surprisingly light weight for the strength.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
nehalembob
from North Oregon coast
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but slippery when hot

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used three rolls for tear-off and re-roof at the north Oregon coast. The material rolls out easily but is best installed with two people to keep the wind from being a factor. When the sun heats the material in the afternoon, it becomes slippery and material slides too easily. It does shed any rain very well. It's very tough so have a sharp blade in your cutter when making cuts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: surface becomes slippery when hot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Roofer

Product was easy to use

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product performed as advertised. Very easy to use, did not wrinkle and was very light. I highly recommend as replacement paper for #30 felt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
themechanic
from Asbury Park, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best stuff ever

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we had 60+mph gusts and horible storms out hear on the jersey coast and not one damp board this stuff works and works incredably well also it is almost the same price as traditional 30lb felt per sq foot
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Dawho
from U.P. mi.

fantastic-co

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight and almost bullet proof, will last longer than I will and shipping was great. Been here before with same care and quality.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
buzz
from home
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good stuff

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best stuff i ever used. just covered my hole roof 30square easy to roll down lays flat on vallys and caps.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>