728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product52 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product52 of 53reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Review 21 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is a better alternative to felt underlayment. More expensive and well worth it.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like the 4' x 250' roll for the job I'm doing. My coverage area is 17'x76' with a single gable ridge. Two rolls was sufficient enough with plenty leftover for future small projects. It could have been a little thicker material though. It's very comparable to tyvek. All in all it's a very robust water barrier. I Definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: No Instructions, black color
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Southern California, San Gabriel Valley Area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product poor availability

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Products is great and a great value but hard to get of in a pinch. Not available locally at any home depot within 50 miles of my home in southern California. Shipping is days away even with express payment. Recommend the product but make sure you order enough for your project or you will have to take a minimum 3 day break, possibly a week before getting additional supplies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: unavailable at local home depot stores
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Seems good but expensive

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Is good but costs a lot more than regular felt. Only time will tell if it is worth the extra cost.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well beyond my expectations. Just wish it was a stock item.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Roofers that were to put a metal roof on one wing of my old barn were skeptical at first but were amazed at how light but strong it was compared to their regular underlayment. And the length of one roll easily did the 800 sq ft with a lot left over. Was left uncovered for over a week in the rain and not a drop in my shop.
Pros: Easy to Install, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Owingsville, KY 40360, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is excellent, I would recommend to everyone.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to use, very good product for the price, the best underlayment I have ever used. Would recommend to anyone building a new roof or replacing an old roof.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Lots of Features, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from San Diego, CA, USA

Good product

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best product to use for underlayment below shingles (except Ice & Water Shield). Much less expensive and easier to install than Ice & Water Shield. One person can easily roll out and tack down this product even in breezy conditions. The 4' width means less courses needed to install.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Coastal Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for a Do It Yourselfer

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Strong, light weight, over lap and nailing pattern marked clearly on the product. It heat shrinks to get rid of folds which helps it shed water but will pull staples and reduce overlap if not nailed down properly and quickly (same day). A great product for the Do It Yourselfer who takes their time doing the project.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Light Weight
Cons: timing of nailing is important because it heat shr
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value and quality

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, installs faster and easier than felt. I will never buy roofing felt again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from South Central PA

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good stuff. It's been on my roof for two weeks now unprotected by shingles and has shown no signs of leakage or tearing. If this was roof felt, half of it would have blown off by now. This allowed me the time to get a roofer to quote doing the shingles and trim while protecting my new frame structure from the weather. I was delighted by the amount of traction you get on this material, even when it is wet.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

FASTER AND EASIER

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tri-Flex is by far the best roofing underlayment I have ever used!
It lays flat and will not wrinkle or buckle in wet or dry conditions. It is a lot safer to walk on and won't tear from fasteners.
Paying a little extra for Tri-flex is worth it because it gives me the peace of mind knowing that I have secondary protection to help prevent leaks if water penetrates my primary roof covering.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from berkeley, ca

pretty much as advertised, a higher-quality, higher-cost alternative to roofing felt

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
tear-resistant, abrasion-resistant, cuts easily with scissors or utility knife, comes pre-printed with sidelap spacing guidelines and nail-spacing marks. also much lighter per area of coverage than conventional 30# felt, relatively easy to haul a 28# roll covering 10 squares, up a one-story ladder. costs a lot more than 30# felt, but worth it in my opinion.
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from Columbus, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product But Could Be better

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used Rex Synthetic and Triflex 30, both are good products. I like Rex because it is a lighter color and does not get hot in the sun like the black Triflex. I installed Triflex in the heat of the day and found that it had shrink the next day when it was cool in the morning and was pulling on the staples. It seemed that thew Triflex had a tendency to curl up on the edges when I was installing it and made it difficult to line up the edge of one piece on the line of the one below it for some reason. Triflex is easier to purchase than Rex in my area so that's why I used it. I also wish that they made these product with lines on them like felt paper has, it makes it easier to line up the shingles as you run them.
People say that the cost is not that much more than felt paper. By my calculations with 15# felt @ $17 /roll (432 sq ft) and Triflex @ $112 (1000 sq ft), felt is 3.9 cents / sq ft and Triflex is 12.2 cents / sq ft. Triflex is 3 times more expensive than felt. For a 10 sq roof it will cost you $112 for Triflex and felt will cost $39. For a $70 difference I might see this as an area to shave costs, but its advantages over felt paper make me think again, especially if rain is in the forecast and I can't get it shingled in time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: gets real hot in the sun
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from READING,PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

best roofing underlayment I heve ever used

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It may be pricey but well worth the purchase,,easy to apply and nail with roofing nail gun,.lays flat,,did not leak. SUPER POOR AVAILABILITY
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

Grace Triflex

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight but strong. Good coverage but it can be difficult to cut (need a very sharp razor knife).
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from merrillville,in

This product is awsome!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this on the web site and thought I would give it a try.I was very impressed when I opened and examined the material.It's like a waterproof house wrap with a rubbery texter,and very lite.I have had a lot of problems with moisture in the past,but with this in place of felt paper,I know there won't been any further moisture problems.I recommend it to all my friends.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

better than the average material

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I learned about this new product and how it surpasses the warranty vs comparable products, the technology is advanced at a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment

light weight and easy to install

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was very easy to install and appears to be completely water proof.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only product to use

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Oklahoma and am reroofing my garage by myself. There is no way 1 person could put 30# felt on by themself in this wind, with TriFlex It was no problem. If you figure the price for 30# and compare it to TriFlex it is not that much difference. I will recommend this product every chance I get
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
from United States

The best for roofing!!!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't think I will ever use black paper again. Grace Triflex is light, strong, and easy to install. Best underlayment I have ever used.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Roll Synthetic Roofing Underlayment
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not For Flat

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebuttal to "NAILS" review. Unless he used improper terminology he installed on a flat "roof deck". If so, I'm surprised it didn't leak more. Of course the plastic cap nails will leak if there's not enough slope to direct water away.
This stuff is amazing if installed correctly- as evidenced by the other reviews. It is, btw, not intended to be permanently exposed to the elements- but allows a long time to get the final roofing on.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>