728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

Grace Tri-Flex synthetic, water-shedding roofing underlayment overcomes the shortcomings of #30 felt. It delivers advanced benefits that save the contractor time and labor. Grace Tri-Flex roofing underlayment is mechanically attached, and may be used in conjunction with Grace fully-adhered underlayments or alone.
Overall rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product72 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product72 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Tetonia Idaho
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Strong and Durable!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are renovating an old 1920's farm house in Teton Valley Idaho. We have brutal long and cold winters. We are sticking to a tight budget and we needed to dry in the house for winter. The roof needed new sheeting and the budget did not allow for the actual roofing before winter. After reading reviews I chose to go with the Grace Tri-flex. Grace said that the product could be left exposed for up to six months. We installed the Tri-flex last October and just installed the Metal roof in June. It never leaked or tore even with our high winds and blizzards. Snow would never build up on the roof it would always slide right off.
I would not recommend going as long as we did with it exposed as the plastic cap nails begin to get brittle in the sun. Don't try to go cheap and use staples, Tri-flex will shrink in the sun and pull out staples.
It worked so well on the roof that I also used some of the left over Tri-flex to cover the gables where the siding was gone.
Great product. Buy it!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight and easy to use. Super strong material. Left out in weather not a drop of water came through. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gret product

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything is tested to extreme temperatures and wind in Phoenix and this underlayment has passed. 20 times stronger than the cheap paper they normally use in house construction here. Was very easy to apply and the cost was very reasonable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

Excellent underlayment. Much better than felt. Easier for DIY, too.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If we ever re-roof again, we would definitely use this underlayment. Worth the extra few $ over using felt. Much easier to work with, more reliable when it rains & so much more durable. Love it! Also made a much smoother base for shingles.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Granite Falls, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product for Washington winter

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This roofing product will be a big boost for the upcoming winter here in western Washington.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight, durable, easy to install.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I recievecd this shortly after ordering , but was delayed in installing. It is easy to store until needed. I was able to install by myself on 2 smaller roofs. I have yet to install on the main house, but the pitch of that roof will require assitance. It has been durable and did not require any adjustments thru a couple of rains after installation. I have used this on a previous site that withstood 80mph gusts back in the late spring. It is marked on the face for easy placement of fasteners.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Williston ND
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to roll out and apply. Not slippery to walk on. Very durable fabric. Love the product. Wouldn't use anything else. Wouldn't recommend anything else to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight, worth the cost, holds up in strong winds
Cons: a little expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

good stuff, good value

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used several grace underlayment products and have liked them all. I would have given five stars had I not run out and bought a roll of Titanium 25plus from a local supplier because I needed it that day. The titanium has a few features that I like more than the Grace product. Firstly, the grace is not as grippy. Yes it has a woven texture, but it is a pretty high thread count and where the titanium has a coarse weave with an additional traction fiber woven in that makes you feel like spiderman. The other major thing is the color. Grace is black and black gets hot, making work unnecessarily hotter. The titanium is very light grey and shows sharpie marks better when laying out and measuring for steel panels.
Even with these two gripes, still a very good product that I would trust over and over again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Toccoa, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this online as I was not sure if any synthetic material would be at the store. This is much better than felt by a long shot. Ended up running out and had to make a mad dash to my local store to hopefully find some before the rain set in. My local store did not have this, but they did have some Grey synthetic underlayment from GAF called feltbuster. I actually like the GAF much better than the tri-flex. The GAF underlayment had a better grip and is much safer. Both of these are great, and much better than felt, but the grey GAF feltbuster is the best in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: less grip than gaf
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Lincoln City, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Grace Tri-Flex roof underlayment good product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight rolls so I can easily install by myself. Tough and held up well. I like much better than the felt paper. I used staples to hold down and held fine while working on it. Good product in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Upstate NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Light Years Beyond Tar Paper

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When compared to conventional tar paper underlayment this stuff is light, easy to use and much more durable. One roll covers about ten square instead of having to heave up numerous rolls of tar paper on the roof. It's much, much more tear resistant than tar paper and it's got good traction when dry. I have no doubt this stuff will do it's job longer and better than old school tar paper.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats the tar out of tar paper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I saw this while looking at roofing supplies online. I've used other Grace products in the past and like their quality. I'm replacing my roof and I wanted to be able to put down underlayment that would hold up to the elements for a month or two before I started laying down shingles. I've got to replace a lot of the sheathing on the roof deck before the rental on my dumpster runs out so the actual shingle installation will have to wait until I've finished the deck repairs. Tar paper will rip right off the roof in a stiff wind so when I saw this stuff I figured it was worth a shot based on other customer feedback. So far I have not been disappointed. It does require the use of button cap nails which takes longer to install, but I'm not complaining. My old roof was slicker than snot from all of the granules coming loose off the old shingles. Once I stripped off the old shingles and tar paper and used my leaf blower to clear off the debris I was able to install the Tri-Flex with no problem. I like that it's in 4-ft wide rolls vs. 3-ft so it does help offset the install time since you need fewer rows. Once nailed down, it provides a good gripping surface to walk on. It's got a tacky feel for a secure grip. I couldn't sit on my bare roof in my jeans without sliding or firmly planting a foot on the roof deck. With the Tri-Flex I have no problem sitting, standing, or walking without the need for special roofing footwear.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Northern California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is well worth the money! I built a 36' L x 12' D covered porch and used this stuff to cover it so I could take my time in ordering the metal roofing and roof it myself. This stuff stood up to a few major thunderstorms like the roof had an actual roof on it, no leaks! It also made walking on the roof seem like you couldn't fall off due to the "grip" type surface. Will buy again and again for future builds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

Buys time when roofing yourself

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this simply to buy time re-roofing a rather large house project myself. Normal felt underlayment would tear off and degrade in the weather quickly (if left exposed), but with this, I was able to roof my house over a few months’ time - in fact it took 8 months without any worries. Yes a bit more expensive, but considering doing the job yourself ,it’s worth the extra price for this reason. Used plastic cap roofing nails (about 1-1/4” diameter) to keep it down.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love this stuff

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this underlayment because it is light weight, easy to secure to the deck, breathable, and can be exposed to the elements up to 4 months and still be ok. One roll is 10 sq as opposed to the 4 sq for 15 lb felt It is slightly more expensive than the 15 lb felt, but the time savings on installation is worth it to me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

The Reviews are Correct!!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great product! Would never use Tar Paper again. Easy to use, cut, carry and install. One tremendous advantage is that you can "push" it into areas with a putty knife, etc... if you need to tie it into existing shingles, etc..without risk of cutting or damaging it. It is that strong and durable. In my area, it is priced at $95 a roll, then my credit card gives another 10% back. In the end, it is the same price of 5 rolls of tar paper, which is what one roll of this stuff yields. What a great product. You will not be disappointed. Finally, the mfg mentions that it can stay exposed for up to six months to the elements. This is great if you are doing your own shingling. This product allows you to work at your own pace over a period of time, while still providing watertight protection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Omaha NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff much better than felt paper

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Triflex is easy to install and stands up to the weather. The only negative characteristic I have found out by using it. If part of the sheeting is NOT tack down it will shrink about 5%. When tacked down in the sun heat any wrinkles will soon disappear (which is nice) if the job left open to the weather a week.
My problem actually is with another product I used to tack the Triflex down the round plastic cap roofing nail made by “Grip Rite” The plastic part broken down and flaked away leaving just small nail head (they must of used biodegradable plastic in manufacturing) I guess the lesion here to get it cover when conveniently possible. I will say the Triflex does by you open time to get the job done but I have push it to its limits of more than 6 months open to the weather.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight, shrink fit tightens any wrinkles
Cons: it will shrink about 5%.in the sun heat, a cat pooped on my roof and i had to hose it down
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment

Tri-Flex

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is very durable and easy to work with.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from 70533 louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
Purchase frequency:Yearly

awesome purchase

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i bought a weed eater and a leaf blower.both are homelite.i have used home depot often.very good service.assosiates are very heipful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tri-Flex 48 in. x 250 ft. Synthetic Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Benton Harbor, Mich
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Used this product for the first time a few months ago.

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will never ever go back to felt paper again !!! Went on easier, faster, smother, more durable and covers more area per pass with less area loss due to overlap.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>