728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

The Vigoro 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble features a brilliant color that is great for adding a beautiful, professional appearance to various landscape areas around your home and property. This versatile, decorative stone is suitable for use in helping to prevent the growth of weeds and helping to protect soil from damage due to harsh temperatures.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product46 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product46 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Review 1 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Perfect ground cover - buy extra!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for filling in the flower bed under an outside staircase at work, but needed WAY more than the suggested amount on the outside of the bag. The bag indicates it covers 3sqft 2in deep, but it's more like 2sqft MAX. I should've only needed 10 bags, but I ended up going back and getting 8 more bags. Even then, for perfection, I should get another 3 or 4 bags...plan to get at least x2 more than you think. Hose off the stones after placing, since they have a white powder residue that covers up the natural beauty of the marble stone. Value was great though - on sale in store, and the employees at Home Depot were super helpful with loading my cart and putting the bags in my car :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Fremont CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product, best price

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a lot more than the number of bags I plan to fill my lawn, but I'm happy with the result. My garden look pretty now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to add awesome cover

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Marble chips have a good variation of white with gray streaks, can add a lot of style at low cost to any yard or area. I suggest over buying a few bags if you are in doubt of your specific Cubic feet needs. One more thing to point out is that over time you will want to continually add a little more rock to keep the area looking fresh, I usually add more during the Holidays when family will be in town.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but larger than expected!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They're rocks - what can you say? I purchased these to 1) put a decorative 6-8 inch border around my above ground pool and 2) fill a natural low spot (about a 3x12 foot walkway) between the pool and fence that stays wet and muddy and to fill in around the pump and filter area.
They look great. The pool border is very attractive. The low/wet area has also improved. We laid down some left over plastic pool ground cover and put gravel on top of that to keep the weeds from growing through. Now I can easily walk in that area without the mud. BUT - get more than you think you'll need. I had a large area to cover and bought an initial 20 bags. Went back and got another 34! Still have to go back and get another 20. They cover a small compact area easily - the border, but for the wider area it took more than expected to provided added depth and cover.
Finally, these rocks are actually larger than I expected. I was thinking they were a small fine gravel - more pea size I guess, and in fact they are mostly more golf ball size.
But I got the 1st 54 bags when they were on sale at $3 each so a great bargain. Overall I'm very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Eglin AFB, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy installation, great finish!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used these as a bed for my backyard DIY firepit. It was a little rainy, which in FL was actually useful as it kept the sand in the ground from seeping around. Although the outcome is phenomenal and exactly what I was looking for, putting them in was a mess. When these rocks get moist, they leave behind a white pasty substance in the bag and, if you touch the inside of the bag or the rocks, on you. Recommend wearing gloves for work with these! But, a great product from your hometown Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: messy when wet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Wellsville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better choice than mulch

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a border around an apple tree. I felt these marble chips were a better choice over mulch which has to be refreshed every year. I'm very happy I chose these chips, I think they look great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Great to use near the house to keep snakes at bay

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I learned this from my parents who lived in central Texas where rattle snakes were a problem. Put white rocks around your house to keep snakes away. We live in NC and our backyard backs up to a creek and natural area which is beautiful but copperheads would frequently be found up next to our house. Once we cleared out the area and put these white rocks no more copperheads near our house. Now anywhere we want to be snake free we put these.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Marlow, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, easy landscaping

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the rocks to landscape around my pool. Love them so far. The only comment is they need to have a weight on the bag to help consumers know how many bags they can load into their vehicle. I didn't weigh one but after pouring about 25 bags of them, I can tell you they weigh about 40lbs each
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Carson, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product capture my walkway to my garden just as I wanted it to look.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product in the bag was so easy to spread and use. I am 62 and I was able to complete my garden project. It looks so beautiful. I have used this product 10 years ago and it is still functioning, so this is why I decided to use it again to make the pathway side my raised GArden. The price was great also!!!!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Duarte, CA 91010, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product, good price

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very attractive along driveway border. Quite white, seems like it will remain so a long time. Good price, I shopped around quite a bit. Good product.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Greatest Decorative Stone of ALL Time

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never owned a bag of rocks , quite as nice as these rocks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice white stone landscaping for detail

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the looks of the marble chips, they did not cover as well as I assumed. I needed a least another bag or two to make it look well done. Not hard to spread even for an old lady.
Pros: Durable, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love These!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these rocks to frame my back patio and they look beautiful! I'm gong back to buy more this weekend to put them in the front of my house. Worth everyone, can't beat the price!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Beltsville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

White? Not every bag.......

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Making a walkway on my property. Since bags are so heavy and I needed about 25 bags, I did it in stages since I don't have a truck. Many of the bags did NOT have "white marble" but rather Brown and discolored rocks. About 3 out of 4 bags were like this. And, as I stated, I didn't just get one lot or batch of these but rather I got these over a period of about 6 weeks. Very disappointed, poor quality product. If you buy these, I suggest you scrutinize the bags very carefully and bring along a bodybuilder since slinging these bags around and pouring through a pallet of these is no easy task.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Bedrock
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rocks

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They were hard, varied in shapes and white. Oh yea, did I say hard? Just like stone, only hard! Good for throwing at windows, driving on, trying to squeeze blood from or whatever your rock fancy!
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from savannah, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

top of the line service

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
land
scape rock is landscape rock but the service provided by the Home depot associates was top of the line. Down right impressive!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't stay white

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bout 10 bags thinking it would be enough. I was way off. Not a problem untill I realized that they have a white powder coating, after being out in the weather for a few months or in their bag at the store getting wet, they kind of turn grey. While I was dumping the bags a few months ago I noticed the powder and assumed it was from them cutting marble. Now a few months later adding more bags I see they turned grey and the new ones hod a lot more powder in the bags. Not a bad product, I just didnt want grey rocks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: turns grey
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

white stones really look great, BUT

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought about 30 bags from one store, all from the same pallet, the first 10 were really white, the next 15 not as white, had a yellow tint and the last 5 were white. in the store they all look white and the bags state white marble chips. I needed 5 more bags, went to another home depot, I told the men who hepled me get them about the colors, they check the bags i bought and they all looked white, I added them to the walk way, a couple had a greyish tone to the rocks, these were the last 5 bags i needed an where all again from the same pallet but different store. Not home depot fault has to be kick back to the rock company. The walk way still looks good but if you look close you can notice the color difference.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Valley Stream, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful and easy to use

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The marble chips are very nice, easy to lay out. The project, a winding garden walk, turned out great. If there is any downside, the chips have a lot of gray mixed in with them, but they do bleach a little in the sun.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice stones for small jobs

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Didn't need a huge bag of stones - just wanted some to hold my tiki torches on my balcony ( in a big planter). Very attracive; can use for other projects. Live in a condo, so I didn't need an industrial-sized bag. Diddn't want dirt or any thing that might attract bugs. This was the perfect amount!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>