728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

The Vigoro 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble features a brilliant color that is great for adding a beautiful, professional appearance to various landscape areas around your home and property. This versatile, decorative stone is suitable for use in helping to prevent the growth of weeds and helping to protect soil from damage due to harsh temperatures.
Overall rating:
4.596 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product47 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(42)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product47 of 50reviews
Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Review 1 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Perfect ground cover - buy extra!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for filling in the flower bed under an outside staircase at work, but needed WAY more than the suggested amount on the outside of the bag. The bag indicates it covers 3sqft 2in deep, but it's more like 2sqft MAX. I should've only needed 10 bags, but I ended up going back and getting 8 more bags. Even then, for perfection, I should get another 3 or 4 bags...plan to get at least x2 more than you think. Hose off the stones after placing, since they have a white powder residue that covers up the natural beauty of the marble stone. Value was great though - on sale in store, and the employees at Home Depot were super helpful with loading my cart and putting the bags in my car :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to add awesome cover

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Marble chips have a good variation of white with gray streaks, can add a lot of style at low cost to any yard or area. I suggest over buying a few bags if you are in doubt of your specific Cubic feet needs. One more thing to point out is that over time you will want to continually add a little more rock to keep the area looking fresh, I usually add more during the Holidays when family will be in town.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but larger than expected!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They're rocks - what can you say? I purchased these to 1) put a decorative 6-8 inch border around my above ground pool and 2) fill a natural low spot (about a 3x12 foot walkway) between the pool and fence that stays wet and muddy and to fill in around the pump and filter area.
They look great. The pool border is very attractive. The low/wet area has also improved. We laid down some left over plastic pool ground cover and put gravel on top of that to keep the weeds from growing through. Now I can easily walk in that area without the mud. BUT - get more than you think you'll need. I had a large area to cover and bought an initial 20 bags. Went back and got another 34! Still have to go back and get another 20. They cover a small compact area easily - the border, but for the wider area it took more than expected to provided added depth and cover.
Finally, these rocks are actually larger than I expected. I was thinking they were a small fine gravel - more pea size I guess, and in fact they are mostly more golf ball size.
But I got the 1st 54 bags when they were on sale at $3 each so a great bargain. Overall I'm very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Fremont CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product, best price

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took a lot more than the number of bags I plan to fill my lawn, but I'm happy with the result. My garden look pretty now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Eglin AFB, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy installation, great finish!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used these as a bed for my backyard DIY firepit. It was a little rainy, which in FL was actually useful as it kept the sand in the ground from seeping around. Although the outcome is phenomenal and exactly what I was looking for, putting them in was a mess. When these rocks get moist, they leave behind a white pasty substance in the bag and, if you touch the inside of the bag or the rocks, on you. Recommend wearing gloves for work with these! But, a great product from your hometown Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: messy when wet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Wellsville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better choice than mulch

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a border around an apple tree. I felt these marble chips were a better choice over mulch which has to be refreshed every year. I'm very happy I chose these chips, I think they look great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Marlow, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, easy landscaping

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the rocks to landscape around my pool. Love them so far. The only comment is they need to have a weight on the bag to help consumers know how many bags they can load into their vehicle. I didn't weigh one but after pouring about 25 bags of them, I can tell you they weigh about 40lbs each
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Great to use near the house to keep snakes at bay

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I learned this from my parents who lived in central Texas where rattle snakes were a problem. Put white rocks around your house to keep snakes away. We live in NC and our backyard backs up to a creek and natural area which is beautiful but copperheads would frequently be found up next to our house. Once we cleared out the area and put these white rocks no more copperheads near our house. Now anywhere we want to be snake free we put these.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Carson, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product capture my walkway to my garden just as I wanted it to look.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product in the bag was so easy to spread and use. I am 62 and I was able to complete my garden project. It looks so beautiful. I have used this product 10 years ago and it is still functioning, so this is why I decided to use it again to make the pathway side my raised GArden. The price was great also!!!!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Duarte, CA 91010, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product, good price

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very attractive along driveway border. Quite white, seems like it will remain so a long time. Good price, I shopped around quite a bit. Good product.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Valley Stream, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful and easy to use

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The marble chips are very nice, easy to lay out. The project, a winding garden walk, turned out great. If there is any downside, the chips have a lot of gray mixed in with them, but they do bleach a little in the sun.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Vigoro Rocks

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These bag of rocks were great, performed better than expected!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Pike Road, Alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in my new garden area

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really picky about how my stuff looks and this marble looks amazing! The picture they have up shows it as a greyish white color. What I have, and keep getting because I'm not done yet, is mostly white but has some that are grey and some a little black but overall it looks like a sea of shiny/sparkly white. The greys in there make it look even better, in my opinion. It's heavy and durable. It hasn't washed away and it hasn't moved at all, even in parts that aren't completely flat but not a hill either. I'm pleased to have the look I want without worrying about it shifting or breaking down any time soon. This marble is cheaper than those nice pebble rocks I was looking at too. Very Pleased.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Ma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't stay white

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bout 10 bags thinking it would be enough. I was way off. Not a problem untill I realized that they have a white powder coating, after being out in the weather for a few months or in their bag at the store getting wet, they kind of turn grey. While I was dumping the bags a few months ago I noticed the powder and assumed it was from them cutting marble. Now a few months later adding more bags I see they turned grey and the new ones hod a lot more powder in the bags. Not a bad product, I just didnt want grey rocks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: turns grey
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rocks

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great decorative item for the money. 45 lb bag for less than 6 dollars. I would receommend this product to anyone looking to sharpen their landscape for cheap.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love These!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these rocks to frame my back patio and they look beautiful! I'm gong back to buy more this weekend to put them in the front of my house. Worth everyone, can't beat the price!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Greatest Decorative Stone of ALL Time

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never owned a bag of rocks , quite as nice as these rocks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Milwaukee, wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very dissatisfied

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After more than $100 and 2 afternoons of putting the rocks in around our new deck it looked very good. The next day it rained and many of the rocks lost their white coating turning black. There was no information on the bag that the rocks would loose their white coating during rain. I will probably have to start all over again and find some white rocks that will STAY WHITE.
Cons: Not Durable, white rocks turn black when it rains, if you want pictures i can email you plenty
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice white stone landscaping for detail

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like the looks of the marble chips, they did not cover as well as I assumed. I needed a least another bag or two to make it look well done. Not hard to spread even for an old lady.
Pros: Durable, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

It is a bag of rocks

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These rocks were great! I was worried about how they would perform, but once I opened the bag, I realized my worries were unfounded- This rock performed better than expected!
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>