728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

The Vigoro 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble features a brilliant color that is great for adding a beautiful, professional appearance to various landscape areas around your home and property. This versatile, decorative stone is suitable for use in helping to prevent the growth of weeds and helping to protect soil from damage due to harsh temperatures.
Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Review 1 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Perfect ground cover - buy extra!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for filling in the flower bed under an outside staircase at work, but needed WAY more than the suggested amount on the outside of the bag. The bag indicates it covers 3sqft 2in deep, but it's more like 2sqft MAX. I should've only needed 10 bags, but I ended up going back and getting 8 more bags. Even then, for perfection, I should get another 3 or 4 bags...plan to get at least x2 more than you think. Hose off the stones after placing, since they have a white powder residue that covers up the natural beauty of the marble stone. Value was great though - on sale in store, and the employees at Home Depot were super helpful with loading my cart and putting the bags in my car :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Fremont CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product, best price

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a lot more than the number of bags I plan to fill my lawn, but I'm happy with the result. My garden look pretty now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but larger than expected!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They're rocks - what can you say? I purchased these to 1) put a decorative 6-8 inch border around my above ground pool and 2) fill a natural low spot (about a 3x12 foot walkway) between the pool and fence that stays wet and muddy and to fill in around the pump and filter area.
They look great. The pool border is very attractive. The low/wet area has also improved. We laid down some left over plastic pool ground cover and put gravel on top of that to keep the weeds from growing through. Now I can easily walk in that area without the mud. BUT - get more than you think you'll need. I had a large area to cover and bought an initial 20 bags. Went back and got another 34! Still have to go back and get another 20. They cover a small compact area easily - the border, but for the wider area it took more than expected to provided added depth and cover.
Finally, these rocks are actually larger than I expected. I was thinking they were a small fine gravel - more pea size I guess, and in fact they are mostly more golf ball size.
But I got the 1st 54 bags when they were on sale at $3 each so a great bargain. Overall I'm very pleased.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to add awesome cover

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Marble chips have a good variation of white with gray streaks, can add a lot of style at low cost to any yard or area. I suggest over buying a few bags if you are in doubt of your specific Cubic feet needs. One more thing to point out is that over time you will want to continually add a little more rock to keep the area looking fresh, I usually add more during the Holidays when family will be in town.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble

Great to use near the house to keep snakes at bay

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I learned this from my parents who lived in central Texas where rattle snakes were a problem. Put white rocks around your house to keep snakes away. We live in NC and our backyard backs up to a creek and natural area which is beautiful but copperheads would frequently be found up next to our house. Once we cleared out the area and put these white rocks no more copperheads near our house. Now anywhere we want to be snake free we put these.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Eglin AFB, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy installation, great finish!

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used these as a bed for my backyard DIY firepit. It was a little rainy, which in FL was actually useful as it kept the sand in the ground from seeping around. Although the outcome is phenomenal and exactly what I was looking for, putting them in was a mess. When these rocks get moist, they leave behind a white pasty substance in the bag and, if you touch the inside of the bag or the rocks, on you. Recommend wearing gloves for work with these! But, a great product from your hometown Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: messy when wet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Marlow, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, easy landscaping

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the rocks to landscape around my pool. Love them so far. The only comment is they need to have a weight on the bag to help consumers know how many bags they can load into their vehicle. I didn't weigh one but after pouring about 25 bags of them, I can tell you they weigh about 40lbs each
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Wellsville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better choice than mulch

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a border around an apple tree. I felt these marble chips were a better choice over mulch which has to be refreshed every year. I'm very happy I chose these chips, I think they look great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Carson, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product capture my walkway to my garden just as I wanted it to look.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product in the bag was so easy to spread and use. I am 62 and I was able to complete my garden project. It looks so beautiful. I have used this product 10 years ago and it is still functioning, so this is why I decided to use it again to make the pathway side my raised GArden. The price was great also!!!!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love These!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these rocks to frame my back patio and they look beautiful! I'm gong back to buy more this weekend to put them in the front of my house. Worth everyone, can't beat the price!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Duarte, CA 91010, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product, good price

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very attractive along driveway border. Quite white, seems like it will remain so a long time. Good price, I shopped around quite a bit. Good product.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Beltsville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

White? Not every bag.......

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Making a walkway on my property. Since bags are so heavy and I needed about 25 bags, I did it in stages since I don't have a truck. Many of the bags did NOT have "white marble" but rather Brown and discolored rocks. About 3 out of 4 bags were like this. And, as I stated, I didn't just get one lot or batch of these but rather I got these over a period of about 6 weeks. Very disappointed, poor quality product. If you buy these, I suggest you scrutinize the bags very carefully and bring along a bodybuilder since slinging these bags around and pouring through a pallet of these is no easy task.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great landscaping rocks

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are excellent landscaping rocks...hope Home Depot keeps the price competitive and maintain its excellent quality.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Fort Pierce, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garden Boarder

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Open bag and pour in the front of the house. It made a very nice clean boarder.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Stylish, easy
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marble chips on sale add GREAT look to garden PT raised beds also from Home Depot.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Marble chips on sale add GREAT look to garden PT raised beds also from Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Denver, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice service

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 1 bag of rock for decoration. Needed 2, no problem, they brought another from back room and I was happy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice white stone landscaping for detail

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the looks of the marble chips, they did not cover as well as I assumed. I needed a least another bag or two to make it look well done. Not hard to spread even for an old lady.
Pros: Durable, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Milwaukee, wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very dissatisfied

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After more than $100 and 2 afternoons of putting the rocks in around our new deck it looked very good. The next day it rained and many of the rocks lost their white coating turning black. There was no information on the bag that the rocks would loose their white coating during rain. I will probably have to start all over again and find some white rocks that will STAY WHITE.
Cons: Not Durable, white rocks turn black when it rains, if you want pictures i can email you plenty
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expect some white rocks to darken when wet.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our gardener installed these rocks around an area of fresh soil. Then it was time to water the new flowers. As a result, we ended up with a border of white rocks dotted with black and gray rocks. We only used 9 or 10 bags so it wasn't that much trouble to take those couple dozen discolored ones out. However, I can understand someone getting angry discovering this problem after pouring dozens of bags. There should be a warning on the bag about the risk of the rocks darkening when wet. Aside from this drawback, though, I do admit the effect is quite stunning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: some darken when wet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 0.5 cu. ft. White Marble
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap and looks good!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The white marble chips have a nice visual appeal for home landscaping.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Great Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>