728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

Using this Southern Patio 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Planter is a decorative way to display your plants and flowers. It offers the look of a wooden whiskey barrel to enhance any decor. Its UV resistant resin construction makes it safe for outdoor use.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
Review 1 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from San Diego Region, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product but photo is misleading shape is correctly more like a whiskey/wine barrel than a wide open flower pot

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a poly resin planter ~24" diameter (top opening) ~15" high and ~18" bottom diameter. The distorted photo makes the customer think this is a wide open top flower pot it more like a correct whiskey/wine barrel taper, and re. the finish - it has a "weathered" whiskey/wine barrel design/texture/color - the look is pretty accurate if you've ever seen old oak whiskey/wine barrels left out in the weather.
Drain holes? Yes, if you want drain holes, you have to actually drill drain holes if you want to use this as a planter - no big deal get a 1/2 inch drill bit or a larger diameter spade bit and "go to town."
The resin foam material is easy to drill - no problem, (also no reason to give this product "2 stars," that's really a weak complaint. Most heavy duty, large plant pots we've seen do not have drain holes...
Besides you might want to fill one of these with cool water on a hot summer day and soak your tired feet/toes... We had some concrete finishers that wanted to a fill a new one of these with water to wash off their tools in - thinking they were a large oak cleaning barrel/basin - we rescued the planters from that use. ;-)
The price is reasonable/competitive for similar products, and no rust stains, rotting, or stave shrinkage like real oak barrels.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: no cons
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

Awesome Planter

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im really excited about this planter. I used it as my base for my indoor garden. I stuck a trellis and fulled it up, planted some lettuce seeds in the planter and hung pots on my trellis for all my herbs. Really happy I found it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Denver CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not sure why anyone would want to display their Pants in this but it works good for plants.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure why anyone would want to display their pant in this whiskey barrel. The barrel contains no actual whiskey so i would really be inclined to take off my pants for display. Instead I filled mine with potting soil and put my plants in in and they look great!
Pros: Stylish
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Stockton, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Planter

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect size for all my veggie's and easy to make drainage holes.. I just used a drill and bit with no problem what so ever and I am a female. Not right for the other person to give this planter a 2 stars just because it didn't come with drainage holes. They are very easy to make on the bottom of planter.
I LOVE this planter and have so far 10. I am planning to purchase more in the future.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Auburn, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for potted vegetables and flowers on patio.

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 4 of these to grow our vegetables and flowers on our patio. We drilled in drainage holes on the bottom where the guides were.
They are working fabulously. My plants are thriving and I am about to go back to the store and buy 2 or 3 more for more vegetables.
They are durable and functional. They look nice on our patio and since they are fiberglass, I know they will not rot inside.
I am very very pleased and highly recommend these for patio use. Especially if you have a lot to plant. They can hold them.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the Money

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These whiskey barrel type planters are a great size for one large plant or several small plants. Room to grow!
I have two large tomato plants in some of these and two Artichoke plants in one of them.
Some contain short rows of beets and carrots. They are even suitable for growing potatoes as long as they do not stay too wet or get too hot. Use a Professional quick draining soil mix infused with helpful bacteria.
These planters are not to heavy for me to pick up and move even after I water them. [Not that I would do this often.] they are much lighter that a true half whiskey barrel. Those are heavy enough empty!
Worth every penny I paid for them. On line ordering and free store pick up are great!!!
Highly recommended!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

Love it

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 1 then went bought and bought 12 (to replace old wood planters). The drainage hole area is PERFECTLY MARKED on the bottom. My 8 year old used his toy drill to drill them all, then helped me plant :)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BEAUTIFUL...JUST MAKE DRAINAGE HOLES USE YOUR IMAGINATION PLEASE!!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is beautiful planter i can't believe why the other customer with negative review just because is missing holes??.....i just put in my grill flames small metal tube and very hot i just screw on the bottom and created nice holes. is many ways to make holes just use your imagination.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Billerica, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I needed.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great size for the money, not "pretty" but def as pictured. Strong and thick, seems durable, time will tell. No drain holes, I make a sort of self watering system at the bottom with some pvc piping, water basket, and fiberglass screen, works great so I can have them on my third floor patio without leaking.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Antelope, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best priced planter on the market

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
acually hate to say how good these are because the price will go or they will be harder to find
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

love these barrels

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have 2 we already ..also u can spray pain them. so we got 6 more...they are light weight, maybe a little smaller than the old wooden ones. but we love these barrels. also i have 2 give a great review to the helpful staff at the home depot garden in capitola, ca. online showed they had 18, but they were no where 2b found. Lars helped us look, after i left the dept , he continued 2 look & he found them high up on a shelf, still boxed. Andrea got the forklift 2 get them.,..she is another great employee. thanks 2 Lars for his hard work in making our day...he is a great employee. he came & found me to let me know he found them...then at the check out...Kimberley is always so pleasant & friendly. I always like seeing her at the check out, she is really a nice person.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape, u can spray paint them
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Conroe TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

22/1/2 In. WHISKEY BARREL RESIN PLANTER

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am extremely pleased with the quality of this large planter. It is perfect for growing daylilies, and provides plenty of room for increase. I like them so much, I will buy 12 more to start.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

Right size for planting veggies and moving them around

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the product for the purpose it was purchased for, a moveable garden pot. Now I can move them to the sun when need be.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from San Diego
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as pictured

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I returned it as the item is not the same as the picture which is much better looking item. May have to purchase again if can't find the pictured item on line at reasonable cost.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight
Cons: not as pictured
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Sturdy

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sturdy pot that can withstand the harsh weather conditions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: only one color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22-1/2 in. Whiskey Barrel Resin Planter

Drainage holes?

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great other than the fact that mine don't have drainage holes, which I didn't realize until too late...
-35points
1out of 37found this review helpful.