728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Space Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

The Pelonis 1,500-Watt Portable Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Heater has 3 heat settings for different comfort options. The heater features a built-in overheat protection device and an automatic cut-off for safe home use. It has a built-in carry handle and all-direction casters for mobility.
Overall rating:
4.027 / 5
4
 / 
5
(300 reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product222 of 284reviews
Rating Breakdown 300 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(172)
4
(59)
3
(14)
2
(15)
1
(40)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product222 of 284reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Selinsgrove, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This oil filled heater works great I have it on low and a low setting and it gets the job done. I have been using these kind of heater for about 10 years now and love them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Switch Broke After Six Months

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heater six months ago to help heat my small space. It did well, but took a long time to heat up. You would need to have this on for at least 2 hours before feeling the effects in a normal sized bedroom. Unfortunately the switch broke after six months of normal use, I only used it for colder days. The one year warranty does not cover the switch, and even if it did, you have to pay the postage to send the heater to the manufacturer before they will consider a repair. So this will end up being sent to the landfill.
Pros: cheap
Cons: breaks
+44points
48out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Switch does not last

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was a big fan of how this heater performed until the switch gave out 6 days after the year long warranty was up. I called and they did not care. I only used the heater sporadically over the last year - the switches, as other people have commented, are of very poor quality. Will be adding this to the landfill. Buyer beware.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: low quality
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

perfect for small spaces

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
requires some assembly no tools needed. it was perfect for a 10 by 20 room.place the setting to the lowest and the thermostat about a quarter and heat up the room to 72 degrees Fahrenheit
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a lot of features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Energy Hog

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spend all our time at one end of the house and have been using a ceramic heater to just heat that end. Our energy usage with that ceramic heater has been averaging 16.2 kWh per day. I picked up this oil-filled radiator heater and we've been using it in the same way for several days. Our overall energy usage has soared to an average 27.3 kWh per day. Needless to say, we were shocked about how much electricity it was sucking and am not happy with it. We're going back to the ceramic heater.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: energy hog
+36points
43out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great little heater

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater to use in an efficiency apartment. It's an old apartment and the heater isn't very efficient and it's very noisy. To top that off, the apartment is NOT energy efficient. One can feel a breeze coming in the door when it's windy. This little radiant heater puts out so much heat it is amazing. I don't need to turn it up very high and it heats the two rooms I have very nicely. I got it because I know people who heat a large house with two like this one. They blow fans on the heater to distribute the heat. I would definitely recommend this item for anyone who is looking for a heater!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, works very well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found that it uses a great deal of electricity at any level..low, med., high. A little disappointed about that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pulls too much power
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
27out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Western Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Warranty

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The heater worked, as advertised, last winter (2.5 months). Since I started using it this fall it seeps oil from the bottom of one of the fins. Since it is still within the warranty period (one year) I contacted them about an adjustment/ partial credit or refund. So far I have called them 5 times, they promise to respond, nothing as of 12/1/12. I'll post an update when contacted but I'm not holding my breath at this point.( And no, there's no evidence of dents or corrosion).
Maybe store warranties aren't such a bad idea after all and I recommend the heater with reservations
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, warranty not honored
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Great! READ THIS

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these because my boiler is on its 10th life.
Keep in mind its not a save all. These are temporary units.
I turn one on and close the door to the room. After an hour its very toasty. I then turn it down a notch each hour till comfortable. *****Don't turn it off***** The design of these units is to keep going. Leave it on the lowest setting.
Keeps the room easily at 75. It was 28 degrees outside my house today. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Colorado

Electricity is only cheaper than natural gas up to a point...

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's been a very cold winter in Colorado! I rent what I now know is a poorly designed house - it stays cold or hot depending on the season. Purchased two of these heaters to keep in 2 cold spots in the house: kitchen filled with windows and a cavernous bathroom. For a month I had them both going 24/7 on low with the heat dial less than halfway turned - just enough to act like a buffer against the chill and perhaps reduce my natural gas (furnace) use. My electric bill skyrocketed - up by at least $50, and my gas use stayed the same. This month I only used the heaters during a couple of multi-day cold snaps, and my utility bill is much improved: gas the same again, electricity down from the high to only $20 more than usual. Hope this helps someone :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: watch that electric bill!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Edmolnds, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted a month bad buy

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought two of these and they both died on the same day.. One burned out a socket and left black marks on the wall and both lost their thermostats. If you turned it on high it went off and vice versa..
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Sandpoint, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works really well.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Facing an incoming Northern Winter (Sandpoint Idaho) and the 20's have already arrived this fall. Went out and bought this at a local Home Depot as I was curious to its performance. Brought it home, plugged it in, turned the ceiling fan on low, and successfully heated the dining room, Living room, and kitchen area of the Apartment in no time. Will be buying another for the main bedroom. This will save costs on using Central Heating, and two, Maybe three oil heaters should be enough to warm our apartment of a 1,000 Sqf comfortably.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Some people don't understand how this type of heater works.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's weird reading some of the reviews... some people clearly don't understand how oil filled heaters work. The ones who write things like, "I waited five hours and the room was still cold, so I sent it back for a refund," truly bug me. You have to learn how heaters work, then use your brain, to get good results with them.
To use an oil filled electric heater:
1) Make sure the door to the room the heater is in, is closed. Shut. Got it?
2) Seal off any drafts. (I had a friend who said her heater "just wasn't working," but she had left the door open connecting her medium sized LR and large kitchen... she was trying to heat a 220 square foot area, with the thing on low!)
2) NO heater will do a good job if the room it is in has bad insulation. (Ceramic heaters may seem to, but the warmth will be gone in seconds when you turn them off.) So insulate your house, before complaining about the crummy heaters. Put plastic over the windows. Insulate the walls. Otherwise you're just pouring electricity or other fuel out the windows.
3) The best way to use these is: start out on HIGH. Wait till the room is cozy and warm. Then turn the little knob till you hear a CLICK. (JUST till you hear the click, no further.) Then LEAVE the knob there and leave the heater plugged in and turned on. If your room is 75 degrees, it'll stay 75 degrees. My friend who thought hers didn't work, was using it till it got the place warm, then shutting it off "to save money." Then of course it would take hours to heat the room again. You have to leave it on and plugged in.
4) If you want to save electricity, or prevent blowing fuses, put the heater on low. But don't expect it to heat up the place on low! It will MAINTAIN the heat on low but not heat a place that's freezing. Put it on high till the place is warm, then switch it to low and turn the knob till you hear the click. Then stop turning the knob and leave it plugged in and leave the door closed and wait. The room will get toasty and warm and stay that way.
+207points
222out of 237found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from AUSTINTX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

13 month owner

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked great and did not dry out the air. I used it all last winter. This winter it does not turn on and there is not a decent way to take it apart to try to fix it. It is great if you only need a heater for one year but not a good investment. The same thing happened with a different brand from walmart, they lasted about 2 weeks longer JUNK
Cons: Not Durable, breaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Great product...no compliants

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our bedroom has always been a little cold and recently colder than usual. I did some research online and almost everyone said this cheaper model worked as well as other high-end models, so we decided to make the purchase. The heater warms our bedroom and even our large living room. Additionally, the heater doesn't get as warm as I was expected, which is great because we have curious cats. Only thing to worry about is Home Depot will change the brand of this product and maintain the same SKU, so all these reviews might not be for the same model.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Park City, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works very well

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never owned an oil heater but am very very happy with the five that I now have spread around my house. They do not blow hot, dry air that adds to the static electricity shocks. They don't dry out my kids' rooms while they sleep. And they don't make any noise. They also keep a more constant heat in each room, easily controlled with the dial and switches. Out of the five I bought from Home Depot I have one that smelled funny for a few days but is fine now. Highly recommend this heater.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Great little heater

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this guy all winter during the nights. Kept my room a nice 68 degrees compared to without it getting down to 58-62ish. I needed this because the central heat does not heat my room well, during the day computers keep my room warm. Seemed very energy efficient just turning it on low with thermostat about ¾ the way up at midnight when I crawled in bed (room is normally 70 at that time) and then shutting it off at 7am when I got up. i think I figured about $2 a week doing it this way for a week (used a kilowatt). Keep in mind the room I used it in was about 24x15 with 9ft ceiling and very well insulated and the door shut and electricity is around 12 cents per KW/hr here.
I do have some complaints about the unit: The nut/bolt system for the legs/feet were not tight. On anything higher than low setting the unit creaks like crazy (kept me up) when heating up and cooling down. The light on the front is really bright (some black electrical tape fixed that). The unit does get very hot so beware if you have kids. If I remember I measured around 190-200 degrees in some spots (infrared thermometer).
Even with all those complains (all minor to me) the unit is great for the money and efficiency for what I need it for.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Salado, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heats fine, but controls are not very durable

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit heats well, but the on/off switch malfunctioned within six weeks of purchase. Now it won't turn on and off via the switch. I live a long way from Home Depot so I took it apart and hardwired it in the on position. Now I just plug it in to turn it on.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Just like ALL products built nowadays....

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good little heater for the price but like products built nowadays it broke after the warranty expired. Looks like the switch or thermostat may have gone out. Will try to fix but otherwise I'll have to spend MORE money to replace it.
Pros: worked great
Cons: Not Durable, didn't last long
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Highly recommend and a good value.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works very well. Totally silent operation except for a slight click when it cycles off/on. Energy saving in that you can turn the heat to high and the output at 1500 watts to get heat quickly at the maximum output, but then can lower wattage to 900 or 600 to save money and also adjust the heat output to suit your comfort level. I would definitely buy this heater again. I also found the price to be a very good value and I shopped around quite a bit. I have had no problems with the heater at all over the three seasons I've used it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>