728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

The Pelonis 1,500-Watt Portable Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Heater has 3 heat settings for different comfort options. The heater features a built-in overheat protection device and an automatic cut-off for safe home use. It has a built-in carry handle and all-direction casters for mobility.
Overall rating:
4.019 / 5
4
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product230 of 295reviews
Rating Breakdown 311 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(177)
4
(61)
3
(16)
2
(16)
1
(41)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product230 of 295reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Texas

First time User of Oil- Filled Radiators

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved this Oil Filled Heater Last Winter, and it really cut both the gas and electricity bill. I used it in a large back bedroom which gets little air-flow. It does take a period of time to obtain heat with the doors closed, but it maintains the heat nicely after it is turned off. The thermostat was easy to use. I never expected to rate a heater, but this one was really good. I might just never order another portable fan blower type again.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Selinsgrove, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This oil filled heater works great I have it on low and a low setting and it gets the job done. I have been using these kind of heater for about 10 years now and love them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Colorado

Electricity is only cheaper than natural gas up to a point...

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's been a very cold winter in Colorado! I rent what I now know is a poorly designed house - it stays cold or hot depending on the season. Purchased two of these heaters to keep in 2 cold spots in the house: kitchen filled with windows and a cavernous bathroom. For a month I had them both going 24/7 on low with the heat dial less than halfway turned - just enough to act like a buffer against the chill and perhaps reduce my natural gas (furnace) use. My electric bill skyrocketed - up by at least $50, and my gas use stayed the same. This month I only used the heaters during a couple of multi-day cold snaps, and my utility bill is much improved: gas the same again, electricity down from the high to only $20 more than usual. Hope this helps someone :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: watch that electric bill!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Cheaply Made- Poor Customer SVC (MFG)

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I actually have the HO-0225- not much difference. Knobs are cheap plastic and break easy. When I called to buy a replacement I was told that it was a "safety hazard" to replace the cheap plastic knob. I explained with no lack of detail that I was talking about the plastic cover to the switch that turned the thing on and that no internal mechanisms were involved. No good. They don't stand by their product and obviously don't care about their customers.
Cons: Not Durable, poor mfg customer service
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Denton, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Back to the store!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plugged this in over 5 hours ago and turned all settings to max as instructed. You have to stand right next to the heater to feel the heat. Metal is quite warm, so we know it's heating up. Still giving off a strong oil smell. The box says it's recommended for a large room, but did not give dimensions of what a large room was. We have it in a 14 x 16 with 9 foot ceilings that opens up to a kitchen/dining so it may be too much for the little guy. Trying it in a small bathroom, but oil smell is so strong I don't know if we can take it. Gave a rating of fair just because it was so cheap and we may have expected too much. Back to the store tomorrow!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: didn't warm room., details on box vague.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Gainesville, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good heater for a great price

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are easy to put together and need a little time to warm up a room, but once they get going, they are great!! I think we all will be happier this winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: takes a little time to heat up a room be patient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

perfect for small spaces

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
requires some assembly no tools needed. it was perfect for a 10 by 20 room.place the setting to the lowest and the thermostat about a quarter and heat up the room to 72 degrees Fahrenheit
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a lot of features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Switch Broke After Six Months

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heater six months ago to help heat my small space. It did well, but took a long time to heat up. You would need to have this on for at least 2 hours before feeling the effects in a normal sized bedroom. Unfortunately the switch broke after six months of normal use, I only used it for colder days. The one year warranty does not cover the switch, and even if it did, you have to pay the postage to send the heater to the manufacturer before they will consider a repair. So this will end up being sent to the landfill.
Pros: cheap
Cons: breaks
+50points
57out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Switch does not last

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was a big fan of how this heater performed until the switch gave out 6 days after the year long warranty was up. I called and they did not care. I only used the heater sporadically over the last year - the switches, as other people have commented, are of very poor quality. Will be adding this to the landfill. Buyer beware.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: low quality
+42points
46out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found that it uses a great deal of electricity at any level..low, med., high. A little disappointed about that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pulls too much power
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
30out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great little heater

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater to use in an efficiency apartment. It's an old apartment and the heater isn't very efficient and it's very noisy. To top that off, the apartment is NOT energy efficient. One can feel a breeze coming in the door when it's windy. This little radiant heater puts out so much heat it is amazing. I don't need to turn it up very high and it heats the two rooms I have very nicely. I got it because I know people who heat a large house with two like this one. They blow fans on the heater to distribute the heat. I would definitely recommend this item for anyone who is looking for a heater!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, works very well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Energy Hog

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spend all our time at one end of the house and have been using a ceramic heater to just heat that end. Our energy usage with that ceramic heater has been averaging 16.2 kWh per day. I picked up this oil-filled radiator heater and we've been using it in the same way for several days. Our overall energy usage has soared to an average 27.3 kWh per day. Needless to say, we were shocked about how much electricity it was sucking and am not happy with it. We're going back to the ceramic heater.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: energy hog
+39points
48out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Western Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Warranty

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The heater worked, as advertised, last winter (2.5 months). Since I started using it this fall it seeps oil from the bottom of one of the fins. Since it is still within the warranty period (one year) I contacted them about an adjustment/ partial credit or refund. So far I have called them 5 times, they promise to respond, nothing as of 12/1/12. I'll post an update when contacted but I'm not holding my breath at this point.( And no, there's no evidence of dents or corrosion).
Maybe store warranties aren't such a bad idea after all and I recommend the heater with reservations
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, warranty not honored
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from elverson, a
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A little slow warming up at times, but does a great job at keeping the room warm. More efficient than space heaters. Easy to set up, easy to use, fairly mobile. We have several. One did die after just one season or so which I had to replace. Just bought a 2nd one and decided to spend the extra few bucks on the protection plan. Good bang for your buck.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: sometimes prone to defect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Quiet heater

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good and warm heater for living room.
You'll need to use fan to make the room warmer quicker.
This is my second one, the switch melted on the first one after 5 months on daily use.
The switch is low quality
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Works Great!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater works great and is exactly what I was looking for! It was also at a really good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Wallingford
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mini-radiator fits the bill

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a drafty Cape and found that this unit satisfied our need for heat in the bdrm, living room and kitchen. Yes, we pruchased 3 and have absolutely no regrets. The unit is clean, efficient and economical.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Great! READ THIS

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these because my boiler is on its 10th life.
Keep in mind its not a save all. These are temporary units.
I turn one on and close the door to the room. After an hour its very toasty. I then turn it down a notch each hour till comfortable. *****Don't turn it off***** The design of these units is to keep going. Leave it on the lowest setting.
Keeps the room easily at 75. It was 28 degrees outside my house today. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Sandpoint, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works really well.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Facing an incoming Northern Winter (Sandpoint Idaho) and the 20's have already arrived this fall. Went out and bought this at a local Home Depot as I was curious to its performance. Brought it home, plugged it in, turned the ceiling fan on low, and successfully heated the dining room, Living room, and kitchen area of the Apartment in no time. Will be buying another for the main bedroom. This will save costs on using Central Heating, and two, Maybe three oil heaters should be enough to warm our apartment of a 1,000 Sqf comfortably.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
from Chehalis, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent small radiator, heats up fast and warmth moves into room quickly and evenly

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A portable oil filled electric radiator was a first time buy for me...I sort of did it on a wing and a prayer knowing that my old baseboard heaters were sucking electricity at an alarming rate, so I decided to give it a try, thinking that at around $40, I had little to lose.
I am so pleased with this heater..it heats up quickly and the convection heating the air around it and beyond is very efficient. It is silent and very easy to move around with the wheels which were a piece of cake to put on..no tools needed just a screw and a wing nut at each end...simple.
We haven't had very cold temps yet this year..but chilly at night, so I have been turning it on about 20 minutes before I go to bed on high and then back to low with the min/max control about mid way, it then maintains a comfortable temperature throughout the night. We have some cold air forecast going into this weekend and I am looking forward to seeing how it performs...I am sure I will be happy..
I read some reviews referring to knobs/dials being easy to break, so with that in mind I have been aware and turned the knobs gently and evenly..I don't foresee a problem...I am 61 and female, with a few aches and pains and this little unit is just great...so easy to use and does a really good job...my bedroom is quite large and the heater/radiator has done a wonderful job of keeping it cozy, not too cold or hot..big thumbs up!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>