728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED

23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED

The Lasko 1500-Watt Portable Electric Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control features 2 heat settings. The heater has an adjustable, programmable thermostat that helps maintain an ideal comfort level. The unit oscillates to equally distribute heat across a wide area. The digital controls and digital display are easy to use.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product214 of 235reviews
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(170)
4
(56)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product214 of 235reviews
Customer reviews for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
RathTheExpert
from Longmont, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flaky thermostat

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are going to use the thermostat on this heater, the heater must be set to high (1500 watts).
This is a 1500 watt heater. It produces 1500 watts of heat. All 1500 watt heaters produce 1500 watts of heat unless they are defective.
So any 1500 watt heater will work equally well at heating a room. One buys a 1500W electric heater based on other criteria.
One criteria is "How well does it regulate the heat?" If you're in a small room, the last thing you need is a heater that causes the room temperature to fluctuate wildly.
According to the manual, the you set the temperature you want on the digital thermometer. It should turn on one degree Fahrenheit below the setting and turn off two degrees above.
The heater I have caused my room to fluctuate between 70 degrees and 80 degrees when I did not turn on the oscillator (the mechanical back and forth sweep of heat). I was just about to return the 5160 when I tried it with the oscillator turned on. It works much better that way.
As you should be able to see from one of the photos, the temperature reading on the 5160 is 78 (it had just turned from 79) and the hand held thermometer reads 74F. What appears to happen is that the heater is heating the heaters thermostat after the ceramic element has turned off. This causes the time between when the heater to turn on after being turned off to be much too long.
I wish that there was some way to set this so that it would turn on .5 degrees below the temperature is set and turn off .5 above. That 3 (or, if you believe the thermostat, 8degree swing in heat is just too much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
25out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Andrew
from Fremont, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good, cheap and easy to use.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At the moment, there are 3 heaters in my house. My young sister, who lives together with my family, bought the first one about nine or ten months ago. After several months using this product without any problem and with a high satisfaction, I decided to buy two more products used for two other bed rooms in my house.
I am quite happy for my decision to buy this kind of heater because it's not only economic, easy to use but also has an adjustable, programmable thermostat that helps maintain an ideal comfort level. The unit oscillates to equally distribute heat across a wide area.
However, in my opinion, this product will be really excellent if it's able to remember the last set temperature. At the moment, it always displays 75 degree when initially turned on. :-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: need to remember the last set temperature.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Bellewa
from Bellevue, WA, USA

PRICE + Style + Efficiency = A Winner !!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater offers exceptional value for the money. I've bought every type of free-standing heater over the years and have eventually given most of them away. As the chill began to settle in this autumn, decided to search for yet another unit. The infra-red bulbs burn out, so no more of those. Ceramic disk heaters seem to be the best and have come down in price over the years. Also wanted something attractive this time; not an ugly wood box or glaring burner elements. This 'tuxedo' heater is not only sleek looking, it also gently swivels to evenly distribute quiet heat! The tower style fits in anywhere, and it's easy to move, even when on; handle slots are right at the top
behind the display. Remote works wonderfully from any distance. At an under $50 price point, Lasko has a real winner~~!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, excellent easy instruction manual, well packed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+103points
116out of 129found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
vpl182
from Ringwood, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great heater for in home use

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have found this heater to work well in our home. It heats up the entire living room and dining room area that is open space in my home. It keeps the temperature that it is set at very well. Since I don't have oil right now to heat my home, it has been helping with the cold nights!! A good item to have on hand for use when needed!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Kimbers

Works Great

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for our baby's bedroom. She's on the opposite side of the house and it stays a little cooler. We were a little paranoid about a heater in her room but we set the automatic thermostat on it and it has worked flawlessly for several months now!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
ernie1
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product---

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent performance....very nice high/low setting....automatic performance and it oscillates!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Lots of Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Ebony

I returned this heater and bought a much cheaper one.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the first night that I tried to use it, the controls stopped functioning properly. The heater kept switching to high when I set it to low. And, after using it for about an hour, all of the controls (including the power button) stopped working. I had to unplug the heater in order to turn it off.
I tried 'resetting' it by unplugging for a while, and turning it on again. But, the problems did not go away.
(Additionally, there was an annoying loud beeping sound any time a setting changed. In a quiet apartment, it is a little startling.)
I returned the heater to the store and purchased a smaller, cheaper one (with knobs instead of buttons). So far, it's working fine.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: buttons didn't work
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
RedRover
from Orange County, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective, quiet, convenient, quality space heater.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice QUIET heater that works well and looks nice too. It's a space heater and it makes a CA winter cooled bedroom or dining area cozy. Bigger rooms are helped but it's a space heater not furnace. I especially like having the timer that will shut it off after a certain number of hours and a thermostat that will shut it off at a set temperature. Simple controls and very easy to move. A nice product overall. It does draw some amps so you need a circuit that has some load to spare or it trips the circuit breaker (older home).
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Nana
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Saving on my heating bill and staying warm!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Digital feature keeps temperature exact. This Lasko 1500 watt ceramic portable heater gets the job done. It allows me to work in the kitchen or office without turning on the heating unit. Even taking a shower is pleasant in the coldest weather!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, perfect temperature control
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
sarah
from Oxnard, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my infant son's room. I run it every night for about 10 hours and it works great. I keep it set at 75 but it usually turns off at 81, even though in the manual it says it turns off once it reaches 1 degree above the tempature setting. My electric bill went up about $10-$15 per month. I love this heater, it is simple to use, is quiet and the best part is, my son is now sleeping thru the night!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Dines42
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little too good a job?

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heating tower did a great job heating up my small bedroom very quickly, but then it kept heating past the temperature I had set and didn't turn off like I thought it was supposed to. I decided to just heat right before going to bed and then turn it off so that I didn't boil overnight and then have to wake up to turn it off. So, except for it missing one of the features that I was really excited about (turning off by itself when the desired temp was reached), this turned out to be a wonderful buy. It oscillated great, it heated the room up quickly, and it wasn't too obtrusive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didn't turn off by itself when got to desired temp
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Jude
from Lebanon, Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does evertyhing you want a portable heater to do

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I set this up right out of the box without even having to look at the directions. It works like a charm - blows heat and lots of it. I am using it to heat my 12' X 12' office and even on low it heats up the place from 60- to 72 in about 4-5 minutes. I got my sister two to heat her home and she is equally pleased. This is the best electric heater-with-fan that I have ever used. I strongly recommend this heater. It's a great value and a well-made item that actually does what it's supposed to do.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, blows a lot of heat!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Andy

Great Value, Good looking, and Good Performance

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This heater did everything I expected. It heated a medium sized room relatively quietly and quickly. It's also fairly attractive as much as a tower heater can be. The best thing about it is the very reasonable cost. The only improvement I would suggest is to include an automatic shut off should it tip over on its side.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good performance for medium-sized room
Cons: no emergency tipping over shut off
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Cool

Heater

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Question to manufacturer:Why do you need the remote if you cant see the display from a distance, and you have to raise your hand to try to control it from the top.
Overall if you are not gonna use the remote very good heater.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Bendel3
from Northern New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought for my elderly mother who house is always cold. Now she turns this on and actually has to lower the dial as it gets her warm fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Bob88

Does the job

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although a bit smaller, lighter and cheaper feeling than I expected, it gets the job done. Bought to heat an unheated laundry area where we've had freezing problems in the past. Used during a cold snap of below zero temperatures---set the thermostat at 40 degrees and it cycled on and off for several days and kept everything from freezing. Have also turned it up to keep the room bearable and holds a more comfortable temperature as well. No complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
Mommom111
from Phila. Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very satisfied

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered 2 of these use one for my 1yr old grandson's room at my house and gave one to my daughter -in-law for baby's room at home . We are both pleased with this portable heater it is very quiet and warms the room quickly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
acdedison
from New Jersey

Great Heater for the Price

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this heater for over a year and I couldn't be happier with how well it works. I use the heater as supplimental heat in my bedroom at night when the thermostat is lowered for the whole house. It warms the room quickly and effectively.
The unit comes fully assembled with the remote. Just unpack, plug it in and turn it on.
I just picked up a newer version of the same model for my parents.
The remote works great and the oscillation helps keep the warm air dispersed throughout the room. You can set the tempurature and it will automatically switch off and resume (with the oscillation if you have it turned on) again when the temperature dips below the desired setting. You can also set the timer and have the unit switch off after 2, 4 6, etc hours.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
fox5live
from Spartanburg, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i am so impressed!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Old heater died yesterday and I love my space heaters. Brought this home at 5 pm and plugged it in right out of the box. Heater is easy to program even before reading the manual. I love the digital room temp display, the temp programming, the remote, the quiet, the oscillating fan...EVERYTHING!
I left the sliding glass door open to let the dog out and the heater immediately noted the change in room temperature.
The heater has a cord that is "long enough," the size and shape are unobstrusive and actually ADD to my den's ambience. It is light and easy to carry.
I wish I had bought this jewel a long time ago!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23 in. 1,500-Watt Digital Ceramic Tower Heater with Remote Control-DISCONTINUED
hobokennj
from Hoboken, NJ

Tower Heater a great addition

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a three story house with central heat. However, the basement usually requires a lot longer heat than the rest of the house and makes it too hot in other rooms. I bought two of these heaters and they are incredible. I set them to automatic and within minutes, the entire basement is comfortable. They automatically turn on and off and keep the heat consistent. The fact that they are safe to touch is an added bonus for me with two children in the house. Highly recommend this product.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>