728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

The Brinkmann WorkForce Halogen Spotlight is rechargeable and portable for use in case of roadside emergencies. The bright light from the halogen bulb makes it easy to see house numbers and watch nocturnal animals and is excellent for security and surveillance needs. The spotlight comes with AC and DC adapters and a rechargeable NiMH battery.
Overall rating:
2.963 / 5
3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
46%of customersrecommend this product12 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
46%of customersrecommend this product12 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
Review 1 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

Battery Life a deal breaker

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The specs on the website said the battery life on this light is 8 hrs. With it being rechargeable, I thought 8 hrs was great. When I received the item, the packaging said the battery life was only 20 MINUTES. I thought it was a print mistake, but I confirmed it. I used the light after fully charging it overnight and lo and behold, it only lasted 20 minutes! I would have given 4 stars even if it had 4 hrs of battery life instead of 8 hrs, but 20 minutes is just not acceptable for this light to be of any real use. The quality of the light seems good for the price, but I can't give more than one star for the value. I was disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loses charge quickly

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It gives bright light for a short period of time. I used it to view my attic's need for insulation and was quickly dismayed by the loss of light. The dark attic is no place for a lady in the attic that has no flooring.
I don't know how it is to be used in case of roadside emergencies. Are you suppose to run up to the nearest business or home, plug the light in... wait for a charge then run back to your car and wave the flashlight for 10 minutes? The picture shows a car charger.... I did not get one.
The only emergency I can think of that this "spotlight" would help with, is if you keep it plugged in ALL the time and if your electricity goes out.... it will last long enough for you to find your reliable candles and, perhaps, a better flashlight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

Undependable

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very short battery life makes this flashlight not something you can depend on if you are out on a dark road broken down somewhere. I should have known better when I saw the prce but not everything that seems inexpensive is always bad but this product is. If you're driving around spotlighting things with it plugged in then it's ok but if you are depending on the battery source to keep this light going for your safety...don't.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Life

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these for my cars, house and friend...I used the house one to walk the dog every night and it lasted about 6 months...I still have the one in the car, but will probably replace it since I will be outa luck if I rely on it and in an emergency it is dead...JD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

Poor battery life

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the specs at Home Depot web site say 8 hour battery life I barely get 20 minutes even after a 24 hour charge. Had I known this never would have purchased. Light output is very good, for as long as it lasts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

what a dog (no offense Fido)

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to replace my old Husky 3 Watt LED that charged quickly and lasted a long time between charges. This one is the complete opposite - takes forever to charges and dies after a short time. Back to the store!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

Broke immediately

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fully charged the battery and it died in a matter of seconds, then charged the battery again all night and it came on for a few seconds and died immediately. Never got it to work. Going to return it! Don't buy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

Not a good product

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wouldn't recommend it for anything heavy or consistant. Not a very good quality flash light. May work in a pinch, but I would not recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

don't waste your money

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed instructions to charge it first time. Used it right after that and it petered out within ten minutes. Who has the gall to make these things?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Flashlight

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
rechargable battery life lasts a long time. Lights up a wide area in the backyard. Does start to fade after 5 to 10 minute constant use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

20 minute run time makes it not worth it.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
20 minutes on one charge, not worth it for me. Better to upgrade and pay a bit more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

I LOVE this flashlight/spotlight

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flashlight is GREAT! I had one that I've had for several years and loved it. Wanted another one for emergencies, The new one is much lighter. Both are GREAT. What a great price for a great flashlight! Useful for all occasions!
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Selah, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Well for the Price

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spot cost me under 12 bucks.......rarely do I need such a thing so I wasn't in the market for one but when I saw the price I took a shot. I keep it in my truck along with the 12 volt charger....manual says it's good for 20 minutes on a charge so what makes it better than lights I have had in the past is I can unplug and go....all my previous spotlights kept you tethered to the 12 volt plug in the dash. It shines a decent distance and is easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some reviewers are forgetting what they are getting. Your paying 10 bucks for a poweful rechargeable spotlight. Yes the specs are wrong. It is only a 20 minute run time but its 10 bucks. I keep this plugged in my truck for momentary spots and its great. how often is it that you need a constant light for more than 20 minutes. This is a great value for what you are getting. I bought a couple and the battery life is fine, not seconds? but a true 20 minutes. BUY IT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good value, very bright

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Many reviewers complain of short battery life. The front of the box shows 20 minutes. I have owned many similar rechargable flashlights/spotlights that were all more expensive and none of those had long battery life. For long battery life you need a big battery, which would cost more and be much heavier. I think this spotlight is a great value at $10. I get pleanty of battery life and it is very bright. Stop complaining about such an inexpensive light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Bang For The Buck!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these lights i have purchased. My first one worked flawlessly for 9 months, unfortunately I dropped it from 15' and it broke. The light is very bright and the battery lasts a reasonable amount of time. For the price, you can't beat the performance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Plymouth, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This spotlight is great value for the money. It replaces a Harbor Freight spotlight that failed after one year. This one does everything it is supposed to do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Elk Grove, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

120-volt AC Charger doesn't work (car charger)

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned the first flashlight I bought because of the car charger not working. The 2nd I got still the same as the one i returned. The charger is different from pictured in the box. Charger is wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight

This is for you if you have all the time in the world...

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You have to charge this light for 1 hour to get 2 minutes of light with a maximum run time of 20 minutes. In this technological age, this is totally unacceptable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WorkForce Halogen Spotlight
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional Value

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exceptional value, lightweight, holds charge quite well, provides
a beam of light that it very difinative. Well worth the price, which is much lower at HD than elswehere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>