728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

The DEWALT Drywall Screw Setter (4 pack), depth setting bit tip offers Screw Gun features in a Power Drill. Made of shock resistant tool steel for maximum durability. A hardened core provides extra strength and reduced breakage. Heat treated to resist breakage and wear. This screw setter is ideal for controlling the depth of screw during driving applications in drywall, particle board or plywood.
Overall rating:
4.394 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product28 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product28 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Review 1 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Sacramento, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Perfect Dimple!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These sink the drywall screws to the perfect depth, and then lose their grip on the screw. Simple and inexpensive!
I started by setting my drill on the lowest torque, and upped it until the bit released just right (from 1 to 3).
I guess the driver heads could strip if I didn't keep control, but with four of them, you can afford to have a learning curve.
These guys are on a tiny 1.5 x 2.5 inch card, and the HD associate helping us had never heard of them. Check on line to make sure they are there before you go--it helped us convince him to keep looking with us. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, inexpensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Didn't believe something so inexpensive would work...

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
... but after reading other amazingly and consistently positive reviews (at least from folks who had enough coordination to keep a screw straight prior to driving) I decided to try it (them).
Worked excellent in my Makita 18volt cordless drill. 1st bit still worked fine after 8 drywall sheets screwed into Douglas Fir (not soft pine).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replaced my drywall driver for these!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My drywall driver died right in the middle of a project. Bought these as a temporary backup and have since come to the conclusion that these are the way to go for my use! Economic and allows me to use any corded or cordless drill that is at my dispose to perform the drywall installation job. Hold up well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Great concept

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First time doing drywall in class and I breezed my way through the course. A item
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from shirley new york
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wasnt happy

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
they were not as good as a normal sheetrock speed drill . they were very shaking and the tips didnt countersink the screw in good enough . you always had to go back on it and re do . took time . which is money .
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: didnt work well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Screw setter

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Figured we would give these a shot on a recent kitchen drywall job. It's a pretty straight forward product and does the sinking of screws well. Only con is that the bits wear out sooner than we would have liked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Northwest Montana

Small Job...Don't Buy Drywall Gun

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had two rooms to hang rock on. I purchased the RIDGID model 6000 drywall gun. It was a disappointment and was returned the next day. A buddy suggested these little bits. Wow! For $5 you get four bits. I used one per room and have two left over for when I add a workshop to the garage. They really work. Countersinking and dimpling the rock paper perfectly every time. Used them with a small corded drill and never had to slow down. For the homeowner or a guy helping a buddy these are perfect (and priced right).
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from San Jose, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy of use, no guess work.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality from a brand name, I wish i sold individually because I used only one for my whole project cover the walls of 2-cars garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Chiloquin, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very economical tool performs a great job

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Drives drywall screws to exactly the right depth creating a dimple without tearing paper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Not so Great

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Definitely great tool yet the tip can not handle the use for a Contractor
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from sav.ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

drywall screw set

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to use screw stop when it gets flush with the product you are screwing in to.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Folkston, GA 31537, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for putting the drywall screws just below the surface

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this works great for putting the drywall screws just below the surface!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from 95842
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helped sink drywall screws

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Made great dimples for mudding. Durable. Lasted well.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

finally found this tool!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally found this tool to replace my old "drywall dimpler" which broke recently.
Can't wait to use the DeWalt version on my next drywall project.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Endicott,ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is perfect for the average person who does not have experience installing sheetrock screws

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for anyone, homeowner, fyi, or professional
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally drywall screws at the correct depth easily!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product and also some screws made specifically for hanging drywall. (They have a slighly different head so that they set nicely in the drywall without breaking the paper surface.) These tips ensure, after some practice, that the screw heads are just deep enough for spacklying but not too deep to break through the wallboard surface. This is the first time that I've been able to drive wallboard screws correctly... not going to deep or too shallow!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from 1787 County Line Road, Venus, PA 16364, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked very well

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
never used before . wasn't sure if they would work but they worked like a charm.0
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tools

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tool for hanging sheetrock was amazing it saved hundreds of back breaking hours
I was looking on line for sheetrock and the Home Depot recommended this tool .
Thank You Home Depot for making my project that much easier.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for screwing drywall

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this to be a great time saver taking the guess work out of under or over screwing drywall screws.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
from Stephenville, TX 76401, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great..

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Makes my little job go alot faster and easier.....
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>