728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

The DEWALT Drywall Screw Setter (4 pack), depth setting bit tip offers Screw Gun features in a Power Drill. Made of shock resistant tool steel for maximum durability. A hardened core provides extra strength and reduced breakage. Heat treated to resist breakage and wear. This screw setter is ideal for controlling the depth of screw during driving applications in drywall, particle board or plywood.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Review 1 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
BlueOak

Didn't believe something so inexpensive would work...

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
... but after reading other amazingly and consistently positive reviews (at least from folks who had enough coordination to keep a screw straight prior to driving) I decided to try it (them).
Worked excellent in my Makita 18volt cordless drill. 1st bit still worked fine after 8 drywall sheets screwed into Douglas Fir (not soft pine).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
RednexToyz
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replaced my drywall driver for these!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My drywall driver died right in the middle of a project. Bought these as a temporary backup and have since come to the conclusion that these are the way to go for my use! Economic and allows me to use any corded or cordless drill that is at my dispose to perform the drywall installation job. Hold up well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Steve
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliable

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my home renovation. Worked very well. Solid and durable. Should come with a case.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
RetiredGuyDIY
from Northwest Montana

Small Job...Don't Buy Drywall Gun

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had two rooms to hang rock on. I purchased the RIDGID model 6000 drywall gun. It was a disappointment and was returned the next day. A buddy suggested these little bits. Wow! For $5 you get four bits. I used one per room and have two left over for when I add a workshop to the garage. They really work. Countersinking and dimpling the rock paper perfectly every time. Used them with a small corded drill and never had to slow down. For the homeowner or a guy helping a buddy these are perfect (and priced right).
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Scubajeff
from Folkston, GA 31537, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for putting the drywall screws just below the surface

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this works great for putting the drywall screws just below the surface!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
PapaK
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The screw tips hold up well for extended use. I find the screw setter tips don't wear or crack as often as similar products form other vendors.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
VeryDisatisfied

Not worth it!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bits don't last. Get one that allows replaceable bits.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Kenney
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Item

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these to finish my daughters basement, installing the sheetrock. I only used two, one in each drill and they lasted the entire project without problem...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Mikey
from Stephenville, TX 76401, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great..

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes my little job go alot faster and easier.....
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Diyguy
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for screwing drywall

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this to be a great time saver taking the guess work out of under or over screwing drywall screws.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
sdbr1209
from Califonia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good tool.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These bits pop off the screw head and damage the bit edges. The screws tend to wobble and not go straight into the drywall.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)

Work great

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before getting a drywall screw gun I used these bits to hang 20 sheets. Worked great. They do wear out so get the 4 pack.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Nazlini
from Window Rock, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this product

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Dewalt drywall screw setter in a set of four believing that the first one will wear out in no time; I was wrong. I'm still using the first screw setter covering 1000 square feet and there is very little wear and tear on the product. I am impressed with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
GDiaz
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as expected

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first time drywalling a room. These work great as expected.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Pyrs
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally drywall screws at the correct depth easily!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product and also some screws made specifically for hanging drywall. (They have a slighly different head so that they set nicely in the drywall without breaking the paper surface.) These tips ensure, after some practice, that the screw heads are just deep enough for spacklying but not too deep to break through the wallboard surface. This is the first time that I've been able to drive wallboard screws correctly... not going to deep or too shallow!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
windsorsdaddy
from washington township, mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just learned about this product and glad I found it!

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hung 100 sheets of drywall and 3 bits did the job along with the new Dewalt impact driver that I bought. Makes the job a whole lot easier!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
alohaandy

Sweet tool trick for quality work

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheap, inexpensive driver you add to any cordless tool to get a professional drywall installation. Otherwise drywall screws are typically set to high or to deep & tear the paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
Dave
from Florence, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did A great job for me

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these bits on a three day sheetrock job with good results. We did not strip a single bit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall Screw Setter (4-Pack)
John
from Silver Spring, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - saves lots of aggravation during drywalling

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a sanity saving device! These drywall screw setters are a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.