728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rotary Laser Level Kit

Rotary Laser Level Kit

The Rotary Laser Level Kit is designed for use on light-duty construction jobs, such as picture hanging, window installation and more. The kit comes with a laser level that is accurate to within 1/8 in. at 30 ft. and has a laser that reaches up to 200 ft. depending on the lighting. The level has a rotation speed of 0 - 600 RPM, and when it is in vertical mode, it has a 90-degree split beam simultaneously.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Review 1 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Nicfromlizardlick
from Biscoe, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice for the price

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to put together and you get great value for the home depot price. I would recommend this as an entry level laser or for the small business carpenter!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Lex414
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the Average Homeowner DIY Projects

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unlike my master DIY husband, I'm a bit of a novice. So if it can work for me, it can work for anyone! Of course its not a $1000+ high-end laser level, but it does the trick at a really affordable price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Andy
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money I'd give this level 5 stars. Forgetting about the value, I'd give it 4 stars only because it needs to be manually leveled. The leveling was very easy. I used the level for tiling in a large 4 walled steam shower. It worked great indoors. I haven't used it outdoors, but would suspect the laser may be hard to see in daylight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
koko
from Ohio

Not so bright

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked this up after disappoint with the Bosch self level level. The laser is not bright at all on this even in a semi-dark room. Ended up returning item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Victor
from Blairsville, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not usable outside

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this level for use in leveling a drainage ditch. The laser is so weak it can't be used outside. I doubt if it would work inside either unless the room is dark.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Pete
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok product.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is cheap both in price and quality. Its laser is dim and does not have a long range. It is not self leveling and so you have to anguish over turning the adjustment wheels half a millimeter without disturbing the device. You also have to double check your level by drawing as long a level line as you can on a big wall and comparing it to the laser dot placement. That said, it works. I used it to layout a 35'x10' addition and it got the job done.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
homedepotofwestjax

Horrible product

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these to help level my house and in the dark under the house, the laser is visible and that is all the good that I can say about it. Within a couple of days the motor died and the laser would no longer rotate. I sent it to Johnson and they sent me a new one but it lasted just past the one year warranty and it was dead too. Don't waste your time or money with this clearly inferior product.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
pakooka
from Louisville, KY

You get what you pay for.

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's shaky and hard to level. The laser is very hard to see unless the room is dark. Better ones cost $200 to $300 but would be worth it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Jeep
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine but has to be leveled.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would like to see an adaptor for different thread sizes on tripod. The laser works great for horizontal applications.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, hard to get back in case...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
sgtrebel
from tyro,kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven`t had any trouble with this level . I have used rotary levels before and this is not a high end one, but it is great value for money. higher end ones use auto leveling where this is manual leveling. Not bad just takes an extra minute to set up on a job. I find it to be pretty accurate inside the 100' range. Have not really used it for longer than that. I think that the better stand is worth the extra money if your gona use it alot and the measure stick and reciever if your gona use it outdoors during the day. still thumbs up for any DIYer or handyman.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
builder

Great value for money

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven`t had any trouble with this level aside from the batteries. The ones that came with it were near dead. put in new ones and it works fine. I have used rotary leveels before and this is not a high end one, but it is great value for money. higher end ones use auto leveling where this is manual leveling. Not bad just takes an extra minute to set up on a job. I find it to be pretty accurate inside the 100' range. Have not really used it for longer than that. I think that the better stand is worth the extra money if your gona use it alot and the measure stick and reciever if your gona use it outdoors during the day. still thumbs up for any DIYer or handyman.
Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
neff
from Frankenmuth, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good price.... not very bright

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
beam disappears @ 5feet will be returning it tomorrow
Pros: All In One
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Troy1234
from Wisconsin

Rotary Laser

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT buy this product. It is very unaccurate for making accurate level marks. Used it at work for accoustical ceilings and my marks were off 1/2" in 6 feet. Save your money.... JUNK
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
traco
from ellwood, pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love this level

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this level saved me a lot of time installing cupboards in the kitchen. I didn't need any one to hold it and the battery life is great. its light weight and easy to store. I love Johnson products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
busterbob
from Albany, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Product Has A very dim Laser and it gets no stars.

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Laser was so dim i had to turn off all the lights. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!! It may work ok for picture hanging, but even light duty construction jobs? Forget it. I plan on returning this product. Dont get it!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, laser way too dim, stand made of bad materials.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Seymour
from Olmstead Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Johnson makes a much better unit.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this one. It is suitable for picture hanging and such, but only in dimly lit rooms. Better to move up a step and get one suitable for daytime use outdoors.
The unit does what it says it does, but nothing more.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
bilbob1953
from Bondville, Winhall, VT 05340, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good argument for shims

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ibought this unit to assist me in leveling a small deck at the back of my house. The ground was very uneven so I wanted an advantage for setting the sonotube footings. Using it in early evening helped somewhat for sighting. When all was said and done, my 20ft. deck was out of level 3/8 in. point to point. If this is acceptable to you, buy mine for $50.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Rock
from Great Valley, NY 14741, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Johnson Rotary Laser Level Kit

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is just what you would expect to get for the price. The laser does do the job for small applciations. For the average homeowner it is a good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
JoeM
from Midwest City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I bought this level for work and it is no good at all. I have used laser and sight levels many times. Beware homeowners.

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is and will create big problems for Home Depot!
I shop Home Depot for all my customer products. This product will create some very upset do-it-yourself homeowners. Please don't put them through that. Pull it from your shelf and send it back to Johnson Tools. I am going to tell the manager at my local Home Depot. Doesn't management have enough day to day problems already? Thank you for your time.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Mike

Turns too slow for a solid line

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laser because I have an alignment application that is not always level, but I need a straight line between to points while I work.
I took this thing out of the box when I got home and fired it up. It makes a lot of noise for what it is, and the head turns so slow that the line is never sloid and seems to blink constantly. It's going back first thing in the morning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>