728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rotary Laser Level Kit

Rotary Laser Level Kit

The Rotary Laser Level Kit is designed for use on light-duty construction jobs, such as picture hanging, window installation and more. The kit comes with a laser level that is accurate to within 1/8 in. at 30 ft. and has a laser that reaches up to 200 ft. depending on the lighting. The level has a rotation speed of 0 - 600 RPM, and when it is in vertical mode, it has a 90-degree split beam simultaneously.
Overall rating:
2.897 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product14 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Review 1 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Western New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult to calibrate

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't realize that the laser would be so "fussy" with respect to the effort I needed to put into it to calibrate. The whole idea of buying a laser level was to make life easier. It doesn't! Manual calibration is a pain. It requires 25' of uninterrupted space between opposing walls--which I don't have. Then you need to go back and forth as you adjust the level of the levels. I'm simplifying, but my message is that it was more work to do than I wanted.
I wish I had spent more to get a "self-leveling" unit.
I wish I had returned this manual unit while I was still within the 90 day return period, but I kept trying to make it work for me.
Pros: bought it on special so it was a good price.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Agua Dulce, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective solution for the price

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the laser level as part of a re-siding project. Since we were paneling from the ground level upwards, I needed to make sure that the panels either side of our front door would match up when we got to the top of the door. Our concrete slab has a drainage slope at the front of the house so I wasn't able to take a reliable reference mark from the slab.
We opted for this laser level as it includes the tripod and is a complete set with batteries included. For the job we bought it for, it worked as well as I could have expected with the red laser dot showing up well enough for me to mark the white Tyvek house wrap in direct sunlight. As the angle of the rotating head increases away from 90 degrees, the laser spot did diffuse and deform from the precise dot, but it still have me the marks I needed. The laser was around 20' from the furthest point that I marked in direct sunlight. To assist with marking the reference points, I just pointed the laser at the wall without letting it rotate and this gave me the reference points I needed - letting it rotate in direct sunlight resulted in a line I couldn't see.
It is easy enough to set up and has two built in bubble levels that are easily adjust with two thumb wheels. the laser can be mounted horizontally to mark on walls or vertically to mark on ceilings on the included tripod. If you are working at heights beyond the scope of the tripod, the laser unit can be hung on a screw head and this was the approach we used when we needed to set the level above our front door.
The tripod is a little flimsy and sensitive to being moved, but that is to be expected for the price. It remains stable while the laser head is rotating.
If you want a low cost rotating laser level for occasional jobs around the home such as siding, tiling or picture hook/frame alignment, this is the tool for the job.
When you're finished with it, it comes in a handy molded compact plastic carry/storage case when not in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Biscoe, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice for the price

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to put together and you get great value for the home depot price. I would recommend this as an entry level laser or for the small business carpenter!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rotary Laser Level Kit

It is much cheaper than self leveling machines.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this rotary laser level to install ceiling tile in our basement. It took a while to get used to using the tool as it is of low quality. I found that if I set the laser at the desired height, tightened the tripod and then leveled the bubbles it worked well. If you are not good a centering bubbles don't get it. Also, do not level it and then raise or lower the tripod or loosen the lock screw any such movement throws the level off. For what I bought it for it worked well once I played with it for a while. Ok for home use, I would not use it for anything commercial or critical.
Pros: All In One, Light Weight, cheap
Cons: difficult to adjust height
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rotary level

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hated giving it 3 stars but it is cheap and I knew that. The level worked great. All things considered. You can't beat the price for occasional use. Much easier to use and get level than the last one I had. I was very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Louisville, KY

You get what you pay for.

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's shaky and hard to level. The laser is very hard to see unless the room is dark. Better ones cost $200 to $300 but would be worth it.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performed iot's job as advertised.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the home project person this product is very reasonably priced. This is the first time I had used a laser level and I used it to level a raised floor in my basement. The time it saved was well worth the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the Average Homeowner DIY Projects

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unlike my master DIY husband, I'm a bit of a novice. So if it can work for me, it can work for anyone! Of course its not a $1000+ high-end laser level, but it does the trick at a really affordable price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rotary Laser Level Kit

Horrible product

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these to help level my house and in the dark under the house, the laser is visible and that is all the good that I can say about it. Within a couple of days the motor died and the laser would no longer rotate. I sent it to Johnson and they sent me a new one but it lasted just past the one year warranty and it was dead too. Don't waste your time or money with this clearly inferior product.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rotary Laser Level Kit

Great value for money

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven`t had any trouble with this level aside from the batteries. The ones that came with it were near dead. put in new ones and it works fine. I have used rotary leveels before and this is not a high end one, but it is great value for money. higher end ones use auto leveling where this is manual leveling. Not bad just takes an extra minute to set up on a job. I find it to be pretty accurate inside the 100' range. Have not really used it for longer than that. I think that the better stand is worth the extra money if your gona use it alot and the measure stick and reciever if your gona use it outdoors during the day. still thumbs up for any DIYer or handyman.
Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Wisconsin

Rotary Laser

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT buy this product. It is very unaccurate for making accurate level marks. Used it at work for accoustical ceilings and my marks were off 1/2" in 6 feet. Save your money.... JUNK
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from tyro,kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven`t had any trouble with this level . I have used rotary levels before and this is not a high end one, but it is great value for money. higher end ones use auto leveling where this is manual leveling. Not bad just takes an extra minute to set up on a job. I find it to be pretty accurate inside the 100' range. Have not really used it for longer than that. I think that the better stand is worth the extra money if your gona use it alot and the measure stick and reciever if your gona use it outdoors during the day. still thumbs up for any DIYer or handyman.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money I'd give this level 5 stars. Forgetting about the value, I'd give it 4 stars only because it needs to be manually leveled. The leveling was very easy. I used the level for tiling in a large 4 walled steam shower. It worked great indoors. I haven't used it outdoors, but would suspect the laser may be hard to see in daylight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Olmstead Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Johnson makes a much better unit.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this one. It is suitable for picture hanging and such, but only in dimly lit rooms. Better to move up a step and get one suitable for daytime use outdoors.
The unit does what it says it does, but nothing more.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Ohio

Not so bright

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked this up after disappoint with the Bosch self level level. The laser is not bright at all on this even in a semi-dark room. Ended up returning item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Albany, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This Product Has A very dim Laser and it gets no stars.

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Laser was so dim i had to turn off all the lights. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!! It may work ok for picture hanging, but even light duty construction jobs? Forget it. I plan on returning this product. Dont get it!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, laser way too dim, stand made of bad materials.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Blairsville, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not usable outside

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this level for use in leveling a drainage ditch. The laser is so weak it can't be used outside. I doubt if it would work inside either unless the room is dark.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok product.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is cheap both in price and quality. Its laser is dim and does not have a long range. It is not self leveling and so you have to anguish over turning the adjustment wheels half a millimeter without disturbing the device. You also have to double check your level by drawing as long a level line as you can on a big wall and comparing it to the laser dot placement. That said, it works. I used it to layout a 35'x10' addition and it got the job done.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Frankenmuth, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good price.... not very bright

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
beam disappears @ 5feet will be returning it tomorrow
Pros: All In One
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rotary Laser Level Kit
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine but has to be leveled.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would like to see an adaptor for different thread sizes on tripod. The laser works great for horizontal applications.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, hard to get back in case...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>