728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

The Makita 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander is ideal for wood workers and finish carpenters for a wide range of finish-sanding applications. This sander features a 2 amp motor that delivers 14,000 orbits per minute for fast and smooth finishing. To increase durability, it has a rubber-sealed switch that helps prevent dust contamination and all-ball bearing construction to significantly reduce vibration and noise.
Overall rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
Review 1 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

Pleasure to work with

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I managed to break 3 different sanders when I started my kitchen renovation. I used the Home Depot app on my way to the store to check the reviews. All decent palm sanders were $50, so price wasn't an issue. Based on reviews, Milwaukee was my top choice but wasn't available in store. DeWalt and Makita were my only options. Ridgid's reviews scored to low, I refused to consider it. DeWalt would of been my natural choice but Makita's reviews were higher.
I examined both sanders in the store, Makita was much easier to load. The machine runs smooth and feels stout. I enjoy using this sander and will not hesitate to purchase another one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from LV, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light weight, low noise, low vibration

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this sander to replace the older Makita model that I had used for over 15 years. I can purchase parts to repair the older model, but I needed another one right away to finish projects I was working on. I decided since the Makita had been such a great product that I would stay with the Makita brand and buy the new model. The paper holders on the new model were redesigned, which was a concern for me but they seem to hold the paper just fine and I've already put it through the test. I recommend this product to anyone who needs a 1/4 sheet sander. This is a very reliable brand.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Boston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for my job.

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I went to the store originally to purchase the Milwaukee sander primarily because of the reviews and that it was 3 amps. I've had other sanders that bogged down if you pushed them so I thought go big.
Problem was, when you undid the clamp, the serrated strip that was to clamp down on the paper didn't lift up to insert the paper. You had to lift it manually which was difficult.
I went straight to the Makita as it was my 2nd choice and so far it has performed excellently. The bag collects a great deal of dust and stays on. The unit doesn't bog down when you push on it, and vibration is minimal.
This thing is light years ahead of the B&D 1/2 sheet sander I have.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Tacoma, WA

Great Finishing Sander

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sander is very easy to use. Loading new papers is extremely easy, you just have to make sure you have the papers secured tight enough so that they don't move around, otherwise it won't be as effective. it has metal bars to hold the paper down instead of rubber or plastic. This is a good thing because without them being metal, they can get looser over the time you use the sander, making it hard to keep the paper in place. The dust catcher is very effective and does not pop off while you're working like they do on some sanders.
This sander had a little bit smaller handle than the others we looked at, making it easier to grip and move around, especially if you have smaller hands. It is also a little bit lighter than some other sanders - weight wise. I like the square sander as opposed to the round orbital ones because it is easier to get into corners with - and I have a lot of corners on my current project.
It obviously isn't like a belt sander, but it's got a good amount of power to it. I've been working on a project where I'm sanding five layers of paint, dating decades back, off of boards used to build a built in desk in a kids bedroom. Why you would paint wood pink and other horrible colors, I have no idea, but we are sanding all the paint off so we can stain the desk. Stripper would be easier, but it isn't a well ventilated room, so we're sticking to sanding. With some work, this sander with 40 grit sand paper is actually doing a wonderful job eating through the layers of paint. When I get through most of the paint layers, I've switched to a 100 or 150 grit paper. That way the wood doesn't get chewed up, as it is very soft wood. The sander is powerful enough that it does a great job with tougher grit paper, and an even nicer job of the finishing work with a lesser grit paper. I've gotten a great smooth finish on the wood we have uncovered so far, and I have stained some of the drawers and it turned out great. I completely recommend this product as a finishing sander.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Bronx, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic little machine

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is by far the best palm sander I've ever owned and it was a steal at the sale price. This Makita sander is rugged and well built but also operates smoothly and is extremely easy to control. The dust collector works surprisingly well. I've used other brands which seemed to have the dust bag as a mere decoration. Not the case here. It works very well. The tension bars which hold the sandpaper on are thick and strong and won't bend like some other, only slightly cheaper brands. I've worked extensively with this sander for a few weeks now and have yet to find a fault. Excellent product from Makita.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Lakeview, OR 97630, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight Low vibration, Comfortable.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this Makita Sander to replace it's older brother. Although I can order parts to repair it, I needed one right away to finish projects I had started on. This sander performs just as well if not better than the older model. Light weight, Low vibration and very comfortable to use. My only concern was the redesign of the paper holders. The older model has aligator teeth. This one has bars, but they seem to hold the paper just fine, and I've given it the workout. If you are in the market to purchase a finishing sander, I would recomend you buy this sander.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

Good Quality Sander

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had an older version of this sander for about 15 years and it still runs, though it does need new brushes and a couple other small parts. But I needed a new sander right away and didn't have time to wait on parts to repair my old one. I looked at all of the different brands that they had in the store and came away with a Makita again. I've never had any issues with any of the four Makita sanders I own, other than normal wear items that are to be expected when a tool is used pretty heavily for 10 or 15 years.
I like the ergonomics of the new version much better than my old one. The only complaint I have about the new sander is the clamps for the sandpaper. The old version has much easier to use clamps. Otherwise, this is a great sander. And if it lasts anything like my other Makitas, it's a steal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from New Jersey

A real nice sander

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this sander for about a month and I just love it. There is very little vibration and it doesn't bounce around on the work surface like some other sanders. I am able to say that because I have tried just about every 1/4 sander out there. All of the sanders that I have tried, have their little quirks. Some of these quirks are very annoying while others drive you nuts and some just stop you from completing your job. I do a lot of scroll saw work and when I am finishing off a scroll picture or just about anything except for 3D work, I try and use a finishing sander on the flat surface. In the past there was only one sander that was gentle enough, had good dust removal, did not fatigue your hand and most of all was very durable. That sander is no longer made and I have been trying to find a replacement for that sander for the past 5 years, until now. Some people say that I am crazy for using a hand sander of a completed work, especially if it has take you a whole day to complete the design. One accidental grab or slip-up from the sander and you have just made wood for the fire place. So you need a sander that is gentle, easy to control, accurate and durable and I have finally found that sander again. There was only one other sander that came close to this one but in the end the paper hold downs were poorly constructed and needed constant replacement. There is one item that I should mention and that is that this sander does now allow you to connect a vacuum hose. For my type of work, the bag system that came with the sander is more than adequate. I have made a simple adaptor that allows me to connect a 1 1/4" vacuum hose but I don't use it. This sander has one very important feature that is so simple that I cannot understand why other 1/4 sanders do not have this feature and it has to do with dust collection. This sander comes with a plastic plate that you can hold in your hand or mount to your work bench. This little plate has plastic 1/4" pins that match up to the air inlet holes on your sander plate. All you have to do to put air inlet holes in your sandpaper is, take your sander with the sandpaper attached and push it against the plastic plate. You now have perfectly aligned holes in you sandpaper to suck in the dust, and thats that, simple yet very important. I know that this feature doesn't sound like a big deal but just try and find sandpaper for your sander with pre-made holes in it. If there are any noteworthy changes in the quality of this sander, I will be back with a revision to my present findings.
+57points
57out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Top Ten List

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A customer was next to me in the store and advised me
to get this sander. Armed with his spontaneous recommendation, I quickly purchased this sander and
had never sanded before. I have 3 pieces of furniture
that I have just acquired from my parents' passings, and
got home and started on the first one----boy was I surprised how easy and ergonomic this little sander is!
I am doing a heavy oak desk that had a ruined finish on
it and it is sanding it with such ease. I am amazed and
now know that that man in the store today was really an
'angel' in disguise. This is not an expensive tool either but
it is a workhorse. I can't wait to get to the other pieces of
furniture waiting to be restored now. I am thrilled with this
gadget more than I can tell you!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Cedar Park, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best present ... then and now!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My brother, a master at building renovation, came to visit me 25 years ago while I was (unsuccessfully) stripping an ugly stain/varnish from my kitchen cabinets. He walked out the door and came back a half hour later with a Makita "Palm" Finishing Sander, which made that job EASY! Through the years, I've refinished lots of flea market finds and hand-me-downs, and this perfectly sized machine is what turns the trash to treasure effortlessly. It never bogs down; it just sings.
There's going to be a new sander under the tree this year ... for my daughter who's always borrowing mine! (I refinished the kitchen table on which her gift and my old sander are sitting -- gorgeous!)
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

Makita sander

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best sander for the money. I read reviews that ssid it is hard to handle. I have not had an issue with this product. I highly recommend this brand and model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from arizona

Great tool

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a project to do, got this sander for the tight spots, finished my project with excellent results.
i touched the pad on this a few times (don't drink while your working) and it did not take any skin off, so thats good
not sure what else i can say, was going to buy a cheaper sander, only needed it this once, but really glad i got this one, its simple, the tension rods to hold the paper in place seem very sturdy and tight, makes me want to work on more projects now
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Stamford, CT

Perfect for what it is

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at a lot of sanders and other tools to help me figure out a way of efficiently sanding/prepping my heavily weathered house prior to painting. This works very well. Very smooth and effective. Even though it is slightly down on power to some competitors models, it weighs less, so much easier to hold and use on vertical surfaces. May not be an issue on flat surfaces. Never missed the additional power. Paper holders are simple and durable. Sure it's dusty, but that's what happens when you sand something with a power tool.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great little sander

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great little sander. ive probably owned 5 or 6 orbital sanders in my 40 years of wood working and probably used over a dozen or so different makes and models. this little makita really is a gem for $50. very smooth and the dust collection works well with only the 6 holes. its gentle on the hand (well balanced) and grip is a nice fit in your hand. switch is a bit hard to hit, but i can see why they did this so you would not easily mistakenly turn it off when gripping it at odd angles. paper clamps are the usual and rubber tabs help on the fingers to pop them off. punch works fine. You will probably have to pay at least twice as much to get a better sander and then the difference wont be huge.
being a makita i expect it will hold up well in the long run under intermediate level of use.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Lawrence KS

Good Product!!!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is great palm finish sander. I just made a oak shelf for the bedroom, that needed some heavy sanding. It sanded out the rough spots with no problems and finished up very well! No swirls in the wood when I was through and I only needed a bit of hand sanding when I was through!!!!
I also liked the punch pad, it does a great clean job. Great job Makita on another great product! Thanks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great unit

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked one of these up to do some cabinet work. I had high expectations based on the reviews. So far it's met them all. It's light, quiet, well-built and collects the dust nicely, I like the punch template that pokes the holes for the dust collection with a single push. I also like the metal retainers that are sturdy and hold the sandpaper perfectly in place. I used multiple grits and had no issues. I'm sure this sander will hold up to anything my DIY-level projects can throw at it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander

Great sander, dust collector to be desired

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used the sander to remove some old paint and smooth out some wood. The sander worked great in removing the paint in a short amount of time. You can control the sander pretty precise and drive it to where you want it to sand.
The sander did not cause any soreness, or cramps in your hand or forearms when being used, which some sanders can make your hand feel tingly, achey while trying to use it.
The only thing i can say that i wish was better was the dust bin suction and collector. Didn't really seem to collect anything and if you hit the bin collector with a little impact or the wrong way, it would fall off, so the attachment could also be improved. Not a big deal overall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, feels like quality
Cons: dust collector suction seemed weak
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great palm sander

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very happy with this item. As quiet as I could reasonably expect, comfortable (light, easy grip, low vibration), the vacuum & bag are surprisingly efficient, the paper clamp is simple and looks sturdy.
Another reviewer said it's not balanced for vertical use--seems to me that if you hold it in the crook of you hand (rather than in your palm), it's very well balanced for that. Another said the bag falls off easily--not true on mine at all, maybe a defect on the one that reviewer got.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Cedaredge, CO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very functional and useful product. Light and easy to operate.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This palm sander is excellent. The vibrations are felt much less than my old Makita sander and it has the dust suction function the old one does not have. I am enjoying using this and expect it to be usefull for a very long time.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Amp 1/4-Sheet Finishing Sander
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value.

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at sheet sanders at multiple locations and for the price this one appeared to be best. Already have a Makita circular saw which has proven indestructible so the Makita brand and toughness influenced my decision. Very happy with product thus far.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>