728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

The Quikrete 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand is narrowly graded, dry silica sand and is designed to be used in swimming pool filters. This pool filter sand also features a tan color.
Overall rating:
3.191 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product10 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product10 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Review 1 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Sebring, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This sand is fine for #20 filter use

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Notice the US Sieve Size 20-40, for all the nay sayers...
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
QUIKRETE
®
Filter Sand is narrowly graded clean
dry silica sand specially graded for use in swimming
pool filters.
Composition and Materials:
QUIKRETE
®
Filter
Sand is high quality silica sand.
Packaging:
Available in 50-lb (13.6 Kg) bags
Color:
tan.
TECHNICAL
QUIKRETE
®
Filter Sand has a predominant size
range as follows:
US Sieve Size 20-40
Particle size (0.85-0.425 mm)
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Sapulpa Ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best buy for the money.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First I read the reviews others left about this product. I was a little hesitant to purchase this pool sand so I checked with pool supply stores and found the price of the filter media to be very expensive. Fifty pounds of media at the pool stores was between $24.99 and 34.99. For my budget that was more the I could spend. I purchased pool sand from Depot some years ago and had no issues. I purchased four bags, my filter uses 175 pounds. Followed Hayward sand filter directions when replacing sand. I have owned my pool for at least 15 years, so I knew I would lose some sand from back washing to start with. I back washed the new sand until water ran clear and just as I suspected I did lose some. After water was clear I turned the pump off and restated the pump in rinse. After a few minutes I turned the pump off and restarted in filter. The pool started clearing up right away and have not seen any sand being discharged into the pool. Hope this information helps the next person who needs pool sand.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Economical
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I too was hesitant after reading some of the 3 star reviews HOWEVER i was pleasantly surprised at the quality and performance of this product. My pump is an INTEX 2800 GPH model and this sand works fine with it. Same performance at 1/4 the cost. I give this TWO thumbs up. Just follow directions on your filter.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Economical
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Harrisonburg,Va.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Dissatisfied

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think this sand was clean. I backwashed for 1 hr and it is still blowing sand. I contacted the sand filter mfg.and they said the sand must be to small. The sand that is blowing back in my pool is smaller than a grain of salt. I'm going to empty all the sand from my filter and replace with a different brand.
Cons: Dirty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Albany, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Poor, Inconsistent Grading of Sand

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this sand in an Intex filter previously with no problem. I got a new Intex filter and installed this sand (one 50 lb bag). I backwashed/rinsed as directed. It rinsed well and seemed to be working as expected. After about a week I noticed I had very little water volume. I backwashed and noticed I was losing some sand, maybe about a quart-sized amount or so. The sand I lost was very fine. I rinsed to level the sand and resumed operation, thinking this would be a one-time occurrence. A week or so later, same thing. Like clockwork, after another week, same thing.
It's not blowing sand into the pool but I continue to lose a more-than-expected amount of sand each time I backwash. This did not happen with the same brand of sand and filter previously.
I can only assume there is an excessive amount of very fine sand in the bag I purchased. I plan to purchase a different brand of sand to add to the top in order to bring the sand level back up to spec.
Hopefully my filter has expelled most of the sand that is too fine for the filter and the addition of a layer of coarser sand will solve the problem without having to change out all of the sand.
Cons: Inconsistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

used for a fish tank

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to replace gravel in my 80 gallon fish tank. 3 bags of this stuff saved me over $100 in pet stores. The sand is very clean from the start and with a little extra washing in a bucket it works wonders.
+44points
46out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Jesup, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Inexpensive Sand

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have no problem with this sand. I went through all the steps and then backwashed my filter for 3 minutes then rinsed for one. No sand in pool ( all of my laterals were intact), and no cloudiness or dirt plumes described by others. It seems to me that If the sand was as bad as some report it would kill the fish in the aquariums that people are using it for.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Callahan, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Is this Silica sand?

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is silica sand. If you read the packaging, it is made by the Silica pool company.
Pros: Easy to Use, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Peoria, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT if used properly

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
as long as you
A. remove all old sand and pea gravel (use shop vac carefully makes it easier)
B. fill filter tank half way with water first
C. double check and triple check you did not damage outlet fingers are damaged!
D. poor in slowly
you wont have any issues
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Phoenix, Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quikrete Pool Sand

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sand is easy to work with and handle. A bit heavy if too much in the bucket at one time
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Atlanta, GA

Read your filter recommendations carefully!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Before using this sand in your pool filter check your manufacturer recommendations carefully! If your filter calls for #20 silica sand, DO NO USE THIS! It is far too fine and will damage your filtration system. May work great for systems that do not require a specific grade of sand but be careful! Worked great as a ballast in a set of stairs for an above ground pool.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Dalton
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not Good for filter system

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to replace the sand in my filter system. I started having problems with my filter stopping up and not allow water to be pumped through the system. Also the water was very cloudy. I would not recommend this product for your pool.( Also a friend of mine bought the same product and it did the samething. That's how I figured out what the problem was.) hope this saves you the backbraking work invovled with changing the sand..TWICE
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Forney, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It works great

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had no problems with the sand. I back washed and rinsed it. I had no cloudy particles or sand go into my pool. I'm so glad I found it. Now when it warms up the kids will have a clean pool to play in. And a great price! The pool places charge way to much for sand!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

excellent

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got exactly what I needed. Good quality product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Bad idea

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sand has been coming out in the pool every since we change it last year. So now because we was cheap we have to change it again. Moral of the story, don't be cheap when it comes to your pool. And we have to backwash several times a week. Bad all the way around.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

don't do it

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dirty sand. I had a dust cloud while I was filling the filter and the dust keeps going through the filter into the pool. I keep vacuuming to waste to get rid of it but it just keeps coming. Never again!
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Marrero, La.

'IT'S SAND... nuff' said!!!"

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Again..."SAND". Not a whole lot to review about sand.
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Albuquerque

Not for pools

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sand makes great sand box sand, but NO good for pool sand filters!
Pros: Economical
Cons: Dirty, Maintenance, too fine, not for intended use
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not # 20 silica

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just put sand filter on pool. filled with this sand. pool hasn't been used yet but I have to vacuum the sand out every day.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from jax fl
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

savings isn't worth the trouble.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sand does not work for sand filters. i tried it to save money and ended up costing more in the long run. the sand is to fine for the filter and ends up in the pool or on the ground after backwashing. You get what you pay for in regards to this "pool filter sand".. spend more and end up saving more.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>