728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

The Quikrete 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand is narrowly graded, dry silica sand and is designed to be used in swimming pool filters. This pool filter sand also features a tan color.
Overall rating:
3.138 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product14 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product14 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Review 1 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Sebring, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This sand is fine for #20 filter use

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Notice the US Sieve Size 20-40, for all the nay sayers...
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
QUIKRETE
®
Filter Sand is narrowly graded clean
dry silica sand specially graded for use in swimming
pool filters.
Composition and Materials:
QUIKRETE
®
Filter
Sand is high quality silica sand.
Packaging:
Available in 50-lb (13.6 Kg) bags
Color:
tan.
TECHNICAL
QUIKRETE
®
Filter Sand has a predominant size
range as follows:
US Sieve Size 20-40
Particle size (0.85-0.425 mm)
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from St. Louis, Mo.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

THIS SAND IS FOR POOL FILTERS!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This sand worked great for me. I put 300 lbs of this sand in my Hayward S244T filter. I noticed my old sand was not filtering as well and it was 5+ years so I replaced with this. I've been using the filter with this sand for 2+ months and no issues. Make sure to follow the filter manufacturer's recommendations. In the case of my Hayward filter, fill with 1/2 water before putting any sand in. Add the sand, backwash and rinse. The first time I put on filter and turned the pump on, I had a little sand come out the jets. After that, it never happened again. I have backwashed the filter many times with no issues.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

Bad News

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this sand in my Pentair Triton II filter. Shortly thereafter, barracuda (creepy crawly) would only run for around 20 minutes before pressure on system would double and barracuda became motionless.The only cure was a backwash.
Determined specs for the sand are both under and over what Pentair recommends. No fault of HD, all of my local pool stores sell the same brand. Finally found HTH Aqua Quartz at the smaller hardware store. It definitely has more quartz and thus far has worked like a charm.
This brand may work fine for those not using suction based floor sweepers but I'd stay away if you are.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

Great value

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked great. I put it in my Hayward S244T filter. Follow the manufacturers instructions and fill 1/2 full of water first and it will be fine. I've been using for several months with no issues. Much cheaper than anything you can buy at a pool supply store.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Sapulpa Ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best buy for the money.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First I read the reviews others left about this product. I was a little hesitant to purchase this pool sand so I checked with pool supply stores and found the price of the filter media to be very expensive. Fifty pounds of media at the pool stores was between $24.99 and 34.99. For my budget that was more the I could spend. I purchased pool sand from Depot some years ago and had no issues. I purchased four bags, my filter uses 175 pounds. Followed Hayward sand filter directions when replacing sand. I have owned my pool for at least 15 years, so I knew I would lose some sand from back washing to start with. I back washed the new sand until water ran clear and just as I suspected I did lose some. After water was clear I turned the pump off and restated the pump in rinse. After a few minutes I turned the pump off and restarted in filter. The pool started clearing up right away and have not seen any sand being discharged into the pool. Hope this information helps the next person who needs pool sand.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Economical
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

Great Pool Sand

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just recently replaced an old DE filter out with a Hayward Pro Series filter. I was very skeptical on using this sand because of a few negative reviews, but with the low price compared to pool stores, I decided to take a chance. I'm sure glad I did. I followed my pool filters instruction to the tee which required me to backwash and rinse for a couple of minutes. My pool started out with a lot of dead algae. It was a grayish green color. Within a day and a half, it turned crystal clear. As with a lot of product reviews, they can be skewed by either people that don't know what they're doing or have a vested interest to discredit due to financial reasons. I have a sneaky suspicion that a couple of pool owners posted false reviews on here. Don't hesitate to buy this sand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

Easily clogs. Stay away.

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this on my Intex sand filter pump. This sand clogged after an approximate 2.5 psi increase TWICE. Hardly any water circulates when this happens. Backwashing and poking at the sand was a very short-lived fix. This defeats the purpose of having a sand filter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Slidell, la.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quikrete pool sand

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this in my Pentair Triton III filter and it does not work. 600 lbs out, 600 pounds in. Hours of work. Waste of time and money. I did read the reviews, but chose un-wisely. Now to spend some more money on what I should have bought in the first place. Sometimes cheap isn't cheaper. Now I have a green pond in the backyard. :(
Pros: Quiet, Stylish
Cons: Dirty, Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I too was hesitant after reading some of the 3 star reviews HOWEVER i was pleasantly surprised at the quality and performance of this product. My pump is an INTEX 2800 GPH model and this sand works fine with it. Same performance at 1/4 the cost. I give this TWO thumbs up. Just follow directions on your filter.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Economical
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from athens tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

quikrete pool filter sand

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used Quikrete pool filter sand for the first time this year! What a disaster! The sand continually seeped into the pool..we thought it was the pump, so we exchanged for a new sand filter system, stupid us added quikrete again and had the same problem! after a week of cleaning sand out of thepool, emptying filters, insoecting laterals, and multi port o rings, aggravation and frustration..etc..we changed to HTH sand and voila.... problem solved.(had to buy HTH sand 50 miles away) I do not reccomend this product. and remember KISS when troubleshooting..(we unfortunately did not)..KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID,,,,
Cons: Dirty, too small/fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

used for a fish tank

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to replace gravel in my 80 gallon fish tank. 3 bags of this stuff saved me over $100 in pet stores. The sand is very clean from the start and with a little extra washing in a bucket it works wonders.
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Hernando, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great price for pool filter sand

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
normally purchase this from pool supply house but decided to buy it from Home Depot due to their great price. New filter sand has worked great.
Pros: High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Harrisonburg,Va.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Dissatisfied

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think this sand was clean. I backwashed for 1 hr and it is still blowing sand. I contacted the sand filter mfg.and they said the sand must be to small. The sand that is blowing back in my pool is smaller than a grain of salt. I'm going to empty all the sand from my filter and replace with a different brand.
Cons: Dirty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Albany, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Poor, Inconsistent Grading of Sand

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this sand in an Intex filter previously with no problem. I got a new Intex filter and installed this sand (one 50 lb bag). I backwashed/rinsed as directed. It rinsed well and seemed to be working as expected. After about a week I noticed I had very little water volume. I backwashed and noticed I was losing some sand, maybe about a quart-sized amount or so. The sand I lost was very fine. I rinsed to level the sand and resumed operation, thinking this would be a one-time occurrence. A week or so later, same thing. Like clockwork, after another week, same thing.
It's not blowing sand into the pool but I continue to lose a more-than-expected amount of sand each time I backwash. This did not happen with the same brand of sand and filter previously.
I can only assume there is an excessive amount of very fine sand in the bag I purchased. I plan to purchase a different brand of sand to add to the top in order to bring the sand level back up to spec.
Hopefully my filter has expelled most of the sand that is too fine for the filter and the addition of a layer of coarser sand will solve the problem without having to change out all of the sand.
Cons: Inconsistent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Jesup, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Inexpensive Sand

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have no problem with this sand. I went through all the steps and then backwashed my filter for 3 minutes then rinsed for one. No sand in pool ( all of my laterals were intact), and no cloudiness or dirt plumes described by others. It seems to me that If the sand was as bad as some report it would kill the fish in the aquariums that people are using it for.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Callahan, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Is this Silica sand?

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is silica sand. If you read the packaging, it is made by the Silica pool company.
Pros: Easy to Use, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Peoria, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT if used properly

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
as long as you
A. remove all old sand and pea gravel (use shop vac carefully makes it easier)
B. fill filter tank half way with water first
C. double check and triple check you did not damage outlet fingers are damaged!
D. poor in slowly
you wont have any issues
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Phoenix, Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quikrete Pool Sand

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sand is easy to work with and handle. A bit heavy if too much in the bucket at one time
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Atlanta, GA

Read your filter recommendations carefully!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Before using this sand in your pool filter check your manufacturer recommendations carefully! If your filter calls for #20 silica sand, DO NO USE THIS! It is far too fine and will damage your filtration system. May work great for systems that do not require a specific grade of sand but be careful! Worked great as a ballast in a set of stairs for an above ground pool.
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
from Dalton
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not Good for filter system

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to replace the sand in my filter system. I started having problems with my filter stopping up and not allow water to be pumped through the system. Also the water was very cloudy. I would not recommend this product for your pool.( Also a friend of mine bought the same product and it did the samething. That's how I figured out what the problem was.) hope this saves you the backbraking work invovled with changing the sand..TWICE
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 >>