728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mortar, Cement & Concrete Mix or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

50 lb. Pool Filter Sand

The Quikrete 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand is narrowly graded, dry silica sand and is designed to be used in swimming pool filters. This pool filter sand also features a tan color.
Overall rating:
2.375 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product2 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product2 of 7reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Review 1 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
CHUTom
from Albuquerque

Not for pools

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sand makes great sand box sand, but NO good for pool sand filters!
Pros: Economical
Cons: Dirty, Maintenance, too fine, not for intended use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
BobS
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Should read the reviews first. Waste of time and money. Sand is NOT for pool filters.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this product. Not made for pool filters. Muck sand...
Cons: Dirty, Inconsistent, mislabel - not for pool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Joey
from Peoria, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT if used properly

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as long as you
A. remove all old sand and pea gravel (use shop vac carefully makes it easier)
B. fill filter tank half way with water first
C. double check and triple check you did not damage outlet fingers are damaged!
D. poor in slowly
you wont have any issues
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
patrick

used for a fish tank

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to replace gravel in my 80 gallon fish tank. 3 bags of this stuff saved me over $100 in pet stores. The sand is very clean from the start and with a little extra washing in a bucket it works wonders.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Firedog2023
from Dalton
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not Good for filter system

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to replace the sand in my filter system. I started having problems with my filter stopping up and not allow water to be pumped through the system. Also the water was very cloudy. I would not recommend this product for your pool.( Also a friend of mine bought the same product and it did the samething. That's how I figured out what the problem was.) hope this saves you the backbraking work invovled with changing the sand..TWICE
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Jolie
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Bad idea

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sand has been coming out in the pool every since we change it last year. So now because we was cheap we have to change it again. Moral of the story, don't be cheap when it comes to your pool. And we have to backwash several times a week. Bad all the way around.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
redlady
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

don't do it

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dirty sand. I had a dust cloud while I was filling the filter and the dust keeps going through the filter into the pool. I keep vacuuming to waste to get rid of it but it just keeps coming. Never again!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Pool Filter Sand
Anonymous
from Marrero, La.

'IT'S SAND... nuff' said!!!"

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Again..."SAND". Not a whole lot to review about sand.
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.