728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

The Real Wood Products 25 in. Half Oak Barrel is the best value wood planter on the market. Constructed of 100% genuine used oak wine/whiskey barrels, this planter is promises durability for years of planting needs. Half Oak Barrels are great for both large and small plants and it can also be used for water features. Oak Barrel Planters provide classic design and rustic charm to any outdoor landscape.
Overall rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
Review 1 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from austin texas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Refinished Whiskey Barrel

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to use for either planters or end tables. I really like the way the bottom was stamped with the whiskey makers brand. Over time if left unfinished the barrel will come loose from the bands. I used extra screws and refinished the wood and metal with products from Home Depot. I now have barrels that are furniture quality and will last for years. I love how versatile they they are and with a little elbow grease they look really great. I will buy more of these soon!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Stylish, Strong, Great Quality, fun to refinish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Chicopee, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does all I expected!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does all I expected and looks nice on the patio. I expect many years of "kitchen door" gardens. This year grew salad greens and herbs.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good half barrel planter.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for planting a couple of small trees. I only needed to drill a few drain holes in the bottom.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

These are the real deal

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ones I picked up were a darker color than pictured here. As these are going to be used for vegetable gardening, that didn't present an issue for me. They are fantastic! They're heavy! The bands are a bit rusted, but the barrels are holding together great, so they haven't been allowed to dry out. The barrels are all scorched inside and most have the most heavenly smell of sweet alcohol. I actually had to open the windows of my SUV on the drive home and was hoping I wouldn't get pulled over :) I'd highly recommend these to anyone who lacks large, usable land for plantings.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the barrel was exactly as depicted in the photo---just what we were looking for

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I loved the ease of paying in advance, with the purchase ready for pick-up at the front of the store. The barrell looks wonderful in the back corner of our yard, in front of fountain grass, and filled with perennials.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Houston

Was exactly what I wanted, not what I thought I was getting

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on the picture, and what I had looked at elsewhere, I felt like I had to settle on a different half whiskey barrel than what I really wanted. I figured "this will do" but it wasn't what I was hoping to find. I ordered it online anyway, and went to the store to pick it up and it was EXACTLY what I hoped for, not what was pictured - they were Jack Daniel's half whiskey barrels. You could still smell the alcohol and see the burn. I was thrilled. I bought six of them, and they are great. Rustic, but what I was thrilled to find.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for a fountain

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this barrel to make a fountain in our backyard, it's great! Also bought a liner, which we didn't need. The wood absorbs water and swells, no leaking at all. Those whiskey distillers were on to something! Get one, you'll love it.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Bowdoin, Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Not as good as the picture indicates

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered on line to pick up at the store. So I paid for it in advance. They had two left. The one I got the metal rims were rusted and the oak slats have gaps. It hardly resembled what was in the picture. I should have taken it back. The one I got shouldn't cost more than $15.00 tops.
Cons: in rough shape for a new planter, not worth the price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Springfield, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rustic and Useful for the money

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The picture doesn't represent the fact that the metal bands will be quite rusted at the time of purchase, but for the price I am not complaining. Wine companies want $60 each for these, as well as huge shipping costs. Suggestion: Drill several 1/4" holes in the bottom for drainage.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AMAZING!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought one this past weekend for a large patio container garden and planted a young Japense Maple and a variety of flowers in it. I can't stress how amazing it looks sitting on our deck. In fact, I think we're going to go back and get another one!
As some of the other reviewers mentioned, the barrels are much darker and have an amazing scorched whiskey scent. I wouldn't exactly call the bands rusted - they have more of an aged patina to them that adds to their character.
Highly recommend this planter.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Waterford, Catoctin, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Real McCoy

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You won't find a better deal on a real whiskey barrel. This is real wood; not cheap plastic. And at a great price.
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good barrel but died out and no longer in good shape

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The barrels were dried out, the metal rings were no longer in position. does not look like on the picture.
Cons: old barrels to long in the store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

Wood Barrel

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The barrel is exactly what was on the ad. It is very sturdy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

not durable

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Drove across town to pick up barrels and they were all rotted. Associate tried to find two that were in decent shape but ended up bringing them back in store and getting refund when they literally fell apart trying to put them in car.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

Nice but does not like like picture's.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
To being with, the product does not look like that pale yellow in picture at all. It is rusty dark brown in color. At least the ones that I picked up in store!
Other - it might look very joined and smooth circular from outside in the picture, It's quite disjointed, so there are individual planks supported by that iron circular rim to make a pot. If you are not careful with picking it, it will move around.
If you ignore what is shown in picture, it is quite good stuff for planting, one of the cheapest out there, for what I researched online.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so good as before

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought a few half barrow there but I bought this one at a different location.The barrel was in bad shape and the rings rusted ot.I already had bought the plant and did not pick it up myself.Just disappointed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Southington, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Planter

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These oak planters are very large and very heavy. Nothing cheap about them. They drain well yet hold the moisture for the plants so frequent watering is not needed except for a very dry spell. The only problem I have had was after a 5" rainfall. One of the planter seeped some kind of oily substance on to my patio bricks. I haven't tried to remove it yet but it doesn't look like it should be too difficult.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Great Quality
Cons: oily leakage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Incline Village, NV 89451, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was exactly what I wanted. Well constructed. Great quality.
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter
from Danville CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wine Barrel Planter not like picture

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I saw the picture and price on the Home Depot website but what was at the store was nothing like the
item shown. They have a fiberglass one and a wooden model. The wooden model looked nothing like the
picture on the website. The wooden one smelled bad and was rusted and falling apart.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 25 in. Half Oak Barrel Planter

High Quality

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quality. Nothing like a genuine oak barrel planter.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>