728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Full Propane Tank Exchange

Gas up your grill with AmeriGas. The nation's largest propane company, AmeriGas, triple checks every cylinder, every time for the best in quality and highest levels of safety for your grill, patio heater, or other propane-powered appliance.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
30%of customersrecommend this product3 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
30%of customersrecommend this product3 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Full Propane Tank Exchange
Review 1 for Full Propane Tank Exchange
from Middletown, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Second tank with valve leak

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second time I used the self service tank exchange in middletown, de and both time the tanks valve will not close. I tightened the valve and then turned on the burner and started the grill, I let it run as I thought perhaps is was residual gas in the line. Well 10+ minutes later it was still running. I turned in a new tank only to receive this antique tank with a fresh coat of paint and bad valve. Never again too bad they do not check the tanks better...
Cons: bad valves
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Read the fine print.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The propane exchange is convenient. However, the 20 lb DOT-rated portable tanks are manufactured and sold to hold 20 lbs of propane. The tanks you receive with an exchange are only filled with 15 lbs of propane. It is a better value to take your own tank to a local filling station and have it filled with 20 lbs. The cost is about the same as HD charges for 15 lbs and you get 33% more propane than you get when exchanging.
+44points
50out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Easy Exchange

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For all the confused people thinking they are not getting full amount of the cylinder. You are not. You are getting net weight of 15.0 lb of product.
1 gallon of propane (liquid) = 4.23 pounds
You are buying 15.0 lbs of propane.
How many gallons are you buying?
15.0 lbs X (1 gallon / 4.23 lbs) = 3.55 gallons
What is the price per gallon (roughly)?
$17.82 (unit price) / 3.55 gallons = $5.02 a gallon
In Phoenix AZ right now at a local propane seller it is going for $3.49 a gallon and they claim if you fill there you get 30% more than a tank exchange.
+Benefits of going with exchange you get a refurbished inspected tank each time (safety)
+You don't have to wait for somebody to fill it for you
+If you damage of dent tank just swap it out for another
+You don't have to pay upfront cost for tank
-You pay a little more than buying tank upfront and getting it filled
+28points
37out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Do you know what you are paying per gallon?

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were going hunting so my son, trying to be helpful, took my almost new propane tank to Home Depot and exchanged it. He received a tank with 3.5 gallons of fuel that was date stamped 1989. When we tried to get it refilled several days later at a station, they told us it was an expired tank. We got very cold!!! Further, he paid $19.57 for 3.5 gallons or $5.59/gallon. We usually pay less than $2.00 per gallon. If you think this is a good deal, so be it.
Cons: costly sometimes inconvenient
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

I buy propane at H.D.

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For all of those complaining about not getting 20 lbs of gas in the tank, they are not supposed to be filled to 20 lbs anymore. The OPD prevents it.
In April 2002 all BBQ tanks were changed to include an overfill protection device (OPD) that sits under the valve, inside the tank. It prevents the tank from being filled to 20 lbs., or overfilled to prevent exploding.
The valve handle may be loose because all the new tanks have a shutoff built in. They don't bother tightening the handle after they are refilled. You should always tighten it, though, just to be safe.
The new valves include a normal thread to attach your hose, whereas the old ones had a reverse thread. This was to prevent anyone from using the old, non-OPD tanks.
And any tank that is over 12 years old is no longer legal to refill. The exchange program works very well, especially if you watch which tank they give you. Get a nice one!
+25points
54out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Full Propane Tank Exchange
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great deal

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Propane in Hawaii is about $5 a gallon. So this 16.7# net empty weight, 19.6#, which holds 4.9 gallons of gas, tank is better than free. This tank is filled.
My old 1998 17# net empty weight, 20# which should hold 5 gallons, was traded in.
I don't mean to confuse anyone but the gas company tell you how many pounds of gas it holds, but charge you by the gallon.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Capacity?

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tank label states: 15# Net Wgt. Some people seem confused.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

This is only a 15lb tank

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I exchanged 2(two) 20lb tanks, got home and found out these exchange tanks are smaller not such a good deal after all
+22points
47out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

Exactly as Described

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I exchanged an old leaking tank and got back a full, almost new tank. Thank you!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Full Propane Tank Exchange
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

overpriced

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In Albuquerque, you pay about $8-$10 to have your tank filled at a propane dealer. The tanks do not need to be inspected and refrubished everytime you fill it (or more than once every several years.) If you only use a little propane, it may be worth the convience to go to Home Depot rather than a dealer (there are several in town),
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Full Propane Tank Exchange

not a value

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cylinders are not filled to the 80% capacity. The valves are never closed tightly. As a matter of fact, I think its a rip off.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Full Propane Tank Exchange
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Where'e the rest of the Gas?

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The propane "bottle" I just purchased at Home Depot weighed 32.2 pounds. The tare weight of the container is 17 pounds. Therefore the propane weighs 15.2 pounds but the container is supposed to be a 20 pound container which holds about 5 gallons. What's wrong with this picture?
-7points
7out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Full Propane Tank Exchange
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

15 lb in 20 lb tank

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read that exchanged tanks only contain 15 lbs gas, whereas, if you took it to a refill station it would be filled with 20 lbs. The "exchange" tanks must be delivered by truck to the point of sale.
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.