728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Tank Exchange

Propane Tank Exchange

Is it getting hot over here, or is that just us. AmeriGas Propane Exchange is the quick, easy way for you to swap out a tank, or buy a spare. Available at over 48,000 locations nationwide, there is always a local place to get propane you can trust, and get on with your day
Overall rating:
2.833 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product8 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product8 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Tank Exchange
Review 1 for Propane Tank Exchange
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be aware and be careful. Sometimes they sell you an empty

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The propane itself is fine. Its propane. What are we really asking here? The propane exchange process isn't working very well. When i made my purchase I was advised to NOT trust the automated machine as it didn't work correctly. Guess what? neither did the human being. They opened a Bay and told me i could grab my propane and when i did I swore it felt light and asked if they were sure. They said they were and i grabbed the tank and went home. My family prepared the ingredients and i went to light the grill. It lasted 2 minutes and then was empty. I had to return the tank in the midst of dinner. They apologized but I just don't think that's quite good enough.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Freehold, Nj
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BBQ Purchase with Free Tank Refill

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was entitled to a full propane tank in connection with purchase of Brinkmann BBQ. The pickup of the tank did not happen until a few weeks after BBQ was brought home. At the store, no one could agree on what I was entitled to, a free tank of gas with me supplying the tank, or a new empty tank, or a new empty tank to be exchanged outside for a full one....Needless to say, this took quite a long time to get straightened out. It finally was cleared up with my getting a full tank of gas...but it put a damper on the entire transaction.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Tank Exchange

All the tanks are EXPIRED! None have been marked with reconditioned dates!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buyer beware! Every Amerigas tank in the exchange cage was expired in the Hilliard, Ohio Home Depot. Yes the tanks expire after 12 years. No, none of them appear to have been marked with reconditioned dates.
Some tanks have rust around the valve going into the tanks.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Tank Exchange
from carlisle, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amerigas is a ripoff

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did the exchange thing out of convenience and low and behold, the tank was only a little over half full. Twelve pounds of propane in a twenty pound tank. Are you kidding me? This time, I took my cylinder to the local campground where they actually weigh it empty and put a full twenty pounds of LP into it. And... wait for it... it was cheaper than HD.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Glendale AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exchange tank has only 9 months until expiration - cannot refill

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have previously used exchange tanks instead of having my owner tank recertified. And Amerigas tanks are fully serviceable for refilling, unlike some Blue Rhinos which have a check valve that must be held back with a special magnetic tool when filling. But this time my exchange tank came out of the automated bin with a date only 9 months out. By the time I empty this tank it will not be refillable. I hate that because I can get 20 pounds at the gas station near my house for 16 dollars including taxes. Refill tanks come with only 15 pounds and cost 20 dollars plus tax. It is more than 5 dollars additional for 5 pounds less propane.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Charlotte
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Defective tank

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only one hole in the handle to fit on the grill. Every tank I have has one on each side. To hang on the grill it faces backward and gas hose won't reach. I am the one being hosed!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Tank Exchange

Propane right weight

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All 20 lb tank supposed to weigh 37 lbs when filled don't know how home Depot tanks weigh 32 lbs could someone explain.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Middletown, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Second tank with valve leak

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second time I used the self service tank exchange in middletown, de and both time the tanks valve will not close. I tightened the valve and then turned on the burner and started the grill, I let it run as I thought perhaps is was residual gas in the line. Well 10+ minutes later it was still running. I turned in a new tank only to receive this antique tank with a fresh coat of paint and bad valve. Never again too bad they do not check the tanks better...
Cons: bad valves
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Tank Exchange

Great deal if your old tank is too old to refill!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If your old tank is too old to get refilled, this can be quite advantageous for you, acquire a newer tank with some gas in it for only $20, next time you need gas, go get it refilled instead of exchanged, save the money refilling the exchanged tank until it is too old to refill then repeat.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Southern Utah/Hacienda Hts.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

propane tanks

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Propane tanks are designed to be filled to 80% of listed capacity. A 20# tank, then, should be filled to #15-16#'s. Google it.
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
-10points
7out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Tank Exchange

Beat up exchange tank.

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My tank went over the 12 year mark so I brought it in for an exchange tank. The exchange tank is a poor at best, only has a year left on it and looks like it was painted with a roller right over all the rust, my 12 year old tank was in better condition, at least the valve dosn't leak. I just filled it with 4.7 gallons for $14.99 at U-Haul. The exchange tank idea only works if you have an out of date tank.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Tank Exchange

Read the fine print.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The propane exchange is convenient. However, the 20 lb DOT-rated portable tanks are manufactured and sold to hold 20 lbs of propane. The tanks you receive with an exchange are only filled with 15 lbs of propane. It is a better value to take your own tank to a local filling station and have it filled with 20 lbs. The cost is about the same as HD charges for 15 lbs and you get 33% more propane than you get when exchanging.
+55points
67out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Tank Exchange

Do you know what you are paying per gallon?

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were going hunting so my son, trying to be helpful, took my almost new propane tank to Home Depot and exchanged it. He received a tank with 3.5 gallons of fuel that was date stamped 1989. When we tried to get it refilled several days later at a station, they told us it was an expired tank. We got very cold!!! Further, he paid $19.57 for 3.5 gallons or $5.59/gallon. We usually pay less than $2.00 per gallon. If you think this is a good deal, so be it.
Cons: costly sometimes inconvenient
+24points
31out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Tank Exchange

Easy Exchange

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For all the confused people thinking they are not getting full amount of the cylinder. You are not. You are getting net weight of 15.0 lb of product.
1 gallon of propane (liquid) = 4.23 pounds
You are buying 15.0 lbs of propane.
How many gallons are you buying?
15.0 lbs X (1 gallon / 4.23 lbs) = 3.55 gallons
What is the price per gallon (roughly)?
$17.82 (unit price) / 3.55 gallons = $5.02 a gallon
In Phoenix AZ right now at a local propane seller it is going for $3.49 a gallon and they claim if you fill there you get 30% more than a tank exchange.
+Benefits of going with exchange you get a refurbished inspected tank each time (safety)
+You don't have to wait for somebody to fill it for you
+If you damage of dent tank just swap it out for another
+You don't have to pay upfront cost for tank
-You pay a little more than buying tank upfront and getting it filled
+43points
60out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Tank Exchange
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great deal

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Propane in Hawaii is about $5 a gallon. So this 16.7# net empty weight, 19.6#, which holds 4.9 gallons of gas, tank is better than free. This tank is filled.
My old 1998 17# net empty weight, 20# which should hold 5 gallons, was traded in.
I don't mean to confuse anyone but the gas company tell you how many pounds of gas it holds, but charge you by the gallon.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Tank Exchange

I buy propane at H.D.

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For all of those complaining about not getting 20 lbs of gas in the tank, they are not supposed to be filled to 20 lbs anymore. The OPD prevents it.
In April 2002 all BBQ tanks were changed to include an overfill protection device (OPD) that sits under the valve, inside the tank. It prevents the tank from being filled to 20 lbs., or overfilled to prevent exploding.
The valve handle may be loose because all the new tanks have a shutoff built in. They don't bother tightening the handle after they are refilled. You should always tighten it, though, just to be safe.
The new valves include a normal thread to attach your hose, whereas the old ones had a reverse thread. This was to prevent anyone from using the old, non-OPD tanks.
And any tank that is over 12 years old is no longer legal to refill. The exchange program works very well, especially if you watch which tank they give you. Get a nice one!
+20points
59out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Tank Exchange

This is only a 15lb tank

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I exchanged 2(two) 20lb tanks, got home and found out these exchange tanks are smaller not such a good deal after all
+21points
47out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Tank Exchange

Capacity?

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tank label states: 15# Net Wgt. Some people seem confused.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Tank Exchange

Exactly as Described

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I exchanged an old leaking tank and got back a full, almost new tank. Thank you!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Tank Exchange
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

overpriced

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In Albuquerque, you pay about $8-$10 to have your tank filled at a propane dealer. The tanks do not need to be inspected and refrubished everytime you fill it (or more than once every several years.) If you only use a little propane, it may be worth the convience to go to Home Depot rather than a dealer (there are several in town),
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>